We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cocomama

Hostel | Westeinde 18, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 ZP

93.7% Overall Rating

243 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Everything was as described. Beds were steady,comfy and bed sheet super clean. There were sockets per bed and individual night lamps. Safe boxes to keep the luggage and hair dryers lend free of charge. The girls at the…"

Read all Cocomama reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we only accept bookings up to 4 people maximum

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sphinx Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 65.1% 212 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
22.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Guest Rooms
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

243 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocomama'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 210 of 242 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zaneta Anna Odrowaz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Zaneta Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, really good guest profile, no smoking, great location (far enough from the cente to not feel touristy, but only a 15 minute walk away), JOOP! They even went out of their way to include vegetarian options in the (traditional Dutch) Christmas meal so that I and some other veggies could join!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and clean hostel that has everything you need. helpful staff who are more then willing to join in or share the best experiences with you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: being in Cocomama is like being at home. Grate hostel, clean, excelent kitchen, Good beds, baths in every room, and helpfull staff

Disliked: it's a bit away from the centre, but in tram you are there in 10 minutes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Cash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: everything, the most super comfortable beds, awesomely stocked kitchen, close to everything, very very helpful staff. one of hte best hostels i have stayed in.

Disliked: the stairs were a bit scary when perhaps not completely sober. otherwise it was perfecto!!!!!!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kelsey Santamaria

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: common area/kitchen is absolutely fabulous. rooms are a little cold, but they give you the best down comforter ever. the shower curtain kept falling down, but that really didn't bother me. The location is good.

Disliked: Nothing... besides maybe the shower curtain issue... but nbd.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Never been in such a stylish Hostel before. The atmosphere and furniture is very cool, the staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DERRICK HALL

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 October 2011 DERRICK would recommend this property

Liked: it was just like home

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice rooms, helpfull staff

Disliked: not alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, comfortable beds, awesome common room. Great for people who like a calmer, more laid back environment compared to other hostels. Great for meeting other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CocoMama is in a former brothel building and the rooms are themed - we stayed in the brothel themed room with topless female pictures on the wall. It has lots of character and is rustic in decor. It is safe and secure and pretty well located (about 15 mins from Leidseplein and a tram lines nearby).

Disliked: It was pricey in terms of hostels - I paid more to stay in a 6 bed dorm here than I have to be in a private room elsewhere with breakfast included. The kitchen area is small - that was fine except that space in the fridge was a premium and we had a bit of food go missing here. Not happy with a 10 hour bus trip the next day to find the food we had for it gone. The staff and owners are friendly and interact with guests - though I find it a bit weird to be listening to them discuss their social lives and be eating dinner next to you in the kitchen. Some people would like that though. There is a cat too - so if you are not a cat person you will have to tolerate a cat in the kitchen with you.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

henning bjølverud

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 September 2011 henning would recommend this property

Liked: i wrealy liked the beds...own powerouttake, big beds where the bottom ones got drapes to pull for more privacy and the top ones have large woddenwall, Nice commonroom with enough space for relaxing, cooking and have a place to sit down, unfortanetly the garden at this time was offlimits. Godd location if you wanna see more of amsterdam then the red light district. Short walk from the hostel will bring you to the local cafes and bars.

Disliked: bad location of you wanna be wery close to the city center center. Tryiing to hard to be friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Individual rooms, great kitchen and living room. Feels almost as HOME. Very clean and safe. Cocomama staff was friendly and helpful. We will defenitily come back.

Disliked: Some noise from the street. Nothing more...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel... Things we liked: lovely, helpful, chatty staff; comfortable beds, great showers, honesty bar (only 1 euro for beer); delightful communal area

Disliked: No lockers in room (even though they had a safe we could put valuables in)- this is only temporary: new lockers have been ordered! Distance was ok, bit of a walk to dam square etc but tram stops right outside!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Forrest

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and cat

Disliked: Snoring room mates

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce surrounding area - friendly & helpful staff - pleasant social area downstairs

Disliked: I could only book three nights, although two would have sufficed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Snow

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: Big comfy rooms, en-suite, clean, great friendly helpful staff, great social space, wifi - and I loved the 'honesty bar' and the very cuddly cat :)

Disliked: The only downside was that the garden was closed while I was there due to complaints from the neighbours. It would be great if they could negotiate opening it again with a curfew or something (i.e. people can't use it after 10pm or something)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! I had a ton of fun, and met some amazing people. It was a really great place to stay. Definitely coming back again!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Ciara Toner

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 August 2011 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff very clean

Disliked: a bit pricey for what u get we stYed in a room for 4 and there was no room no storage etc feel star price does not reflect room facilities

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere. Well worth paying the extra for this hostel

Disliked: the location is nice but maybe a mile away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like the best organised group house, everything I needed with no frills. Nice walk to everywhere; other guests really nice; good book exchange.

Disliked: Couldn't get internet connection on my computer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Cocomama is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean with bins emptied every day. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we knew the best places to visit in Amsterdam and how to get there (the map they provided was very helpful). There was a great atmosphere in the hostel which made it feel like home. I cannot rate this hostel or their staff highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Rizzo

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome. There was a bathroom in each room, which was new and clean! The lounge in the basement was a great way for a solo traveler to meet people and have things to do at night!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ai Lung Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2011 Ai Lung would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Loved the common area where you actually got to hang out with people and cook meals etc. Had a blast staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.