We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

73.8% Overall Rating

566 out of 758 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Rebecca Grey thinks…

"24 hour access and located in central Amsterdam, near a variety of lovely restaurants"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
31.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.4% 260 reviews
Tulipana Residence
37.17 USD

Apartment 85.1% 13 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
19.15 USD

Hostel 70.9% 1061 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.77 USD

Hostel 76.7% 229 reviews
Damrak Inn
28.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Bees B&B
64.20 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 20 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
53.50 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Hotel Ajax D.R.
47.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.9% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

566 out of 758 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 544 of 721 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - Friendly staff - Met some cool people - Clean and comfortable - Fresh sheets on beds and reasonably new mattresses

Disliked: Staircase was very steep

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victoria kamphuis

Alone

Shopping

22 September 2010 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I like location , the staff is very helpfull and free wifi clean washrooms.

Disliked: victoria left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and nice location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi easy to find from the central station .close to everything in the red light District. the staff really fiendy and helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Four storey building, no elevator! No free breakfast.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Rooms are tight.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010

Liked: its on a main road close to central station and dam square, you can walk to all of the major sites. There is free wifi and a cafe

Disliked: It was totally fine, but nothing more. If i could have found another place to stay, i would have. If you can, do so. If not this is not a bad spot at all, but if there is a better option, take it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2010

Liked: Besides the fact the hotel has a good location and the guys at the reception are very nice, nothing else was good.

Disliked: The reception is a bar, it was very hard to climb the stairs up to the 3rd floor and it is a little dangerous as well and the room for 6 people was very small. I think you can find better places for your money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katherine-Maria Vitkoff

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

13 September 2010 Katherine-Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Clean washrooms, amazing location (steps to Dam Square but still a quiet enough street), staff were SO nice and helpful...chill cafe/bar downstairs to hang out and even a fooseball table! Met amazing people here and would definitely reccomend this hostel and would stay here again:)

Disliked: Only thing was that i expected to have a locker in my room but they are only in the 6-bed dorm rooms...so must keep valuables with you at all times or can have them locked up downstairs so no big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mickael GUYARD

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 September 2010 Mickael would recommend this property

Liked: the staff zqs really friendly and helpful, I met really nice people over there. My friend and I really enjoyed this Hostel and our stay. I recommend this address.

Disliked: everything was perfect

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010

Liked: Free internet.

Disliked: Worst value for our money (most expensive placed we stayed). Private double room had bunk beds, very loud (could hear everything), and very small rooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jorge Marcos

Alone

10 September 2010 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, relatively close to all

Disliked: they charge 2% commission they call it if you pay with your credit card. Towels are old and stained. Shower on second floor receives leaks from shower above

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kobi Thomson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very very poor atmosphere and common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center but still quite quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2010

Liked: Not much. The only member of staff who was polite and helpful was Jason. The place was grungy but clean.

Disliked: This is not a hotel it is a grungy backpackers hostel. Staff were defensive, with the exception of Jason, but they are probably used to dealing with complaints and bad customers. At the back of the cafe is an electric hotplate, microwave, tiny tiny fridge and sink. Each time we made a drink we had to ask for cups from cafe bar. There is no common room as such so you sit in the cafe.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and very accessable.

Disliked: The stairs!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Carter Rummage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2010 Carter would recommend this property

Liked: great location between all the sights and the train station

Disliked: felt like a lot to pay for a really basic hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jason, Chen and Yen at reception were AMAZING. So nice and helpful, and hilarious...I liked the cafe downstairs, being able to buy food and drinks anytime, free internet was great. 24 hour reception great too! At first I thought the steep stairs were crazy but then learned that's how all the steps are in Amsterdam! It's like climbing a ladder - so funny. Rooms are small but clean, and you get a sink/mirror in the room which is great. The location, staff, cleanliness and cafe were my favorite parts of this place!! You can walk everywhere from here! They also lend out umbrellas if you need.

Disliked: Have to admit I saw a mouse a couple times behind the cafe bar, and once on the steps...supposedly that happens all over Amsterdam as well, even if the place is clean. The rooms were very small and I didn't have a locker big enough for my whole bag, so emptied out all my stuff and crammed it into my mini locker (pack light!). I smelled urine in parts of my room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Nothing more than location...if you have other options as near as this one go for them

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Rooms are too small for the ammount of beds in the room. Climbing up those stairs was a pain.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpfull

Disliked: additional fees charged at check-in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was close to dam square

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. Close to the centre, red light district, etc.

Disliked: For the rate, the hostel is very basic, small, and slightly run down.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the staff really tried to be very helpful, they were very nice, also everything is good in this hostel.

Disliked: I has a bit the feel of a hotel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, safe and overall clean.

Disliked: We were in the attic room, 5 flights of stairs, the shower was poorly built so it caused us to flood the entire bathroom every time we took a bath. It was a good hostel but not nearly good enough for the price we paid.