HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 57%

Location 94%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 16.95USD

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 57%

Location 94%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 68%

Showing 11-20 of 92 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Our room was a bit dark with not much sunlight

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

dear guest(s);
thank you for your review, we are looking forward to seeing you again in Amsterdam! cheers!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is the best thing.

Disliked: Rooms are too small, toillets aren't clean..

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location & friendliness of the staff

Disliked: The rooms were small & they get fully booked every night. We chose a 4 bed but stayed in a 5 bed but the lovely staff offered us a dinner voucher because of this. The stairs are CRAZY! No lift. Make sure you travel light...

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location is perfect, 10-15 minutes walk from the train station and practically located in the city centre. The staff are helpful and the location is secure.

Disliked: Do not stay here if you're old or cannot manage stairs as they are steep, and I'm not even exaggerating, if you've packed a suitcase then I wish you good luck taking it up and then down these stairs. There's not a lot you can do though as all buildings of this style have steep staircases, but you've been warned.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thank you for your nice review, and look forward to seeing you again at our hostel!

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is close to train-bus stop and there are restaurants and a market nearby.

Disliked: There were no security, because the door doesn't close automaticaly. The environment are terrible, with drugs and drinks. The staff allow guests to smoke anything in the rooms. The roons are too small with more beds than possible, no place to organize the bags, everthing stay on the floor, it's a mess. I really don't recomend anyone to stay there.


The property's response is

dear guest(s); thank you for your review. smoking is not allowed in the entire property, however not everyone respects this rule. same as the law in our life, there is always someone to break it.
you booked 2 beds in a 6 bed dorm room, we offered you into a 5 bed dorm room at free of charge. the room is already bigger and better than you booked.
anyway, thank you again for staying with us, and good luck!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: fantastic location, the staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was fun and sociable

Disliked: some of the other guests had no regard for toilet rules or cleanliness (but still found the hostel to be clean and a great experience

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thank you so much for your nice review, and we are looking forward to seeing you soon!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was completely okay.

Disliked: The staircase ist really steep!!! Not recommendable for big luggage!!!

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely nothing except the location.

Disliked: I had money stolen from my wallet while I slept. While I didn't expect anything much more when I brought up at the desk, I got not sympathy at all and told it was my fault.


The property's response is

dear guest;
we respect all the reviews from our hotel guests, however it should be evaluated from the aspect of truth. you even entered the wrong room and left your bag there overnight unattended, and came back in the early morning at a drunk situation. there were 3 other girls shared the room with you.
we apologize for what happened on you, good luck!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: rooms were too small

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: The shower room smelled bad. And the narrow staircase to room #18. Not a good idea if you're drunk.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability