HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston

Hostel | Warmoesstraat, 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012JA

90.4% Overall Rating

1141 out of 1257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Vinicius Henrique de Oliveira thinks…

"Pretty easy to find, the staff was really helpful and the bar was very good and with discounts for people staying at the hostel. It was also very cheap."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.28

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
30.38 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
40.05 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 675 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.48 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
27.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
62.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 390 reviews
Damrak Inn
55.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
41.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

1141 out of 1257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 834 of 999 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Matthew Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is linked up to the bar next door which makes for a good social environment and the food at the bar is both cheap and as good as any I had in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The rooms were incredibly cramped and got quite stuffy and warm. Overall I would say this hostel is extremely overpriced considering what it offers. There is no kitchen and no common room other than the bar which is also open to the public daily. The bar closes somewhere between 12-1am which means that if you are in the hostel after these hours you are confined to your room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid back atmposphere. Good bar and food. Various discouts. Rooms had shower and toilet seperate. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The locker system for luggage before and after check-in were a mission to use. They only opened for about a minute before locking again so you had to run to get to them in time. If someone didn't select the right setting when opening their locker someone else could access it. Basically a lot of people had a lot of problems with them although staff were helpful with the issue.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel breakfast i've ever had and the food at the bar was good too, location is pretty central in amsterdam and you can get to anywhere you need to go, safe for solo femaie travelers,

Disliked: no windows in the room so it was really hot and stuffy in there, location is in the red light district so there's lots of drugs and prostitution in the surrounding areas (although it was still a very safe environment)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere

Disliked: too noisy at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is really good.very good staff.

Disliked: sheets were not that much clean

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, clean and tidy room with fresh towels

Disliked: A bit noisy but to be expected in that area of Amsterdam

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Usman Hassan Syed

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2011 Usman Hassan would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and security/safety.

Disliked: No kitchen/cooking arrangements.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and right in the heart of the red light district!

Disliked: Very impersonal feel. Would be great if travelling in a group, but it lacks that friendly feel that encourages people to open up a bit.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es gab unter jedem Bett einen Bettkasten, der mit einem eigenen Schloss verschlossen werden kann.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

angel dimitrov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2011 angel would recommend this property

Liked: location,staff,atmosphere and mostly the garden

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arjun Kharidehal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Arjun would recommend this property

Liked: Its really happening! With loud music and nice pub to sit around and drink. Its so happening that this pub is part of the Pub Crawl routine! The music didn't get into the rooms though and it was all quiet and peaceful in the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing much. But it is crowded most of the time. Its a good thing in a way but some people may not like that :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms were congested, bad ventilation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Carvill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: St Christrophers had friendly staff, prime location minutes from clubs, bars and food places. It also had a lively bar and lounge area perfect for meeting new people

Disliked: I disliked nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and wonderfull facility. Top notch.

Disliked: Nil.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pradeep Gautam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Pradeep would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, alive, safe and really freindly

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suhail Khan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 May 2011 Suhail would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing . right in the heart of the city . the staff were very friendly and cooperative. nice deals on food and drinks. nice place to to jus lay back after u've explored the area, grab a beer and meet new ppl !

Disliked: I dint like the hostel security guard ! i got back after a late night out and was a bit over the moon for obvious reasons and he was jus plain rude . But again u dont expect them to be nice anyways !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Polly Fowler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, down to earth travellers like yourself. Good cheap food and really close to everything.

Disliked: The scary "art" on the bedroom wall, gave me nightmares. Wooly men in dresses...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Luke Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 May 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: its location

Disliked: wifi didntwork for lots of people, no kitchen, to big and busy not very intimate

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the different rooms! it's cool

Disliked: the bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yi HE

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are nice and helpful

Disliked: beds are a little bit small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BEN DOYLE

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 April 2011 BEN would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, best i've seen. Great location on outskirts of Red Light District Decent sized rooms and bathrooms Very reasonably priced food and drinks Great Atmosphere during the night

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good stuff and good location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really loved this hostel. the location is really good. just 10 minutes walk from both grand place and central station. its really clean (the toilet is so big, and its in the room, so we didnt have to share it with the whole level); the hostel even provided towels and cups and soaps, its really convenient. the decorations look really good, seemed grand! and last but not least, the breakfast was really really good. its like a buffet, and you can choose from a variety. the staff were all really helpful and friendly. i highly recommend this hostel!!! :):)

Disliked: the only thing that my boyfriend and I dislike about this hostel is about the room key. I quite not understand the point for handing the key to the reception when leaving the hostel, and having to ask the reception for keys again when we go back. the system is kind of old...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011

Liked: Great location between the train station and Dam Square. The staff were really nice, they answered all my questions but I still wouldn't stay here again based on my "dislikes" below.

Disliked: Noise!!! We stayed at other hostels with a bar but I had no idea there was a dance club under there too. It was louder than I can describe until 4am every single morning. The breakfast was nothing special but go early - it wasn't refilled after being set up so latecomers missed out. The internet was just awful. I moved all over the place, to the bar, to the reception, on the staircase, etc. trying to get a signal but it kept resetting and cutting out. I can tolerate a lot but I wouldn't stay here again unless it was for one night and I was out clubbing until 4am.