We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.9% Overall Rating

539 out of 719 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location; War genauso wie ich es mir vorgestellt hatte. Für das Geld nicht viel zu erwarten."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.7% 225 reviews
Tulipana Residence
47.44 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
44.58 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Station Hostel
15.17 USD

Hostel 73.3% 195 reviews
Damrak Inn
21.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Bees B&B
72.11 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

539 out of 719 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BASEL SHWAIKI

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012

Liked: Good Loaction

Disliked: plain, just a place to sleep no more..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'amabilité du personnel ainsi que les services à l'accueil (snack).

Disliked: Les escaliers dangereux et l'absence de coffre fort sécurisé individuel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, comfortable rooms.

Disliked: No cancelation allowed,some staff slightly unfriendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Camilo Novoa

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No ambient!!! No locker!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Betty Liu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Betty would recommend this property

Liked: Clean restrooms. Sink in room. Comfortable beds. 2 blocks from Red Light District. 10 minute walk from station. 24 hour service. TV in room. Above a snack shop so you can get ice cream! Refrigerator and kitchen.

Disliked: Stairs to climb to get to room are steep and ridiculous.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joaquin Witto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Joaquin would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect for somebody who is travelling alone. I Was backpacking and was just arriving from Rome. I get there and the recepcionist was quite nice with me. Then I went to the room (6 bed mixed) and I met a girl from Germany (I'm from Chile) that was the best part of my backpacking eurotrip! Now we are gonna see each other at september again. Thank you Mevlana Hostel... ! hahahaha About the room... 6 beds, mixed, sink inside the room to brush your teeth, windows looking to the street. Just what you need to go to Amsterdam. PS: It smells like weed sometimes, but come on... it's Amsterdam!

Disliked: Ladders!!! The Ladders makes you feel like you are gonna fall at any moment and they are really small !!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lance Goettsch

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012 Lance would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people!

Disliked: There are a lot of stairs but what can you expect in Holland. There are stairs everywhere.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edda Salgado

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Edda would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are great! very comfty!!!!!!!!! =)

Disliked: non-smoking!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brennan `Parker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Brennan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and available 24/7. Who can't appreciate that? They also have some great recommendations on places to go and things to see.

Disliked: The stairs are really steep -which is kind of scary... But other than that - it's a plain hostel. Finding it is a bit difficult as well. You have to ensure you don't go to OZ Voorburgwal because you'll find people who are lovely in helping you find the real hostel at NZ Voorburgwal! :p

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good enough, the towels and linens are clean.

Disliked: Too hot in rooms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012

Liked: The location is fine, but not what I would have expected for such a high rating. It's a 20-minute walk from the main sights. Stay closer to the Canal Belt, if possible. Free wifi in the lobby, but not in the room as advertised. Free towels. Relatively clean (though the bathroom was moldy).

Disliked: Unfortunately, this hostel - it is a hostel, not a hotel - was not worth the money we paid. There are definitely better, comparable options. It seems silly to complain about the stairs, but it's true that they were dangerously narrow. The room was poorly ventilated. The bathroom reeked of urine and mold. (There was no shower door, so the water goes everywhere). Most importantly, the room did not feel particularly safe (as far as leaving our stuff there), neither did the hotel (there were some older men who just hung out on the landings of each floor at night), nor did the area (a little bit sketchy to walk back to from the main bar square after going out). Actually, there were guests downstairs reporting a robbery when we were checking in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - Right in the center of main tourist attractions, bars and coffeeshops + helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing, except - Getting up and down the tight stairs, its a mission when you're smashed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michele Grassi

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation, central location, in a calm zone. I've been in a 4 bed shared bathroom and everything was great. The room and the bath were both clean. good service staff is kindly!

Disliked: 20 euros deposit for room-key.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen precio para la zona en donde esta ubicado

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergey Tsvetkov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location and location)))

Disliked: WiFi really didn't work on floor, only on reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location

Disliked: Wifi was not accesible in rooms, stairs were very steep, shower head in my room ahot motly sideways.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything..

Disliked: Small stairs, but that´s normal 4 houses in NL.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and quite calm. The location was great! And the staff was very helpful!

Disliked: The towels smelt a bit like tobacco.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a realy good place cause it's near everything in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean and pratice.

Disliked: The steps..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

duennapa phatthalung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 duennapa would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything and safe

Disliked: Steep stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kar Hoe Loke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012

Liked: location, it is near to train station and it is in the center of amsterdam

Disliked: dorm room, it is like living in a jail

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hilde Eliza Sjursø

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice location.

Disliked: Was a little different compared to the picture the internet page gave us. And other things described in question no. 5

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: It had a very central location and was only a few minutes walk from major attractions. Very near the central station.

Disliked: To begin with, we could not find the hostel from the train station because apparently the directions we had printed from Google Maps gave us the wrong address. This was because (according to the man at the hostel whom I called) that the hostel was 'new'. When I asked him for directions he provided me no information saying that it was 'difficult to explain how to get there'. After uncomfortably asking for directions at 10 p.m. in the red light district and walking around for about 30 minutes, we finally arrived. The people behind the desk were not very friendly and the place was under constructions and very dusty, dirty, and dingy. The room was very dirty. We found stains on the bed and carpet, and found hair in our pillows. The beds themselves were uncomfortable and the shower (we had en-suite) was filthy. The room smelled of smoke and the floor creaked. We felt very unsafe. I would never stay at Hotel Hostel Mevlana ever again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Crystal Horsley

Alone

City break

01 April 2012

Liked: The location! Right in the center. Also, there was a bathroom in my bedroom. They had free Internet--a computer you could use for free, plus wireless, although my phone wouldn't connect.

Disliked: The bedrooms are pretty ghetto-fabulous. It's an attic space crammed with beds, in an area that really, would have been full with one bed, and it's got 6 bunk beds. You have to be creative with where to store your stuff. There's space under the bed, and two shelves. There are no lockers in the room. There is no ladder or anything to scale the bunk beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. Walking distance from central station and very easy to find. Near all main important objectives you are interested. We were a group and we visited the whole city in one day by foot, Ams is not such a big city and you don't even need to take the tram. If you are not a picky person than it's ok to stay there!

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there were some stains on the sheets, and the most important thing, we have chosen a room of 4 and we were 3 girls and they send an old guy with us. It was very strange, girls of 23 with a guy in his 50s. In the end it was ok, he turned out to be a nice person and he knew that we needed our space and he didn't bothered at all, but i guess it would be better if they keep in mind our age and they take into account who is staying in the rooms, even if it's a mixed room. The internet connection was working only from downstairs. In total, i would stay there again, but only if we are enough to take the whole room, i don't want to have other surprises one more time.