HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast

Guesthouse | Overtoom 129-1, First Floor, 1054 HE Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054HE

49.7% Overall Rating

43 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

"I didn't anything in particular, but one good thing was that it was about 7 minutes walking from van gogh's museum."

Read all Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not accept groups of more than 3 persons at a time, in our bed and breakfast. We only accept maximum of 3 persons group at a time. This also involves part of a group booking from other sites. Check-in time: 15:00 hours - 20.00 hours (20.30 on Fridays & Saturdays) Check-out time: 07:00 hours - 10.30 hours * We do not have a reception, inform us of your arrival time and mobile phone number on the booking form and / email / phone. * We do not accept groups of more than 3 persons at a time. * Payment is cash on arrival * Note that 5% tourist tax would be added to the total amount. * Cancellation allowed 2 weeks before arrival * For any cancellation within 2 weeks prior to arrival, all full amounts of entire booking would be charged. Deposit Policy This defines the policy for prepayment/deposit requirements. The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of arrival in cash. A fixed amount of EUR 100 per room will be charged on the day of arrival. This amount would be refunded to the guests if the keys are returned, no damages made and no smoking is done. Towels are provided on request at a surcharge. Breakfast is not included in the price. City tax of 5.5% would be added to the total amount. Important information Please note that a security deposit of EUR 100 is obligatory upon check-in. This amount will be refunded upon check-out provided that no damages are made and no smoking in the room or anywhere in and around the building has occurred. Please note that the property has strict house rules. Please note that for groups of at least 3 guests, there is an additional cleaning fee applicable of EUR 35 per person per day. Please inform the property of your expected arrival time to arrange check-in. Please note that visitors who are not staying at the property are not allowed in the building. Please note that cleaning is done every week and at check-out and whenever it is requested by the guest at the following rates: - EUR 35.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Abba
44.77 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 12 reviews
Hotel Mosaic
335.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Blyss
41.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 29 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
49.55 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
32.46 USD

Hostel 91.5% 2263 reviews
Quentin Hotel
55.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.23 USD

Hostel 61.4% 4252 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
49.7%

Overall Rating

43 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vondelpark Bed and Breakfast'

Atmosphere
39.2%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
35.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
44.0%
Value
45.6%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 103 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014

Liked: I didn't anything in particular, but one good thing was that it was about 7 minutes walking from van gogh's museum.

Disliked: The window of the bedroom was broken so it was not so warm, and if we want to open it, we couldn't. They were making changes in the hostel, so it was not so quiet....

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Ponsford

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 January 2014

Liked: it was close to the city and affordable

Disliked: No comment on 50 euro deposit and text messages asking what time i will arrive as i will be charged 25 euro if i was later than 8:30 also the stairs were uneven and dangerous

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Erkan Akdogan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014

Liked: Good and friendly staff. Elegant atmosphere.

Disliked: No wi-fi. Staff lacks proper English, hard to communicate.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean enough, adequate privacy, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Cigarette butts under beds, no curtains, double beds are single beds pushed together but fell apart all the time, maintenance for the property kind of early in the morning. Decent stay considering location and expensiveness of Amsterdam.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013

Liked: good location

Disliked: unfriendly staff

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

16 October 2012

Liked: The toilet was pretty clean

Disliked: The lady who works there (the owner i suppose) only works on the telephone. she is extremely rude, I would even say crazy. I wouldnt recommend Hostelbookers to cooperate with her/them. I travel a lot but I have to admit this was the worst hostel experience of my life. She accused me and my friend of having another person in a room for 2 people because we had a lot of luggage (we were moving to amsterdam) and she said that "dutch people are afraid of eastern europeans and that we can not be seen standing in front of the hostel" (we are croatian). I think that can and should not be tolerated and I think you should know with which type of person you are cooperating. I strongly believe that everyone who travels and books this hostel should know about this.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: It was fairly well located, close to the Vonderpark.

Disliked: Well, there was a deposit to be made in cash that I was not told, just when I got there. They told me to check in after 15:30 even if I was in town since 10am. So they told me to check out at 10:30 AM sayng that was their "schedule". The lady was not very polite at all on the phone. Also when I asked for a towel they only had a hand towel. The room upstais was quite hot and lacks ventilation. The bathroom was with no light for one night, so, I though the place has not been taken care properly as if they want their customers to be back. I would not recommend it for anyone who is not desperate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfy beds, but the shared bathroom as expected though. The owner is generous offered us cold soft drinks as it was a vert sunny day, she cleaned the bathroom everyday. Our room was at the backside of the house and very quiet and peaceful. Owner readily helped us with all our questions and demands. Would certainly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean. newly painted and renovated i believe. friendly hostess, helpful. top location. we walked to the vondelpark right next to the house. we walked to the museum and flower market. leideseplein is few blocks away. Supermarket next door.

