We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

93.7% Overall Rating

243 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Everything was as described. Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 65.1% 212 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
22.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

243 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 242 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Miller

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing hostel!!! Worth the extra cost, for a stay that you will love.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool funky place, clean and a cat lives there.

Disliked: a bit far to walk, but easy by tram and there was no lockers because they were broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIANG YI KUO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 LIANG YI would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really friendly~

Disliked: nope!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Finochietto

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. The girls are so kind... The day I arrived they had a problem with a bug and they worked ALL DAY LONG so we could enjoy our time there, and we certainly did. Thanks a lot!

Disliked: Nothing, it was really good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - was given an amazing restaurant recommendation and great tips for things to do. Nice decoration in every room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is incomparable, they are all very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable but most of all - young, cool, and comfortable to be around - they actually hang out with you and go out of their way to make sure everything goes smoothly. The kitchen/lounge is a great place to cook food, store things in the fridge, buy drinks (beer, water, juice, glasses of wine) and hang out with people. They have an ipod dock so guests can play their own music. They have movies and video games, but people rarely play them because the hostel is very sociable, I spent several nights just hanging out with other travellers and having drinks. I like that this hostel is generally for young people - no adults or children, but I doubt they would exclude them as they are so friendly, but this is defnitely a good place for college-aged backpackers looking to have fun and be sociable in Amsterdam. I got along well with all the employees there, talked about music, got advice about coffee shops, where to party, sites to see, etc. When I decided to move rooms one night (because another guest was being an idiot, it happens) they moved all of my things for me and prepared a new bed in another room for me immediately! As a solo traveller this is by far the best hostel experience I have had in Europe. They have a cat! Close to the tram (right across the street) which takes you around the city core, very easy to get around and to/from the train station. In suite bathrooms and showers is a nice touch. Very secure. I could go on.

Disliked: If I had to choose one thing it would have to be that the rooms are a little small, but that didn't really impact my experience. Wi-fi internet generally only works downstairs - but that is normal if you understand wi-fi technology, this hostel is vertical with several floors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama was AMAZING- the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Also the beds were insanely comfortable. The place had a very homey feel and I am so happy to have been able to stay there.

Disliked: I just wish it was less expensive- that said, best hostel I've stayed at.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seth Ainsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not in city center but only 5-10 minutes on tram from Centraalstation, bike rentals for 6eur/day (though no bikes available when I was there), sweet cat named Joop, honesty bar - water/beer/juice only 1euro.

Disliked: Some of the staff not very friendly, socializing difficult as everybody seemed to want to just sit on their laptops all day long, beds squeaky as hell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the 5 hostels I visited throughout my trip, this was by far the best. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel is very welcoming and homely. I wish I'd stayed longer to get the benefit of the cooking facilities on offer.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4-bed room is good for people who just need a quiet place to rest at the end of the day. The common area (kitchen and living room) are also very friendly.

Disliked: Please note that this is totally my personal opinion, but I didn't like at all the thematic decoration of the room that I stayed in (I think it was the "red room") - it didn't match what was advertised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane A

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai adoré mon séjour !

Disliked: Rien

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in a great location, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The private two bed room has it's own en-suite bathroom, and there is free pasta, rice, and tea in the kitchen.

Disliked: The hotel is right on the street, so at night it gets quite noisy due to the trams and thin windows. There are no safes provided except two wooden boxes beneath the beds which aren't very secure you aren't provided locks. Overall, this was a nice hostel, but i don't think it provided great value for money. For the price we were charged for 3 nights (327,00 euros) we could have gone to an actual hotel like an etap or ibis. In addition, they charged an extra 2% for paying by credit card.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naissa Zeh Frossard de Assis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Naissa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, character and the cat! Made me feel at home!

Disliked: nothing at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Wilant

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The best part of this place is the staff and atmosphere. We had a mix up with our booking and needed an extra bed. They didn't have any available, but they allowed my sister to stay with me and pay half price, which was really nice since we were in a bind. The bed was so comfortable too! They also have a communal kitchen and free computer usage.

