HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

72.3% Overall Rating

534 out of 713 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"love how it was well located. near the city centre. staff were kinda friendly, made friends with the Uighur dude, who was more than happy to share with us about the where to go as a local which helped us a lot."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.70 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 223 reviews
Tulipana Residence
50.03 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
26.68 USD

Hostel 71.2% 992 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
51.27 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.8% 98 reviews
Central Station Hostel
33.34 USD

Hostel 71.4% 186 reviews
Damrak Inn
33.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 345 reviews
Bees B&B
82.72 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
60.04 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.3%

Overall Rating

534 out of 713 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
64.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 516 of 677 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010

Liked: Rooms are cramped, it's super hot, and the water is only superhot. Also bathrooms smell like mold.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

George Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: The Mavelana was great in it's right in the centre of the city. It was a great place to start a night out with a few shop bought beers and I was very comfortable in my room.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit difficult but you get used to them after a few slogs up them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PENA BUENO José David

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

17 July 2010 PENA BUENO would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, next to the historical centre of amsterdam, as well as to near to transports, easy to come back at nigth.\beds are very confortable

Disliked: there is not enough place to meet people, probable they should facilitate this by adding games oer something

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, the location, the services and the price too

Disliked: Apart from the narrow staircases, I am happy with the place and will definitely recommend this to others

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010

Liked: the location of the hostel is good, friendly staff

Disliked: no lockers - as advertised. rooms are very cramped compared to other hostels. unclean toilets. we had the the room at the top, and the stairs are very steep and narrow - not good when carrying a massive rucksack.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danny Bull

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the cheapest drinks in Amsterdam!

Disliked: The stairs were really steep. Like, really, really steep, and very hard to climb whilst stoned

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Family Holiday

13 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Unacceptable accommodation and very over-priced as compared to other places in europe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so close to everything and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gareth morgan morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 gareth morgan would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in an excellent location walking distance to the train station, and is a couple of streets away from most of Amsterdam's bars and coffee shops most of the other attractions, really helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are clean but very small (i was in a 4 person room) and no air conditioning, but other than that us excellent value for money, and i would and plan to stay there again.

Disliked: size of the 4 person room was not good ( 2 single beds and a bunk bed didn't leave much room to walk around, putting 2 bunk beds in the room would make it much better, no air conditioning windows couldn't be opened so putting fans in there would improve it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

John Myers

Alone

City break

09 July 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Close to centre of town.

Disliked: No breakfast Rooms very small Lockers very smal Toilet very small

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: extremely narrow, dirty bed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

carlos hamame

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2010 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: well located, clean, safe and nice atmosphere

Disliked: it was mostly ok

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms, bunk bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corey Johnson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 July 2010 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and everyone is super friendly. The room had a TV, a sink, and the bathroom/shower was right outside in the hall. Free towels and free bed linens. Someone cleans the bathrooms regularly. 24hr reception, and the reception area is great to hang out in in the morning, get a coffee, check internet (FREE wifi!!)

Disliked: The night before i got there, people in my room had stuff stolen. One girl dropped the key to her locker in the night, and the guy went in there and stole stuff. he also took some stuff from other people that was lying around. The staff seemed to be very helpful, and assured me this had never happened before. Honestly, it can happen at ANY hostel...it just reminds you that you have to be safe. I made sure to keep my expensive things (computer) with the reception people, and always make sure everything else was locked in the locker or tightly stored in my luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward elliott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 July 2010 edward would recommend this property

Liked: As a first time solo traveller i wasn't sure what to expect. I have never stayed in a hostel before so can't compare it to any other hostel experience. But, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom and shower facilities were all clean and in good working order. The staff at reception were brilliant!! They were very friendly and helpful with all my questions. The lockers in the rooms were all intact and secure and i could leave any valuables in a safety deposit box at reception.

Disliked: The only downside, was that sleeping in a 6 bed room in the summer was HOT!!! There was no air conditioning or fan in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: It was in a good location. The staff were welcoming, after a terrible stay at another A'dam hostel. I was in a 4 person room, although booked for a 6, so that was a bonus.

Disliked: No place to lock your belongings, which is always annoying and risky. One computer for internet (at least it was free), not really any social atmosphere. Staff didn't seem to know much about what to do or what to see - not very helpful tourist wise. But for Amsterdam, where it seems hard to get something good, clean and friendly, it was ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location & staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 June 2010

Liked: Only one bathroom and one toilet per floor. No security room for bags. Poor security to get into hostel. Poor kitchen facilities. Outrageous prices for cans of soft drink. Played the World Cup, that was good. Also close to a supermarket. Limited information for tourists.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the stairs were a riot! It was funny to walk them and we laughed a lot. The Staff was so nice and very helpful. They seemed to really enjoy their jobs. They had asked us to change rooms because there was a large group of men coming in and thought it would be better for us (3 women) to be in our own private room. They put us up in a much better private room for the same price and gave us free coffee, and were very appreciative that we were also easy going. Moral is: they are appreciative of their guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and definitely would reccomend to budget travellers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anmol Madan

22 June 2010 Anmol would recommend this property

Liked: The good-- awesome location, visually clean (no bugs/mice), friendly staff, (small) lockers in most rooms, towels on request, 24-hour reception, luggage storage, grocery next door, walk to everything.The bad-- funky odor in the corridor between the staircase and door room. No full kitchen/food storage, but microwave and cutlery available.steep stairs, smallish rooms-- that's typical of Amsterdam city center, every building is like this. If you can't deal with it then find a hotel outside the city.

Disliked: Anmol left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010

Liked: The hostel doesn't provide locker at all, i'm agraid they also don't have luggage room. From my room i could hear the guest on the top floor, also they climbing the stairs and closing the door. Isn't a bad hostel but if i'd've stayed a night more, probably i've tryed to find somewhere else.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Fai Ho

21 June 2010 Chun Fai would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff in the hostel is very friendly and helpful!! i Really had a great time there!!

Disliked: Chun Fai left no negative feedback.