We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

92.0% Overall Rating

256 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

xenia Hoderlein thinks…

"Really nice staff, felt welcome from the first minute on! Clean rooms and ensuite bathrooms, lockers in every room, nice big kitchen with seating and free stuff (Pasta, muesli,...) One of the best…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
51.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
41.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx HoSTEL
37.74 USD

Hostel 45.9% 1020 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
11.85 USD

Hostel 67.9% 221 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
21.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
35.58 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 111 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
37.74 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
32.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 904 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

256 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 255 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Ward

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and it was such a fun hostel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Caffrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This is quite possibly the BEST hostel I've ever stayed at, and i've stayed at several over the past few years. The staff is incredibly helpful, and they've created an environment where it's so easy to meet people. It's clean, comfortable and I would recommend you don't look anywhere else to stay- Cocomama is the Best!

Disliked: I really enjoyed everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Wan Der Maas Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2011 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Maggioli

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 December 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great people! They wait our arrival until 3.30 a.m!!! Many thanks!

Disliked: The first night the guy in the room was totaly crazy... but only some scream in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zache Audette-Hall

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Zache would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and warm! Good price for what you get.

Disliked: Nothing significant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal area. Very friendly staff. NINTENDO!!!

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and homely

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful lots of character beds comfortable, linen and doonas nice too big , new bathrooms/ shower especially laundry service reasonable price Whole hostel was VERY clean

Disliked: the cat...it's just I have allergies! :) but it wasn't a problem it doesn't go up to rooms, stays in common area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom and bed. kitchen fully equiped!

Disliked: you can smoke only in the garden, not very confortable during the winter...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AN LI M

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 AN would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere, self-cooking facilities, great service from the owners, toilet paper provided, very clean. They upgraded me to a private room (without extra payment) because most probably, they were worried that climbing the stairs might be hard on me at my age. Later when the toilet acted up in the room, I was moved to a dorm but given a lower bunk. So they were really such wonderful considerate girls.

Disliked: No individual socket, no reading light and no shelf for individual beds in the dorm, no real lockers (only boxes under the beds),the room and the dorm I was in was quite cold although the owner very kindly turned up the heating. The wind came in through the windows.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyo Sakagishi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Kyo would recommend this property

Liked: The best stuff, ever. so helpful and they know where to go in Amsterdam, and they showed me very specifically on the map, and oral too. Nice atmosphere, everyone watch movie together, and drink etc. But my best thing there was, when I get there I was death freezing, and they offer me nice hot soup and glass of water (could have tea as well) when I get there. Man, what kinda hostel is that you ask? its a COCOMAMA.

Disliked: Location was bit far from central, but I thought it was good experience to get tram right away after I get to the station, and see the town. get fries, and tram, nice combination that was. Room was bit cold, if you are on window side. Don't forget to turn heater on like we did.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the nice and friendly environment given by the staffs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brodie Haining Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Brodie would recommend this property

Liked: My partner & I have traveling for nearly five months (through south America & Europe) and this hostel was easily one of the best hostels we have stayed in which is amazing considering the two young girls who own and run the hostel are extremely new to the business. They even stayed at other hostels in Amsterdam to ensure their hostel had everything a traveler would need! The rooms are awesome (different themes and the beds were massive and really comfortable!!) free use of Mac computers as well as good wifi throughout the hostel (which is in a really beautiful building) as well as the kitchen being in the living lounge area where everyone always hung out and relaxed. The two girls made us feel really welcome!! Best hostel :) 

Disliked: I wasn't able to steal their beautiful cat they got at the shelter!! Haha :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, clean, safe facility with awesome staff! Anika and Lotje were fantastic hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer O'Shea

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!! The staff was super friendly and fun, and they had great recommendations for stuff to do in the city. The social atmosphere especially was unlike any other hostel - I really felt like part of a big family! It's a great place to meet people and the kitchen/common room is perfect for hanging out. As for the building itself, all the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and the beds are SO comfortable!

Disliked: Nothing! Great job Cocomama! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zoe Langdell

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 November 2010 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: One of those hostels where you are offered a cup of tea as soon as you lay down your bags! As other reviews say, they are just putting the finishing touches to Cocomama, with themed rooms on various floors and a basement lounge and kitchen area. There's an iMac to use, as well as a stocked kitchen with shared basics, and a cat! The rooms have good sturdy bunks and pretty swish bathrooms. The location itself is on the bottom ring of the grachtengordel, 10 mins on the tram from the station, and walkable around the beautiful surrounding canals and up into the centre. Definitely book here and help it go up in the ratings! Good luck girls!

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triada Papadimitriou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2010 Triada would recommend this property

Liked: Great beds. Quiet area. Awesome kitchen. Great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Triada left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cosy with a neat concept. Well run, and the staff were very friendly. The cookware, showers, mattresses et cetera were all new as well.

Disliked: Very little.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shanshan Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 November 2010 Shanshan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and hospitable staff. Great themed rooms. Rooms was quite small but warm and cozy. Lots of amenities make the hostel feel very homely - well-equipped kitchen, TV, lounge, laundromat, computers, wi-fi. Great location - trams, metro, canal cruises and other attractions all within walking distance or easily accessible. Definitely recommended. I will be back the next time I'm in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Prices were a bit expensive, but the overall awesomeness of the place makes it well worth the extra bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 November 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Themed rooms, nice chillout area, friendly/relaxed/easy going/helpful staff, Great location, Great fellow travellers staying there, Bargain in price. Will return to the same hostel and recommend to friends for my next visit!

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer!