HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

72.3% Overall Rating

534 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"love how it was well located. near the city centre. staff were kinda friendly, made friends with the Uighur dude, who was more than happy to share with us about the where to go as a local which helped us a lot."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 19.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 223 reviews
Tulipana Residence
49.86 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
23.93 USD

Hostel 71.2% 992 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
43.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 99 reviews
Central Station Hostel
33.23 USD

Hostel 71.4% 186 reviews
Damrak Inn
31.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 345 reviews
Bees B&B
82.44 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
59.83 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

534 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 516 of 677 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joseph Chisholm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: Nothing! It's a waste of money! Don't bother booking here, spend the extra money and go somewhere else!

Disliked: This hostel is a massive lie! Don't even think about staying here! For starters they charged my account because they thought we weren't coming even though I emailed them staying I will be checking in after 10pm. When we arrived they told us they can't provide us with a locker because there is only 4 in the room ( it's a 6 bed dorm). So we basically slept with our bags because the door to the room never locked and people kept walking in and out through out the night! When we finally got a locker after someone had checked out, we placed our valuables in the locker but there was not much room. We left for the day and came back to the room looking like a bomb had gone off, my bag and my friends bag had been looked through and his jacket was stolen off the hook in the room, By someone who had apparently checked out already! When we told reception they said "sorry" and walked away! Honestly it's a waste of time staying here! The place has no atmosphere it's absolutely filthy in the bathrooms and in the dorms. It smells like cigarets everywhere! AND not to mention the stairs ares basically ladders! Book somewhere else! Do yourself a favour!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014

Liked: Great location, right in the city centre and close to central station

Disliked: The eight bed dorm has only one tiny window so it was very dark and the bathroom was dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

IRENE PEGIOU

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 March 2014

Liked: the market downstairs.

Disliked: the stairs,the price.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keeley Ffrench

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: stairs were a bit steep but any stairs in amsterdam are steep....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Stairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Bushell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2014 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location a couple of minutes walk from Dam Square & within a few metres of a tramstop to everywhere you'd want to go. Spotlessly clean, good showers and toilets, comfortable beds as bunkbeds go. Kitchen area not up to cooking as there is just a kettle, fridge and microwave oven but fine for preparing a sandwich and a cup of tea. There is a seating area and tables for hostel users with a TV and a free computer/WiFi but it isn't the kind of place a single traveller is going to sit and make friends. This is more a budget hotel than a hostel but it is fantastic value and a great base for exploring Amsterdam. Staff are efficient, pleasant and always there, and we weren't woken in the middle of the night by fellow guests rolling back home, which I had expected.

Disliked: I can see that guests with big or heavy suitcases would have a problem with the steep staircase, but any Amsterdam hotel/hostel in one of the tall old buildings is going to be the same. If you need an elevator you're going to have to shell out for a characterless international style hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Cochrane

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable! Dam square is literally over the road and you are right in the center of everything, tram stops are right outside aswell for if you want to go a little futher that just the center. The staff were amazing, made us feel really welcome and were always on hand to help. We had the private 6 person room on the top floor, bed were comfy and we all loved it.

Disliked: The only thing we can fault is the stairs, being on the top floor meant walking up 5 flights of stairs which were painfully steep, but it was funny. Advice is that make sure you take EVERYTHING you need when you go out so you don't have to keep going back upstairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maira Aspera

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 January 2014 Maira would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the bad and the bathroom, they are comfortable and clean.

Disliked: The stairs. It is very difficult to go up with the handbag.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kim Jevon

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD FOOD, HOSPITALITY, VERY CENTRAL, AND VERY COMFY BEDS!

Disliked: STAIN ON THE CARPET

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanna Ng

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was great ! Hi speed internet, friendly staff, great location and very valued for money !!! I strongly recommend for people who are looking for a cheap stay !

Disliked: Nothing to dislike except an annoying roommate that me and my boyfriend got which is not the blame of the hotel !!! Bad luck i guess.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location - not too close to red light and bars but close enough to walk everywhere! Very secure and safe. The stairs are a bit of a nightmare but nothing too bad!

