HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Mevlana Amsterdam Hostel

N.Z.Voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 55%

Location 90%

Safety 70%

Staff 70%

Value 62%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged.
We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed.
Check in: after 14.00 pm
Check out: 11.00 am.
Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price
payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 55%

Location 90%

Safety 70%

Staff 70%

Value 62%

Showing 171-180 of 315 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is perfect. Walking distance from central station and very easy to find. Near all main important objectives you are interested. We were a group and we visited the whole city in one day by foot, Ams is not such a big city and you don't even need to take the tram. If you are not a picky person than it's ok to stay there!

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there were some stains on the sheets, and the most important thing, we have chosen a room of 4 and we were 3 girls and they send an old guy with us. It was very strange, girls of 23 with a guy in his 50s. In the end it was ok, he turned out to be a nice person and he knew that we needed our space and he didn't bothered at all, but i guess it would be better if they keep in mind our age and they take into account who is staying in the rooms, even if it's a mixed room. The internet connection was working only from downstairs. In total, i would stay there again, but only if we are enough to take the whole room, i don't want to have other surprises one more time.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think this hostel is perfect for people who are able to stay with other people. Before arriving there, I have read a lot of critics, but: nevermind guys! If you are young and not squeamish, this hostel is for you! the position is wonderful, and there are some cheap drinks and snacks in the ground floor.. about cleaning...like all hostels in the world!otherwise, if you are squeamish, hostels are not for you, it's better you take a hotel!

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, good value for money!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They were very accommodating--they even gave me five towels when i only asked for two (for free). Also we were able to choose which beds to sleep on and therefore didn't split up the group.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful

Disliked: REALLY CLOSE QUARTERS.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's perfect for somebody who is travelling alone. I Was backpacking and was just arriving from Rome. I get there and the recepcionist was quite nice with me. Then I went to the room (6 bed mixed) and I met a girl from Germany (I'm from Chile) that was the best part of my backpacking eurotrip! Now we are gonna see each other at september again. Thank you Mevlana Hostel... ! hahahahaAbout the room... 6 beds, mixed, sink inside the room to brush your teeth, windows looking to the street. Just what you need to go to Amsterdam.PS: It smells like weed sometimes, but come on... it's Amsterdam!

Disliked: Ladders!!! The Ladders makes you feel like you are gonna fall at any moment and they are really small !!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Ability to use free wifi, comfortable bed, 24 reception.

Disliked: Climbing so many steep stairs to get to my room.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was excellent- near Dam square and walking distance from Central Station.

Disliked: The beds were tiny, uncomfortable, and REALLY close together. There was no space to put your luggage and no lockers to store valuables.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and good price.

Disliked: There were some stains on the sheets.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean (albeit small) room, neat bathroom, superfriendly recepionist and central location - what more can you ask for?

Disliked: It's a minor thing, but if you're taller than 1.85 you may want to watch your head. The rooms are quite tiny in width and heigth...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability