HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

Showing 31-40 of 124 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I came to Amsterdam with no place to stay, and chose Cocomama because of the high ratings. I made a great choice! Cocomama is located not far from Amsterdaam Central, just a short tram ride away. The location is a little quieter and calmer than city center, which I appreciated, and it is secure and safe. The staff were some of the nicest I'd encountered. As soon as I came they gave me a map of Amsterdam and went through a tour of must-see spots and suggestions for our visit - so awesome! The rooms were really nice and clean, bathroom was spacious, and there was good locker space for our belongings. Really cool common room space where I met some friends, and they have some common cooking materials and foods for use, and even a nice outdoor space. Wifi was reliable in common spaces but not in the rooms, but this was not a big problem. They sell padlocks for 4 euros which I thought was decent, and towel rentals for 1 euro. They even have a laundry service. They rent bikes for 5 euros, which I took to go on a nice bike tour of the city. The staff were always available if we had questions or just wanted to chat. I liked it so much I stayed an extra day there - if I come back to Amsterdam I would gladly stay again, and I recommend it to all others who are visiting the city.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain of, having wifi in the rooms could be nice, but not a big problem as it is very strong in the common areas. Having a breakfast of some type could be a nice option too.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is both friendly and helpful; gave us a whole map tour of Amsterdam within the first 5 minutes of our arrival. Beds are beyond comfortable, and our private room was spacious for the price.

Disliked: The location is a little bit far from the heart of the city. It took us about a half hour to get to the Red Light District. On a sunny day, I'd have no complaints. However, Amsterdam is notable for its "temperamental" weather, and that held true during our stay, unfortunately.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Our room was left open (and unlocked) after the cleaning personell had been there. This is not acceptable. We had left early in the morning and locked the door (checked twice), and when we returned in the evening the door was not only unlocked, but also open.Additionally, the staff didn't seem to react when we told them of this.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything was as described.Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the desk were very helpful and regularly arranged events to keep a busy atmosphere in the hostel. The lounge had large comfy couches,a selection of game boards and books,and music was always on creating a friendly and inviting vibe.Wi-fi was always up and running.Overall Amsterdam was a lovely experience and coming back -after a long day in the city- it felt almost like home. As I am a female traveller and have made my round around hostels in different countries,based on other's reviews,I can definitely say that Cocomama has ticked all my boxes and recommend it to others fearlessly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very nice

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation.

Disliked: They have daily social events that they advertise as if they were spontaneously organized by the staff members, when they're actually recurring events pre-scheduled and assigned to staff members. Examples: Group tours visiting the "sex show" are pre-arranged with partner clubs, and the guides get free drinks and discounts if they bring a group. "Cocktail night" is just a staff member selling cups of hot wine for $2.50. It should be said that this is only a minor complaint. The staff are extremely friendly, but these planned events come off as forced and artificial.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities, kitchen full-equiped, lovely garden, common area, good atmosphere, good location...

Disliked: Nothing that I can remember! I had a great time at this Hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was safe and comfortable and in a much nicer area than the crazy centre of town. Joop the cat was awesome! i felt really cosy and at home during my stay.

Disliked: i thought it would be a little more special than it actually was, given the pricing. It's definitely still pretty much a standard hostel, albeit a more upmarket one.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear we were not able to meet your expectations. We have themed rooms, custom made beds, massive comfy mattresses and feather blankets, the beds are made for you at arrival, we provide free coffee, tea, pasta, rice etc., we organise activities almost every night, and our staff take their time giving you a proper introduction to Cocomama and the city with a personalised map. Perhaps Cocomama just wasn't your thing. Safe travels! Lotje

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I can't even explain how awesome this place was. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, location was perfect, great kitchen facilities available, and the staff were incredible. The only bad thing about this place was that it's made my standards waaaayyy to high

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved my time at Cocomamas. The Hostel is exactly what it promised, it was like staying in a hotel with other travellers. I felt very safe and never worried about leaving my things behind in the room (there was a locker for every person in the room). I arrived after their desk closed but this wasn't a problem and they arranged for someone to meet me after hours. They showed me the basics and had me in my room right away, the next morning I got a more thorough tour of the facilities. The beds were by far the most comfortable I've slept on in a hostel and the rooms were very clean. I loved having an ensuite in the room. The downstairs common area was like hanging out in your lviing room, open concept to a lovely modern kitchen and even had a lovely back garden. The only issue I had was with some inconsiderate roomates who kept me up the entire night but when I voiced this in the morning the staff were very appologetic (not that this was in their control) and they happilied moved me into a new room. I know this is not an easy task to do in a busy hostel so it was very much appreciated. Location was excellent, walking distance to everything in the city but also right outside a tram stop so if you're tired from a long day of walking you can easily get back. I really cannot recommend this hostel any higher, it has restored my faith in hostel travel (it had been a bit broken from other hostels).If you want a nice place to stay with caring staff, friendly travellers, and outstanding facilities then definitely stay here!!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability