HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

94.3% Overall Rating

235 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2013)

Joshua Nelson thinks…

"Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation."

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
44.45 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx Hotel
24.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.4% 1008 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.89 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
35.59 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
35.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.2% 422 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Flower Market Apartment
67.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.1% 885 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

235 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 234 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maren Mattson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Maren would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies who own Cocomama are clearly committed to creating a fantastic community experience for folks staying at their hostel. The facilities are brand-new, the beds are crazy comfy, everything felt very secure, and the community room and kitchen had everything I could have wanted. And they had bikes for rent, which I didn't know about beforehand, but was a great surprise! When I checked in, a staff member gave me a map and then sat with me and pointed out all his favorite places, where the supermarket was, etc. The staff was very kind and super helpful. If I ever make it back to Amsterdam, I know where I'll be staying!

Disliked: I don't remember the listing saying they had a cat, and they did. I'm not really allergic, but I spent more time sneezing than usual. A bummer, since the cat was adorable and so sweet!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Staff were incredibly friendly and the common room was great for meeting new people especially if traveling alone. Also by far the most comfy beds I have stayed in. A bunch of us mentioned earlier in the day that we would like to go on a tour of the red light district that evening and by the time we got back to the hostel later that day a tour had been organized for us!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SOOO clean and nice and new. Greatest hostel ever.

Disliked: Honestly nothing really...the stairs were steep?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, free access to kitchen and lounging areas.

Disliked: location was a little out of the way, but I liked that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the inner 'touristy' area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adeline Teh

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Adeline would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in. It's a pretty new hostel but they've got everything down. Real showers in the rooms and all the rooms have some Dutch theme. Staff are really friendly and helpful as are the other travellers. Has excellent facilities, fully fitted out kitchen plus free spices and pasta, two Macs for free use and a great common area. Plus they have a cat Joop which makes it feel more homely.

Disliked: It is a little far from the city center/train station but there are trams and a little walking isn't that bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, nice common areas, friendly staff.

Disliked: There was a fee to leave your baggage once you checked out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nicely decorated, and the shared kitchen/living room was cozy. They had free pasta! I found it really easy to meet new people and the staff were also really friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy too!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anika

Disliked: Small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic, welcoming staff gave great advice and suggestions for activities, good vibe and character with nice kitchen/common room, free use of computers and internet

Disliked: felt that 6 beds for the size of the room was too many as very little room for bags, 4 would have been better, steep staircase a bit tricky but too be expected in an old building

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place! A great place to chill out.

Disliked: A bit far from the central station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful! Excellent staff, great atmosphere, very clean, close to different trams and walking distance to museums. I travelled with a friend but would have been completely comfortable being on my own at this hostel.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival the staff take 15 minutes of their time to explain the sites around amsterdam on a map. All of the staff go out of their way to help. Great location, excellent for tram travel to all major sites. Comfy beds and good showers!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quicky & lovely, very nice staff

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, cosy, clean and cute boutique hostel with character

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are really clean and the vibe is very chilled. I highly recommend Cocomama for anyone wanting a cool, relaxed place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: friendly,helpful and kind

Disliked: maybe better directions on the e-mail confirmation from hostelbookers, including directions from the Eurolines station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the accomodation was really clean.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and friendly staff :)

Disliked: it does not have the best signage outside

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are friendly and speak good English. We were welcomed with a free hot drink of our choice, which was nice. They gave us a free map and told us about Amsterdam and where to go etc. Then they showed us to our room...we had a double ensuite, which was nicely decorated with high ceilings but it was quite cold as they don't have double glazing and also our room was by the main road but this didn't damper our experience. All the rooms are themed, we stayed in the forest room. There is a kitchen if you don't want to dine out and they have spices, pasta, rice etc that you can use for free. There is a cosy tv area with rugs on the floor, sofas around, plenty of board games, movies and magazines that you can use. This hostel is easy to find, opposite a massive bank, that you can't miss. It's away from the centre, which is nice but still easily walkable to/from the sights of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing major...maybe a bit on the expensive side and can be noisy if your room is on the road side.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self-service kitchen, with basics provided such as spices and pasta was really good

Disliked: couldn't use the garden

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo K. Scheffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: You wont regret going there! Its really a nice hostel. Recomended!!

Disliked: Wifi in the bedrooms would be nice.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelley Wilk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: Their common room was an excellent place to meet people and a group of us actually went out a couple of nights. Also, I loved the cat!

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wade McConnell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Wade would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The whole experience was flawless.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lavinia Fung

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Lavinia would recommend this property

Liked: very homey, especially the common area. the kitchen is newly done so everythings nicely put together with a good cooking space so if you dont want to dine out. its always good since you can just go to the supermarket to grab some food and cook it at home, which is always a nice way to save money. a lot of the things are shared; spices, pasta, rice etc which is kinda neat seeing nothing goes to waste if you dont finish it. very cosy tv area with rugs on the floor, sofas around, plenty of board games, movies and magazines that you can just freely use. the rooms are pretty standard, big bunkbeds with a shared bathroom in the the room. the owners have added their own little touches by adding a different dutch theme to each room; we stayed in the cheese room, but theres also others like the windmill and the redlight etc. the people there were really friendly, showed us around and told us about the different areas of amsterdam that we could visit, which i thought was very welcoming. really makes you feel like you're at home. some might think its a disadvantage, but i personally loved it. it was away from the redlight district meaning the coffeeshops and the sex shops which i found a little too overwhelming and sometimes over shadows what amsterdam is really about . dont get me wrong though, there are still coffeeshops around, it is amsterdam afterall, but theres a lot less compared to the red light district so i thought that was a breath of fresh air.

Disliked: not much really, everything was rather neat and nicely put together, the spiral staircases are a little steep, but nothing too different from the standard amsterdam-styled housing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all of the people in the hostel were very friendly. and the room was nice and clean.

Disliked: everything was perfect