HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

Showing 81-33 of 33 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: CocoMama is in a former brothel building and the rooms are themed - we stayed in the brothel themed room with topless female pictures on the wall. It has lots of character and is rustic in decor. It is safe and secure and pretty well located (about 15 mins from Leidseplein and a tram lines nearby).

Disliked: It was pricey in terms of hostels - I paid more to stay in a 6 bed dorm here than I have to be in a private room elsewhere with breakfast included. The kitchen area is small - that was fine except that space in the fridge was a premium and we had a bit of food go missing here. Not happy with a 10 hour bus trip the next day to find the food we had for it gone. The staff and owners are friendly and interact with guests - though I find it a bit weird to be listening to them discuss their social lives and be eating dinner next to you in the kitchen. Some people would like that though. There is a cat too - so if you are not a cat person you will have to tolerate a cat in the kitchen with you.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: i wrealy liked the beds...own powerouttake, big beds where the bottom ones got drapes to pull for more privacy and the top ones have large woddenwall, Nice commonroom with enough space for relaxing, cooking and have a place to sit down, unfortanetly the garden at this time was offlimits.Godd location if you wanna see more of amsterdam then the red light district. Short walk from the hostel will bring you to the local cafes and bars.

Disliked: bad location of you wanna be wery close to the city center center. Tryiing to hard to be friendly

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Brilliant hostel... Things we liked: lovely, helpful, chatty staff; comfortable beds, great showers, honesty bar (only 1 euro for beer); delightful communal area

Disliked: No lockers in room (even though they had a safe we could put valuables in)- this is only temporary: new lockers have been ordered! Distance was ok, bit of a walk to dam square etc but tram stops right outside!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff and cat

Disliked: Snoring room mates

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great character - ex brothel and our room (the royal) had a round bed! Very clean room and shared spaces. Friendly staff and lovely hostel cat :)Good facilities - space to store food in kitchen and cook if wished. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Room on the small side though not a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: NIce surrounding area - friendly & helpful staff - pleasant social area downstairs

Disliked: I could only book three nights, although two would have sufficed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Big comfy rooms, en-suite, clean, great friendly helpful staff, great social space, wifi - and I loved the 'honesty bar' and the very cuddly cat :)

Disliked: The only downside was that the garden was closed while I was there due to complaints from the neighbours. It would be great if they could negotiate opening it again with a curfew or something (i.e. people can't use it after 10pm or something)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing! I had a ton of fun, and met some amazing people. It was a really great place to stay. Definitely coming back again!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location with friendly staff very clean

Disliked: a bit pricey for what u get we stYed in a room for 4 and there was no room no storage etc feel star price does not reflect room facilities

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Well worth paying the extra for this hostel

Disliked: the location is nice but maybe a mile away from the centre

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability