We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

91.8% Overall Rating

260 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Shannon Lochead thinks…

"The staff at the hostel were super friendly. We were greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff also went through a map of Amsterdam with us to point out tourism locations, great places to eat,…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
41.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
40.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Sphinx HoSTEL
43.96 USD

Hostel 47.1% 1022 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
37.70 USD

Hostel 67.0% 223 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
49.16 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
38.66 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Rooms020
55.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
38.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.0% 919 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

260 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 260 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colt Thibodeaux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2011 Colt would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled

Disliked: None!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PEI-JEN KAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 PEI-JEN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Internet worked without problem, and the location was fine. (around 10 mins of metro, just located at the metro stop) I think I would choose Cocomama again if I arrive Amsterdam next time!

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Klein

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great services (bikes!), great hangout space to meet others, cool themes rooms, very clean and comfortable

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Morgan Davenport

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, willing to take some time with you when you first arrive to tell you about Amsterdam and where to go/what to do. The rooms look great and it is really nice after traveling for a while to find a place that has a good bathroom (including the shower!) in the room instead of down the hall.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked. My only suggestion for the girls to make the place even better would be to extend the wifi network upstairs to the rooms - at present I was only able to get online in the common area downstairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Too expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location were great

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Hulshagen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff will make sure you have a wonderfull time. They make you feel welcome. I was also impressed about the property. It's verry clean and it has a nice decoration.

Disliked: there weren't anny dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and very helpful and kind staff!!

Disliked: no!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and cool place

Disliked: towels are not included to the price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Sawicki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Genuinely a pleasant place to be. They have a great lounge downstairs to relax and meet other guests. They gave a map and a quick run down of the city which was helpful. I felt welcomed from the start.

Disliked: It is about a 15-20 minute walk from the center. I guess it just depends on what you are looking to do. It is in a quite part of town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Carrier

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

24 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful staff. All you have to do is ask and these ladies will go out of their way to help you. I was very satisfied with the comfy bed and clean shower- - -I didn't even need to wear the flip flops that I brought just in case! The common area downstairs has many nice touches: spacious kitchen, ample room to sit down and eat, couches, entertainment center, lending library, and the "honesty bar" where for 1 euro, you may help yourself to a beer or softdrink. I stayed at Cocomama for longer than most travelers, but at the end I was sad to go! The friendly atmosphere made it a great place to make many new international friends.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARUN VAITHIYALINGAM SATHIYASEELAN

Alone

City break

22 April 2011 ARUN would recommend this property

Liked: Its a nice place located in the main streets of amsterdam n d staffs r friendly. Also it has got locker facility which is nice. Above all the living area n kitchen was really kool to hang around n surf mails.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Nimtz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that they had bikes you could use and the kitchen. I also thought the rooms were nicely furnished and themed and the beds were really comfortable.

Disliked: That there wasn't breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of it. Location: right next to the Tram station, and close to the major museums, Heineken Experience, a local market, and Leidseplein, a bar area. Not as crowded as the regions nearer to the Central Station. Staff: Very friendly, helpful, and sweet. Their introduction to the city finally made up 80% of my short three-day sightseeing trip. Tried their best to help their customers. Facilities and Services: Offer drinks when you arrive. Room was very clean with clean bathroom. No weird smell or rats as i read some comments in other hostels. A common area + kitchen (with free drinks and extensive sets of utensils) for cooking and gathering, with a cute mascot cat; they have meetings every night with different themes for people who want to socialize. Cheap bikes rental for whole day. Misc: Met some friendly roommates. Atmosphere is good in general. Overall: For a first-timer in Europe, Cocomama is a very pleasant, worry-free hostel to stay in.

Disliked: Not really, although i would suggest a pair of ear plugs to avoid being aroused by occasional loud noises made by other travelers walking the stairs (only needed during my first night tho)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Howard Wallace

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Howard would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff was Awesome and very considerate, clean, sweet common area! Easily the best Hostel in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The double room with ensuite was GORGEOUS, the decorating was quirky and stylish. Loved it. Super clean & homey.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the double bed was two singles pushed together- my bf and I had to sleep on either sides of the bed to avoid the hard wooden plank in the centre of the mattress.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very relaxed family atmosphere, friendly staff with tons of advice, a room to hang out and meet people downstairs with a fully equipped kitchen and a nice kitty!

Disliked: Our room was on the street level and was a little noisy, but that was not too big of a deal. We stayed in the forest rom and it was beautiful and relaxing and definitely worth the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

josh lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 josh would recommend this property

Liked: Really laid back and quiet. It was close to the museums and a bunch of good restaurants. Great place to stay if you're trying to have a little peace and quiet.

Disliked: The beds weren't all too clean but that's why you bring you're own linens.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Sciberras

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Its cosy feeling as if you are at home! Best feature is the kitchen overlooking the garden. It was also nice to have tea and pasta for free.

Disliked: Sometimes we could hear people talking etc outside our bedroom window cos we were at ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maren Mattson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Maren would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies who own Cocomama are clearly committed to creating a fantastic community experience for folks staying at their hostel. The facilities are brand-new, the beds are crazy comfy, everything felt very secure, and the community room and kitchen had everything I could have wanted. And they had bikes for rent, which I didn't know about beforehand, but was a great surprise! When I checked in, a staff member gave me a map and then sat with me and pointed out all his favorite places, where the supermarket was, etc. The staff was very kind and super helpful. If I ever make it back to Amsterdam, I know where I'll be staying!

Disliked: I don't remember the listing saying they had a cat, and they did. I'm not really allergic, but I spent more time sneezing than usual. A bummer, since the cat was adorable and so sweet!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Staff were incredibly friendly and the common room was great for meeting new people especially if traveling alone. Also by far the most comfy beds I have stayed in. A bunch of us mentioned earlier in the day that we would like to go on a tour of the red light district that evening and by the time we got back to the hostel later that day a tour had been organized for us!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SOOO clean and nice and new. Greatest hostel ever.

Disliked: Honestly nothing really...the stairs were steep?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, free access to kitchen and lounging areas.

Disliked: location was a little out of the way, but I liked that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the inner 'touristy' area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adeline Teh

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Adeline would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in. It's a pretty new hostel but they've got everything down. Real showers in the rooms and all the rooms have some Dutch theme. Staff are really friendly and helpful as are the other travellers. Has excellent facilities, fully fitted out kitchen plus free spices and pasta, two Macs for free use and a great common area. Plus they have a cat Joop which makes it feel more homely.

Disliked: It is a little far from the city center/train station but there are trams and a little walking isn't that bad.