We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.9% Overall Rating

539 out of 719 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location; War genauso wie ich es mir vorgestellt hatte. Für das Geld nicht viel zu erwarten."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 19.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
28.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.7% 225 reviews
Tulipana Residence
47.57 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
15.22 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
44.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Station Hostel
15.21 USD

Hostel 72.6% 194 reviews
Damrak Inn
21.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Bees B&B
72.31 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
50.74 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

539 out of 719 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to access almost all the attractions; employees are friendly

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is extremely good and hotel staff are very friendly. Most importantly, they are opening for 24 hours. Wifi works well. 11 euros for a night, fair euough.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012

Liked: Good location, very close to centraal station

Disliked: Kind of a tiny shithole wasteland. If you just need a place to sleep then it's not horrible. No in room lockers so your possessions are either locked in a room with minimal security or staff concern, or they are kept behind the checkin desk. The staff didn't know where my bag was and sent me to the room unsupervised only to have me think it was stolen. Nope, it was right next to the dude at the desk. Totally made me feel safe. That's sarcasm. It's also crazy expensive, but I did go on the weekend and booked with only a few days notice. My recommendation is book the flying pig instead with advanced notice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a shared Accomodation just for a couple of nights, look no further! Great place for cheap price!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: There is no bar and the food on offer looks like it has been out there for a long time. Not having a locker in a hostel room was a first time experience for me but the one in the reception was safe and could be accessed 24/7.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Konstantin Schmid

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2012 Konstantin would recommend this property

Liked: The Lounge downstairs is a really chill place to hang around, rather than in the rooms

Disliked: steep stairs but u always have that in amsterdam :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012

Liked: Just the location

Disliked: As above it was noisy, smelt of smoke, it wasn't clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Trow

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, easy to reach by train from the airport and a short walk (5 min) to the centre of the city. Clean rooms, friendly staff, couldn't do enough to help. Clean rooms and bathroom, comfy beds. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Be aware of the city tax, an additional 5% is charged when you check in, but this is the same throughout Amsterdam.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: En general el Hostal cumpe con lo que ofrece, esta bien a secas.

Disliked: Definitivamente las escaleras para los pisos superiores son algo a considerar para quien lleve maletas grandes o no tenga una aceptable condicion fisica. Los baños olian a orines.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Acanski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 October 2012 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Location, stuff storage after check out, various discount cards available.

Disliked: The clerks at the snack bar and the reception are a bit disorganized.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wiliam Ridderhof

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Wiliam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the train and many areas that we wanted to visit.

Disliked: W.e booked a double room and our room had a double bunk, very small. The stairs are very hard to get bags up too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Kitchen is not very cosy. Everything in the hostel is very small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

22 September 2012

Liked: location was good

Disliked: the tax policy was very intransparent - the real price for three people for one night was about 8 Euro more expensive, very small rooms, price-value was very bad - but Amsterdam is expensive in general

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alper Tastemur

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Alper would recommend this property

Liked: Location was quite good. Wi-fi was stable. Price was worth to stay.

Disliked: The room was not big enough. There were only 1 toilet and only 1 bathroom for each floor. As everyone said before, stairs were very steeper. It may seem very unnecessary, but you will understand it when you quit the room with your luggages.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: It has an amazing location, right in the centre of the city so is perfect for tourists wanting to go and see the sights. It was good value for money and although the stairs were steep, it provided some good exercise!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012

Liked: The staff were very nice. It had a microwave and a jam packed fridge, a supermarket is right across the road. They will hold your bag free of charge until 18:00 on the day you leave. The location is pretty good, its one road away from the action so you can avoid busy noisy streets and still get to places with ease.

Disliked: There is no lounge like they say, its tables at a restaurant they run. Very hard place to meet anyone if you are travelling alone or even with people. I wouldn't advise a female to travel alone here. The top bunks of the beds are so thin I slept with my backpack to keep me from falling off. It has a dingy character to it, and not in a good way, I never felt secure or safe. You will probably be disappointed. I'm not sure how it has such a high rating. If its just you and 3 lads and you need somewhere very cheap to drop you bag while you get high in town then this is perfect. If you are a traveller looking to enjoy the people and the city and your hostel, then this is not the droid you are looking for.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: the bathroom should be cleaned more often

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wi-fi worked well. Close to train station and other city sights. 24 hr reception is really helpful. My room had a small locker and they also offered to hold things in a safe at the desk. I thought the crazy stairs actually make an interesting story, but maybe I pack lighter than most people.

Disliked: Bathroom and shower on my floor were decent, but there was only one between the whole floor (12-18 people) however I never had to wait to use either. It would be nice if there was a more central common area to meet people, but the cafe downstairs is alright.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, in the city center. Clean shower and toilet.

Disliked: The kitchen had no cooker nor stoves nor dishes. I was charged 12€ for paying with card and not cash. Our room was absolutely too small for the 3 bunk beds: there was nowhere to put luggage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had comfortable beds.

Disliked: Not really a good place to meet people or party. The atmosphere was pretty dull. My bed was up 5 flights of stairs... the stairs were more like a ladder. This is a good place to stay for anyone who wants to keep to themselves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Peter

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012

Liked: The location is great, right next to the Dam Square which is the central square in Amsterdam and meeting point for a lot of activities. You can reach mostly everything within foot distance. The hostel itself is a clean and generally ok place to sleep and the staff is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The place has a snack-bar on the ground floor which is actually a good thing. The problem is that the whole place has the character and the ambience of rather a fast-food facility than a hostel. So if you want to get in touch with other travellers, I wouldn’t recommend it, because there is just no space/place to do so. The rooms and all the facilities (stairs, shower, toilet) are very narrow and small, but once you get used to, it’s no problem to deal with it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Cesar Kuntscher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Leonardo Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: !

Disliked: !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Kalivoda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great beds, great location.

Disliked: stairs are so steep!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet

Disliked: Bed is a bit small