HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.07USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

Showing 41-50 of 124 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Both staff and other guests were very friendly. The staff organized events and offered great suggestions on places to go. Cool lounge and garden to hang out in.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is amazingly helpful. Carried my bag up to my room. Gave a tour of the place. Highlighted different things on the map.

Disliked: Hostel Bookers never mentioned a cat that lives in the hostel and turns out, I'm allergic. My room had naked pictures all over the walls. No breakfast. Just a lot of money to not be impressed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a review. Joop our cat is mentioned in the first paragraph of our property description, and we have allergy pills available. Our rooms have different Holland & Amsterdam themes, you stayed in the Red Light District room. We are sorry you didn't like the decorations and we would have gladly moved you to another theme such as cheese or windmills. Our rates are displayed when you make a booking. We hope you still enjoyed your stay, and wish you safe travels. Lot

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a great hostel - the staff were very friendly, the mattresses were the most comfortable I've had in a hostel, one of the most well-stocked kitchens I've had, and it had a really comfy and cozy vibe in the common room which is conducive to meeting other travelers. Located in a nice area of the city - not right in the center of the action, but everything in Amsterdam is walkable anyways so it's not bad at all. They also rent bikes for cheap. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: I thought the price was pretty high for a hostel, despite the great facilities. Rooms were a little small, though it wasn't too bad. Other than that, nothing to complain about!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice common room area and it was one of the most comfortable hostel beds I've stayed in. Bathroom in the room was extremely clean which was good too.

Disliked: Main problem I'd say is the location - it's near the heineken brewery and leidseplein/rembrantplein is walkable which is ok but everything else (i.e. railway station, main attractions) are much further away. Room was quite cramped for six people too.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and homely atmosphere...lovely staff - very chilled out but people willing to share their company with you :-)

Disliked: smallish bedrooms...but nothing too un-likeable!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff, Mel, Sols and Yols made my stay as if I was visiting family.

Disliked: The lack of breasts in the cheese room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly inviting place with a great layout an an awesome cat!

Disliked: Though not bad the location could have been better....

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: CocoMama is the best hostel I have stayed in ever! It actually felt so much like home after my 6 day stay, I was a little sad to leave! Because they only do relatively small dorms there was a different clientele and the vibe was awesome :)

Disliked: It was a little bit of a walk in to town but this wasn't a problem nice you got your bearings.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Good location, clean facilities, Joop the Cat

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. The staff, the facilities, the kitchen, the games, the vibe, the decoration, the cleaning, the location, the beds, the garden, the nintendo, the Ali G dvd, the bathroom... so yeah, everything.

Disliked: Nothing, I wish I could have stayed longer.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability