HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.1% Overall Rating

517 out of 691 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Mark Oliver Kokiong thinks…

"Location is walking distance from central train station and makes it easy to get to from airport.-15 min train. Good walking area for shops and little restos. Hot showers are always going strong and…"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
34.53 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.7% 200 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
55.24 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.05 USD

Apartment 80.7% 4 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 63.2% 961 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.87 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 86 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.77 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Central Station Hostel
26.23 USD

Hostel 84.2% 144 reviews
Damrak Inn
24.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 329 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

517 out of 691 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 499 of 656 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Consuelo Salamia

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: There are mouses in our room. The staff wasn't helpfull wiht us.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Frazer Clark

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

15 July 2011 Frazer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to everthing, friendly staff, could have a sneaky smoke in your room if you wanted and they diddnt mind

Disliked: like everyone else mentioned, the stairs are a killer we were staying on the 4th floor and after a highly intoxicated night they were a challenge to get up and down ! Also we didnt reallhy have directions to get to the hostel so it did take us a while to find it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Location! This spot was perfect- right between Dam Square and a super chill part of town whose name I never learned, but hung out in tons. The view from the room was nice, and there was a bathroom/shower inside our room. I would definitely spring for the 4-bed rooms over the 6-bed rooms to score the private bathroom!

Disliked: No joke, those stairs were a trip! Definitely not a dealbreaker, but climb up or down and see instantly what all of the reviewers meant...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: next to center

Disliked: room to much small

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Julia Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, helpful and friendly. Location.

Disliked: Staying in Berlin -accommodation far better and half the price!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendy staff ... as long as your expectations are consistent with a hostel (sharing rooms and bathrooms), this place is great

Disliked: the stairs are typical dutch stairs, very steep and narrow; if you are not expecting this it will be a shock

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right next to Dam Sq and the supermarket, a short walk from the station. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and there 24hrs a day. Comfortable and clean beds and free towels/hairdryer provided. Whilst food was not provided, there was a basic kitchen area where you could prepare your own food and drinks.

Disliked: Not for the mobility impaired (lots of narrow stairs) or those with clostrophobia as the rooms are very cramped. The dorms are mixed. Many people sharing a bathroom and shower area. No lounge area to meet people. It was unclear on the booking form that a 5% tax was not included

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Charles Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: There was nothing I liked that really stood out to me.

Disliked: The pillow on my bed was actually a couch pillow, and there was a mouse in my room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: the stairs to your room if on one of the upper levels are epic, especially stoned.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anthony policelli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2011 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: I like it's location and how safe it was

Disliked: a little over priced

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, value for money, friendly staff and visitors.

Disliked: Long trek to get up the stairs!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: The location. it was very close to the main square.

Disliked: The stairs were VERY dangerous! The shower room was not clean. I was also charged TWICE for the room and it took them two weeks to refund the money back into my account!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011

Liked: I liked the view from my room window, and mostly, when I checked out

Disliked: Small rooms/bathrooms. Staff. They overcharged me & argued when I questioned it, although they did refund me for their "mistake" not a good place to meet people. Steep narrow staircase/no lift.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff. cleanest hostel in city central we've been so far

Disliked: only one toilet & shower per floor (3 dorms) isn't enough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and good location.

Disliked: small room. quite expensive for the room size.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noah Levin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Noah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was so much cleaner than I imagined. They are under new management, so I think the low % is from the old reviews. I stayed in the dorms and there was maid service every day, they have a no food in rooms policy, so trash doesn't accumulate, and the bathrooms are very clean. Plenty of hot water, clean linens, kitchen area with hot plate, microwave, and tables. There is a pool table that nobody used (ppl didn't hang out there), a computer in the lobby, and free wifi. Also, great staff, coffee bar and snacks in the lobby 24/7. They will tell you where things are, and there is a great value supermarket 2 blocks away. You are 10 mins walking from Centraal, 10 mins from Red Light District, 15 mins from Liedesplein, 5 mins from Jordaan.

Disliked: No nightlife to meet other travelers, but you are really close to the bar/coffeeshop scene and you can go up the street to Bob's and hang out in their lobby, drink cheap beers, smoke, and then return home to a cleaner hostel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

my nguyen

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2011

Liked: location was ok

Disliked: staircase was very narrow... easily slipped and dangerous going down

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlotte Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price, suited all needs.

Disliked: Nothing, suited all needs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great, they were very flexible, the room and facilities were clean, great location, quiet and yet not too far from the center.

Disliked: The stairs made me feel like I was in a wizard's tower: steep, narrow and twisted in such a way that by the fourth floor you hang on to the steps above you. For the rooms we stayed in, the price seems a bit high.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Canada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The stairs were incredibly steep. I read the reviews that said this and did not think much of it but when you actually see them you will know. Also the rooms are very small and packed very tightly/

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: mice in the room!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It is not a fun place to meet people

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: dorms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really clean great location and wonderful staff! The hostel made my stay in Amsterdam really amazing and I would hope everyone visiting Amsterdam could stay at this hostel. Only one shower per floor but I did not once have to wait to take one, and it's very big for a hostel. Right next to grocery store and has fridge and mini kitchen u can use frealy. In short walking distance from eerythug one could possibly want to see in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Not much storage space, room was very compact and difficult to fin place for ur suitcase and other things. Also, there were a few mice but I do admit this was entirely the fault of the people in the room and not the hostel because the rules clearly indicate no food upstairs and the mice only came when people brought food.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: localization, really near the center. friendly staff and mixed bedrooms!!

Disliked: awful stairs, believe me!!