HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 66%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 17.59USD

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 66%

Staff 75%

Value 63%

Showing 61-70 of 94 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, at the center of the city

Disliked: People were complaining about the steep stairs to the room... well, that was the least of the problems, which were:1) The door was not easy to unlock, had to turn the lock several times until eventualy it would unlock2) The public bathroom door would slam and we could hear it from the room all night3) the private room for two didn't have a twin bed, jut two single beds so we could not sleep together4) the sheets were not clean, and the room had a strong cigarrete smell5) there were lots of pubes in the (private) toilet (it hadn't been cleaned before we arrived)6) the sink drain was clogged7) the place where you hang the towels had dust all over it8) the bathroom flooded9) the puf was very small10) the heater didn't work11) The walls and ceiling were very thin so we could hear all other guestsit seemed as if every detail was arranged so as to not work properly. We had to pay for the 3 nights in advance, otherwise we would certainly change to other hostel.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is walking distance from central train station and makes it easy to get to from airport.-15 min train. Good walking area for shops and little restos. Hot showers are always going strong and hot! :)

Disliked: Trash bin in bathroom was never emptied so it was spilling out and over. Bring slippers for bathroom as the shower gets the floor wet all the time!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating


03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked the location. It was at the center of everything. There were multiple places of interest just a few mins away.

Disliked: I disliked that there was no real common area to meet other travelers. Not a good place to stay if you're traveling alone. I was with a group but would've liked to meet other people.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Three floors walking for a room. Room really small for 6 beds. Internet does not work at all.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made it easy for me. The lobby had a bathroom, so I could easily stop in and use it during the day if I needed to. The lobby was always mellow and a really great spot to read, eat a snack, or charge my electronic devices. I also loved that it is right in the middle of the old city center and near the central station. I was able to walk to all the places I wanted to visit without having to take a train or bus once.

Disliked: The wi-fi on my floor didn't work, which was a bummer. My bed sheets smelled clean, but didn't LOOK totally clean. I also would have appreciated complimentary breakfast because that's a nice feature, but it was okay without it.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's very near to city center.

Disliked: Wifi was slow..

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The stairs are extremely seeped, the lookers are not all the same size.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing! It's a waste of money! Don't bother booking here, spend the extra money and go somewhere else!

Disliked: This hostel is a massive lie! Don't even think about staying here! For starters they charged my account because they thought we weren't coming even though I emailed them staying I will be checking in after 10pm. When we arrived they told us they can't provide us with a locker because there is only 4 in the room ( it's a 6 bed dorm). So we basically slept with our bags because the door to the room never locked and people kept walking in and out through out the night! When we finally got a locker after someone had checked out, we placed our valuables in the locker but there was not much room. We left for the day and came back to the room looking like a bomb had gone off, my bag and my friends bag had been looked through and his jacket was stolen off the hook in the room, By someone who had apparently checked out already! When we told reception they said "sorry" and walked away! Honestly it's a waste of time staying here! The place has no atmosphere it's absolutely filthy in the bathrooms and in the dorms. It smells like cigarets everywhere! AND not to mention the stairs ares basically ladders! Book somewhere else! Do yourself a favour!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt secure and had a nice cafe area attached.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, right in the city centre and close to central station

Disliked: The eight bed dorm has only one tiny window so it was very dark and the bathroom was dirty

Check Availability