We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

553 out of 739 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2015)

"The central location meant it was very easy to access all the main Amsterdam attraction. As well as this, the staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
30.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.0% 241 reviews
Tulipana Residence
35.88 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
16.31 USD

Hostel 69.6% 1020 reviews
Central Station Hostel
15.21 USD

Hostel 78.6% 210 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Bees B&B
61.97 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 18 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
53.82 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Hotel Ajax D.R.
52.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.0% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

553 out of 739 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 701 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012

Liked: The staff were very nice. It had a microwave and a jam packed fridge, a supermarket is right across the road. They will hold your bag free of charge until 18:00 on the day you leave. The location is pretty good, its one road away from the action so you can avoid busy noisy streets and still get to places with ease.

Disliked: There is no lounge like they say, its tables at a restaurant they run. Very hard place to meet anyone if you are travelling alone or even with people. I wouldn't advise a female to travel alone here. The top bunks of the beds are so thin I slept with my backpack to keep me from falling off. It has a dingy character to it, and not in a good way, I never felt secure or safe. You will probably be disappointed. I'm not sure how it has such a high rating. If its just you and 3 lads and you need somewhere very cheap to drop you bag while you get high in town then this is perfect. If you are a traveller looking to enjoy the people and the city and your hostel, then this is not the droid you are looking for.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: the bathroom should be cleaned more often

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi worked well. Close to train station and other city sights. 24 hr reception is really helpful. My room had a small locker and they also offered to hold things in a safe at the desk. I thought the crazy stairs actually make an interesting story, but maybe I pack lighter than most people.

Disliked: Bathroom and shower on my floor were decent, but there was only one between the whole floor (12-18 people) however I never had to wait to use either. It would be nice if there was a more central common area to meet people, but the cafe downstairs is alright.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, in the city center. Clean shower and toilet.

Disliked: The kitchen had no cooker nor stoves nor dishes. I was charged 12€ for paying with card and not cash. Our room was absolutely too small for the 3 bunk beds: there was nowhere to put luggage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had comfortable beds.

Disliked: Not really a good place to meet people or party. The atmosphere was pretty dull. My bed was up 5 flights of stairs... the stairs were more like a ladder. This is a good place to stay for anyone who wants to keep to themselves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Peter

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012

Liked: The location is great, right next to the Dam Square which is the central square in Amsterdam and meeting point for a lot of activities. You can reach mostly everything within foot distance. The hostel itself is a clean and generally ok place to sleep and the staff is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The place has a snack-bar on the ground floor which is actually a good thing. The problem is that the whole place has the character and the ambience of rather a fast-food facility than a hostel. So if you want to get in touch with other travellers, I wouldn’t recommend it, because there is just no space/place to do so. The rooms and all the facilities (stairs, shower, toilet) are very narrow and small, but once you get used to, it’s no problem to deal with it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Cesar Kuntscher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Leonardo Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: !

Disliked: !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Kalivoda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great beds, great location.

Disliked: stairs are so steep!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet

Disliked: Bed is a bit small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BASEL SHWAIKI

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012

Liked: Good Loaction

Disliked: plain, just a place to sleep no more..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'amabilité du personnel ainsi que les services à l'accueil (snack).

Disliked: Les escaliers dangereux et l'absence de coffre fort sécurisé individuel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, comfortable rooms.

Disliked: No cancelation allowed,some staff slightly unfriendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Camilo Novoa

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No ambient!!! No locker!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Betty Liu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: Clean restrooms. Sink in room. Comfortable beds. 2 blocks from Red Light District. 10 minute walk from station. 24 hour service. TV in room. Above a snack shop so you can get ice cream! Refrigerator and kitchen.

Disliked: Stairs to climb to get to room are steep and ridiculous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joaquin Witto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect for somebody who is travelling alone. I Was backpacking and was just arriving from Rome. I get there and the recepcionist was quite nice with me. Then I went to the room (6 bed mixed) and I met a girl from Germany (I'm from Chile) that was the best part of my backpacking eurotrip! Now we are gonna see each other at september again. Thank you Mevlana Hostel... ! hahahaha About the room... 6 beds, mixed, sink inside the room to brush your teeth, windows looking to the street. Just what you need to go to Amsterdam. PS: It smells like weed sometimes, but come on... it's Amsterdam!

Disliked: Ladders!!! The Ladders makes you feel like you are gonna fall at any moment and they are really small !!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lance Goettsch

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012 Lance would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people!

Disliked: There are a lot of stairs but what can you expect in Holland. There are stairs everywhere.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edda Salgado

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Edda would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are great! very comfty!!!!!!!!! =)

Disliked: non-smoking!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brennan `Parker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Brennan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and available 24/7. Who can't appreciate that? They also have some great recommendations on places to go and things to see.

Disliked: The stairs are really steep -which is kind of scary... But other than that - it's a plain hostel. Finding it is a bit difficult as well. You have to ensure you don't go to OZ Voorburgwal because you'll find people who are lovely in helping you find the real hostel at NZ Voorburgwal! :p

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good enough, the towels and linens are clean.

Disliked: Too hot in rooms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012

Liked: The location is fine, but not what I would have expected for such a high rating. It's a 20-minute walk from the main sights. Stay closer to the Canal Belt, if possible. Free wifi in the lobby, but not in the room as advertised. Free towels. Relatively clean (though the bathroom was moldy).

Disliked: Unfortunately, this hostel - it is a hostel, not a hotel - was not worth the money we paid. There are definitely better, comparable options. It seems silly to complain about the stairs, but it's true that they were dangerously narrow. The room was poorly ventilated. The bathroom reeked of urine and mold. (There was no shower door, so the water goes everywhere). Most importantly, the room did not feel particularly safe (as far as leaving our stuff there), neither did the hotel (there were some older men who just hung out on the landings of each floor at night), nor did the area (a little bit sketchy to walk back to from the main bar square after going out). Actually, there were guests downstairs reporting a robbery when we were checking in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - Right in the center of main tourist attractions, bars and coffeeshops + helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing, except - Getting up and down the tight stairs, its a mission when you're smashed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michele Grassi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation, central location, in a calm zone. I've been in a 4 bed shared bathroom and everything was great. The room and the bath were both clean. good service staff is kindly!

Disliked: 20 euros deposit for room-key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen precio para la zona en donde esta ubicado

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergey Tsvetkov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location and location)))

Disliked: WiFi really didn't work on floor, only on reception