Disliked: Their location isn't all that great (we had to take a tram ride to the hostel) and they're not really close to anything. My biggest complaint: the rooms are TINY. With 6 people in one room, we were constantly running into one another and climbing over each other, and there wasn't enough room for all our stuff (I stored most of my stuff on my bed). They also charged for luggage storage after checkout. If you're really into the hostel/community experience, this is a good, albeit expensive, choice, but if you just want someplace quiet to lay your head at night, you might want to choose something a little quieter with more room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agustin Lambiase

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: everything, best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing. maybe location, but its ok...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hania Owsinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Hania would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is amazing! From the great layout to perfect location, there is nothing not to love! Thank you so much Loti & Andres for such a wonderful time- the staff look after your ever want and need, being shown around and recommended places like from locals adds all the charm to Amsterdam! I have never had such a warm and inviting welcome into a hostel (and I've been traveling for 5 weeks) these guys blew me away, I'd be walking in the rain, got lost, finally arrived to a friendly face, A cup of coffee, a clean, warm and artistic room- and the best introduction of 'what to do in Amsterdam' with a detailed map included. Cant wait for my return to Amsterdam, this place is my home away from home.

Disliked: Everything is perfect, there is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really really good, really nice... The location is very good also, 3 squares from heineken, near to many good restaurants and only a few minutes away from the city center... The kitchen is also really good, everything is clean and they had pasta for freee, we only had to cook it

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: can't recommend this hostel highly enough. Better than any hostel I've stayed in and better than budget hotels. It really is a home away from home. A lovely kitchen/common area/ garden for chilling and meeting people. Amazingly tidy, clean and well appointed rooms. Beds all have privacy curtains and power points. Ensuite bathroom is shiny and new and cleaned every day. Staff were really genuine and friendly. I fell off my bike and hurt myself and they looked after me, brought me ice packs and tea! Love this place. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Nothing - best hostel ever!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and kind staff, really makes you enjoy your stay at the hostel. great kitchen and facilities are all new.

Disliked: it used to be a brothel (which is cool) so that's the general idea of the character; maybe took it a bit too far though.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed that the property had a full kitchen and live in cat. It also had a nice youthful atmosphere, especially in the hang out room. It was also nice that when one first checks in they give you a map and highlight some of the popular sites in Amsterdam. The only problem was they left out a lot of highlights about the hostel, example- one can rent bikes from the hostel (highly recommended because they are not located close to city center) and that one can buy heineken tickets directly thru the hostel.

Disliked: Disliked that they used our room to store other guest luggage. Making the room feel very insecure because staff were coming in and out as they pleased with other guest. At one point when we were taking naps we almost lost a bag because another guest thought it belonged to them. Also one of the staff members named Elker misread the schedule and thought we were suppose to check out a day early. We came home to a not so very nice note on the door and the staff members changing the bed sheets, basically trying to push us out. In the end they overbooked the room and we were stuck with 5 people in a 4 person dorm. Very uncomfortable and crowded. It seemed very unorganized and that some of the staff members were not very well trained.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, small size, quaint character, amazing staff, very clean :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hostel. Great, friendly and helpful staff! Really big kitchen and common area. Cool themed rooms, and food nights where the staff cook yummy food! Really nice place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dylan Amerine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was one of the best hostels I have stayed at. Great friendly staff, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, and even a friendly cat!

Disliked: Nothing! It was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reception very helpful & friendly, esp. Courtney. Kitchen fantastic, provision of good quality drinks, basic necessities and spices for cooking, very helpful. Best in Europe!!

Disliked: Feather PILLOWS. VERY PRICKLY!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Franziska Reichwein

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 June 2011 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were innovative and the staff was really helpful and friendly. i could imagine it being a great place to meet new people as the hostel has the atmosphere of a big houseshare and theres a big kitchen and sitting room with a tv, dvds and games where everyone can hang out together (they even have an adorable cat living there). they have managed to create a home away from home for backpackers and tourists around the world.

Disliked: the introduction and tour through the house were a bit long for our one night stay and since we could only check in at 4 after arriving at 8 in the morning, it dragged along a bit.