HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 88%

Showing 31-30 of 30 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities, kitchen full-equiped, lovely garden, common area, good atmosphere, good location...

Disliked: Nothing that I can remember! I had a great time at this Hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was safe and comfortable and in a much nicer area than the crazy centre of town. Joop the cat was awesome! i felt really cosy and at home during my stay.

Disliked: i thought it would be a little more special than it actually was, given the pricing. It's definitely still pretty much a standard hostel, albeit a more upmarket one.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear we were not able to meet your expectations. We have themed rooms, custom made beds, massive comfy mattresses and feather blankets, the beds are made for you at arrival, we provide free coffee, tea, pasta, rice etc., we organise activities almost every night, and our staff take their time giving you a proper introduction to Cocomama and the city with a personalised map. Perhaps Cocomama just wasn't your thing. Safe travels! Lotje

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I can't even explain how awesome this place was. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, location was perfect, great kitchen facilities available, and the staff were incredible. The only bad thing about this place was that it's made my standards waaaayyy to high

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved my time at Cocomamas. The Hostel is exactly what it promised, it was like staying in a hotel with other travellers. I felt very safe and never worried about leaving my things behind in the room (there was a locker for every person in the room). I arrived after their desk closed but this wasn't a problem and they arranged for someone to meet me after hours. They showed me the basics and had me in my room right away, the next morning I got a more thorough tour of the facilities. The beds were by far the most comfortable I've slept on in a hostel and the rooms were very clean. I loved having an ensuite in the room. The downstairs common area was like hanging out in your lviing room, open concept to a lovely modern kitchen and even had a lovely back garden. The only issue I had was with some inconsiderate roomates who kept me up the entire night but when I voiced this in the morning the staff were very appologetic (not that this was in their control) and they happilied moved me into a new room. I know this is not an easy task to do in a busy hostel so it was very much appreciated. Location was excellent, walking distance to everything in the city but also right outside a tram stop so if you're tired from a long day of walking you can easily get back. I really cannot recommend this hostel any higher, it has restored my faith in hostel travel (it had been a bit broken from other hostels).If you want a nice place to stay with caring staff, friendly travellers, and outstanding facilities then definitely stay here!!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Both staff and other guests were very friendly. The staff organized events and offered great suggestions on places to go. Cool lounge and garden to hang out in.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is amazingly helpful. Carried my bag up to my room. Gave a tour of the place. Highlighted different things on the map.

Disliked: Hostel Bookers never mentioned a cat that lives in the hostel and turns out, I'm allergic. My room had naked pictures all over the walls. No breakfast. Just a lot of money to not be impressed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a review. Joop our cat is mentioned in the first paragraph of our property description, and we have allergy pills available. Our rooms have different Holland & Amsterdam themes, you stayed in the Red Light District room. We are sorry you didn't like the decorations and we would have gladly moved you to another theme such as cheese or windmills. Our rates are displayed when you make a booking. We hope you still enjoyed your stay, and wish you safe travels. Lot

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a great hostel - the staff were very friendly, the mattresses were the most comfortable I've had in a hostel, one of the most well-stocked kitchens I've had, and it had a really comfy and cozy vibe in the common room which is conducive to meeting other travelers. Located in a nice area of the city - not right in the center of the action, but everything in Amsterdam is walkable anyways so it's not bad at all. They also rent bikes for cheap. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: I thought the price was pretty high for a hostel, despite the great facilities. Rooms were a little small, though it wasn't too bad. Other than that, nothing to complain about!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice common room area and it was one of the most comfortable hostel beds I've stayed in. Bathroom in the room was extremely clean which was good too.

Disliked: Main problem I'd say is the location - it's near the heineken brewery and leidseplein/rembrantplein is walkable which is ok but everything else (i.e. railway station, main attractions) are much further away. Room was quite cramped for six people too.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and homely atmosphere...lovely staff - very chilled out but people willing to share their company with you :-)

Disliked: smallish bedrooms...but nothing too un-likeable!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff, Mel, Sols and Yols made my stay as if I was visiting family.

Disliked: The lack of breasts in the cheese room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability