HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 55%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 17.68USD

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 55%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

Showing 71-80 of 94 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fantastic location a couple of minutes walk from Dam Square & within a few metres of a tramstop to everywhere you'd want to go. Spotlessly clean, good showers and toilets, comfortable beds as bunkbeds go. Kitchen area not up to cooking as there is just a kettle, fridge and microwave oven but fine for preparing a sandwich and a cup of tea. There is a seating area and tables for hostel users with a TV and a free computer/WiFi but it isn't the kind of place a single traveller is going to sit and make friends. This is more a budget hotel than a hostel but it is fantastic value and a great base for exploring Amsterdam. Staff are efficient, pleasant and always there, and we weren't woken in the middle of the night by fellow guests rolling back home, which I had expected.

Disliked: I can see that guests with big or heavy suitcases would have a problem with the steep staircase, but any Amsterdam hotel/hostel in one of the tall old buildings is going to be the same. If you need an elevator you're going to have to shell out for a characterless international style hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is unbeatable! Dam square is literally over the road and you are right in the center of everything, tram stops are right outside aswell for if you want to go a little futher that just the center. The staff were amazing, made us feel really welcome and were always on hand to help. We had the private 6 person room on the top floor, bed were comfy and we all loved it.

Disliked: The only thing we can fault is the stairs, being on the top floor meant walking up 5 flights of stairs which were painfully steep, but it was funny. Advice is that make sure you take EVERYTHING you need when you go out so you don't have to keep going back upstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I really like the bad and the bathroom, they are comfortable and clean.

Disliked: The stairs. It is very difficult to go up with the handbag.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: GOOD FOOD, HOSPITALITY, VERY CENTRAL, AND VERY COMFY BEDS!

Disliked: STAIN ON THE CARPET

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was great ! Hi speed internet, friendly staff, great location and very valued for money !!! I strongly recommend for people who are looking for a cheap stay !

Disliked: Nothing to dislike except an annoying roommate that me and my boyfriend got which is not the blame of the hotel !!! Bad luck i guess.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Perfect location - not too close to red light and bars but close enough to walk everywhere! Very secure and safe. The stairs are a bit of a nightmare but nothing too bad!

Disliked: The rooms were very small and there was a constant bad smell in the bathroom otherwise all was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Extremely comfortable and clean. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel mevlana, i was very happy with the rooms being very clean and warm. the staff were quite helpful and the location is ideal. in the future in i plan to visit Amsterdam and i would be very happy to stay in hostel mevlana.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very helpful staffs,great location, really in the center of the city.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability