HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 54%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 76%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 16.12USD

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 54%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 76%

Value 62%

Showing 61-70 of 83 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel is superb, the staff are friendly, helpful, full of local knowledge and go the extra mile. The facilities are cleaned daily, lockers for the valuables , free wireless internet in the lounge. All you can imagine.It's location is in the heart of Amsterdam and it's an easy walk to get anywhere. Besides, it is a 24-hour open hostel. At night, reception secures the door at the entrance, it just gives any travelers the feeling of more security, I only had to wait a couple of seconds for the door to be buzzed.

Disliked: Nothing special actually. If there's one, it must be the stairs. But this is Amsterdam. I've been to Amsterdam 3 times, and I feel that almost all the hostels on the same street have the same structure to be honest. Unless you stay in a 3 stars hotel :)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: good location and friendly staff. it's a hotel more than a hostel. the recption is 24 hour open, and the new opened noodle restaurant is on the grond floor where you can enjoy a budget lunch or diner.

Disliked: so far nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cleanness

Disliked: It is actually takes 10-15 mins walk to/from the central station.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The situation and the friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Small rooms and lot of complicated stairs

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect location.Comfortable beds.Clean room

Disliked: 6 bedroom a little bit small but ok for hostelsBathroom small but ok..No place to cook

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great, at the center of the city

Disliked: People were complaining about the steep stairs to the room... well, that was the least of the problems, which were:1) The door was not easy to unlock, had to turn the lock several times until eventualy it would unlock2) The public bathroom door would slam and we could hear it from the room all night3) the private room for two didn't have a twin bed, jut two single beds so we could not sleep together4) the sheets were not clean, and the room had a strong cigarrete smell5) there were lots of pubes in the (private) toilet (it hadn't been cleaned before we arrived)6) the sink drain was clogged7) the place where you hang the towels had dust all over it8) the bathroom flooded9) the puf was very small10) the heater didn't work11) The walls and ceiling were very thin so we could hear all other guestsit seemed as if every detail was arranged so as to not work properly. We had to pay for the 3 nights in advance, otherwise we would certainly change to other hostel.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is walking distance from central train station and makes it easy to get to from airport.-15 min train. Good walking area for shops and little restos. Hot showers are always going strong and hot! :)

Disliked: Trash bin in bathroom was never emptied so it was spilling out and over. Bring slippers for bathroom as the shower gets the floor wet all the time!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating


03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked the location. It was at the center of everything. There were multiple places of interest just a few mins away.

Disliked: I disliked that there was no real common area to meet other travelers. Not a good place to stay if you're traveling alone. I was with a group but would've liked to meet other people.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Three floors walking for a room. Room really small for 6 beds. Internet does not work at all.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and they made it easy for me. The lobby had a bathroom, so I could easily stop in and use it during the day if I needed to. The lobby was always mellow and a really great spot to read, eat a snack, or charge my electronic devices. I also loved that it is right in the middle of the old city center and near the central station. I was able to walk to all the places I wanted to visit without having to take a train or bus once.

Disliked: The wi-fi on my floor didn't work, which was a bummer. My bed sheets smelled clean, but didn't LOOK totally clean. I also would have appreciated complimentary breakfast because that's a nice feature, but it was okay without it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability