We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

70.7% Overall Rating

552 out of 737 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2015)

"The central location meant it was very easy to access all the main Amsterdam attraction. As well as this, the staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
27.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.0% 241 reviews
Tulipana Residence
35.64 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
19.44 USD

Hostel 69.0% 1018 reviews
Central Station Hostel
20.51 USD

Hostel 76.9% 209 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Bees B&B
61.57 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 18 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
51.31 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Hotel Ajax D.R.
52.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.0% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

552 out of 737 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 529 of 699 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annette Bieniek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: I'm glad that the receptionists all spoke perfect English and I was able to get what I needed, i.e. Linen and towels, without having to mime or using a Dutch dictionary. I like that the location was just a short walk from centraal station. I think that the fact my luggage had wheels was a lot better than my friend who had an over the shoulder bag that got pretty heavy after ten minutes (which the walk was about 10-15 minutes depending on how fast you walk). I thought that a hostel would be scary, but it was fairly quiet in there and our roommates were nice and polite. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. They have heaters so it is not cold. Everything is fairly close; my fiend and I walked almost everywhere and we got a good workout. If you have problems with walking than the tram is pretty easy to use and the quickest way to get around without breaking the bank. Rent a bike and go EVERYWHERE!! Amsterdam is amazing and different. Go outside of the city to see another side of holland.

Disliked: We were not allowed to have food or drinks in the rooms (which I think was fair since it can get unsanitary really fast). There was one bathroom and one shower per floor, so if you bad to use the toilet and it was busy then you were going to have to wait, although I didn't have to since it didn't happen to me. If you're a light sleeper, then having a room that faces the stree is going to keep you awake. The tram and taxis are running up and down that street so opt for a room towards the aft part of the building. The worst part was climbing the VERY steep and narrow stairs. I had to climb three flights to get to my room and it was really annoying, but it didnt prevent me from enjoying my stay at the hostel. If you have problems that will prevent you from climbing stairs then I suggest looking somewhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special about the hostel itself, but great location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms were a bit cramped and the staircase was steep as hell, but mostly a decent place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Lorenzi Araujo

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Leandro Lorenzi would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Don't have locker in the bedroon

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2011

Liked: It's in a very good location, but that's it

Disliked: Dirty, Ugly, Noisy, Small, simple.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edward Warren

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 November 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice management, great place. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Could had been cleaner, also staying on the top floor is hard with 5 flights of dutch staircases to climb after a night out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

franck asencio

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2011 franck would recommend this property

Liked: well located,worth it for the amount of money paid!!

Disliked: too many stairs!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zoran Gajin

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2011 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite...

Disliked: Small rooms, no where to leave your stuff, and 8 beds are just to many...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011

Liked: The location is fantastic.

Disliked: There is no free breakfast or coffee. The rooms are VERY small, and occasionally people had to switch beds in the middle of their stay because they had other booking arrangements - I had never seen that before. There is not a locker in the room luggage. Neither somewhere in the hostel.. We Need to trust in the others. Not worth the value I paid!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassio U Castro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Cassio would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and the staff was nice.

Disliked: nothing. Just be careful with the steps after a coffee shop visit :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: the rooms are very packed and there is no common room. It is an old hotel with large rooms rather than a hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is directly in the center, just next to Dam square.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Kovac

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location !

Disliked: Nothing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danne Ko

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Danne would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: the stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danneke Ko

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Danneke would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Albéric Magnard

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 Albéric would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and they are very helpfull

Disliked: everything is okay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eloi Dotto

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 October 2011 Eloi would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and clean.

Disliked: not much

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: No lockers to put your stuff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Otis Aksentiyevic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Otis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very favourable, and the helpful nature of the staff was a welcome attribute. The value for money for the twin private room I stayed in was just about right considering the location.

Disliked: Apart from the stairs which are a bit steep (but nothing unmanagable) there is nothing to dislike.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011

Liked: The location was the only good thing about this hostel.

Disliked: The lobby area is horrible - drinks are way to expensive for travelers, bad music on repeat, and only one computer for everyone to use... Overall, didn't meet anyone in the lobby, which is bad for solo travelers. The toilets and showers smelled like sewage and were disgustingly dirty. The rooms are very cramped, even with the en suite option. Not a lot of fun at this hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely in a good location: not too dangerous, right in the middle of the red light district, Dame Square (shopping and coffee shops), and the discotheques. This is the most important thing when you are staying in Amsterdam. Once you paid all of your fees, the employees were surprisingly nice and helpful: They provided ice and glasses to their customers for no fee from the bar, they did not prosecute me for setting off the fire alarm, and they let me keep my huge suitcase behind the counter. The reception is also open 24 hours, which can come in handy. Free towels. Pillows and comforters were not too gross.

Disliked: The stairs are steep and dangerous. There is no free breakfast or coffee and the kitchen area is small and a bit messy. The rooms are VERY small, and occasionally people had to switch beds in the middle of their stay because they had other booking arrangements - I had never seen that before. There is not really a good place to safely store luggage.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Vladimir Sadlon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very comfortable

Disliked: Nothing to be specifically disliked, normal hostel I'd say.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, can't be better for someone who is staying for a first time in Amsterdam. Staff was kind and helpful. One of the best things was that you can drink and eat your own booze and food in living room.

Disliked: A bit too small rooms, ventilation could be better in rooms. 1 bathroom on one 8 bed room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, and you can buy alcohol from supermarket and drink it in the hostel bar and play pool

Disliked: Over priced for cleanliness, small beds, close beds and no real kitchen/breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gong jun xie

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 October 2011 gong jun would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for like a week the staff is really friendly, the place is like perfect it´s in the center of the city really usefull for shopping and such things. The rooms are also really clean. I´ts more than I had expected. The prices are also not ridiculously high which is a really good thing. I recommend this hostel to everyone.

Disliked: I actually didn't have any bad to say about this hostel it was just excellent!