We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

91.8% Overall Rating

260 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Shannon Lochead thinks…

"The staff at the hostel were super friendly. We were greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff also went through a map of Amsterdam with us to point out tourism locations, great places to eat,…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
43.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Sphinx HoSTEL
35.10 USD

Hostel 45.7% 1021 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
13.71 USD

Hostel 67.1% 222 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
32.90 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
43.32 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
38.39 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Rooms020
54.84 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

260 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 260 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Shannon Lochead

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were super friendly. We were greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff also went through a map of Amsterdam with us to point out tourism locations, great places to eat, etc. This was super helpful and much appreciated.

Disliked: Our rooms were very clean but cramped for six people. The room is taken up by two sets of 3 bed bunkbeds. Being on the top top bunk and having curtains made it very private. However, this made it difficult ot meet other people!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved that it was so close to many things in Amsterdam, the staff was so helpful and fun. Overall great place to stay, very safe, fun environment. :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hotels I have ever been. Great location, great atmosphere. You can be sure you will like it.

Disliked: Everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama is a fantastic hostel. It is cleaner and has better facilities than a lot of mid-range hotels I've stayed in. The staff are incredibly friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and there are a ton of perks - garden space, video and board games, free pasta and cereal, movies, an honesty bar, and plenty of space in the common area, just to name a few. We stayed in a four-person room, and there was plenty of space, with ample storage. You get two keys - one to the outside door, to let yourself in, and one to the door of your room. It was located in a great area and I felt secure and comfortable the entire time. I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xenia Hoderlein

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2015 xenia would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, felt welcome from the first minute on! Clean rooms and ensuite bathrooms, lockers in every room, nice big kitchen with seating and free stuff (Pasta, muesli,...) One of the best hostels we stayed at! Would definitely recommend it! Well worth the money!

Disliked: xenia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was great - even though it is not in the very center of Amsterdam we could reaxh everything by foot. The staff was very nice and helpful! They even give you the opportunity to take part in planned events like for example a pub crawl. The rooms were plain but absolutely meeting our demands. All in all we felt very comfortable during the stay and would defimetly recommend the hostel for people who want to get to know the beautiful city of Amsterdam

Disliked: There was nothing to complain about

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, cheap, good location

Disliked: No way to lock valuables

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helped so much with restuarant recommendations, things to do etc. Really appreciated it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alejandro Calb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2015 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms are cosy and the beds are very confy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They have different activities during the days

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

alejandra flores

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2015 alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Was a good stay, you can always find better places, but you have to consider Amsterdam is a very touristic city and very expensive, so price-quality is ok... I would consider to stay again .

Disliked: the bunk beds are too high and not very comfortable to go up and down each time if you get the 3rd bed up

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Swarbrick

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 February 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! loved the common room. It had a homely feel to it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donato Quaranta

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 February 2015 Donato would recommend this property

Liked: is a wonderful hostel. you get to the ground and if you go down there is the living room with washer, dryer, double kitchen, sofa, TV and outdoor area for smokers. On the first floor and second floor are the rooms. All great especially the staff only female

Disliked: Donato left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were all friendly and nice. Their kitchen is amazing.

Disliked: I got nothing to complain.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wendy Broos

Alone

Business / conference

26 January 2015 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, clean, nice atmosphere. And the cat, of course! =^.^=

Disliked: Just one thing: my bed wasn't very comfy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Gomez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2014 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as described. Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the desk were very helpful and regularly arranged events to keep a busy atmosphere in the hostel. The lounge had large comfy couches,a selection of game boards and books,and music was always on creating a friendly and inviting vibe.Wi-fi was always up and running. Overall Amsterdam was a lovely experience and coming back -after a long day in the city- it felt almost like home. As I am a female traveller and have made my round around hostels in different countries,based on other's reviews,I can definitely say that Cocomama has ticked all my boxes and recommend it to others fearlessly.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I came to Amsterdam with no place to stay, and chose Cocomama because of the high ratings. I made a great choice! Cocomama is located not far from Amsterdaam Central, just a short tram ride away. The location is a little quieter and calmer than city center, which I appreciated, and it is secure and safe. The staff were some of the nicest I'd encountered. As soon as I came they gave me a map of Amsterdam and went through a tour of must-see spots and suggestions for our visit - so awesome! The rooms were really nice and clean, bathroom was spacious, and there was good locker space for our belongings. Really cool common room space where I met some friends, and they have some common cooking materials and foods for use, and even a nice outdoor space. Wifi was reliable in common spaces but not in the rooms, but this was not a big problem. They sell padlocks for 4 euros which I thought was decent, and towel rentals for 1 euro. They even have a laundry service. They rent bikes for 5 euros, which I took to go on a nice bike tour of the city. The staff were always available if we had questions or just wanted to chat. I liked it so much I stayed an extra day there - if I come back to Amsterdam I would gladly stay again, and I recommend it to all others who are visiting the city.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain of, having wifi in the rooms could be nice, but not a big problem as it is very strong in the common areas. Having a breakfast of some type could be a nice option too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is both friendly and helpful; gave us a whole map tour of Amsterdam within the first 5 minutes of our arrival. Beds are beyond comfortable, and our private room was spacious for the price.

Disliked: The location is a little bit far from the heart of the city. It took us about a half hour to get to the Red Light District. On a sunny day, I'd have no complaints. However, Amsterdam is notable for its "temperamental" weather, and that held true during our stay, unfortunately.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Our room was left open (and unlocked) after the cleaning personell had been there. This is not acceptable. We had left early in the morning and locked the door (checked twice), and when we returned in the evening the door was not only unlocked, but also open. Additionally, the staff didn't seem to react when we told them of this.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Nelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation.

Disliked: They have daily social events that they advertise as if they were spontaneously organized by the staff members, when they're actually recurring events pre-scheduled and assigned to staff members. Examples: Group tours visiting the "sex show" are pre-arranged with partner clubs, and the guides get free drinks and discounts if they bring a group. "Cocktail night" is just a staff member selling cups of hot wine for $2.50. It should be said that this is only a minor complaint. The staff are extremely friendly, but these planned events come off as forced and artificial.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Eduardo Matos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Carlos Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities, kitchen full-equiped, lovely garden, common area, good atmosphere, good location...

Disliked: Nothing that I can remember! I had a great time at this Hostel!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and comfortable and in a much nicer area than the crazy centre of town. Joop the cat was awesome! i felt really cosy and at home during my stay.

Disliked: i thought it would be a little more special than it actually was, given the pricing. It's definitely still pretty much a standard hostel, albeit a more upmarket one.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't even explain how awesome this place was. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, location was perfect, great kitchen facilities available, and the staff were incredible. The only bad thing about this place was that it's made my standards waaaayyy to high

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.