HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

72.3% Overall Rating

534 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"love how it was well located. near the city centre. staff were kinda friendly, made friends with the Uighur dude, who was more than happy to share with us about the where to go as a local which helped us a lot."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 19.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 223 reviews
Tulipana Residence
49.86 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
23.93 USD

Hostel 71.2% 992 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
43.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 99 reviews
Central Station Hostel
33.23 USD

Hostel 71.4% 186 reviews
Damrak Inn
31.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 345 reviews
Bees B&B
82.44 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
59.83 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

534 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 516 of 677 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ANDRZEJ SOLARSKI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 ANDRZEJ would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff

Disliked: poor standard of the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lorena Moreno Vera

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 December 2011 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It´s really close to Central station and well... almost to anything

Disliked: The fact that because it is really small, if you have medium or large baggage, you have to leave it at the front desk and just take to your room the main stuff. Also that there are not rooms for just girls or boys.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, friendly staff, good location. I have seen worse atmospheres.

Disliked: the usual narrow flight of stairs... the slightly misleading online description (it says: "towels included, lockers in rooms", but neither was true). room a bit too narrow, could barely fit between the beds - and I'm rather slim... no warm water from tap, if I remember correctly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ubicación

Disliked: estrecho y no tenia señal wifi en la habitación

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is ideal you can walk to every place of the city

Disliked: the bed are too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to central station very good location, clean and comfortable bed.Staff was very nice and helpful. .

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theodoros Vogiatzis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2011 Theodoros would recommend this property

Liked: Is just a hostel!Best thing was its location!!!

Disliked: Some place to smoke inside would be nice... Its Amsterdam after all!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice. It's pretty basic, but great location. Also a handy kitchen area to cook food and a little dining area to eat at which is nice. I'd be happy to stay here again as can walk across city centre from here in no time!

Disliked: Free internet is great, but there's only one computer, so often have to wait to use it. The rooms are pretty basic and not new, but they are clean and comfortable to stay in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011

Liked: not much

Disliked: was pretty much a hotel made in to a hostel wich didnt really work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

franco brunelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 franco would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio, economico, cercaa del centro, internet, ambiente agradable, basicamente es todo lo que se necesita. recomiendo el hostel.

Disliked: franco left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justin Blakney

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great view from our window and the rooms were really clean

Disliked: staff weren't really helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

karen stephens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011

Liked: open all night, really freindly and helpful staff

Disliked: the rooms are very cramped and there are no lockers in the room, but staff are happy to mind belongings

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annette Bieniek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: I'm glad that the receptionists all spoke perfect English and I was able to get what I needed, i.e. Linen and towels, without having to mime or using a Dutch dictionary. I like that the location was just a short walk from centraal station. I think that the fact my luggage had wheels was a lot better than my friend who had an over the shoulder bag that got pretty heavy after ten minutes (which the walk was about 10-15 minutes depending on how fast you walk). I thought that a hostel would be scary, but it was fairly quiet in there and our roommates were nice and polite. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. They have heaters so it is not cold. Everything is fairly close; my fiend and I walked almost everywhere and we got a good workout. If you have problems with walking than the tram is pretty easy to use and the quickest way to get around without breaking the bank. Rent a bike and go EVERYWHERE!! Amsterdam is amazing and different. Go outside of the city to see another side of holland.

Disliked: We were not allowed to have food or drinks in the rooms (which I think was fair since it can get unsanitary really fast). There was one bathroom and one shower per floor, so if you bad to use the toilet and it was busy then you were going to have to wait, although I didn't have to since it didn't happen to me. If you're a light sleeper, then having a room that faces the stree is going to keep you awake. The tram and taxis are running up and down that street so opt for a room towards the aft part of the building. The worst part was climbing the VERY steep and narrow stairs. I had to climb three flights to get to my room and it was really annoying, but it didnt prevent me from enjoying my stay at the hostel. If you have problems that will prevent you from climbing stairs then I suggest looking somewhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special about the hostel itself, but great location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms were a bit cramped and the staircase was steep as hell, but mostly a decent place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Lorenzi Araujo

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Leandro Lorenzi would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Don't have locker in the bedroon

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2011

Liked: It's in a very good location, but that's it

Disliked: Dirty, Ugly, Noisy, Small, simple.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edward Warren

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 November 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice management, great place. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Could had been cleaner, also staying on the top floor is hard with 5 flights of dutch staircases to climb after a night out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

franck asencio

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2011 franck would recommend this property

Liked: well located,worth it for the amount of money paid!!

Disliked: too many stairs!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zoran Gajin

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2011 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite...

Disliked: Small rooms, no where to leave your stuff, and 8 beds are just to many...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011

Liked: The location is fantastic.

Disliked: There is no free breakfast or coffee. The rooms are VERY small, and occasionally people had to switch beds in the middle of their stay because they had other booking arrangements - I had never seen that before. There is not a locker in the room luggage. Neither somewhere in the hostel.. We Need to trust in the others. Not worth the value I paid!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassio U Castro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Cassio would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and the staff was nice.

Disliked: nothing. Just be careful with the steps after a coffee shop visit :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: the rooms are very packed and there is no common room. It is an old hotel with large rooms rather than a hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is directly in the center, just next to Dam square.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Kovac

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location !

Disliked: Nothing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danne Ko

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Danne would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: the stairs