We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

546 out of 728 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2015)

"The hostel is basic but very clean and in a great location in the centre of Amsterdam. Everything is in walking distance."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
22.14 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.8% 230 reviews
Tulipana Residence
30.99 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 70.6% 1004 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
24.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Station Hostel
12.64 USD

Hostel 72.5% 200 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Bees B&B
72.11 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

546 out of 728 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 525 of 691 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephanie Staples

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, amazing location, comfy beds!

Disliked: The stairs were quite the steep trek, especially when staying on the top floor. Also, the bathrooms weren't too well kept.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yuri Chemale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Yuri would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, the staff was friendly and helpful (even though the check-out time is at 11:00 and we did it at 13:00 they didn't seem to be to bothered), the facilities are good and for the price is as cheapest as it can get in Amsterdam

Disliked: The kitchen facilities wasn't so good, it was small but you can use it

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012

Liked: Only the good location

Disliked: Expensive for what offers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dee Stam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 January 2012

Liked: the location was ideal and the staff at the reception were friendly

Disliked: the stairs are very very unsafe, the rooms were alot more crambed than i have had with previous hostels

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SUMAN CHATTERJEE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 SUMAN would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite close to the Central Station and Dam Square. Had an desktop with free internet for customers (quite lucky to get it without waiting in the queue for long) Staff was helpful and suggested best ways to visit and travel around Amsterdam. Absolute value for money

Disliked: Could be more hygienic and the stairs were really steep.... had to walk up to the 4th floor which was a pain.. stayed for just a night and hence didn't suffer more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Regina Lucia Cavalcanti Reis

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 January 2012 Regina Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: the place where its located its wonderful very close to centraal sttion the beds are confortable the price was good if i go back amsterda i went here again

Disliked: dont have breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blanco Blanco

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 January 2012 Blanco would recommend this property

Liked: the reception and kitchen and localization is good, close to the Dam

Disliked: long and hard stairs, but I think it`s normal in the amsterdam buildings

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brigitte canepa

Alone

City break

05 January 2012 brigitte would recommend this property

Liked: location, close to everything

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: terrible dormitories and stairs to get to the dormitory

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ANDRZEJ SOLARSKI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 ANDRZEJ would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff

Disliked: poor standard of the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lorena Moreno Vera

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 December 2011 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It´s really close to Central station and well... almost to anything

Disliked: The fact that because it is really small, if you have medium or large baggage, you have to leave it at the front desk and just take to your room the main stuff. Also that there are not rooms for just girls or boys.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, friendly staff, good location. I have seen worse atmospheres.

Disliked: the usual narrow flight of stairs... the slightly misleading online description (it says: "towels included, lockers in rooms", but neither was true). room a bit too narrow, could barely fit between the beds - and I'm rather slim... no warm water from tap, if I remember correctly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ubicación

Disliked: estrecho y no tenia señal wifi en la habitación

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is ideal you can walk to every place of the city

Disliked: the bed are too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to central station very good location, clean and comfortable bed.Staff was very nice and helpful. .

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theodoros Vogiatzis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 December 2011 Theodoros would recommend this property

Liked: Is just a hostel!Best thing was its location!!!

Disliked: Some place to smoke inside would be nice... Its Amsterdam after all!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice. It's pretty basic, but great location. Also a handy kitchen area to cook food and a little dining area to eat at which is nice. I'd be happy to stay here again as can walk across city centre from here in no time!

Disliked: Free internet is great, but there's only one computer, so often have to wait to use it. The rooms are pretty basic and not new, but they are clean and comfortable to stay in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011

Liked: not much

Disliked: was pretty much a hotel made in to a hostel wich didnt really work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

franco brunelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 franco would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio, economico, cercaa del centro, internet, ambiente agradable, basicamente es todo lo que se necesita. recomiendo el hostel.

Disliked: franco left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justin Blakney

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great view from our window and the rooms were really clean

Disliked: staff weren't really helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

karen stephens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011

Liked: open all night, really freindly and helpful staff

Disliked: the rooms are very cramped and there are no lockers in the room, but staff are happy to mind belongings

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annette Bieniek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: I'm glad that the receptionists all spoke perfect English and I was able to get what I needed, i.e. Linen and towels, without having to mime or using a Dutch dictionary. I like that the location was just a short walk from centraal station. I think that the fact my luggage had wheels was a lot better than my friend who had an over the shoulder bag that got pretty heavy after ten minutes (which the walk was about 10-15 minutes depending on how fast you walk). I thought that a hostel would be scary, but it was fairly quiet in there and our roommates were nice and polite. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. They have heaters so it is not cold. Everything is fairly close; my fiend and I walked almost everywhere and we got a good workout. If you have problems with walking than the tram is pretty easy to use and the quickest way to get around without breaking the bank. Rent a bike and go EVERYWHERE!! Amsterdam is amazing and different. Go outside of the city to see another side of holland.

Disliked: We were not allowed to have food or drinks in the rooms (which I think was fair since it can get unsanitary really fast). There was one bathroom and one shower per floor, so if you bad to use the toilet and it was busy then you were going to have to wait, although I didn't have to since it didn't happen to me. If you're a light sleeper, then having a room that faces the stree is going to keep you awake. The tram and taxis are running up and down that street so opt for a room towards the aft part of the building. The worst part was climbing the VERY steep and narrow stairs. I had to climb three flights to get to my room and it was really annoying, but it didnt prevent me from enjoying my stay at the hostel. If you have problems that will prevent you from climbing stairs then I suggest looking somewhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special about the hostel itself, but great location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms were a bit cramped and the staircase was steep as hell, but mostly a decent place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Lorenzi Araujo

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Leandro Lorenzi would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Don't have locker in the bedroon

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2011

Liked: It's in a very good location, but that's it

Disliked: Dirty, Ugly, Noisy, Small, simple.