We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.9% Overall Rating

539 out of 719 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/09/2014)

"Location; War genauso wie ich es mir vorgestellt hatte. Für das Geld nicht viel zu erwarten."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 226 reviews
Tulipana Residence
37.32 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
26.86 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Station Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews
Damrak Inn
18.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Bees B&B
72.11 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

539 out of 719 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 683 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, right near dam square. stayed 5 nights, on the 4th night, had $100 stolen from me while showering. so just be careful where you put your valuables. other than that, was a good stay.

Disliked: $100 stolen from me!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sasha miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: good communal area

Disliked: na

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2010

Liked: if you are going to amsterdam for the hookers and dope, stay here or near here. if you want to go to amsterdam more for drinking and partying - stay somewhere further south. (forget what the square is called)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Mike Chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Dirty, smells bad, dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010

Liked: Rooms are cramped, it's super hot, and the water is only superhot. Also bathrooms smell like mold.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

George Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 July 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: The Mavelana was great in it's right in the centre of the city. It was a great place to start a night out with a few shop bought beers and I was very comfortable in my room.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit difficult but you get used to them after a few slogs up them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PENA BUENO José David

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

17 July 2010 PENA BUENO would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good, next to the historical centre of amsterdam, as well as to near to transports, easy to come back at nigth.\beds are very confortable

Disliked: there is not enough place to meet people, probable they should facilitate this by adding games oer something

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: Too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness, the location, the services and the price too

Disliked: Apart from the narrow staircases, I am happy with the place and will definitely recommend this to others

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010

Liked: the location of the hostel is good, friendly staff

Disliked: no lockers - as advertised. rooms are very cramped compared to other hostels. unclean toilets. we had the the room at the top, and the stairs are very steep and narrow - not good when carrying a massive rucksack.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danny Bull

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the cheapest drinks in Amsterdam!

Disliked: The stairs were really steep. Like, really, really steep, and very hard to climb whilst stoned

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Family Holiday

13 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Unacceptable accommodation and very over-priced as compared to other places in europe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was so close to everything and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gareth morgan morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 gareth morgan would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in an excellent location walking distance to the train station, and is a couple of streets away from most of Amsterdam's bars and coffee shops most of the other attractions, really helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are clean but very small (i was in a 4 person room) and no air conditioning, but other than that us excellent value for money, and i would and plan to stay there again.

Disliked: size of the 4 person room was not good ( 2 single beds and a bunk bed didn't leave much room to walk around, putting 2 bunk beds in the room would make it much better, no air conditioning windows couldn't be opened so putting fans in there would improve it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

John Myers

Alone

City break

09 July 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Close to centre of town.

Disliked: No breakfast Rooms very small Lockers very smal Toilet very small

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: extremely narrow, dirty bed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

carlos hamame

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2010 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: well located, clean, safe and nice atmosphere

Disliked: it was mostly ok

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms, bunk bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corey Johnson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 July 2010 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and everyone is super friendly. The room had a TV, a sink, and the bathroom/shower was right outside in the hall. Free towels and free bed linens. Someone cleans the bathrooms regularly. 24hr reception, and the reception area is great to hang out in in the morning, get a coffee, check internet (FREE wifi!!)

Disliked: The night before i got there, people in my room had stuff stolen. One girl dropped the key to her locker in the night, and the guy went in there and stole stuff. he also took some stuff from other people that was lying around. The staff seemed to be very helpful, and assured me this had never happened before. Honestly, it can happen at ANY hostel...it just reminds you that you have to be safe. I made sure to keep my expensive things (computer) with the reception people, and always make sure everything else was locked in the locker or tightly stored in my luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward elliott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 July 2010 edward would recommend this property

Liked: As a first time solo traveller i wasn't sure what to expect. I have never stayed in a hostel before so can't compare it to any other hostel experience. But, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom and shower facilities were all clean and in good working order. The staff at reception were brilliant!! They were very friendly and helpful with all my questions. The lockers in the rooms were all intact and secure and i could leave any valuables in a safety deposit box at reception.

Disliked: The only downside, was that sleeping in a 6 bed room in the summer was HOT!!! There was no air conditioning or fan in the rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: It was in a good location. The staff were welcoming, after a terrible stay at another A'dam hostel. I was in a 4 person room, although booked for a 6, so that was a bonus.

Disliked: No place to lock your belongings, which is always annoying and risky. One computer for internet (at least it was free), not really any social atmosphere. Staff didn't seem to know much about what to do or what to see - not very helpful tourist wise. But for Amsterdam, where it seems hard to get something good, clean and friendly, it was ok.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location & staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 June 2010

Liked: Only one bathroom and one toilet per floor. No security room for bags. Poor security to get into hostel. Poor kitchen facilities. Outrageous prices for cans of soft drink. Played the World Cup, that was good. Also close to a supermarket. Limited information for tourists.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the stairs were a riot! It was funny to walk them and we laughed a lot. The Staff was so nice and very helpful. They seemed to really enjoy their jobs. They had asked us to change rooms because there was a large group of men coming in and thought it would be better for us (3 women) to be in our own private room. They put us up in a much better private room for the same price and gave us free coffee, and were very appreciative that we were also easy going. Moral is: they are appreciative of their guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.