HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexander Guestrooms

Guesthouse | Lijnbaansgracht 252, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017RK

87.3% Overall Rating

226 out of 235 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"Quirky , close to old part of Amsterdam. Lovely and clean. TV with English channels so can keep up with the news. Comfy bed, handy to have a fridge and kettle. Central heated so warm and loads of water."

Read all Alexander Guestrooms reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 13.13

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel uptown
23.62 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
19.68 USD

Hostel 67.9% 501 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.12 USD

Hostel 69.9% 905 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
23.62 USD

Hostel 73.9% 203 reviews
Golden Bear
38.73 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.4% 5 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
32.83 USD

Hostel 73.3% 480 reviews
International Budget Hostel
23.62 USD

Hostel 70.4% 211 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
28.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 1597 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

226 out of 235 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexander Guestrooms'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 225 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky , close to old part of Amsterdam. Lovely and clean. TV with English channels so can keep up with the news. Comfy bed, handy to have a fridge and kettle. Central heated so warm and loads of water.

Disliked: Stairs a very steep and you have a locked door to the bedroom and same for the lounge which is a bit annoying for getting to the loo in middle of the night. Just check your booking info too as the address is given directly under the name Alexander Guestrooms but that isn't where its located at. Location is great but read the info better than we did as its confusing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

ALEXANDER LAWRENCE

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 March 2014

Liked: It had some charm as it it is a very old building. The shower was good.

Disliked: It was not where we wanted to stay, we were misled, the arrangements were misleading. There was nowhere to wash up, there was no bin in the living areas, the TV was too far away from the seating. It was not secure yet there were too many keys, there were too many beams which was not explained. The bedroom was not convenient and the kitchen not there at all.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Goldby

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, so close to the hustle and bustle but far enough from the town to get some peace and quiet. Perfect.

Disliked: Occasional shouting and music from the bars below but nothing a beer or two won't fix.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Philip Roll

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 February 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed, cleann central location.

Disliked: The room is in a normal apartment house therefore it is not possible to meet other travellers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Szybut

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for us, with all the major sites and attractions being only a 20 minute walk away. We didn't even bother getting the tram from Centraal to Dam, we thought it was just as quick to walk.

Disliked: Nothing. But it is just a room with shower and tea/coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Howard

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic and Alexander is very friendly and helpful. The rooms had everything required for a short stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin Daly

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean with friendly and helpful staff. Only a short walk to shopping and restaurants. Really nice and quiet atmosphere.

Disliked: No communal kitchen, however there was a fridge, kettle and microwave in our room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Blaxill

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, just what you need for a city break

Disliked: Could have had better self cAtering facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lesley Jackson

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 October 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: Close to trams, shops, bars and canals- excellent location. Alex allowed us to check in early and lloked after our bads on departure date

Disliked: Lesley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and great value for money! A friendly and comfortable environment and an excellent location and very modern, laid back approach to accomodation.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Tigwell

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 October 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location close to all but in a quiet location

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guido Rojo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Guido would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent !!!

Disliked: Guido left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was amazing but at the same time not noisy

Disliked: Check in times not flexible/not clear. He was unhappy that we checked in not directly at 4pm. Rooms were hot, no fan.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms, central location.

Disliked: Low ceiling, if you're tall, you will have to watch your head Accessibility with heavy baggage might be a problem due to narrow stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Poh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: It is located near the Chinatown area. Very lively area and convenient. Great stay!

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the perfect location, very nice and clean, a great layout and fun to stay here! I would reccomend to anyone looking for more than just a hotel or hostel room.

Disliked: It is part of a bigger apartment so it is not exclusively your apartment, but this was never a problem for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Brady

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing!! Not like other hostels, much more private and quiet. Amazing location, great room and bathroom, and SO clean!! You are located close to everything in Amsterdam! Tons of restaurants, bars, and sightseeing! Highly recommend Alexander guest rooms!!!

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, very clean

Disliked: I would prefer a private bathroom instead of shared one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Han Xin Chin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Han Xin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and extremely clean! Alexander was also very helpful and accomodating, really enjoyed our stay here :) We stayed at Leidseplein, did not have any difficulties with the shared toilet. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Han Xin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ersin F?r?nc?o?ullar?

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Ersin would recommend this property

Liked: we almost felt like we're at home! very friendly and helpful owners, cozy athmosphere, near to damstrat (max 10 min on foot), very very clean. definitely worths your money.

Disliked: Ersin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoganand Gurjar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Yoganand would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the cleanliness impeccable. Facilities provided were great. Alexander and his staff (Paul) are very helpful and kind.

Disliked: Yoganand left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as I got there I have seen that I was infomed right about the place I was going to stay. Room was clean, location was very good, Alex was very friendly and kind. I will definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Eugenia González de la Casa

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 María Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location and the facilities: bathroom, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The room was really comfortable, clean, and convenient. Moreover, the wifi was really fast, much better than in most of the hostels we'be been to. It is located just around the corner of the museums, and there are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops around. The staff were friendly and helpful, and he was waiting for us at our arrival.

Disliked: One of the disadvantages of such a central location was the bar downstairs; although our window gave onto a quiet yard, we could still feel the vibrations from the music. Not too annoying, though, since we are heavy sleepers. Also, we didn't realized the payment had to me made in cash upon arrival, and that was quite inconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcel Gurrath

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: It was just perfect; the location, alex, the atmosphere - in fact everything

Disliked: Marcel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of all the apartments is really good. They were clean and had various facilities on offer in each room. Beds were comfy and the black out blinds in each room were great.

Disliked: There wasn't much that we disliked. The only thing i would say it its smells abit smokey and you can hear music etc from the apartment above.

The property's response is...