We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Janson

Hostel | Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 RL

66.7% Overall Rating

144 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2013)

"Great value for money. The location is nice because the entire city is within easy walking distance, but you're not forced to be in the middle of all the craziness. Really nice staff, and adorable cat!"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Janson reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Normal booking condition: PLEASE BE ON TIME FOR CHECK-IN OR CONTACT US IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE LATE!! Prices do not include the 5% city tax and cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date and for group booking a week before check in date . Cancelation can only be done by email. ______________________________________________ Group booking conditions: Group from 6 or more persons have to cancel 2 weeks before arrival date. All CANCELLATIONS are required to be NOTIFIED to Hostel Janson 2 x weeks (14 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL DATE prior to arrival date (not arrival time), after that there is a 100% charge of the total cost. In case of no show, your credit card will be charged 100% of the total cost. Cancellation and changes at and after arrival date will be charged 100%!! ______________________________________________ Special Events: NEW YEARS PERIODE :( 30,31DEC 2011 , AND 1 AND 2 JAN 2013) EASTER PERIODE:6, 7,8,9 april 2012 QUEENS DAY: (28,29 AND 30 APRIL 2012) PINKSTER PERIODE IBC EVENT: (9,10,11 AND 12 SEPTEMBER 2012) All CANCELLATIONS are required to be NOTIFIED to Hostel Orfeo 2 x weeks (14 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL DATE prior to arrival date (not arrival time), after that there is a 100% charge of the total cost. In case of no show, your credit card will be charged 100% of the total cost. Cancellation and changes at and after arrival date will be charged 100%!! ______________________________________________ We accept cash only for payment on arrival ______________________________________________ We ask authorisation on the given credit card (not a charge), unfortunately we will NOT keep the reservation if we cannot get authorisation. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. ______________________________________________ When a booking is made by a person(s)( for 3 nights more) outside the Europe Union and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa. The whole booking will be charged to your card, so we will need a CVC (security code at the back of your credit card, this to guarantee your booking that you will be staying with us. You will be contacted by the hostel for information . this booking cannot be cancelled any more!!!!! Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
13.16 USD

Hostel 66.9% 36 reviews
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1482 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
12.02 USD

Hostel 61.4% 533 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
58.19 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

144 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Janson'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 199 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012

Liked: The beds were comfy and free wifi was handy, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly in giving us directions and times of buses and trams.

Disliked: The rooms were cosy to be polite, there was only one plug socket in an 8 bed dorm, and there was only two toilets and showers in a hall way with three more dorms on the same floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, really friendly staff, quite good location near museumplein, the staff upgraded our room for free which was nice of them,

Disliked: towels and lockers not inlcluded... at least not in our room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Byrne

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: We had to stay at the Shaparti Hostel, as Janson let our booking go by the time we arrived. They took some money off the bill and were very helpful and friendly with us. The building was well lit, so easy to find.

Disliked: Steep stairs... ? No big deal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronan Larkin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, nice staff, good location

Disliked: rooms were smaller than a lot of hostels,

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: emplacement

Disliked: c'est ce à quoi je m'attendais pour le prix

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: nothing, really.

Disliked: location, cleanliness

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: They did overbooking, so I was told to stay at its sister hostel, which was very dirty. I booked and paid for a 6 bed dorm but they gave me a 10 bed dorm.....Hostel Janson never apologized for their mistake, and I was very unhappy. Luckily, I explained the whole situation to the manager at its sister hostel, and I got some money back and he apologized for hotel janason's misktake, though it was not his fault. I don't recommend this hostel, the staffs are too irresponsible!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: The location is great, if you don't mind walking a little bit to get to the center of the city. I was looking for a place to stay away from the redlight district, and this hostel was in a nice, quiet city near the i amsterdam sign and a few museums.

Disliked: The common room was much too cramped, almost not enough room to walk past someone with your pack on your back. Also, the staff didn't tell me that i was meant to change rooms after my first night, until i came back on my second night to find someone asleep in my bed. This was such an inconvenience for me and for all the people who were trying to sleep while i was struggling to get my stuff together, half of which had just been thrown on the floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Aimabilité du personnel et du service, convivialité, sécurité pour un prix abordable.

