HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Janson

Hostel | Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 RL

66.7% Overall Rating

144 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2013)

"Great value for money. The location is nice because the entire city is within easy walking distance, but you're not forced to be in the middle of all the craziness. Really nice staff, and adorable cat!"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Janson reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Normal booking condition: PLEASE BE ON TIME FOR CHECK-IN OR CONTACT US IF YOU ARE GOING TO BE LATE!! Prices do not include the 5% city tax and cancellation must occur 72 hours before the check-in date and for group booking a week before check in date . Cancelation can only be done by email. ______________________________________________ Group booking conditions: Group from 6 or more persons have to cancel 2 weeks before arrival date. All CANCELLATIONS are required to be NOTIFIED to Hostel Janson 2 x weeks (14 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL DATE prior to arrival date (not arrival time), after that there is a 100% charge of the total cost. In case of no show, your credit card will be charged 100% of the total cost. Cancellation and changes at and after arrival date will be charged 100%!! ______________________________________________ Special Events: NEW YEARS PERIODE :( 30,31DEC 2011 , AND 1 AND 2 JAN 2013) EASTER PERIODE:6, 7,8,9 april 2012 QUEENS DAY: (28,29 AND 30 APRIL 2012) PINKSTER PERIODE IBC EVENT: (9,10,11 AND 12 SEPTEMBER 2012) All CANCELLATIONS are required to be NOTIFIED to Hostel Orfeo 2 x weeks (14 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL DATE prior to arrival date (not arrival time), after that there is a 100% charge of the total cost. In case of no show, your credit card will be charged 100% of the total cost. Cancellation and changes at and after arrival date will be charged 100%!! ______________________________________________ We accept cash only for payment on arrival ______________________________________________ We ask authorisation on the given credit card (not a charge), unfortunately we will NOT keep the reservation if we cannot get authorisation. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. ______________________________________________ When a booking is made by a person(s)( for 3 nights more) outside the Europe Union and a visa is required for the embassy, and the booking is used to obtain a visa. The whole booking will be charged to your card, so we will need a CVC (security code at the back of your credit card, this to guarantee your booking that you will be staying with us. You will be contacted by the hostel for information . this booking cannot be cancelled any more!!!!! Please note the property only takes cash on arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
19.63 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews
Trianon
22.98 USD

Hostel 67.8% 318 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
32.83 USD

Hostel 82.4% 1462 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
17.06 USD

Hostel 62.6% 529 reviews
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
131.32 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Inner Amsterdam
24.95 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4271 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
60.41 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
24.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 2275 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

144 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Janson'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 199 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Atholl Kleinhans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Atholl would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly

Disliked: Breakfast and distance from centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luz Alejandra Hermida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Luz Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Atención del staff es muy buena, son muy amables y cordiales esta un poco retirado del centro pero tiene facilidad de transporte

Disliked: Luz Alejandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, I loved this hostel and even extended my stay. There is so much to do around here. Within two minutes walk to the west is Museumplein with an ice-skating rink, surrounded by the Rijksmuseum, Diamantmuseum, House of Bols, Van Gogh Museum (under refurbishment), Stedelijk museum, Concertgebouw, Zuiderbad swimmng pool, and Albert Heijn supermarket. A few minutes walk south is the Nederlands Marionettentheater. Three minutes further east is Vondelpark (the Central Park of Amsterdam) with the Nederlands Filmmuseum. After a long day, I returned in the evening to relax with a warm cup of complimentary tea in front of the large Panasonic flat screen TV after a nice hot shower before heading of to Leidseplein for some night life. This entertainment area is only 10 minutes walk NW of the hostel and offers the Stadsschouwburg, and many other theatres, bars, and coffee shops. My friends went to the Holland Casino and Hard Rock Café around the corner while I went to the Comedy Café next door. We met up later for some clubbing at Paradiso just next door. The warm comfy beds and duvets were much appreciated when we got back. The next day, after a nice breakfast, we went 10 minutes east to the multi-ethnic area of De Pijp with Sarphatipark, the long Albert Cyup street market and the Heineken Experience. Then a little further to the River Amstel, which gave Amsterdam its fame and fortune. I will not bore you with the rest of our visits to coffee shops and hookers, but I will have to mention this hostel has the best wifi and wired internet I have experienced. When it came time to leave, it was surprisingly easy to go our separate ways at the end of the trip. Two minutes from the hostel, we caught direct trams to the Central Train Station and Amstel Coach Station, and direct bus to the airport.

Disliked: Noisy girls who get way too rowdy after drinking and getting high.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people and the livingroom. Oh, of course... the hottest shower I ever tried.

Disliked: The hottest shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: how nice the reception person was to me...how helpful, nice, everything Bilal was to me as soon as I arrived

Disliked: the stairways

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist in the mornings is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: If you don't like mice don't even think about going there.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Emily Malinowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012

Liked: Our luggage were safe the entire time and they had peanut butter.

Disliked: There was one dirty, tiny bathroom for the entire floor, the rooms were dirty, it was in a bad location, and the price was far too high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matthew agoro

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and they go out of their way to help you in anyway, it is a close walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and easy access to public transportation. I felt very secure and safe and would definitely come back again Great value for money, highly recommended.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was close to a supermarket, the Van Gogh museum, and Museumplein, with easy access to the tram which takes you directly to Dam Square/Red Light District, etc.

Disliked: Nothing really... it was a very nice stay apart from other travelers. 24 hour service, very informative, very helpful, very friendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Alessa Sierra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Alessa would recommend this property

Liked: It is very well located and amoong the cheapest in Amsterdam

Disliked: There were mice in my room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marta Soares

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 October 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: Breakfast

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the interior of the hostel( not the rooms), that is close to the tram line is useful, walking to the center will set you back 40min. And there were no rats in there as some wrote but there was a rat trap in the room for that reason. The staf was good. Wi-fi was there too.

Disliked: We stayed for 2 days and cant help noticing that the food is the same every day( toast bread+butter+jam/nuggat creme)! Steep stars, tight bathrooms is not a strange sight when your in Amsterdam. Dont expect a stylish room for that money, just a plain simple room with a large window. For 25€ per person is obviously too much for what you get.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adam Amin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: location very good part of amsterdam, value for money for that area

Disliked: it could benefit from having more food and snacks on offer, as the area has not that many shops

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012

Liked: really cheap and near the van-gogh- and rijks-museum

Disliked: it takes circa 30 minutes to walk to the center of the city. in the first night i saw mice running over the floor and we had mice poo in our bags... after changing the room was everything okay, but the rooms are really small for 6 people. if everybody is in the room you nearly have to climb over each other. the shower was a bit disgusting.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012

Liked: The staff were really nice, helpful and attentive you could ask them anything about the city and they seemed to know it.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not very clean at all, toilet paper was a luxury for my last few nights, not enough bathrooms and there were rats or mice in the bedroom which ate my food!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, welcoming and generally nice place 15min walk to the centre so for the money that we paid the trip was well worth every cent!

Disliked: the stairs were a bit steeping getting in late at night was fun haha. there was nothing that really made me dislike it though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, 24hrs reception, ok location

Disliked: to early breakfast, bathroom a little dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Oleg Karpov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 September 2012 Oleg would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed from 12 june, but no returd deposit (60 EU) still!

Disliked: I stayed from 12 june, but no returd deposit (60 EU) still!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everythingwas OK, staff very nice, price very good, well I recomend it. Free computer access and wifi + breakfast

Disliked: only one shower for more than 12 people, but everything worked fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The combination of friendly and helpful staff with facilities such as free wifi and breakfast made for an enjoyable stay in which most needs are catered for.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of the way though not to such a degree as to be major problem. Bathroom was cramped but other wise fine in terms in terms of cleanliness.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness of restrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. Not enough bathroom and toilets 2. Not enough socket

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Juan VECINO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012

Liked: price

Disliked: there were rats in the walls and in the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Some insect I found

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Anna Steiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012

Liked: =)

Disliked: =(