HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.08USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 61-70 of 123 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were fantastic and had great recommendations for places to eat and things to see.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I loved the kitchen and lounge area! Great if you like to cook. The beds were so comfortable.. the design and decoration of the rooms is wicked fun. REALLY REALLY friendly people here!! The location is nice because it´s near some beautiful and fun parts of Amsterdam without being in the middle of the tourist trappy part. Also great access to public transport. The staff is fantastic.

Disliked: NONE!! Just loved this place -- stayed an extra 2 nights! However, might be challenging if you can´t walk up and down windy staircases...

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Like the public area and the cat.

Disliked: The room is too small and narrow. The sound-proof is poor, I could easily hear people's shutting the door and peeing in bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly, it had a family atmosphere, and one of staff members carried my bag when I struggled, which I was really thankful for.

Disliked: My only dislike is that the shower was cold on more then one occasion.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Emma, thank you for leaving us a review. We had a water heater issue during your stay and we had to replace our entire water heating system (even though it is only 1.5 years old!) We notified our guests and had it repaired within two days. We hope to see you again soon and we promise there won't be any more cold showers! Love, team Cocomama

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Really nice place and excellent, very accommodating staff. Garden and kitchen area is fantastic. Good beds.

Disliked: The 6 man dorm is pretty small and it's certainly not a cheap place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super friendly staff and a great hostel! By far the best hostel i ever stayed at! Safe and relaxing atmosphere! Just perfect if you travel alone. An they have a nice garden to chill out in!! 5/5 happy faces;)

Disliked: Nada!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, nice kitchen and common room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! Great kitchen and common room with free food, nice rooms with comfy beds, the nicest staff, free wifi, everything was great!

Disliked: It's not a perfect location but it's certainly still close to most of the big sights/fun neighborhoods/etc.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place has character as it was once a former brothel and all the rooms have different dutch themes. The staff are really friendly and there is also a cat to make you feel at home (not so good if you are allergic). The beds were extremely comfy complete with feather down duvets. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: If your allergic to cats then this is not the hostel for you. The hostel is also a 30min walk from the centre of town though it is a very pretty walk along the canals and there is a tram stop just down from the hostel. Again not a problem for me.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hostel! Really nice, comfy beds, solid bunks that don't sway side to side when you climb into them. Really cool building, super nice common area and backyard space, amazingly well stocked kitchen with 8 burners so you don't have to fight anyone to cook dinner! Wonderful and beautiful location in a real Amsterdam neighborhood, away from the touristy center but still close enough to walk. Loved it!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability