HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

72.0% Overall Rating

529 out of 704 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Merran Miller thinks…

"Very good location, very easy to find from central station. Rooms were clean, bed comfortable, good wifi"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
47.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
47.13 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
49.82 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
35.01 USD

Hostel 69.7% 986 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
42.74 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.0% 97 reviews
Central Station Hostel
36.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 341 reviews
Bees B&B
83.48 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

529 out of 704 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 510 of 670 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012

Liked: The location is fine, but not what I would have expected for such a high rating. It's a 20-minute walk from the main sights. Stay closer to the Canal Belt, if possible. Free wifi in the lobby, but not in the room as advertised. Free towels. Relatively clean (though the bathroom was moldy).

Disliked: Unfortunately, this hostel - it is a hostel, not a hotel - was not worth the money we paid. There are definitely better, comparable options. It seems silly to complain about the stairs, but it's true that they were dangerously narrow. The room was poorly ventilated. The bathroom reeked of urine and mold. (There was no shower door, so the water goes everywhere). Most importantly, the room did not feel particularly safe (as far as leaving our stuff there), neither did the hotel (there were some older men who just hung out on the landings of each floor at night), nor did the area (a little bit sketchy to walk back to from the main bar square after going out). Actually, there were guests downstairs reporting a robbery when we were checking in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - Right in the center of main tourist attractions, bars and coffeeshops + helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing, except - Getting up and down the tight stairs, its a mission when you're smashed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michele Grassi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation, central location, in a calm zone. I've been in a 4 bed shared bathroom and everything was great. The room and the bath were both clean. good service staff is kindly!

Disliked: 20 euros deposit for room-key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen precio para la zona en donde esta ubicado

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergey Tsvetkov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location and location)))

Disliked: WiFi really didn't work on floor, only on reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location

Disliked: Wifi was not accesible in rooms, stairs were very steep, shower head in my room ahot motly sideways.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything..

Disliked: Small stairs, but that´s normal 4 houses in NL.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and quite calm. The location was great! And the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: The towels smelt a bit like tobacco.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a realy good place cause it's near everything in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean and pratice.

Disliked: The steps..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

duennapa phatthalung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 duennapa would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything and safe

Disliked: Steep stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kar Hoe Loke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012

Liked: location, it is near to train station and it is in the center of amsterdam

Disliked: dorm room, it is like living in a jail

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hilde Eliza Sjursø

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice location.

Disliked: Was a little different compared to the picture the internet page gave us. And other things described in question no. 5

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: It had a very central location and was only a few minutes walk from major attractions. Very near the central station.

Disliked: To begin with, we could not find the hostel from the train station because apparently the directions we had printed from Google Maps gave us the wrong address. This was because (according to the man at the hostel whom I called) that the hostel was 'new'. When I asked him for directions he provided me no information saying that it was 'difficult to explain how to get there'. After uncomfortably asking for directions at 10 p.m. in the red light district and walking around for about 30 minutes, we finally arrived. The people behind the desk were not very friendly and the place was under constructions and very dusty, dirty, and dingy. The room was very dirty. We found stains on the bed and carpet, and found hair in our pillows. The beds themselves were uncomfortable and the shower (we had en-suite) was filthy. The room smelled of smoke and the floor creaked. We felt very unsafe. I would never stay at Hotel Hostel Mevlana ever again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Crystal Horsley

Alone

City break

01 April 2012

Liked: The location! Right in the center. Also, there was a bathroom in my bedroom. They had free Internet--a computer you could use for free, plus wireless, although my phone wouldn't connect.

Disliked: The bedrooms are pretty ghetto-fabulous. It's an attic space crammed with beds, in an area that really, would have been full with one bed, and it's got 6 bunk beds. You have to be creative with where to store your stuff. There's space under the bed, and two shelves. There are no lockers in the room. There is no ladder or anything to scale the bunk beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. Walking distance from central station and very easy to find. Near all main important objectives you are interested. We were a group and we visited the whole city in one day by foot, Ams is not such a big city and you don't even need to take the tram. If you are not a picky person than it's ok to stay there!

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there were some stains on the sheets, and the most important thing, we have chosen a room of 4 and we were 3 girls and they send an old guy with us. It was very strange, girls of 23 with a guy in his 50s. In the end it was ok, he turned out to be a nice person and he knew that we needed our space and he didn't bothered at all, but i guess it would be better if they keep in mind our age and they take into account who is staying in the rooms, even if it's a mixed room. The internet connection was working only from downstairs. In total, i would stay there again, but only if we are enough to take the whole room, i don't want to have other surprises one more time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything. Staff was helpful and easy going.

Disliked: The space was very tight! There were 3 bunk beds in a room when really only 2 fit comfortably.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think this hostel is perfect for people who are able to stay with other people. Before arriving there, I have read a lot of critics, but: nevermind guys! If you are young and not squeamish, this hostel is for you! the position is wonderful, and there are some cheap drinks and snacks in the ground floor.. about cleaning...like all hostels in the world! otherwise, if you are squeamish, hostels are not for you, it's better you take a hotel!

Disliked: nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012

Liked: Location was the only thing selling rooms in this hostel!

Disliked: We were a little rushed with booking this place. i'm sure there are nicer properties around. I felt this place needs a make over!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ability to use free wifi, comfortable bed, 24 reception.

Disliked: Climbing so many steep stairs to get to my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful

Disliked: REALLY CLOSE QUARTERS.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Fisher

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: They were very accommodating--they even gave me five towels when i only asked for two (for free). Also we were able to choose which beds to sleep on and therefore didn't split up the group.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and good price.

Disliked: There were some stains on the sheets.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012

Liked: The location was excellent- near Dam square and walking distance from Central Station.

Disliked: The beds were tiny, uncomfortable, and REALLY close together. There was no space to put your luggage and no lockers to store valuables.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Turnbull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic. Previous trips to Amsterdam I have used trams and buses, this time I didnt need to. Everything you need is within a short walk.

Disliked: No common room as such, just a downstairs area with a kitchen (microwave and fridge) and a pool table and a small bar. I prefer hostels to have a bit of character.