HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

72.0% Overall Rating

529 out of 704 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Jeni Kisbey thinks…

"The location is literally a two minute walk from Dam square!!! Also the beds were extremely comfy which were very unexpected. The staff were very pleasant and also allowed us to borrow some fans…"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
47.34 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
47.34 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
50.05 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
35.17 USD

Hostel 69.7% 986 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
42.93 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.6% 96 reviews
Central Station Hostel
40.57 USD

Hostel 75.8% 178 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.1% 339 reviews
Bees B&B
83.86 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

529 out of 704 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 509 of 669 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and nice. It's pretty basic, but great location. Also a handy kitchen area to cook food and a little dining area to eat at which is nice. I'd be happy to stay here again as can walk across city centre from here in no time!

Disliked: Free internet is great, but there's only one computer, so often have to wait to use it. The rooms are pretty basic and not new, but they are clean and comfortable to stay in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011

Liked: not much

Disliked: was pretty much a hotel made in to a hostel wich didnt really work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

franco brunelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 franco would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio, economico, cercaa del centro, internet, ambiente agradable, basicamente es todo lo que se necesita. recomiendo el hostel.

Disliked: franco left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justin Blakney

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great view from our window and the rooms were really clean

Disliked: staff weren't really helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

karen stephens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011

Liked: open all night, really freindly and helpful staff

Disliked: the rooms are very cramped and there are no lockers in the room, but staff are happy to mind belongings

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annette Bieniek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: I'm glad that the receptionists all spoke perfect English and I was able to get what I needed, i.e. Linen and towels, without having to mime or using a Dutch dictionary. I like that the location was just a short walk from centraal station. I think that the fact my luggage had wheels was a lot better than my friend who had an over the shoulder bag that got pretty heavy after ten minutes (which the walk was about 10-15 minutes depending on how fast you walk). I thought that a hostel would be scary, but it was fairly quiet in there and our roommates were nice and polite. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. They have heaters so it is not cold. Everything is fairly close; my fiend and I walked almost everywhere and we got a good workout. If you have problems with walking than the tram is pretty easy to use and the quickest way to get around without breaking the bank. Rent a bike and go EVERYWHERE!! Amsterdam is amazing and different. Go outside of the city to see another side of holland.

Disliked: We were not allowed to have food or drinks in the rooms (which I think was fair since it can get unsanitary really fast). There was one bathroom and one shower per floor, so if you bad to use the toilet and it was busy then you were going to have to wait, although I didn't have to since it didn't happen to me. If you're a light sleeper, then having a room that faces the stree is going to keep you awake. The tram and taxis are running up and down that street so opt for a room towards the aft part of the building. The worst part was climbing the VERY steep and narrow stairs. I had to climb three flights to get to my room and it was really annoying, but it didnt prevent me from enjoying my stay at the hostel. If you have problems that will prevent you from climbing stairs then I suggest looking somewhere else.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special about the hostel itself, but great location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: the rooms were a bit cramped and the staircase was steep as hell, but mostly a decent place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leandro Lorenzi Araujo

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Leandro Lorenzi would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Don't have locker in the bedroon

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2011

Liked: It's in a very good location, but that's it

Disliked: Dirty, Ugly, Noisy, Small, simple.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edward Warren

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 November 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice management, great place. Would highly recommend.

Disliked: Could had been cleaner, also staying on the top floor is hard with 5 flights of dutch staircases to climb after a night out!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

franck asencio

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2011 franck would recommend this property

Liked: well located,worth it for the amount of money paid!!

Disliked: too many stairs!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zoran Gajin

Alone

Events / festivals

22 November 2011 Zoran would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite...

Disliked: Small rooms, no where to leave your stuff, and 8 beds are just to many...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011

Liked: The location is fantastic.

Disliked: There is no free breakfast or coffee. The rooms are VERY small, and occasionally people had to switch beds in the middle of their stay because they had other booking arrangements - I had never seen that before. There is not a locker in the room luggage. Neither somewhere in the hostel.. We Need to trust in the others. Not worth the value I paid!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassio U Castro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Cassio would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and the staff was nice.

Disliked: nothing. Just be careful with the steps after a coffee shop visit :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: the rooms are very packed and there is no common room. It is an old hotel with large rooms rather than a hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is directly in the center, just next to Dam square.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Kovac

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 November 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location !

Disliked: Nothing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danne Ko

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Danne would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: the stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danneke Ko

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Danneke would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Albéric Magnard

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 Albéric would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and they are very helpfull

Disliked: everything is okay

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eloi Dotto

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 October 2011 Eloi would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and clean.

Disliked: not much

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: No lockers to put your stuff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Otis Aksentiyevic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Otis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very favourable, and the helpful nature of the staff was a welcome attribute. The value for money for the twin private room I stayed in was just about right considering the location.

Disliked: Apart from the stairs which are a bit steep (but nothing unmanagable) there is nothing to dislike.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011

Liked: The location was the only good thing about this hostel.

Disliked: The lobby area is horrible - drinks are way to expensive for travelers, bad music on repeat, and only one computer for everyone to use... Overall, didn't meet anyone in the lobby, which is bad for solo travelers. The toilets and showers smelled like sewage and were disgustingly dirty. The rooms are very cramped, even with the en suite option. Not a lot of fun at this hostel.