HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 55%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 15.85USD

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 55%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

Showing 81-90 of 312 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is unbeatable! Dam square is literally over the road and you are right in the center of everything, tram stops are right outside aswell for if you want to go a little futher that just the center. The staff were amazing, made us feel really welcome and were always on hand to help. We had the private 6 person room on the top floor, bed were comfy and we all loved it.

Disliked: The only thing we can fault is the stairs, being on the top floor meant walking up 5 flights of stairs which were painfully steep, but it was funny. Advice is that make sure you take EVERYTHING you need when you go out so you don't have to keep going back upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I really like the bad and the bathroom, they are comfortable and clean.

Disliked: The stairs. It is very difficult to go up with the handbag.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: GOOD FOOD, HOSPITALITY, VERY CENTRAL, AND VERY COMFY BEDS!

Disliked: STAIN ON THE CARPET

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was great ! Hi speed internet, friendly staff, great location and very valued for money !!! I strongly recommend for people who are looking for a cheap stay !

Disliked: Nothing to dislike except an annoying roommate that me and my boyfriend got which is not the blame of the hotel !!! Bad luck i guess.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Perfect location - not too close to red light and bars but close enough to walk everywhere! Very secure and safe. The stairs are a bit of a nightmare but nothing too bad!

Disliked: The rooms were very small and there was a constant bad smell in the bathroom otherwise all was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Extremely comfortable and clean. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel mevlana, i was very happy with the rooms being very clean and warm. the staff were quite helpful and the location is ideal. in the future in i plan to visit Amsterdam and i would be very happy to stay in hostel mevlana.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very helpful staffs,great location, really in the center of the city.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place has so much character and very nice staffs. The perfect place to have stayed while in Amsterdam, not to mention the comfiest bed I'd ever slept in the whole 3 weeks I was in Europe!

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The property was in a great location as it was in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Plenty of bar, restaurants, activities and something for everybody.

Disliked: I didn't like the way I was treated by a member of staff, as I have just walked in from a long journey. Waited for five minutes as he was too busy making donoughts! His main priority should have been to acknowledge myself and just to be a little courteous. Security wasn't great as one of my friends had cash stolen form his wallet and a neighbour had his i phone 5 taken from his room. One or two of the rooms did not have safety deposit boxes and it was an easy target for thieves to help themselves! Every person staying in the hostel did not have a key to enter the main entrance. Instead we had to ring a buzzer and the receptionist automatically opens the door! I don't like this procedure as they were letting anybody in, which made our valuables an easy target.I don't like to complain, but I hope you can take this on board and re evaluate your criteria with Hotel Hostel Mevlana. For me it did not ruin my holiday as I had an awesome time in Amsterdam.

Check Availability