We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

92.6% Overall Rating

249 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/02/2015)

Donato Quaranta thinks…

"is a wonderful hostel. you get to the ground and if you go down there is the living room with washer, dryer, double kitchen, sofa, TV and outdoor area for smokers. On the first floor and second floor…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
31.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
23.19 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx HoSTEL
24.89 USD

Hostel 44.8% 1019 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
11.30 USD

Hostel 67.2% 219 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
21.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
29.42 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 111 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
20.74 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
113.14 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

249 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 249 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, small size, quaint character, amazing staff, very clean :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hostel. Great, friendly and helpful staff! Really big kitchen and common area. Cool themed rooms, and food nights where the staff cook yummy food! Really nice place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Amerine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Great friendly staff, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, and even a friendly cat!

Disliked: Nothing! It was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception very helpful & friendly, esp. Courtney. Kitchen fantastic, provision of good quality drinks, basic necessities and spices for cooking, very helpful. Best in Europe!!

Disliked: Feather PILLOWS. VERY PRICKLY!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Franziska Reichwein

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 June 2011 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were innovative and the staff was really helpful and friendly. i could imagine it being a great place to meet new people as the hostel has the atmosphere of a big houseshare and theres a big kitchen and sitting room with a tv, dvds and games where everyone can hang out together (they even have an adorable cat living there). they have managed to create a home away from home for backpackers and tourists around the world.

Disliked: the introduction and tour through the house were a bit long for our one night stay and since we could only check in at 4 after arriving at 8 in the morning, it dragged along a bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Campbell

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2011 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great outdoor area for smoking until 10pm, a groovy kitchen, and the Tuesday night special was great!

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds and bedding, nice common room and backyard. Plenty of electrical sockets for each bed. Lockers for each person. near a tram stop. Staff were nice when they were there.

Disliked: room was quite small, no hand soap or paper towels in bathroom. Couldn't get wifi in room and only barely in the common room. No 24h reception. Not within walking distance to most sights, close to a tram stop but the trams are slow and not that frequent. Paints itself as boutique but nothing special, honestly pretty pricey for what you get.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Norrish

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Away from noise of party area of town but easily accessed via tram stop outside the hostel door.

Disliked: 6 people with luggage in the room at once can make for a tight fit. Narrow spaces.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area away from noise of the central core though easily accessed as there is a tram stop right outside the hostel door.

Disliked: 6 people in the room at once makes things tight with luggage. Narrow spaces.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: No breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Salundi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, clean, friendly, awesome (haha), their cat was cool and very laid back. I actually liked this area of Amsterdam more than near the train station but has a tram stop right out front so is not hard to get to. Is closer to the museums and Heineken and we went to some more local coffee shops there rather than the touristy ones in town

Disliked: No breakfast, checkin not until 4pm (but then you can checkout at 12pm)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying at a hostel and from the moment I first walked in the door, they made me feel like I was right at home.

Disliked: Nothing really.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners!

Disliked: Expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice back garden, good location

Disliked: The 6-bed dorm I stayed in was a bit crammed. And no practical storage for bags, so they were always in the way!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, kitchen, garden.

Disliked: small rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011

Liked: The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Amsterdam, especially liked that they gave us a tour of the property, and sat us down to explain where to go in Amsterdam for eats, party, shopping and sightseeing. It's quirky as it's a boutique hostel so it had interesting decor and quite one of its kind. The kitchen and eating area are very well-equipped, and the garden behind the property is beautiful with a few seating areas, and a nice place to escape the busy frantic pace of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The staff were well-meaning but there were a few problems with the running and design of the property. We were given the front ground floor room, with 2 big windows that do not open due to age and security, but the room was very stuffy during the day and it wasn't comfortable. We asked for a fan, but unfortunately there wasn't a spare one in the entire property. Also, due to their no smoking past 10pm policy in their back garden, guests had to smoke in the front of the property - right outside our window. This creates a lot of noise and smell for us, and especially as non-smokers and tired out from a long day outside, we were annoyed. We thought it was ironic that they didn't want to disturb their neighbours behind the property but did not apply the same vigilance to their paying hostel guests. The bathroom was designed poorly - the sink was directly over the toilet, making it difficult to sit on the toilet (you have to slide), and impossible to stand in front of it. You also have to be careful not to smack your face on the sink while sat on the loo. We paid a deposit via Hostelbookers, and expected to pay £200 by card on arrival, but were told we'd be charged 4% extra for the 'use of machine'. We thought it was ridiculous as we've paid via card in various hostels around Europe, including YHA. It's is a matter of safety that travellers don't normally carry big amounts of cash and expect to pay significant amounts via card! It would've been more convenient had we been informed of this policy before arrival. Also, we were charged 2 euros per person to stow our bags for a few hours before departure - only to realise later that it was stored behind an unlocked door that led to the room we stayed in! It would've been easy for anyone staying in that room to access our bags, as we've seen other bags being stored there during our stay. These problems can easily be solved (apart from the toilet design), so we hope the staff would improve on their policy and take the safety of their guests' bags more seriously.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Petra Medvešcek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very good!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly help

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think the best part about this place is the "attitude" of the staff. They are always there to support and guide you. Clean and spacious dormatory. Fine quality linen provided which is regulary changed. Good kitchen and lounge area. Toilets hygienic and above the normal standard. Free Internet. No curfews at all. Close to Nightlife area. Good connectivity to Centraal stn. Excellent place for stay.

Disliked: Well, actually nothing .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Berntson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 June 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were EXTREMELY obliging and fun, and the atmosphere is terrific. The rooms are a bit small, but I think that's a product of being situated in a very old city with limited space. I would recommend Cocomama to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter prato

Alone

City break

31 May 2011 peter would recommend this property

Liked: This was, by far, the best experience I have ever had in a hostel. Ever. From the moment that I arrived until the moment that I left I felt like I was in a space that's tended to so well that it cultivated what I can see as being friendships that I hope to last a lifetime. Saying goodbye affected me to the point of feeling like I was leaving home. I miss it very, very, very much.

Disliked: Having to leave.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and the people were nice

Disliked: the map they give you is shitty and will get you lost

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 May 2011

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: too expensive!!!!!!No place for luggage in the room.It was not very clean. Bathrooms are very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, clean and cozy. Nice people. free pasta. Bikes for rent at very reasonable prices.

Disliked: the bicycle I rented was a bit weird for me. In my country bikes are generally different to the dutch ones.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PEDRO LOURENCO

Alone

City break

30 May 2011 PEDRO would recommend this property

Liked: good location. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Clean and nice atmosphere (the hostel is based in an old brothel and the decoration is inspired by it)

Disliked: nothing really. All good!