We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

69.3% Overall Rating

551 out of 736 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2015)

"The central location meant it was very easy to access all the main Amsterdam attraction. As well as this, the staff were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
26.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.0% 241 reviews
Tulipana Residence
35.58 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
19.41 USD

Hostel 69.0% 1018 reviews
Central Station Hostel
20.48 USD

Hostel 76.9% 209 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Bees B&B
61.46 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 18 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
51.22 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Hotel Ajax D.R.
52.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.0% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

551 out of 736 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 529 of 699 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eric king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 eric would recommend this property

Liked: i very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel mevlana, i was very happy with the rooms being very clean and warm. the staff were quite helpful and the location is ideal. in the future in i plan to visit Amsterdam and i would be very happy to stay in hostel mevlana.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staffs,great location, really in the center of the city.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has so much character and very nice staffs. The perfect place to have stayed while in Amsterdam, not to mention the comfiest bed I'd ever slept in the whole 3 weeks I was in Europe!

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Whitney Kessell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013

Liked: The people at the front desk were always reasonably nice. On my first night especially I felt very welcomed. It is also very centrally located, basically a 10-15 minute walk from everything you would want to see.

Disliked: The rooms were dirty, especially the bathrooms which were a toilet shower combo. If I needed to change in private I would actually have to stand on the toilet because the entire bathroom floor was always dirty and flooded. The cleaning staff would just walk into the room without knocking which led to a few awkward moments for me. There weren't any lockers, rather you just leave your important stuff at the front desk which is very inconvenient.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alan Smith

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2013

Liked: The property was in a great location as it was in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Plenty of bar, restaurants, activities and something for everybody.

Disliked: I didn't like the way I was treated by a member of staff, as I have just walked in from a long journey. Waited for five minutes as he was too busy making donoughts! His main priority should have been to acknowledge myself and just to be a little courteous. Security wasn't great as one of my friends had cash stolen form his wallet and a neighbour had his i phone 5 taken from his room. One or two of the rooms did not have safety deposit boxes and it was an easy target for thieves to help themselves! Every person staying in the hostel did not have a key to enter the main entrance. Instead we had to ring a buzzer and the receptionist automatically opens the door! I don't like this procedure as they were letting anybody in, which made our valuables an easy target. I don't like to complain, but I hope you can take this on board and re evaluate your criteria with Hotel Hostel Mevlana. For me it did not ruin my holiday as I had an awesome time in Amsterdam.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities.

Disliked: Stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hélder Melo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Very steep stairs. Very claustrophobic rooms and bathrooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Neha Vasaikar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Neha would recommend this property

Liked: Close to many tourist attractions

Disliked: The Stairs are extremely steep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10mins walk from Amsterdam Central train station. Friendly receptionists.

Disliked: Non-guests shouldn't be allowed to make use of hotel's facilities at night, eg: computer with Internet, toilets, etc.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the main places. Shared bathrooms were clean and all in good condition.

Disliked: Booked a twin room and got a room with a bunk bed. Wall had dirty spots all over. Very small room. Too expensive for this kind of rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

metin biçen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2013

Liked: It's so close to city center and some main attractions in the city and easy to get central station. It has a beautiful name 'Mevlana' It's pretty cheap for Amsterdam. There was toilet, bath in my room.

Disliked: You have to go up through a narrow stairs. If you achieve that you will be able to reach your room. I don't know how other rooms are but my room has a strange structure because; first two beds have pretty good facilities and after you pass through another gateway without door you will see other beds are in bad conditions. So sooo small. There are no place to walk or to put your luggage in or anything. It was not a problem for me but I want to inform you that: there is sign which says it's forbidden to smoke inside but nobody cares. They were smoking weed in front of a responsible guy and he didn't even warn them.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2013

Liked: near-ish to the centre

Disliked: Overcrowded, very hot (1 fan per 8 bedroom box room does not make any difference!) lots of extra hidden charges. Our room mates were smoking in the room, with the staff doing nothing to stop them, and the top room has no viable fire exit.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brian Blechynden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013

Liked: excellent location and staff were mostly friendly and helpful

Disliked: the place is old, run down, very hot coz no air moves around at all. wifi wouldn't work in the rooms and there was no desire to fix it. for same money you can stay in places that are much nicer - which I would have done except that a late change to my travel plans meant other options were booked out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth O'brien

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact of how central it is. I like my weed so for me its perfect. its slap bang in the middle of all the best coffee shops (in my opinion). The staff are very friendly and more importantly they seem approachable unlike other staff working in shops around Amsterdam. All in all Hostel Mevlana is a fantastic place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Amsterdam Central and it was in walking location to all of the museums.

Disliked: The rooms were kind of tight and they were without lockers. Also, the bathrooms were very small and few in number.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2013

Liked: It is cheap, with a good location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Don't expect more than just a bed, toilet and shower. The rooms are very small and cramped. It is not a good place to meet people and socialize.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location

Disliked: They had just 1 shower room, and 1 toilet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

nicholas sprout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and the location of the hostel is perfect, right next to Dam Square, the city center.

Disliked: The rooms are very small, the beds close together, and the stairs are incredibly steep leading up to the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SANJEEV KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2013 SANJEEV would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't stay closer to the Dam! The room, toilet and shower were clean. Reception is open 24h, the staff were very friendly and helped in everything they could. They have a locked room where you can leave your luggage if you arrive before the check-in or leave after check-out. I definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: The room smelled of smoke.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Culver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Fairly cheap. Location to the train station

Disliked: Perhaps it's unfair to compare: "Inner Amsterdam" didn't have 4 consecutive nights, so we had to split the second half of the trip at Hotel Mevlana. For one, we arrived in the afternoon and still had to wait a few hours for our room to be ready. And the staff was the least helpful. Rooms were small and cramp, and the people around us and above were loud. But I guess what you pay for. All in all, if you're reading this, I would highly suggest going to "Inner Amsterdam" it's far organized staff and room wise.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy, friendly, towels available,

Disliked: My particular bed was just above the reception which played loud music till around 12 or 1am. Also there was just this reception area to sit in, except for the rooms, which wasn't a comfortable place to relax, and the music there was always loud. No lockers, though you can leave valuables with the reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle mckinnon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: clean , staff friendly, near the centre , easy to find

Disliked: beds not that comfy and a b it cold at times.