We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

91.8% Overall Rating

260 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Shannon Lochead thinks…

"The staff at the hostel were super friendly. We were greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff also went through a map of Amsterdam with us to point out tourism locations, great places to eat,…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
43.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Max
27.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Sphinx HoSTEL
35.14 USD

Hostel 45.7% 1021 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
13.73 USD

Hostel 67.1% 222 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
27.45 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
43.38 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 112 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
38.44 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Rooms020
54.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

260 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 225 of 260 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, comfortable beds, awesome common room. Great for people who like a calmer, more laid back environment compared to other hostels. Great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CocoMama is in a former brothel building and the rooms are themed - we stayed in the brothel themed room with topless female pictures on the wall. It has lots of character and is rustic in decor. It is safe and secure and pretty well located (about 15 mins from Leidseplein and a tram lines nearby).

Disliked: It was pricey in terms of hostels - I paid more to stay in a 6 bed dorm here than I have to be in a private room elsewhere with breakfast included. The kitchen area is small - that was fine except that space in the fridge was a premium and we had a bit of food go missing here. Not happy with a 10 hour bus trip the next day to find the food we had for it gone. The staff and owners are friendly and interact with guests - though I find it a bit weird to be listening to them discuss their social lives and be eating dinner next to you in the kitchen. Some people would like that though. There is a cat too - so if you are not a cat person you will have to tolerate a cat in the kitchen with you.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

henning bjølverud

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 September 2011 henning would recommend this property

Liked: i wrealy liked the beds...own powerouttake, big beds where the bottom ones got drapes to pull for more privacy and the top ones have large woddenwall, Nice commonroom with enough space for relaxing, cooking and have a place to sit down, unfortanetly the garden at this time was offlimits. Godd location if you wanna see more of amsterdam then the red light district. Short walk from the hostel will bring you to the local cafes and bars.

Disliked: bad location of you wanna be wery close to the city center center. Tryiing to hard to be friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Individual rooms, great kitchen and living room. Feels almost as HOME. Very clean and safe. Cocomama staff was friendly and helpful. We will defenitily come back.

Disliked: Some noise from the street. Nothing more...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel... Things we liked: lovely, helpful, chatty staff; comfortable beds, great showers, honesty bar (only 1 euro for beer); delightful communal area

Disliked: No lockers in room (even though they had a safe we could put valuables in)- this is only temporary: new lockers have been ordered! Distance was ok, bit of a walk to dam square etc but tram stops right outside!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Forrest

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and cat

Disliked: Snoring room mates

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce surrounding area - friendly & helpful staff - pleasant social area downstairs

Disliked: I could only book three nights, although two would have sufficed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Snow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Big comfy rooms, en-suite, clean, great friendly helpful staff, great social space, wifi - and I loved the 'honesty bar' and the very cuddly cat :)

Disliked: The only downside was that the garden was closed while I was there due to complaints from the neighbours. It would be great if they could negotiate opening it again with a curfew or something (i.e. people can't use it after 10pm or something)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! I had a ton of fun, and met some amazing people. It was a really great place to stay. Definitely coming back again!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Ciara Toner

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 August 2011 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff very clean

Disliked: a bit pricey for what u get we stYed in a room for 4 and there was no room no storage etc feel star price does not reflect room facilities

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Well worth paying the extra for this hostel

Disliked: the location is nice but maybe a mile away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like the best organised group house, everything I needed with no frills. Nice walk to everywhere; other guests really nice; good book exchange.

Disliked: Couldn't get internet connection on my computer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean with bins emptied every day. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we knew the best places to visit in Amsterdam and how to get there (the map they provided was very helpful). There was a great atmosphere in the hostel which made it feel like home. I cannot rate this hostel or their staff highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Rizzo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome. There was a bathroom in each room, which was new and clean! The lounge in the basement was a great way for a solo traveler to meet people and have things to do at night!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ai Lung Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2011 Ai Lung would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Loved the common area where you actually got to hang out with people and cook meals etc. Had a blast staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

James Miller

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing hostel!!! Worth the extra cost, for a stay that you will love.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool funky place, clean and a cat lives there.

Disliked: a bit far to walk, but easy by tram and there was no lockers because they were broken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LIANG YI KUO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 LIANG YI would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really friendly~

Disliked: nope!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Finochietto

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2011 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. The girls are so kind... The day I arrived they had a problem with a bug and they worked ALL DAY LONG so we could enjoy our time there, and we certainly did. Thanks a lot!

Disliked: Nothing, it was really good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - was given an amazing restaurant recommendation and great tips for things to do. Nice decoration in every room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is incomparable, they are all very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable but most of all - young, cool, and comfortable to be around - they actually hang out with you and go out of their way to make sure everything goes smoothly. The kitchen/lounge is a great place to cook food, store things in the fridge, buy drinks (beer, water, juice, glasses of wine) and hang out with people. They have an ipod dock so guests can play their own music. They have movies and video games, but people rarely play them because the hostel is very sociable, I spent several nights just hanging out with other travellers and having drinks. I like that this hostel is generally for young people - no adults or children, but I doubt they would exclude them as they are so friendly, but this is defnitely a good place for college-aged backpackers looking to have fun and be sociable in Amsterdam. I got along well with all the employees there, talked about music, got advice about coffee shops, where to party, sites to see, etc. When I decided to move rooms one night (because another guest was being an idiot, it happens) they moved all of my things for me and prepared a new bed in another room for me immediately! As a solo traveller this is by far the best hostel experience I have had in Europe. They have a cat! Close to the tram (right across the street) which takes you around the city core, very easy to get around and to/from the train station. In suite bathrooms and showers is a nice touch. Very secure. I could go on.

Disliked: If I had to choose one thing it would have to be that the rooms are a little small, but that didn't really impact my experience. Wi-fi internet generally only works downstairs - but that is normal if you understand wi-fi technology, this hostel is vertical with several floors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama was AMAZING- the staff were extremely kind and helpful. Also the beds were insanely comfortable. The place had a very homey feel and I am so happy to have been able to stay there.

Disliked: I just wish it was less expensive- that said, best hostel I've stayed at.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seth Ainsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, not in city center but only 5-10 minutes on tram from Centraalstation, bike rentals for 6eur/day (though no bikes available when I was there), sweet cat named Joop, honesty bar - water/beer/juice only 1euro.

Disliked: Some of the staff not very friendly, socializing difficult as everybody seemed to want to just sit on their laptops all day long, beds squeaky as hell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the 5 hostels I visited throughout my trip, this was by far the best. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel is very welcoming and homely. I wish I'd stayed longer to get the benefit of the cooking facilities on offer.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4-bed room is good for people who just need a quiet place to rest at the end of the day. The common area (kitchen and living room) are also very friendly.

Disliked: Please note that this is totally my personal opinion, but I didn't like at all the thematic decoration of the room that I stayed in (I think it was the "red room") - it didn't match what was advertised.