HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.17USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Showing 71-31 of 31 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: the kitchen and common area are great, nice and big with all facilities and a great place to kick back on in the lounge area. Free internet. Ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: Didn't like how you have to phisically lock your bedroom door when you leave the room, most places have the swipe cards. No smoking in the back yard either, which is weird for Amsterdam. And this place for me was really expensive. Its a great clean and safe hostel but I've stayed at places equally as nice for a lot less

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Tristan, thank you for leaving us a review. We do not have swipe cards because they demagnetise quite easily and we do not have 24-hr reception to re-activate them. Smoking marijuana is allowed in coffee-shops and private homes in our country. Hotels do not have this license, so it's not 'weird for Amsterdam' that we do not allow smoking weed in the garden, it's illegal if we allowed it and we would risk our hospitality license. As for prices, yes they are higher on NYE. Best, team Cocomama

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing staff, really good guest profile, no smoking, great location (far enough from the cente to not feel touristy, but only a 15 minute walk away), JOOP! They even went out of their way to include vegetarian options in the (traditional Dutch) Christmas meal so that I and some other veggies could join!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very relaxed and clean hostel that has everything you need. helpful staff who are more then willing to join in or share the best experiences with you!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: everything, the most super comfortable beds, awesomely stocked kitchen, close to everything, very very helpful staff. one of hte best hostels i have stayed in.

Disliked: the stairs were a bit scary when perhaps not completely sober. otherwise it was perfecto!!!!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Danielle, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. As you will have noticed, Amsterdam buildings all have very steep stairs. Ours actually aren't bad at all compared to most others! We are glad you enjoyed your stay nevertheless, and we hope to see you again soon! Love, team Cocomama

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: being in Cocomama is like being at home. Grate hostel, clean, excelent kitchen, Good beds, baths in every room, and helpfull staff

Disliked: it's a bit away from the centre, but in tram you are there in 10 minutes

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Miso, thank you for leaving us a review. We are wondering what happened that you had such a bad experience with our staff? We aim for excellent guest services by our staff at all times so would appreciate a bit more detailed feedback. Please get in touch with us by email to explain further. Best, team Cocomama

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: common area/kitchen is absolutely fabulous. rooms are a little cold, but they give you the best down comforter ever. the shower curtain kept falling down, but that really didn't bother me. The location is good.

Disliked: Nothing... besides maybe the shower curtain issue... but nbd.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Kelsey, thank you for leaving us a review! We have fixed the shower curtain issue by bolting them to the walls. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon! Love, team Cocomama

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Never been in such a stylish Hostel before. The atmosphere and furniture is very cool, the staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: it was just like home

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing staff, comfortable beds, awesome common room. Great for people who like a calmer, more laid back environment compared to other hostels. Great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability