We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston

Hostel | Warmoesstraat, 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012JA

85.6% Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"The hostel is located in the red light district so is great for travellers wanting a night out like us but not for people who want an early night (people are loud outside until around 4am). The included breakfast had…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Maggy's Guesthouse
39.13 USD

Guesthouse 61.5% 230 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
16.77 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews
Travel Hotel
22.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 777 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.93 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Damrak Inn
25.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.36 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
27.95 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 894 of 1089 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet others. Toilets and showers clean.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great atmosphere! The bar has great deals and the food is amazing (especially when you have the munchies). It is located right in the centre of town, minutes away from Dam square and the red light district. So convenient! Do the free walking tour! The room and sheets were cleaned daily. There is also a nice garden at the black in which you can meet people, smoke and drink.

Disliked: The shower floods a little.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah-jane antell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 sarah-jane would recommend this property

Liked: The location could not have been any better if it tried! You're right in the middle of everything and so easy to find from the train station. We met some great people staying here and 2 crazy nights out! The bar is really modern and cool and there's a club next door that's part of the hostel (although I'd definitely recommend players which is opposite). Our room was great, we booked a double ensure and it was cleaned each day with fresh towels etc.

Disliked: Only little thing I could nit pick at would be to say our room felt like it needed a bit of cheering up, I was excited to see it after looking at the pics of the rooms online, but ours was just a patterned wallpaper which had been peeled off and written on in some places, just felt it needed modernising a bit like the bar etc down stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Above and beyond the call of duty

Disliked: Not much to dislike.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Jeffrey

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: our room was plain and not decorated like most

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lively atmosphere. Breakfast is included and decent.

Disliked: I wish it had been more clear it was IN the red light district. A simple search would have revealed this, but nowhere in LP or elsewhere did it come up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Barros

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect! The rooms are very clean and modern. The bar is also very cool and cheap, you don´t really need to go out of the hostel to have fun, always with loads of people. The staff is another strong point, always very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: I have no complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roxanne Meens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff and a nice bar!

Disliked: Rooms weren't great, I've stayed in better hostels. But I would still recommend it to other travellers. Amsterdam is a great place!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Fairly expensive for what was offered.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpfull staff and also security.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Kalinowski

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Fun environment, helpful staff great location

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, great music, great food, the bar/garden area had a great vibe. the beds were nice and sturdy, hardly any squeaking.

Disliked: small bathrooms and there's no stopping the shower water from leaving the shower area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zachary Braun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

29 June 2012 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Pumping bar, really clean and new rooms, the best lockers I've ever used (can fit your whole bag plus carry bag in 1 locker), good location and knowledgable staff.

Disliked: No quiet chill out spot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Altoé

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Tudo é bom!

Disliked: Nada a declarar!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Young,vibrant and very friendly hotel

Disliked: My room was advertised as a smoking room with television,but was not!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

benjamin watts

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The coffeeshops are on the doorstep

Disliked: The windows didnt open in my room over looking the backyard and there was a bad smell coming from the toilet after it had been flushed and no extractor fan in the shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was great, terrific location, helpful friendly staff, smoking room that is great to meet people, food from the bar was good and well priced, rooms were clean and good beds

Disliked: the shower was a bit annoying as it was a terrible design, a little pricey but thats like all amsterdam i think other than that great place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was really good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The staff on reception weren't very friendly at all. They only seemed concerned with the safety of the customers...which was reassuring but we were looking for somewhere with more of a homely feel. We stayed for one night (after staying at another hostel for 4 nights) and immediately regretted our decision to stay here. The hostel was nice enough, but the bar and smoking room were full of what we can only assume were people walking in from the streets...very drunk and some were a little aggressive, making us (two females travelling alone) feel quite unsafe. I would recommend this hostel for people who like the binge drinking culture of Amsterdam but not if you want a nice relaxing place to chill out after seeing the sights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jason Cain

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012

Liked: The location of this property had its good points, but it also had its bad points.

Disliked: The location of this hostel made it rediculously noisey. When music wasn't pounding, there was shouting in the alley way outside of our window. We were lucky if we managed to get 2-3hrs sleep a nite. The last night we didn't get any sleep at all! We wouldnt stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, close to all the best tourist spots & close to the nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing! It was perfect for a city break

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Conie Serna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Conie would recommend this property

Liked: It's the location and just close to the main city. I love it!

Disliked: Just noise like middle of the night till 3am but it's just the way it is. To top it all, I already expected the loud noises outside but it doesn't matter. I don't dislike it that much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent location; - Safe; - Clean; - Good environment; - Free towel, soap and shampoo; - Very big individual lockers on the room (but you have to have your own lock); - Very good continental breakfast (bread, cheese, salami, ham, butter, 3 types of jam, chocolate, 3 types of cereal, milk, yoghurt, natural orange juice, etc.).

Disliked: - Very bad internet connection, too slow and only accessible over the bar and in a couple of rooms. Almost every rooms have no access to the internet. You have to rent a computer (1€ for 20 min.) and even so the internet is very slow; - Some noise at night (and during the day) from outside that can't let you sleep properly. Some room-mates spent the all night trying to sleep and were waking up lots of times, although others could do it; - Toilet and bathroom are in separated compartments with the toilet being too small but the bathroom very space-full; - Unable to use the kitchen to cook and you can't store things on a fridge or freezer; - Price is a little high but value for money is worthwhile.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hasan Berk Boyra

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2012 Hasan Berk would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly we loved the artistic look of the rooms. Everyone was friendly and smiling. Staff were very helpful and answered all our questions. Specially we loved breakfast. The orange juice was very fresh and energizing. We loved the bar located near reception. We were taking our shower and jump into the party. So it was an unbelievable experience. Also location was fantastic. It was in the heart of the Amsterdam city. We never get lost. It was very very close to the train station and dame square.

Disliked: Hotel's price was a bit expensive but by judging its location and atmosphere it worth it.