We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston

Hostel | Warmoesstraat, 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012JA

85.6% Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"The hostel is located in the red light district so is great for travellers wanting a night out like us but not for people who want an early night (people are loud outside until around 4am). The included breakfast had…"

Read all St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded. We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart. Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Maggy's Guesthouse
39.13 USD

Guesthouse 61.5% 230 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
22.36 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews
Travel Hotel
22.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 777 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.93 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Damrak Inn
27.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Hostel Croydon
24.60 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
27.95 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

1225 out of 1348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 894 of 1089 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helene McCarthy

Alone

Business / conference

31 August 2013 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere (as to be expected in the hear too the Red Light District). The food is good, and if you feel like a change, there are plenty of restaurant nearby. The wifi works! The dorms are well insulated: you'd never know there was a party going on in the pub next door.

Disliked: Nothing really. The wifi can be a little bit weak sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael boroniec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The social vibe and location. Perfect mix between a party and being able to sleep. And it was very clean!!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anant Nehru

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Anant would recommend this property

Liked: Smack center of the happening part of Amsterdam. Everything is a 10 minute or less than 10 minute walk away. Bar starts kicking at night which is fun if you're too tired to head out - bar crawl also comes through the bar which makes it rather busy for about an hour or so. Not complaining though. Fun staff, really helpful - think that adds alot to the place.

Disliked: Oddly positioned showers in the bathroom - but worked our way around them. The tap in the bathroom broke the day we arrived which was compensated for by a few free drinks and was fixed by early next morning - thought the way it was dealt with was rather impressive. Sure, gets a bit noisy - but because of the bar downstairs but the street that our room overlooked. But then again, didnt pose that much of a problem for me - perhaps if youre a really light sleeper.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013

Liked: The location close to Centraal is nice. The rooms were clean, and the staff very helpful.

Disliked: The night I was in Amsterdam there was some kind of death metal show going in a club located next door to the entrance to the Winston, and directly under the rooms. Headbanging thudding music continued well past 3 am. It ended before dawn, thankfully.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ADRIAN SCILLATO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 ADRIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Ver nice and complete

Disliked: ADRIAN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristiina Jalasto

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Kristiina would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at the female dorm which is a separate building next door, The dorm for 8 ppl turned out to be two separate bedrooms both for 4 with comfy single beds. The shower and toilet was shared. Breakfast was included - basic but adequate.

Disliked: Light sleepers might find the noise coming from the bar downstairs disturbing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Larkin

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: great vibe

Disliked: Tom left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Aulsberry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in a busy part of town nice and clean met some awesome people. Would reccomend though if you want somewhere quiet (if there is such a thing in Amsterdam) this is not the place as the bar is really noisy till early hours of morning!! But if you want party atmosphere then you in right place!! :)

Disliked: Nothing really the noise was only an issue my first night as I wanted an early night from traveling!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chaohsun Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Chaohsun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station and cheap. I've met a lot of great people at this hostel.

Disliked: The ground floor is a bar, hence the noise and the drunk. As we know, drunk people can be easily taken advantage of. And I'm not going to go into the details. Because they're working on it now.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Hordowska

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: great location, room and bathroom clean and spacious, comfortable beds, friendly staff, atmosphere is great and the bar is amazing, a good place to meet new people

Disliked: a bit too expensive perhaps, but still worth the money

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NEAR TO THE RED LIGHT AREA..BY WALK ONLY..EASY TO GET HALAL FOODS FOR MOSLIM TRAVELLERS..

Disliked: VERY NOISY AT MIDNIGHT

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED the female dorms - separate building and HUGE rooms. Also includes a hair dryer,straightener, and towels. Very close to the red light district, bars, and pub crawls. Very close to the train station.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Cullen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly staff and prices for food in bar area good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centeral location friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing everything was spot on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emiliano Galarraga

Alone

City break

15 June 2013 Emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the staff was really kind

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: the bar at the hostel played good music and had a nice atmosphere. it is also possible to sit outside. The location is good and you can reach the most important sights by foot. nevertheless it is in the redlight district. so if you don't like to see sadomaso stores, or girls in display windows you should stay away from this place.

Disliked: the problems with the staff started even before we arrived in Amsterdam. our group booking was cancelled and after a few mails we were able to stay there anyway. arrived there we wanted to check in, but the blondie at the reception told me, that we can only stay for 2 nights, even though I had booked for 3. when I showed them my confirmation for 3 nights, they told us to go to the city again and come back later, so that they could discuss the matter. a few hours later they told us that we can stay there, but not in the rooms we have booked. after some more discussions we were able to stay in the rooms we've had a confirmation for with the exception of the girls who had to change the room after 2 nights. when they wanted checkout and change the room, the have been informed, that they can go back in ther old room again. Furthermore it wasn't possible to pay separately and when we asked them to calculate the price per person, the staff wasn't able to do that properly, so we had to do it by ourselves. long story short: avoid this hostel if you're traveling with more than 2 persons because the staff isn't able to cope with those situations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Harris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, right in the heart of the red light district. Night club right beside the hostel was always quite busy so you don't have to go far to party. Lot's of good food nearby and only a short walk from the Centraal station.

Disliked: If you're not into partying and worried about getting sleep this place might not be for you, it can be pretty loud on the streets all night long.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jenna Bourke

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 June 2013 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere: lots of young people, party nights, lots of bars/coffee shops nearby. The free breakfast was generous. Good security in place.

Disliked: No kitchen

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jude de Leon

Alone

City break

03 June 2013

Liked: NOthing!

Disliked: Location and EXTREMELY LOUD NOISE

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Evi Irawati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Evi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, location

Disliked: the toilet can't be flushed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Santiago Germán Rodríguez Góngora

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Santiago Germán would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location close to everything. Good breakfast in the morning and good bathroom. Downstairs there´s a bar.

Disliked: Very loud because of the bar downstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamar Bourke

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Tamar would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great! Awesome location and atmosphere (there is a bar downstairs that is always full of people, and they also have a club next door). I'd also love to give a great review of the blonde reception guy that works there (for the life of me I can't remember your name - sorry!). He CARRIED my friend up to level 3 after she was passing out from a massive night in Amsterdam - many thanks! If it weren't for him I probably would have had to slip her under a table and come back downstairs for her in the morning ;)

Disliked: Tamar left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. They were extremely helpful when it came to looking out for the best interest of those staying there. It was secure, clean and provided an amazing atmosphere to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorel Pascut

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2013 Dorel would recommend this property

Liked: great location! great service! would recommend!

Disliked: Dorel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Lobato Defensor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Its incredible

Disliked: Nothing