HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's at The Winston Amsterdam Hostel

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.24USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 10 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 10+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Coin-operated luggage storage available.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 81%

Showing 21-30 of 105 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating


15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, parties and breakfast. Excellent place if you want to have fun.

Disliked: The restroom is little. Lockers inside the room aren't so big.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your feedback! It's good to see that you enjoyed the party in our hostel and its surroundings, and that you had fun! We understand that you found the restroom to be a bit small. We are trying to deal with our limited space in the most efficient way, and we can certainly understand that some facilities may seem a bit small. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location, nice staff, good facilities, clean, decent free breakfast and good rooms and balcony

Disliked: I didn't find it super easy to meet people as a solo traveller - would be awesome to have somewhere to chill other than the bar to hang out and chat to people. I would stay here with friends though definitely :)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great to read that there was plenty of things that you appreciated about our hostel. We understand that the size of our hostel, and the fact that we have an open bar, can make it a bit less easy to meet people as a solo traveller. We will take your comments on board and we're soon going to implement some new ideas that could make the guest engagement even better. Thanks for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! It's good to see that you liked our location and our atmosphere. We sent you an e-mail inquiring about some of your scores, and we'd really appreciate it if you'd take the time to reply to that. Thanks in advance for your time! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good lockers and breakfast

Disliked: Wasn't aware how loud the bar downstairs would be, room was old and could have used a good deep clean. No atmosphere as bar (only social area) is shared by the public


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed our free breakfast. We're sorry that you weren't aware that our bar might get a bit loud at night. We feel that having an open bar could add some extra atmosphere, as our guests get to meet the locals that way, but we can certainly appreciate that that's not what everyone is looking for. Thanks again for your review! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Centrally located, fantastic bar, good breakfast, really nice vibe. Also close to Dam Square, Anne Frank Haus, local attractions, and bars and restaurants.

Disliked: A bit expensive, also, they do allow older guests - I was sharing my dorm with a man who was at least 60 years old and refused to put on any clothes.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: near central station,helpful staff,good breakfast compared to its price

Disliked: pay for baggage deposit very unreasonable,room and building old,noisy during night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you appreciated a lot about our place. We are in a very central area so we understand it can be a bit noisy at times, and we're sorry about that. Were you aware that we offer free ear plugs at reception? They might just help you sleep a little bit better. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good food and a good atmosphere in the bar area.

Disliked: Really dissapointed after staying at st. Christophers in other locations. Of the three rooms I saw (more on that later), the shower holder was broken in all of them, the toilets were worn and grimey. We booked three beds in the same room and when we checked in we were told we would be separated because they had booked someone else in. I had to really push to get a room together for the rest of our stay as the staff were extremely unhelpful and didn't offer me this option already. When we arrived at the room my friends were staying in, the beds hadn't been remade from the previous guests, again when we informed the desk the staff seemed to not care. On our second night, of the beds we stayed in, 2 of the under-bed locker cages were broken. Based on this experience, knowing there are so many other great hostels in Amsterdam, I will never be booking with any St. Christopher's chain hostel again. Especially knowing that booking a room together online means you may still end up separated


The property's response is

Thank you very much for making us aware of a few things that have gone wrong during your stay. We always try our best to keep groups in the same room, and we almost always manage to do this. We are sorry that we didn't manage in this instance. We take our cleanliness very seriously, and of course normally beds are made and clean towels are provided. We sincerely apologize that this hadn't happened. We understand you're upset, but hope you'll reconsider our brand. Thanks again for your feedback!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Have a noise in the night. No too clean, because a badroom with 8 diferent person is a mass sometimes. Good breakfast. People nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments, We are sorry to hear that it was to noisy for you, unfortunately having such a central location means that it remains busy on the streets outside later than in some other places. It is good to hear however, that you enjoyed the breakfast and hope the noise wouldn't stop you from staying with us again in the future, thanks again. - St Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the 100% score! We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself so much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staff, perfect location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great to see that the effort put in by our staff is appreciated, thank you for letting us know about your experience! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Check Availability