HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

Showing 41-33 of 33 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CocoMama is the best hostel I have stayed in ever! It actually felt so much like home after my 6 day stay, I was a little sad to leave! Because they only do relatively small dorms there was a different clientele and the vibe was awesome :)

Disliked: It was a little bit of a walk in to town but this wasn't a problem nice you got your bearings.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Good location, clean facilities, Joop the Cat

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. The staff, the facilities, the kitchen, the games, the vibe, the decoration, the cleaning, the location, the beds, the garden, the nintendo, the Ali G dvd, the bathroom... so yeah, everything.

Disliked: Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: This is the best hostel I have every stayed in, quite comfortably. The staff are fantastic, all the girls are extremely friendly and hospitable. You can tell they really care about the guests and want to make sure everything is clean and comfortable. It was very sad to leave.... When I come to Amsterdam, this will be my choice every single time, you will enjoy it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were super helpful friendly and cute. The location was awesome. The hostel itself is really cool. The common area was super chilled and everyone was really happy to chat and go out as a group. The staff cleaned rooms daily, offered full laundry, some free food, a cool cat, and organized activities. The staff even came out and drank on the pub crawl. There's a bunch of games and DVDs u can watch for free.. They do a full rundown of the hostel and give u a map that they point out where everything is. They even recommend the best place to enjoy "coffee" and particular live shows. Been the best hostel iI've stayed in while backpacking Europe. Can't wait to go back.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff at Cocomama was super friendly and put together activities that brought together everyone in the hostel. As a solo traveller, it was setup great for meeting other travelers. They also had the most comfortable bunk beds I've ever slept in.Location is good if you are planning on doing more than just the Red Light District.

Disliked: The bathroom was a bit cramped, but that's just nitpicking.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: nice and clean. friendly staff. bit far from the sights. however, walking distance to all. but what really isn't walking distance in Amsterdam anyways!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is true that this hostel isn't right in the city center and I think that was a good thing. I loved walking around the canal belt and liked that area much more than the center. I also really enjoyed how this hostel really made everyone feel welcome even right from check in. Check in was great with a free coffee while talking about the location of the hostel and sights to see. They also gave a nice tour and explanation of all of the areas of the hostel. I also enjoyed that they had something special planned each day if you wanted. The first day I was there was Sinterklaas day and they let us in on the tradition of leaving shoes out to be filled with treats. Anyone who left a shoe out overnight got a nice chocolate. They also had a dinner one night and a cocktail hour. Just a great experience all around. And Joop is an awesome cat!

Disliked: Can't really think of anything I didn't like! I wish there was some handsoap in the bathroom as I'm not sure many people travel with this (at least I hadn't been).

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and the common room was a really nice place to meet people, to cook, eat and relax.

Disliked: The room was really small an there was not enough room to store the clothes. Also the sink in the bathroom was quite small. If there was more light in the room, eg. a small lamp for every bed, that would be perfect.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Christina, thank you for leaving us a review. As we are housed in 130 year old monument in the city centre of Amsterdam, our rooms are small and cosy. We have individual reading lights in each bed but will check that they are still all working in the room that you have stayed in. Thank you for the feedback. Love, team Cocomama

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Lovely Property, great location and brilliant living/dining room space to relax or meet new people. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole visit was reasonably priced. It is a very unique hostel! It was clean and tidy too!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability