We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

93.7% Overall Rating

243 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Everything was as described. Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx HoSTEL
30.36 USD

Hotel 44.1% 1018 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 67.1% 213 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
22.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

243 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 242 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo K. Scheffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: You wont regret going there! Its really a nice hostel. Recomended!!

Disliked: Wifi in the bedrooms would be nice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelley Wilk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: Their common room was an excellent place to meet people and a group of us actually went out a couple of nights. Also, I loved the cat!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wade McConnell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Wade would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The whole experience was flawless.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lavinia Fung

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Lavinia would recommend this property

Liked: very homey, especially the common area. the kitchen is newly done so everythings nicely put together with a good cooking space so if you dont want to dine out. its always good since you can just go to the supermarket to grab some food and cook it at home, which is always a nice way to save money. a lot of the things are shared; spices, pasta, rice etc which is kinda neat seeing nothing goes to waste if you dont finish it. very cosy tv area with rugs on the floor, sofas around, plenty of board games, movies and magazines that you can just freely use. the rooms are pretty standard, big bunkbeds with a shared bathroom in the the room. the owners have added their own little touches by adding a different dutch theme to each room; we stayed in the cheese room, but theres also others like the windmill and the redlight etc. the people there were really friendly, showed us around and told us about the different areas of amsterdam that we could visit, which i thought was very welcoming. really makes you feel like you're at home. some might think its a disadvantage, but i personally loved it. it was away from the redlight district meaning the coffeeshops and the sex shops which i found a little too overwhelming and sometimes over shadows what amsterdam is really about . dont get me wrong though, there are still coffeeshops around, it is amsterdam afterall, but theres a lot less compared to the red light district so i thought that was a breath of fresh air.

Disliked: not much really, everything was rather neat and nicely put together, the spiral staircases are a little steep, but nothing too different from the standard amsterdam-styled housing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the people in the hostel were very friendly. and the room was nice and clean.

Disliked: everything was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Staskiewicz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, very welcoming, beautiful fat cat, great atmosphere. not too much of a party hostel as away from the touristy cheap hostel area which was appreciated. free computers and wireless to use, well equipped kitchen (altho in process of building while i was there) great ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: rooms a little cramped and small, but not too bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Toop

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly one of the nicest hostels i have ever stayed in. Friendly, welcoming environment. Common room was great. Staff were amazing

Disliked: Everything was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners-workers very friendly and very involved. homely feel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Kent

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 January 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel with brilliantly unique rooms which were really clean. The hostel is well run with super friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgi Medzhidiliev

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Georgi would recommend this property

Liked: Great customer service. Super cool room with TV, Nintendo & DVDs, a cat and a kitchen.

Disliked: A bit noisy, but cant be otherwise as the building's since some centuries.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Gruebr

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: - How clean the bedrooms and bathrooms were. - In a very nice area and 20-30 minute walk from the Red Light District.

Disliked: - Only one electrical outlet per room, that I could notice. I brought a surge protector so everyone could charge their cameras and phones/laptops.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Tai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel i stayed in. Maybe because everything is still new. Awesome common room. The so called garden is not really a garden cos its still under construction. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: A little out of the way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Dorigon Reinhardt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Denise Dorigon would recommend this property

Liked: New hostel, great people, lovely staff. Owners rocks

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girls running the hostel are awesome, they really do their best to make the place feel like a second home. They also organise activities and little parties on week ends. They are also willing to help, always there if you have any question. Thumbs up for their great job. The place is brand new and very clean, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well heated. You may have some difficulties to leave the room! Plus, the hostel is not far from the supermarket and restaurants (5min walk). If you're interested in a canal cruise, there is a boat stop on the way to the supermarket. Leidseplein, Museumplein and Damsquare are at approximately 30min walking distance from the hostel. And if you don't wanna walk you can take the Tramway: the nearest stop is right outside the hostel. There is a second one at like 100 meters, in front of an ATM (very handy). It's not a lie to say that this is Amsterdam Awesomest hostel.

Disliked: I must say the stairs are a little steep, but that's being picky.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Ward

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and it was such a fun hostel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Caffrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This is quite possibly the BEST hostel I've ever stayed at, and i've stayed at several over the past few years. The staff is incredibly helpful, and they've created an environment where it's so easy to meet people. It's clean, comfortable and I would recommend you don't look anywhere else to stay- Cocomama is the Best!

Disliked: I really enjoyed everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Wan Der Maas Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2011 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Maggioli

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 December 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great people! They wait our arrival until 3.30 a.m!!! Many thanks!

Disliked: The first night the guy in the room was totaly crazy... but only some scream in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zache Audette-Hall

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Zache would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and warm! Good price for what you get.

Disliked: Nothing significant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal area. Very friendly staff. NINTENDO!!!

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and homely

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful lots of character beds comfortable, linen and doonas nice too big , new bathrooms/ shower especially laundry service reasonable price Whole hostel was VERY clean

Disliked: the cat...it's just I have allergies! :) but it wasn't a problem it doesn't go up to rooms, stays in common area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom and bed. kitchen fully equiped!

Disliked: you can smoke only in the garden, not very confortable during the winter...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AN LI M

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 AN would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere, self-cooking facilities, great service from the owners, toilet paper provided, very clean. They upgraded me to a private room (without extra payment) because most probably, they were worried that climbing the stairs might be hard on me at my age. Later when the toilet acted up in the room, I was moved to a dorm but given a lower bunk. So they were really such wonderful considerate girls.

Disliked: No individual socket, no reading light and no shelf for individual beds in the dorm, no real lockers (only boxes under the beds),the room and the dorm I was in was quite cold although the owner very kindly turned up the heating. The wind came in through the windows.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyo Sakagishi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Kyo would recommend this property

Liked: The best stuff, ever. so helpful and they know where to go in Amsterdam, and they showed me very specifically on the map, and oral too. Nice atmosphere, everyone watch movie together, and drink etc. But my best thing there was, when I get there I was death freezing, and they offer me nice hot soup and glass of water (could have tea as well) when I get there. Man, what kinda hostel is that you ask? its a COCOMAMA.

Disliked: Location was bit far from central, but I thought it was good experience to get tram right away after I get to the station, and see the town. get fries, and tram, nice combination that was. Room was bit cold, if you are on window side. Don't forget to turn heater on like we did.