Disliked: Présence de souris.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eigenes Bad im Zimmer

Disliked: Sehr sehr kleines Zimmer!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shiming Zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Shiming would recommend this property

Liked: cosy, the staff are friendly, it's easy to find after get off the tram.

Disliked: the breakfast is awful, only bread and jam, and most of the bottles are empty, and the staff keep washing the plates besides you when you eating, because the wash basin are so small, there are a lot of dirty plates besides you when you enjor you morning. you can put yolur luggage on the corner of the stairs. but it's not for free, which did not accord with what they describe on the webpage

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joel Fitzgerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, not too far to walk into the heart of the city and bars and clubs, plus there is a tram stop out the front if you're too lazy to walk. Beds are fine and it is what it is...a hostel in the city.

Disliked: Everything is a little cramped which is typical in this city. The bathrooms could be a bit cleaner and they should get some lockers. You can store valuables with the staff but they just put it behind the desk, not a secure as lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Hargrave

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Location - Very close to museumplein and all of the museums. Public transport is right outside the front door with trams coming regularly to the centre of town.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really cheap, really close to Rijksmuseum (with a lovely park area outside) & Van Gogh museum; around 15mins plesant walk to Leidseplein (main place for bars etc.); basic breakfast was included

Disliked: rooms with no lockers, only one tiny shower per floor and one day all three toliets (one each floor) were blocked... and this is in the same room where you have to shower!!! overall, ok for a weekend stay because you're out a lot, but no more than 3 days there..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and close to city center

Disliked: Slow Wi-Fi. Bathroom was not very clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff were absolutely lovely! Others were rude and indifferent at times. The atmosphere was nice.

Disliked: Some of the staff were rude. The common room was small and sometimes got extremely cramped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENG MEI LAM

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 WENG MEI would recommend this property

Liked: When I got there at 2a.m. in the midnight and the staff told me that their hostel is overbooking and they do not have rooms for me and my friend but wE have the reservation. And the staff is really nice and he let us to stay in the reception for the night and also giving many imformation to us.

Disliked: The location is not really like what they metioned in the website.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: the blue and pink walls were pretty

Disliked: "lounge area" was the size of a closet, very deceiving from the pictures I saw on here, there were mousetraps underneath all of the furniture, you weren't allowed to bring food or drink into the room, and I was told that a towel was 1.50 when the website says 1.00

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

María Cervera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 María would recommend this property

Liked: Su localización. Está situado en una zona muy tranquila pero a la vez muy bien conectada con transporte público (y también a pie), y muy cerca de algunos lugares interesantes y turísticos, como el Museumplein o el parque Vondelpark. Tiene internet gratuíto, y aunque es algo pequeño, el colorido diseño hace que sea un sitio agradable...

Disliked: el precio. Aunque el sitio no está mal (siempre teniendo en cuenta que es un albergue, no un hotel) me parece un precio excesivo para lo que es ...y si llegas en fin de semana es aún más caro...Aún así, me he dado cuenta de que el alojamiento en Amsterdam es caro en general, y los demás albergues tenían precios similares...Pero no veo una buena relación calidad-precio (he estado en varios albergues en Europa) Tampoco me gustó que no hay taquillas para dejar las maletas.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dobrin Yungarev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Dobrin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing. It's literally a foot from Van Gogh museum, tram station and Supermarket. Also the staff were very friendly and helpful :)

Disliked: One of the toilets was very small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: The breakfast

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pamela Arzabe Espejo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was freindly and polite, the tramway was very close. It was close to the sign I amsterdam as they said.

Disliked: The stairs look like ladders! I had to "climb" 3 stores with 2 big suitcases. We didn't know how ours beds were, one guy got there at 3 am and found another guy sleeping in his bed! There is just one bathroom for the entired floor wich was very crowded at certain hours.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

michelle chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012

Liked: THE TOILETTE ALWAYS HAVE UNCONFORT SMELL, BREAKFAST IS TOTALLY POOR!!!

Disliked: michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Panov

Alone

Business / conference

26 March 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: It's neat, friendly staff, good location, good service!

Disliked: Check the bed before you jump in. Check if cover is washed. Enjoy!