HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cocomama Amsterdam Hostel

Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Check is from 4pm to 9pm
Check out time is 12pm

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 33 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good facilities, clean, nice atmosphere. And the cat, of course! =^.^=

Disliked: Just one thing: my bed wasn't very comfy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great place to stay :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I came to Amsterdam with no place to stay, and chose Cocomama because of the high ratings. I made a great choice! Cocomama is located not far from Amsterdaam Central, just a short tram ride away. The location is a little quieter and calmer than city center, which I appreciated, and it is secure and safe. The staff were some of the nicest I'd encountered. As soon as I came they gave me a map of Amsterdam and went through a tour of must-see spots and suggestions for our visit - so awesome! The rooms were really nice and clean, bathroom was spacious, and there was good locker space for our belongings. Really cool common room space where I met some friends, and they have some common cooking materials and foods for use, and even a nice outdoor space. Wifi was reliable in common spaces but not in the rooms, but this was not a big problem. They sell padlocks for 4 euros which I thought was decent, and towel rentals for 1 euro. They even have a laundry service. They rent bikes for 5 euros, which I took to go on a nice bike tour of the city. The staff were always available if we had questions or just wanted to chat. I liked it so much I stayed an extra day there - if I come back to Amsterdam I would gladly stay again, and I recommend it to all others who are visiting the city.

Disliked: Nothing really to complain of, having wifi in the rooms could be nice, but not a big problem as it is very strong in the common areas. Having a breakfast of some type could be a nice option too.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is both friendly and helpful; gave us a whole map tour of Amsterdam within the first 5 minutes of our arrival. Beds are beyond comfortable, and our private room was spacious for the price.

Disliked: The location is a little bit far from the heart of the city. It took us about a half hour to get to the Red Light District. On a sunny day, I'd have no complaints. However, Amsterdam is notable for its "temperamental" weather, and that held true during our stay, unfortunately.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Our room was left open (and unlocked) after the cleaning personell had been there. This is not acceptable. We had left early in the morning and locked the door (checked twice), and when we returned in the evening the door was not only unlocked, but also open.Additionally, the staff didn't seem to react when we told them of this.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything was as described.Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the desk were very helpful and regularly arranged events to keep a busy atmosphere in the hostel. The lounge had large comfy couches,a selection of game boards and books,and music was always on creating a friendly and inviting vibe.Wi-fi was always up and running.Overall Amsterdam was a lovely experience and coming back -after a long day in the city- it felt almost like home. As I am a female traveller and have made my round around hostels in different countries,based on other's reviews,I can definitely say that Cocomama has ticked all my boxes and recommend it to others fearlessly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very nice

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, friendly, great facilities (including a well stocked and comfortable kitchen), awesome cat, great location, convenient to public transportation.

Disliked: They have daily social events that they advertise as if they were spontaneously organized by the staff members, when they're actually recurring events pre-scheduled and assigned to staff members. Examples: Group tours visiting the "sex show" are pre-arranged with partner clubs, and the guides get free drinks and discounts if they bring a group. "Cocktail night" is just a staff member selling cups of hot wine for $2.50. It should be said that this is only a minor complaint. The staff are extremely friendly, but these planned events come off as forced and artificial.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Comfortable beds, clean, spacious rooms, good facilities, kitchen full-equiped, lovely garden, common area, good atmosphere, good location...

Disliked: Nothing that I can remember! I had a great time at this Hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability