We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.9% Overall Rating

539 out of 719 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location; War genauso wie ich es mir vorgestellt hatte. Für das Geld nicht viel zu erwarten."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
34.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 226 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.48 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
24.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Station Hostel
12.64 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews
Damrak Inn
14.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Bees B&B
72.11 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

539 out of 719 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the main places. Shared bathrooms were clean and all in good condition.

Disliked: Booked a twin room and got a room with a bunk bed. Wall had dirty spots all over. Very small room. Too expensive for this kind of rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

metin biçen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2013

Liked: It's so close to city center and some main attractions in the city and easy to get central station. It has a beautiful name 'Mevlana' It's pretty cheap for Amsterdam. There was toilet, bath in my room.

Disliked: You have to go up through a narrow stairs. If you achieve that you will be able to reach your room. I don't know how other rooms are but my room has a strange structure because; first two beds have pretty good facilities and after you pass through another gateway without door you will see other beds are in bad conditions. So sooo small. There are no place to walk or to put your luggage in or anything. It was not a problem for me but I want to inform you that: there is sign which says it's forbidden to smoke inside but nobody cares. They were smoking weed in front of a responsible guy and he didn't even warn them.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2013

Liked: near-ish to the centre

Disliked: Overcrowded, very hot (1 fan per 8 bedroom box room does not make any difference!) lots of extra hidden charges. Our room mates were smoking in the room, with the staff doing nothing to stop them, and the top room has no viable fire exit.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brian Blechynden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013

Liked: excellent location and staff were mostly friendly and helpful

Disliked: the place is old, run down, very hot coz no air moves around at all. wifi wouldn't work in the rooms and there was no desire to fix it. for same money you can stay in places that are much nicer - which I would have done except that a late change to my travel plans meant other options were booked out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth O'brien

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact of how central it is. I like my weed so for me its perfect. its slap bang in the middle of all the best coffee shops (in my opinion). The staff are very friendly and more importantly they seem approachable unlike other staff working in shops around Amsterdam. All in all Hostel Mevlana is a fantastic place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to Amsterdam Central and it was in walking location to all of the museums.

Disliked: The rooms were kind of tight and they were without lockers. Also, the bathrooms were very small and few in number.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2013

Liked: It is cheap, with a good location in the center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Don't expect more than just a bed, toilet and shower. The rooms are very small and cramped. It is not a good place to meet people and socialize.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location

Disliked: They had just 1 shower room, and 1 toilet

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

nicholas sprout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and the location of the hostel is perfect, right next to Dam Square, the city center.

Disliked: The rooms are very small, the beds close together, and the stairs are incredibly steep leading up to the rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SANJEEV KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2013 SANJEEV would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't stay closer to the Dam! The room, toilet and shower were clean. Reception is open 24h, the staff were very friendly and helped in everything they could. They have a locked room where you can leave your luggage if you arrive before the check-in or leave after check-out. I definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: The room smelled of smoke.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Culver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Fairly cheap. Location to the train station

Disliked: Perhaps it's unfair to compare: "Inner Amsterdam" didn't have 4 consecutive nights, so we had to split the second half of the trip at Hotel Mevlana. For one, we arrived in the afternoon and still had to wait a few hours for our room to be ready. And the staff was the least helpful. Rooms were small and cramp, and the people around us and above were loud. But I guess what you pay for. All in all, if you're reading this, I would highly suggest going to "Inner Amsterdam" it's far organized staff and room wise.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy, friendly, towels available,

Disliked: My particular bed was just above the reception which played loud music till around 12 or 1am. Also there was just this reception area to sit in, except for the rooms, which wasn't a comfortable place to relax, and the music there was always loud. No lockers, though you can leave valuables with the reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle mckinnon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: clean , staff friendly, near the centre , easy to find

Disliked: beds not that comfy and a b it cold at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamil Koszuta

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Kamil would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good location. Opportunity to meet many people.

Disliked: Kamil left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the center of the city

Disliked: Just one toilette for 3 or four rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: common area to small, wireless does not work properly in rooms...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2013

Liked: That it was in the city of Amsterdam and close to the main station.

Disliked: Our room was filthy and way to small. The beds were really small for a bunk bed so you could fall from them easily and they were so short that my feet touched those of the person in the opposite bed. Our window could only open for a small slit so there was constant bad air in the room. The (cleaning?) staff woke us up at night several times during the stay, because they wanted to see our keys. They also left the room open more than once, so that everybody could have stolen our stuff (no lockers in the room!) All in all this was the worst hostel I ever visited. Absolutely no recommendation from me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was really impressed staying here, just a 5 minutes walk from centraal and in great location situated in the Dam Square. The atmosphere down stairs was good, food good quality and staff extremely friendly. I would definitely come and stay here again! We were staying in the dorms, very comfortable rooms, the shower and toilets are very clean.we will definitely stay here again,and very recommand to other travellers.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kiril Pikalov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 January 2013 Kiril would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helped even after we checked out.

Disliked: Kiril left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Orkun Ercan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Orkun would recommend this property

Liked: Receptionist are very good and friendly.

Disliked: Rooms are very small.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jamie Lynch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good.

Disliked: The staff were quite unhelpful and charged us over the top prices for our stay. The rooms were filthy and our basin was filled with vomit.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frisk Olsen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2012 Frisk would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception, it is really helpful for me, bcz i am a night person.....fair price, nothing to complain

Disliked: none