HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

Showing 61-33 of 33 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, nice kitchen and common room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! Great kitchen and common room with free food, nice rooms with comfy beds, the nicest staff, free wifi, everything was great!

Disliked: It's not a perfect location but it's certainly still close to most of the big sights/fun neighborhoods/etc.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place has character as it was once a former brothel and all the rooms have different dutch themes. The staff are really friendly and there is also a cat to make you feel at home (not so good if you are allergic). The beds were extremely comfy complete with feather down duvets. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: If your allergic to cats then this is not the hostel for you. The hostel is also a 30min walk from the centre of town though it is a very pretty walk along the canals and there is a tram stop just down from the hostel. Again not a problem for me.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome hostel! Really nice, comfy beds, solid bunks that don't sway side to side when you climb into them. Really cool building, super nice common area and backyard space, amazingly well stocked kitchen with 8 burners so you don't have to fight anyone to cook dinner! Wonderful and beautiful location in a real Amsterdam neighborhood, away from the touristy center but still close enough to walk. Loved it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hospitality and atmosphere. Joop, Solveiga and Vienna were extremely accommodating to my needs. Love the coffeeshop stuff outside rule. Wished I stayed in Cocomama on my first trip to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The pillows. Seriously.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very friendly and classier than most hostels in Amsterdam.

Disliked: There was a 20 euro key deposit that wasn't described on the website.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: meeting room is awesome!

Disliked: 4 bed rooms is recommended, 6 bed room is too crowd.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was nice to stay somewhere that is not in the middle of the 'amsterdam' scene...the staff were really helpful and friendly...the common facilities were great...

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is really human-sized, and the atmosphere here is great (people, staff, music... cat ^^). The bed are comfortable and the curtains give some privacy to everyone. Tram station 50m away (10 min from city center), supermarket 200m away, it's not in the very middle but nothing is really far from you and the rooms stay quiet during the night. Official check-in is at 4pm, but the staff won't let you out if you arrive earlier! Would definitely come back here again.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: the kitchen and common area are great, nice and big with all facilities and a great place to kick back on in the lounge area. Free internet. Ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: Didn't like how you have to phisically lock your bedroom door when you leave the room, most places have the swipe cards. No smoking in the back yard either, which is weird for Amsterdam. And this place for me was really expensive. Its a great clean and safe hostel but I've stayed at places equally as nice for a lot less

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Tristan, thank you for leaving us a review. We do not have swipe cards because they demagnetise quite easily and we do not have 24-hr reception to re-activate them. Smoking marijuana is allowed in coffee-shops and private homes in our country. Hotels do not have this license, so it's not 'weird for Amsterdam' that we do not allow smoking weed in the garden, it's illegal if we allowed it and we would risk our hospitality license. As for prices, yes they are higher on NYE. Best, team Cocomama

Check Availability