HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.3% Overall Rating

533 out of 709 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Becca Rothstein thinks…

"GREAT location--just a short walk from the Centraal Train Station, right next to a main tram stop, right next to the Dam Square, right next to a big super market. For those of you who smoke weed,…"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
46.90 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
46.90 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
37.52 USD

Hostel 70.5% 988 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
56.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.0% 97 reviews
Central Station Hostel
38.85 USD

Hostel 72.5% 181 reviews
Damrak Inn
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 343 reviews
Bees B&B
83.09 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

533 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 513 of 674 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Becca Rothstein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Becca would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT location--just a short walk from the Centraal Train Station, right next to a main tram stop, right next to the Dam Square, right next to a big super market. For those of you who smoke weed, it's allowed in the rooms! The towel and locker come with the room fee, which is really nice.

Disliked: It's not too clean, there is no kitchen or fridge, and it's super super tiny. Somehow they crammed 6 beds into our room, and four rooms of six people have to share one tiny toilet and one shower. The bathroom smelled like pee the whole time I was there, and the shower didn't smell too nice, either. Also, there isn't really a central hang out location except for the tables outside where groups of travelers smoke together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Naser Askari Rabori

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 July 2014 Naser would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center

Disliked: Non

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merran Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Merran would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, very easy to find from central station. Rooms were clean, bed comfortable, good wifi

Disliked: Needs more toilet/showers to number of people using them

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeni Kisbey

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 July 2014 Jeni would recommend this property

Liked: The location is literally a two minute walk from Dam square!!! Also the beds were extremely comfy which were very unexpected. The staff were very pleasant and also allowed us to borrow some fans (placed a 20euro deposit) when our room was very hot. Also free wifi!!!

Disliked: We were on the top floor which meant climbing 5 flights of very steep stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aydin Cinar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Aydin would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was pretty nice. And the location is just next to the dam square and only 5 min walking to . Also there's a tram station in front of the hostel. That's also pretry that there are nice cafes and bars around.

Disliked: The stairs were very bad and narrow. I think they are all like that in Amsterdam. Also wifi was not good in the upper room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Sharpe

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, 2 mins from Dam Square and everything you need for a short stay. Very clean too.

Disliked: The only complaint was the 5% tourist charge they only mentioned when it came to paying, this should be clearer online.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Only a five minute walk from everything you'd want to be near.

Disliked: The stairs up to the top were really steep and very close together, a tricky climb after a night of merriment.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Croman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: 1st we got given the wrong key and eneded up in someone else's room but that was easily sorted out. Toilets are tiny! U have to ask for locker key and towel. There's a lot of small/tiny stairs to climb also!

Disliked: Stairs, toilet so small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clark Stones

Alone

City break

27 May 2014 Clark would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is superb, the staff are friendly, helpful, full of local knowledge and go the extra mile. The facilities are cleaned daily, lockers for the valuables , free wireless internet in the lounge. All you can imagine. It's location is in the heart of Amsterdam and it's an easy walk to get anywhere. Besides, it is a 24-hour open hostel. At night, reception secures the door at the entrance, it just gives any travelers the feeling of more security, I only had to wait a couple of seconds for the door to be buzzed.

Disliked: Nothing special actually. If there's one, it must be the stairs. But this is Amsterdam. I've been to Amsterdam 3 times, and I feel that almost all the hostels on the same street have the same structure to be honest. Unless you stay in a 3 stars hotel :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt secure and had a nice cafe area attached.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Simone

Alone

Partying / nightlife

16 May 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff. it's a hotel more than a hostel. the recption is 24 hour open, and the new opened noodle restaurant is on the grond floor where you can enjoy a budget lunch or diner.

Disliked: so far nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Min Tat Wong

Alone

City break

05 May 2014 Min Tat would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanness

Disliked: It is actually takes 10-15 mins walk to/from the central station.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The situation and the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Small rooms and lot of complicated stairs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Daniel Abramowicz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014

Liked: The location was great, at the center of the city

Disliked: People were complaining about the steep stairs to the room... well, that was the least of the problems, which were: 1) The door was not easy to unlock, had to turn the lock several times until eventualy it would unlock 2) The public bathroom door would slam and we could hear it from the room all night 3) the private room for two didn't have a twin bed, jut two single beds so we could not sleep together 4) the sheets were not clean, and the room had a strong cigarrete smell 5) there were lots of pubes in the (private) toilet (it hadn't been cleaned before we arrived) 6) the sink drain was clogged 7) the place where you hang the towels had dust all over it 8) the bathroom flooded 9) the puf was very small 10) the heater didn't work 11) The walls and ceiling were very thin so we could hear all other guests it seemed as if every detail was arranged so as to not work properly. We had to pay for the 3 nights in advance, otherwise we would certainly change to other hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marie-Chantal Leblanc

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2014 Marie-Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Comfortable beds. Clean room

Disliked: 6 bedroom a little bit small but ok for hostels Bathroom small but ok.. No place to cook

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Oliver Kokiong

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Mark Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Location is walking distance from central train station and makes it easy to get to from airport.-15 min train. Good walking area for shops and little restos. Hot showers are always going strong and hot! :)

Disliked: Trash bin in bathroom was never emptied so it was spilling out and over. Bring slippers for bathroom as the shower gets the floor wet all the time!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Peter Cioch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: I really liked the location. It was at the center of everything. There were multiple places of interest just a few mins away.

Disliked: I disliked that there was no real common area to meet other travelers. Not a good place to stay if you're traveling alone. I was with a group but would've liked to meet other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Derek Porathoor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near to city center.

Disliked: Wifi was slow..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

GONZALO AZOR

Alone

City break

02 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Three floors walking for a room. Room really small for 6 beds. Internet does not work at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made it easy for me. The lobby had a bathroom, so I could easily stop in and use it during the day if I needed to. The lobby was always mellow and a really great spot to read, eat a snack, or charge my electronic devices. I also loved that it is right in the middle of the old city center and near the central station. I was able to walk to all the places I wanted to visit without having to take a train or bus once.

Disliked: The wi-fi on my floor didn't work, which was a bummer. My bed sheets smelled clean, but didn't LOOK totally clean. I also would have appreciated complimentary breakfast because that's a nice feature, but it was okay without it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The stairs are extremely seeped, the lookers are not all the same size.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joseph Chisholm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: Nothing! It's a waste of money! Don't bother booking here, spend the extra money and go somewhere else!

Disliked: This hostel is a massive lie! Don't even think about staying here! For starters they charged my account because they thought we weren't coming even though I emailed them staying I will be checking in after 10pm. When we arrived they told us they can't provide us with a locker because there is only 4 in the room ( it's a 6 bed dorm). So we basically slept with our bags because the door to the room never locked and people kept walking in and out through out the night! When we finally got a locker after someone had checked out, we placed our valuables in the locker but there was not much room. We left for the day and came back to the room looking like a bomb had gone off, my bag and my friends bag had been looked through and his jacket was stolen off the hook in the room, By someone who had apparently checked out already! When we told reception they said "sorry" and walked away! Honestly it's a waste of time staying here! The place has no atmosphere it's absolutely filthy in the bathrooms and in the dorms. It smells like cigarets everywhere! AND not to mention the stairs ares basically ladders! Book somewhere else! Do yourself a favour!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014

Liked: Great location, right in the city centre and close to central station

Disliked: The eight bed dorm has only one tiny window so it was very dark and the bathroom was dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

IRENE PEGIOU

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: the market downstairs.

Disliked: the stairs,the price.