Disliked: The rooms were very small and there was a constant bad smell in the bathroom otherwise all was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rita kim

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 rita would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely comfortable and clean. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eric king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 eric would recommend this property

Liked: i very much enjoyed my stay at the hostel mevlana, i was very happy with the rooms being very clean and warm. the staff were quite helpful and the location is ideal. in the future in i plan to visit Amsterdam and i would be very happy to stay in hostel mevlana.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staffs,great location, really in the center of the city.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has so much character and very nice staffs. The perfect place to have stayed while in Amsterdam, not to mention the comfiest bed I'd ever slept in the whole 3 weeks I was in Europe!

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Whitney Kessell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013

Liked: The people at the front desk were always reasonably nice. On my first night especially I felt very welcomed. It is also very centrally located, basically a 10-15 minute walk from everything you would want to see.

Disliked: The rooms were dirty, especially the bathrooms which were a toilet shower combo. If I needed to change in private I would actually have to stand on the toilet because the entire bathroom floor was always dirty and flooded. The cleaning staff would just walk into the room without knocking which led to a few awkward moments for me. There weren't any lockers, rather you just leave your important stuff at the front desk which is very inconvenient.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alan Smith

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 October 2013

Liked: The property was in a great location as it was in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Plenty of bar, restaurants, activities and something for everybody.

Disliked: I didn't like the way I was treated by a member of staff, as I have just walked in from a long journey. Waited for five minutes as he was too busy making donoughts! His main priority should have been to acknowledge myself and just to be a little courteous. Security wasn't great as one of my friends had cash stolen form his wallet and a neighbour had his i phone 5 taken from his room. One or two of the rooms did not have safety deposit boxes and it was an easy target for thieves to help themselves! Every person staying in the hostel did not have a key to enter the main entrance. Instead we had to ring a buzzer and the receptionist automatically opens the door! I don't like this procedure as they were letting anybody in, which made our valuables an easy target. I don't like to complain, but I hope you can take this on board and re evaluate your criteria with Hotel Hostel Mevlana. For me it did not ruin my holiday as I had an awesome time in Amsterdam.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities.

Disliked: Stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hélder Melo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Very steep stairs. Very claustrophobic rooms and bathrooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Neha Vasaikar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Neha would recommend this property

Liked: Close to many tourist attractions

Disliked: The Stairs are extremely steep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10mins walk from Amsterdam Central train station. Friendly receptionists.

Disliked: Non-guests shouldn't be allowed to make use of hotel's facilities at night, eg: computer with Internet, toilets, etc.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the main places. Shared bathrooms were clean and all in good condition.

Disliked: Booked a twin room and got a room with a bunk bed. Wall had dirty spots all over. Very small room. Too expensive for this kind of rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

metin biçen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2013

Liked: It's so close to city center and some main attractions in the city and easy to get central station. It has a beautiful name 'Mevlana' It's pretty cheap for Amsterdam. There was toilet, bath in my room.

Disliked: You have to go up through a narrow stairs. If you achieve that you will be able to reach your room. I don't know how other rooms are but my room has a strange structure because; first two beds have pretty good facilities and after you pass through another gateway without door you will see other beds are in bad conditions. So sooo small. There are no place to walk or to put your luggage in or anything. It was not a problem for me but I want to inform you that: there is sign which says it's forbidden to smoke inside but nobody cares. They were smoking weed in front of a responsible guy and he didn't even warn them.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2013

Liked: near-ish to the centre

Disliked: Overcrowded, very hot (1 fan per 8 bedroom box room does not make any difference!) lots of extra hidden charges. Our room mates were smoking in the room, with the staff doing nothing to stop them, and the top room has no viable fire exit.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brian Blechynden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013

Liked: excellent location and staff were mostly friendly and helpful

Disliked: the place is old, run down, very hot coz no air moves around at all. wifi wouldn't work in the rooms and there was no desire to fix it. for same money you can stay in places that are much nicer - which I would have done except that a late change to my travel plans meant other options were booked out.