HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.07USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 81-90 of 124 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: being in Cocomama is like being at home. Grate hostel, clean, excelent kitchen, Good beds, baths in every room, and helpfull staff

Disliked: it's a bit away from the centre, but in tram you are there in 10 minutes

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Miso, thank you for leaving us a review. We are wondering what happened that you had such a bad experience with our staff? We aim for excellent guest services by our staff at all times so would appreciate a bit more detailed feedback. Please get in touch with us by email to explain further. Best, team Cocomama

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: common area/kitchen is absolutely fabulous. rooms are a little cold, but they give you the best down comforter ever. the shower curtain kept falling down, but that really didn't bother me. The location is good.

Disliked: Nothing... besides maybe the shower curtain issue... but nbd.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Kelsey, thank you for leaving us a review! We have fixed the shower curtain issue by bolting them to the walls. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon! Love, team Cocomama

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Never been in such a stylish Hostel before. The atmosphere and furniture is very cool, the staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it was just like home

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing staff, comfortable beds, awesome common room. Great for people who like a calmer, more laid back environment compared to other hostels. Great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very nice rooms, helpfull staff

Disliked: not alot

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: CocoMama is in a former brothel building and the rooms are themed - we stayed in the brothel themed room with topless female pictures on the wall. It has lots of character and is rustic in decor. It is safe and secure and pretty well located (about 15 mins from Leidseplein and a tram lines nearby).

Disliked: It was pricey in terms of hostels - I paid more to stay in a 6 bed dorm here than I have to be in a private room elsewhere with breakfast included. The kitchen area is small - that was fine except that space in the fridge was a premium and we had a bit of food go missing here. Not happy with a 10 hour bus trip the next day to find the food we had for it gone. The staff and owners are friendly and interact with guests - though I find it a bit weird to be listening to them discuss their social lives and be eating dinner next to you in the kitchen. Some people would like that though. There is a cat too - so if you are not a cat person you will have to tolerate a cat in the kitchen with you.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: i wrealy liked the beds...own powerouttake, big beds where the bottom ones got drapes to pull for more privacy and the top ones have large woddenwall, Nice commonroom with enough space for relaxing, cooking and have a place to sit down, unfortanetly the garden at this time was offlimits.Godd location if you wanna see more of amsterdam then the red light district. Short walk from the hostel will bring you to the local cafes and bars.

Disliked: bad location of you wanna be wery close to the city center center. Tryiing to hard to be friendly

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brilliant hostel... Things we liked: lovely, helpful, chatty staff; comfortable beds, great showers, honesty bar (only 1 euro for beer); delightful communal area

Disliked: No lockers in room (even though they had a safe we could put valuables in)- this is only temporary: new lockers have been ordered! Distance was ok, bit of a walk to dam square etc but tram stops right outside!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability