HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's at The Winston Amsterdam Hostel

Warmoesstraat 129, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 2.37USD

Important Information

Bookings for more than 15 people will have to be done on request. If booked for 15+ people online, the booking will be cancelled and deposit will not be refunded.
We welcome all guests from 18 years old to the eternal young at heart.
Reception is open 24/7. Rooms ready from 2pm. Luggage storage available.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 89%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

Showing 21-30 of 122 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, good food and a good atmosphere in the bar area.

Disliked: Really dissapointed after staying at st. Christophers in other locations. Of the three rooms I saw (more on that later), the shower holder was broken in all of them, the toilets were worn and grimey. We booked three beds in the same room and when we checked in we were told we would be separated because they had booked someone else in. I had to really push to get a room together for the rest of our stay as the staff were extremely unhelpful and didn't offer me this option already. When we arrived at the room my friends were staying in, the beds hadn't been remade from the previous guests, again when we informed the desk the staff seemed to not care. On our second night, of the beds we stayed in, 2 of the under-bed locker cages were broken. Based on this experience, knowing there are so many other great hostels in Amsterdam, I will never be booking with any St. Christopher's chain hostel again. Especially knowing that booking a room together online means you may still end up separated


The property's response is

Thank you very much for making us aware of a few things that have gone wrong during your stay. We always try our best to keep groups in the same room, and we almost always manage to do this. We are sorry that we didn't manage in this instance. We take our cleanliness very seriously, and of course normally beds are made and clean towels are provided. We sincerely apologize that this hadn't happened. We understand you're upset, but hope you'll reconsider our brand. Thanks again for your feedback!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Have a noise in the night. No too clean, because a badroom with 8 diferent person is a mass sometimes. Good breakfast. People nice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments, We are sorry to hear that it was to noisy for you, unfortunately having such a central location means that it remains busy on the streets outside later than in some other places. It is good to hear however, that you enjoyed the breakfast and hope the noise wouldn't stop you from staying with us again in the future, thanks again. - St Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the 100% score! We are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself so much! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staff, perfect location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great to see that the effort put in by our staff is appreciated, thank you for letting us know about your experience! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were extremelyHelpful and happy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're happy that you enjoyed yourself! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved absolutely everything about the place!!!

Disliked: Nothing to be honest!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

That's great! We're very happy with your feedback, and hope you'll stay with us again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: The location is great, right in the middle of the action, and only 5 or less min walk from Amsterdam central station. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are very tidy, cleaners come every morning to clean the rooms, I will definitely stay at this hostel again if I visit Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great to read that you liked it so much! Please come and stay with us again some time in the future! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great atmosphere, cheap, good location

Disliked: Rooms were not the cleanest

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's great to see that you enjoyed our atmosphere and our location so much. We are, however, concerned and sorry to read that you experienced a lower standard of cleanliness that we commit ourselves to. We will look into the issue, thank you for making us aware of this. We hope it hasn't affected your stay too much, and that you will be back! Thank you for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Really central, decent location for the main sights of Amsterdam. Rooms were comfortable. Facilities were sound.

Disliked: Bit cliched, lots of Brits there to primarily smoke weed. Bar was expensive, but then so is everywhere in Amsterdam. Busy hostel to check in at, but understandable given the volume of people staying there.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed our location and our facilities. We appreciate that you mention that Amsterdam is expensive, because we feel that compared to other bars our drinks are reasonably priced, especially if you make good use of our deals. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location, funny and good breakfast

Disliked: The doors didn't close very well

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed our location and our breakfast, and that you had fun! We realized that some of our doors didn't close properly and we got this fixed last week. Thanks for your feedback though, comments like that really help us improve our service and facilities! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Check Availability