HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

94.2% Overall Rating

234 out of 236 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

Joshua Nelson thinks…

"Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation."

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
44.37 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx Hotel
24.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.4% 1008 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.84 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
28.28 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
37.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.2% 422 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.10 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Flower Market Apartment
67.67 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
41.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 884 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

234 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 233 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Nelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation.

Disliked: They have daily social events that they advertise as if they were spontaneously organized by the staff members, when they're actually recurring events pre-scheduled and assigned to staff members. Examples: Group tours visiting the "sex show" are pre-arranged with partner clubs, and the guides get free drinks and discounts if they bring a group. "Cocktail night" is just a staff member selling cups of hot wine for $2.50. It should be said that this is only a minor complaint. The staff are extremely friendly, but these planned events come off as forced and artificial.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Eduardo Matos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Carlos Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities, kitchen full-equiped, lovely garden, common area, good atmosphere, good location...

Disliked: Nothing that I can remember! I had a great time at this Hostel!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe and comfortable and in a much nicer area than the crazy centre of town. Joop the cat was awesome! i felt really cosy and at home during my stay.

Disliked: i thought it would be a little more special than it actually was, given the pricing. It's definitely still pretty much a standard hostel, albeit a more upmarket one.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't even explain how awesome this place was. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, location was perfect, great kitchen facilities available, and the staff were incredible. The only bad thing about this place was that it's made my standards waaaayyy to high

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marisa Bosa

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Marisa would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my time at Cocomamas. The Hostel is exactly what it promised, it was like staying in a hotel with other travellers. I felt very safe and never worried about leaving my things behind in the room (there was a locker for every person in the room). I arrived after their desk closed but this wasn't a problem and they arranged for someone to meet me after hours. They showed me the basics and had me in my room right away, the next morning I got a more thorough tour of the facilities. The beds were by far the most comfortable I've slept on in a hostel and the rooms were very clean. I loved having an ensuite in the room. The downstairs common area was like hanging out in your lviing room, open concept to a lovely modern kitchen and even had a lovely back garden. The only issue I had was with some inconsiderate roomates who kept me up the entire night but when I voiced this in the morning the staff were very appologetic (not that this was in their control) and they happilied moved me into a new room. I know this is not an easy task to do in a busy hostel so it was very much appreciated. Location was excellent, walking distance to everything in the city but also right outside a tram stop so if you're tired from a long day of walking you can easily get back. I really cannot recommend this hostel any higher, it has restored my faith in hostel travel (it had been a bit broken from other hostels). If you want a nice place to stay with caring staff, friendly travellers, and outstanding facilities then definitely stay here!!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Both staff and other guests were very friendly. The staff organized events and offered great suggestions on places to go. Cool lounge and garden to hang out in.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazingly helpful. Carried my bag up to my room. Gave a tour of the place. Highlighted different things on the map.

Disliked: Hostel Bookers never mentioned a cat that lives in the hostel and turns out, I'm allergic. My room had naked pictures all over the walls. No breakfast. Just a lot of money to not be impressed.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel - the staff were very friendly, the mattresses were the most comfortable I've had in a hostel, one of the most well-stocked kitchens I've had, and it had a really comfy and cozy vibe in the common room which is conducive to meeting other travelers. Located in a nice area of the city - not right in the center of the action, but everything in Amsterdam is walkable anyways so it's not bad at all. They also rent bikes for cheap. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: I thought the price was pretty high for a hostel, despite the great facilities. Rooms were a little small, though it wasn't too bad. Other than that, nothing to complain about!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice common room area and it was one of the most comfortable hostel beds I've stayed in. Bathroom in the room was extremely clean which was good too.

Disliked: Main problem I'd say is the location - it's near the heineken brewery and leidseplein/rembrantplein is walkable which is ok but everything else (i.e. railway station, main attractions) are much further away. Room was quite cramped for six people too.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ashlee chatfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and homely atmosphere...lovely staff - very chilled out but people willing to share their company with you :-)

Disliked: smallish bedrooms...but nothing too un-likeable!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Mountford

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, Mel, Sols and Yols made my stay as if I was visiting family.

Disliked: The lack of breasts in the cheese room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jake Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly inviting place with a great layout an an awesome cat!

Disliked: Though not bad the location could have been better....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CocoMama is the best hostel I have stayed in ever! It actually felt so much like home after my 6 day stay, I was a little sad to leave! Because they only do relatively small dorms there was a different clientele and the vibe was awesome :)

Disliked: It was a little bit of a walk in to town but this wasn't a problem nice you got your bearings.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean facilities, Joop the Cat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucio Aguirre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Lucio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff, the facilities, the kitchen, the games, the vibe, the decoration, the cleaning, the location, the beds, the garden, the nintendo, the Ali G dvd, the bathroom... so yeah, everything.

Disliked: Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Woodham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have every stayed in, quite comfortably. The staff are fantastic, all the girls are extremely friendly and hospitable. You can tell they really care about the guests and want to make sure everything is clean and comfortable. It was very sad to leave.... When I come to Amsterdam, this will be my choice every single time, you will enjoy it!

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Don Le

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 Don would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Cocomama was super friendly and put together activities that brought together everyone in the hostel. As a solo traveller, it was setup great for meeting other travelers. They also had the most comfortable bunk beds I've ever slept in. Location is good if you are planning on doing more than just the Red Light District.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit cramped, but that's just nitpicking.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean. friendly staff. bit far from the sights. however, walking distance to all. but what really isn't walking distance in Amsterdam anyways!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dallan Pitman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Dallan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful friendly and cute. The location was awesome. The hostel itself is really cool. The common area was super chilled and everyone was really happy to chat and go out as a group. The staff cleaned rooms daily, offered full laundry, some free food, a cool cat, and organized activities. The staff even came out and drank on the pub crawl. There's a bunch of games and DVDs u can watch for free.. They do a full rundown of the hostel and give u a map that they point out where everything is. They even recommend the best place to enjoy "coffee" and particular live shows. Been the best hostel iI've stayed in while backpacking Europe. Can't wait to go back.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: It is true that this hostel isn't right in the city center and I think that was a good thing. I loved walking around the canal belt and liked that area much more than the center. I also really enjoyed how this hostel really made everyone feel welcome even right from check in. Check in was great with a free coffee while talking about the location of the hostel and sights to see. They also gave a nice tour and explanation of all of the areas of the hostel. I also enjoyed that they had something special planned each day if you wanted. The first day I was there was Sinterklaas day and they let us in on the tradition of leaving shoes out to be filled with treats. Anyone who left a shoe out overnight got a nice chocolate. They also had a dinner one night and a cocktail hour. Just a great experience all around. And Joop is an awesome cat!

Disliked: Can't really think of anything I didn't like! I wish there was some handsoap in the bathroom as I'm not sure many people travel with this (at least I hadn't been).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Riad

Alone

City break

05 December 2012 George would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Property, great location and brilliant living/dining room space to relax or meet new people. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole visit was reasonably priced. It is a very unique hostel! It was clean and tidy too!

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the common room was a really nice place to meet people, to cook, eat and relax.

Disliked: The room was really small an there was not enough room to store the clothes. Also the sink in the bathroom was quite small. If there was more light in the room, eg. a small lamp for every bed, that would be perfect.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bill Wheatley

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have visited. Very conducive to meeting other people and the staff is very friendly. Good for solo travellers. Everything is new and clean. Beds are comfortable. I liked the location, quiet and outside of the hectic center, but easy to get to places. Next time I would stay longer.

Disliked: Rooms were a little tight with everyone's suitcases but not a big problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yang Huang

Alone

City break

05 November 2012 Yang would recommend this property

Liked: everything, absolutely the right choice!

Disliked: Yang left no negative feedback.