We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

91.0% Overall Rating

253 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

"Staff helped so much with restuarant recommendations, things to do etc. Really appreciated it"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
38.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
46.82 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx HoSTEL
36.30 USD

Hostel 44.8% 1019 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
19.59 USD

Hostel 67.2% 219 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
26.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
32.12 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 111 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
27.22 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
32.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 903 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

253 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 253 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce surrounding area - friendly & helpful staff - pleasant social area downstairs

Disliked: I could only book three nights, although two would have sufficed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Snow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Big comfy rooms, en-suite, clean, great friendly helpful staff, great social space, wifi - and I loved the 'honesty bar' and the very cuddly cat :)

Disliked: The only downside was that the garden was closed while I was there due to complaints from the neighbours. It would be great if they could negotiate opening it again with a curfew or something (i.e. people can't use it after 10pm or something)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! I had a ton of fun, and met some amazing people. It was a really great place to stay. Definitely coming back again!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Ciara Toner

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 August 2011 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff very clean

Disliked: a bit pricey for what u get we stYed in a room for 4 and there was no room no storage etc feel star price does not reflect room facilities

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Well worth paying the extra for this hostel

Disliked: the location is nice but maybe a mile away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like the best organised group house, everything I needed with no frills. Nice walk to everywhere; other guests really nice; good book exchange.

Disliked: Couldn't get internet connection on my computer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean with bins emptied every day. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we knew the best places to visit in Amsterdam and how to get there (the map they provided was very helpful). There was a great atmosphere in the hostel which made it feel like home. I cannot rate this hostel or their staff highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Rizzo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome. There was a bathroom in each room, which was new and clean! The lounge in the basement was a great way for a solo traveler to meet people and have things to do at night!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ai Lung Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2011 Ai Lung would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Loved the common area where you actually got to hang out with people and cook meals etc. Had a blast staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Miller

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing hostel!!! Worth the extra cost, for a stay that you will love.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool funky place, clean and a cat lives there.

Disliked: a bit far to walk, but easy by tram and there was no lockers because they were broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIANG YI KUO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 LIANG YI would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really friendly~

Disliked: nope!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Finochietto

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. The girls are so kind... The day I arrived they had a problem with a bug and they worked ALL DAY LONG so we could enjoy our time there, and we certainly did. Thanks a lot!

Disliked: Nothing, it was really good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - was given an amazing restaurant recommendation and great tips for things to do. Nice decoration in every room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is incomparable, they are all very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable but most of all - young, cool, and comfortable to be around - they actually hang out with you and go out of their way to make sure everything goes smoothly. The kitchen/lounge is a great place to cook food, store things in the fridge, buy drinks (beer, water, juice, glasses of wine) and hang out with people. They have an ipod dock so guests can play their own music. They have movies and video games, but people rarely play them because the hostel is very sociable, I spent several nights just hanging out with other travellers and having drinks. I like that this hostel is generally for young people - no adults or children, but I doubt they would exclude them as they are so friendly, but this is defnitely a good place for college-aged backpackers looking to have fun and be sociable in Amsterdam. I got along well with all the employees there, talked about music, got advice about coffee shops, where to party, sites to see, etc. When I decided to move rooms one night (because another guest was being an idiot, it happens) they moved all of my things for me and prepared a new bed in another room for me immediately! As a solo traveller this is by far the best hostel experience I have had in Europe. They have a cat! Close to the tram (right across the street) which takes you around the city core, very easy to get around and to/from the train station. In suite bathrooms and showers is a nice touch. Very secure. I could go on.

Disliked: If I had to choose one thing it would have to be that the rooms are a little small, but that didn't really impact my experience. Wi-fi internet generally only works downstairs - but that is normal if you understand wi-fi technology, this hostel is vertical with several floors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama was AMAZING- the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Also the beds were insanely comfortable. The place had a very homey feel and I am so happy to have been able to stay there.

Disliked: I just wish it was less expensive- that said, best hostel I've stayed at.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seth Ainsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not in city center but only 5-10 minutes on tram from Centraalstation, bike rentals for 6eur/day (though no bikes available when I was there), sweet cat named Joop, honesty bar - water/beer/juice only 1euro.

Disliked: Some of the staff not very friendly, socializing difficult as everybody seemed to want to just sit on their laptops all day long, beds squeaky as hell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the 5 hostels I visited throughout my trip, this was by far the best. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel is very welcoming and homely. I wish I'd stayed longer to get the benefit of the cooking facilities on offer.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4-bed room is good for people who just need a quiet place to rest at the end of the day. The common area (kitchen and living room) are also very friendly.

Disliked: Please note that this is totally my personal opinion, but I didn't like at all the thematic decoration of the room that I stayed in (I think it was the "red room") - it didn't match what was advertised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane A

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai adoré mon séjour !

Disliked: Rien

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in a great location, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The private two bed room has it's own en-suite bathroom, and there is free pasta, rice, and tea in the kitchen.

Disliked: The hotel is right on the street, so at night it gets quite noisy due to the trams and thin windows. There are no safes provided except two wooden boxes beneath the beds which aren't very secure you aren't provided locks. Overall, this was a nice hostel, but i don't think it provided great value for money. For the price we were charged for 3 nights (327,00 euros) we could have gone to an actual hotel like an etap or ibis. In addition, they charged an extra 2% for paying by credit card.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naissa Zeh Frossard de Assis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Naissa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, character and the cat! Made me feel at home!

Disliked: nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Wilant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The best part of this place is the staff and atmosphere. We had a mix up with our booking and needed an extra bed. They didn't have any available, but they allowed my sister to stay with me and pay half price, which was really nice since we were in a bind. The bed was so comfortable too! They also have a communal kitchen and free computer usage.

Disliked: Their location isn't all that great (we had to take a tram ride to the hostel) and they're not really close to anything. My biggest complaint: the rooms are TINY. With 6 people in one room, we were constantly running into one another and climbing over each other, and there wasn't enough room for all our stuff (I stored most of my stuff on my bed). They also charged for luggage storage after checkout. If you're really into the hostel/community experience, this is a good, albeit expensive, choice, but if you just want someplace quiet to lay your head at night, you might want to choose something a little quieter with more room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Lambiase

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: everything, best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing. maybe location, but its ok...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hania Owsinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Hania would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is amazing! From the great layout to perfect location, there is nothing not to love! Thank you so much Loti & Andres for such a wonderful time- the staff look after your ever want and need, being shown around and recommended places like from locals adds all the charm to Amsterdam! I have never had such a warm and inviting welcome into a hostel (and I've been traveling for 5 weeks) these guys blew me away, I'd be walking in the rain, got lost, finally arrived to a friendly face, A cup of coffee, a clean, warm and artistic room- and the best introduction of 'what to do in Amsterdam' with a detailed map included. Cant wait for my return to Amsterdam, this place is my home away from home.

Disliked: Everything is perfect, there is nothing to dislike.