HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

76.3% Overall Rating

533 out of 708 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Becca Rothstein thinks…

"GREAT location--just a short walk from the Centraal Train Station, right next to a main tram stop, right next to the Dam Square, right next to a big super market. For those of you who smoke weed,…"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.89 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
46.89 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
46.89 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
34.83 USD

Hostel 70.5% 988 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
38.68 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.0% 97 reviews
Central Station Hostel
38.84 USD

Hostel 71.8% 180 reviews
Damrak Inn
40.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 343 reviews
Bees B&B
83.07 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

533 out of 708 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 512 of 673 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2013

Liked: It is cheap, with a good location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Don't expect more than just a bed, toilet and shower. The rooms are very small and cramped. It is not a good place to meet people and socialize.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location

Disliked: They had just 1 shower room, and 1 toilet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

nicholas sprout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and the location of the hostel is perfect, right next to Dam Square, the city center.

Disliked: The rooms are very small, the beds close together, and the stairs are incredibly steep leading up to the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SANJEEV KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2013 SANJEEV would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't stay closer to the Dam! The room, toilet and shower were clean. Reception is open 24h, the staff were very friendly and helped in everything they could. They have a locked room where you can leave your luggage if you arrive before the check-in or leave after check-out. I definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: The room smelled of smoke.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Culver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Fairly cheap. Location to the train station

Disliked: Perhaps it's unfair to compare: "Inner Amsterdam" didn't have 4 consecutive nights, so we had to split the second half of the trip at Hotel Mevlana. For one, we arrived in the afternoon and still had to wait a few hours for our room to be ready. And the staff was the least helpful. Rooms were small and cramp, and the people around us and above were loud. But I guess what you pay for. All in all, if you're reading this, I would highly suggest going to "Inner Amsterdam" it's far organized staff and room wise.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy, friendly, towels available,

Disliked: My particular bed was just above the reception which played loud music till around 12 or 1am. Also there was just this reception area to sit in, except for the rooms, which wasn't a comfortable place to relax, and the music there was always loud. No lockers, though you can leave valuables with the reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle mckinnon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: clean , staff friendly, near the centre , easy to find

Disliked: beds not that comfy and a b it cold at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamil Koszuta

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Kamil would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good location. Opportunity to meet many people.

Disliked: Kamil left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the center of the city

Disliked: Just one toilette for 3 or four rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: common area to small, wireless does not work properly in rooms...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2013

Liked: That it was in the city of Amsterdam and close to the main station.

Disliked: Our room was filthy and way to small. The beds were really small for a bunk bed so you could fall from them easily and they were so short that my feet touched those of the person in the opposite bed. Our window could only open for a small slit so there was constant bad air in the room. The (cleaning?) staff woke us up at night several times during the stay, because they wanted to see our keys. They also left the room open more than once, so that everybody could have stolen our stuff (no lockers in the room!) All in all this was the worst hostel I ever visited. Absolutely no recommendation from me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was really impressed staying here, just a 5 minutes walk from centraal and in great location situated in the Dam Square. The atmosphere down stairs was good, food good quality and staff extremely friendly. I would definitely come and stay here again! We were staying in the dorms, very comfortable rooms, the shower and toilets are very clean.we will definitely stay here again,and very recommand to other travellers.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiril Pikalov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 January 2013 Kiril would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helped even after we checked out.

Disliked: Kiril left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Orkun Ercan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Orkun would recommend this property

Liked: Receptionist are very good and friendly.

Disliked: Rooms are very small.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jamie Lynch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good.

Disliked: The staff were quite unhelpful and charged us over the top prices for our stay. The rooms were filthy and our basin was filled with vomit.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frisk Olsen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2012 Frisk would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception, it is really helpful for me, bcz i am a night person.....fair price, nothing to complain

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to access almost all the attractions; employees are friendly

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is extremely good and hotel staff are very friendly. Most importantly, they are opening for 24 hours. Wifi works well. 11 euros for a night, fair euough.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012

Liked: Good location, very close to centraal station

Disliked: Kind of a tiny shithole wasteland. If you just need a place to sleep then it's not horrible. No in room lockers so your possessions are either locked in a room with minimal security or staff concern, or they are kept behind the checkin desk. The staff didn't know where my bag was and sent me to the room unsupervised only to have me think it was stolen. Nope, it was right next to the dude at the desk. Totally made me feel safe. That's sarcasm. It's also crazy expensive, but I did go on the weekend and booked with only a few days notice. My recommendation is book the flying pig instead with advanced notice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a shared Accomodation just for a couple of nights, look no further! Great place for cheap price!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and most of the staff are very friendly.

Disliked: There is no bar and the food on offer looks like it has been out there for a long time. Not having a locker in a hostel room was a first time experience for me but the one in the reception was safe and could be accessed 24/7.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Konstantin Schmid

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2012 Konstantin would recommend this property

Liked: The Lounge downstairs is a really chill place to hang around, rather than in the rooms

Disliked: steep stairs but u always have that in amsterdam :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 November 2012

Liked: Just the location

Disliked: As above it was noisy, smelt of smoke, it wasn't clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Trow

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, easy to reach by train from the airport and a short walk (5 min) to the centre of the city. Clean rooms, friendly staff, couldn't do enough to help. Clean rooms and bathroom, comfy beds. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Be aware of the city tax, an additional 5% is charged when you check in, but this is the same throughout Amsterdam.