Disliked: Nothing. Was what is says it is. We cannot complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noor Van Uchelen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Noor would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay. Next to the lovely Vondelpark and near to leidseplein. Loved it!

Disliked: Noor left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2012

Liked: The place had four walls and roof

Disliked: For a few euros more, we could have gotten a decent accomondation. The place was really tiny and the owner was unfriendly.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Small narrow staircases, unfriendly, unadvertised "fees", spider found under pillow, loud noises during the night, rude host who accused us of getting water on the bathroom floor when no towels were offered, room smelled like paint, heater in room makes loud noises all night, we're told to check out by 10AM and awoken at 9 by unfriendly host, told by host that there was free wifi which was a complete lie, drapes fell off window first night

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: Location and that the room was relatively clean.

Disliked: The hallways/stairs were dirty. There were mice in our room. It was very poorly managed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 30 minute walk from city centre railway station, or 10 min tram ride. Lots of little shops nearby. The lady - Gloria - who showed us the room was kind and friendly.

Disliked: For my wife and I, the property was fine. For some though it may not be ideal. Room small with no tv, hairdryer or mirror etc, Shared bathroom not good because the 3 young ladies in the next room spent an hour each in it in the morning doing make-up etc. Couldnt get near the bathroom for very long time. Room was accessed by 2 very narrow, steep wooden staircases without hand rails. Quite dangerous and would not pass fire safety inspection, in even a third world country. Unfinished electrical work too, and no fire safety plan. To be honest it is a death trap waiting to happen.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's does basically what it says on the packet. It's close to everything, it's clean, the beds are comfortable. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in the room then maybe it's not the place for you. It's somewhere to drop your bags, sleep and shower... nothing else. There is no breakfast, there is a shared bathroom (quite nice), the front rooms are a little noisy so if you think that might bother you, take ear plugs. There is a €50 key deposit and make sure you've emailed them in advance before you arrive to let them know when you're planning on checking in, they can be a bit funny about this... but in general they're friendly enough.

Disliked: No breakfast and lots of stairs - not advised if you have huge bags as they're quite steep.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and bathroom

Disliked: No handtowel or soap in the bathroom. The door handle and lock was a bit dodgy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arend Bruins

Alone

City break

03 January 2012 Arend would recommend this property

Liked: good please to stay. good location clean and friendly hostess

Disliked: na

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julien VIAU

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2011 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: Location Value for money

Disliked: Julien left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Terrible unfurnished rooms. mouse in the room no character at all told i couldn't have the room at the pre-organised time made to pay a 50 euro deposit

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Adrian Tuck

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011

Liked: we had to pay upfront and 50 euro deposit

Disliked: no tv or enything

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011

Liked: close to a couple of major attractions.

Disliked: it wasnt advertised properly, it advertises itself to have all these extras, no breakfast, no towells, no internet, no coffee making machines. i felt scared the entire time there, no friendly atmosphere. i would recommend do not stay there!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011

Liked: Nice room for a decent price. In a good location.

Disliked: They had double booked our room, made us wait in for 30 minutes, saying they would book another hostel for us. After 30 minutes she came out and said that we had a room for us as someone was checking out. We had to change rooms the second day which kinda ruined our plans... No towels or bathmat. All this would have been fine, but they were quite rude initially. One of the owners in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location. 3 blocks from leidseplein. Tram almost in front of the guest house. Quiet guest house. Nice clean rooms / bathroom with comfy beds. walked to the museum district... Good price compared to other properties we saw on the website.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was super. We could walk to the Rijksmuseum and van gogh museum. Leidseplein was just around the corner. The vondel park right behind the house was wonderful. Friendly and helpful hostess. Bathroom was cleaned daily. She gave rules about keeping the bathroom clean which is good for a shared bathroom. Clean rooms. Super market right next door and across the street. Super super location. Value for the little money that I paid. I certainly would come back here if I come Amsterdam again,

Disliked: Nothing much, since it says all that it is.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean room, easy to get to Amsterdam centre by tram.

Disliked: Noises in night when we stayed there.