HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

74.3% Overall Rating

533 out of 709 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Becca Rothstein thinks…

"GREAT location--just a short walk from the Centraal Train Station, right next to a main tram stop, right next to the Dam Square, right next to a big super market. For those of you who smoke weed,…"

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 20.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
46.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 220 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
46.90 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
46.90 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
37.52 USD

Hostel 70.5% 988 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
56.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.0% 97 reviews
Central Station Hostel
38.85 USD

Hostel 72.5% 181 reviews
Damrak Inn
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 343 reviews
Bees B&B
83.09 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

533 out of 709 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 513 of 674 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustavo Alves Zago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: It has a very dangerous stairs to reach the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Federico Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located, near to the central station and near to the red light district. Everythingh was ok to me there, I think it is not a good thing to stay in the red light district, too noisy, but you can walk or bike from Mevlana to everywhere in the city, and nothing its too far. You can have a tram almost in the front door. The people was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: mmm. It was really ok, I have nothing to complain about. But also, I usually don't spend too much time in the hostel, I just go there to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph mcdonnell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: everything! best hostel going, the location is perfect.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sydney Gayda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT location, right across from the city center and near the Anne Frank Huis and the Red Light District. Everything is within walking distance and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: A little dirty, and be careful of the stairs- they are so steep. We stayed in a dorm and there isn't really a shower (just a curtain and a faucet, so the floor gets soaked.) There are two rooms, one is spacious when you walk in and the second room is so cramped. There is less than a foot of walking space in between the beds and there was a window above our bed that someone who was sweeping the roof brushed all the dirt and leaves into and it got all over our bed :\

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Samuel Gardner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011

Liked: location, near police

Disliked: very steep stairs, few outlets, cash was stolen by bunk mate from holland

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and the staff were extremely friendly. They offered to put my valuables in their storage, and to leave my luggage in their downstairs closet.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small and smelly. We discovered a rat in our room the first night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Right by the red light district and 10 min walking from the train station.

Disliked: Nothing really. The floor of the bathroom got wet because of the shower, but that's kinda what you have to expect, when you choose hostels instead of hotels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and super location. The rooms and bathrooms where clean and cleaned every day. you get a clean towel and can use a basic kitchen. Free Wi-Fi and a computer to use as well.

Disliked: I had a crazy guy in the room in the last night that managed to fall out of the bed a few times. but this is not the hostels fault.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Li-Chia Hung

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Li-Chia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are nice, location is great. it's an okay hostel, anyway. btw. there's one computer in the reception which you can use for free!

Disliked: the kitchen is small, room is small as well. but acceptable at least for me... oh, and the thing I dislike most is that there's only one socket in my room, which is very inconvenient...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: Location. Staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: After reading the reviews, I took a chance with booking this hostel. The stairs are steep, but fine if you're expecting them. The rugs are dirty and ripped. The sheets were clean and the bathroom was cleaned everyday, which was good. There was a smell to the hostel because the ventilation is not great. One of the cheaper places in Amsterdam to stay so you get what you pay for. Saw other reviews that said there were mice, but I didn't see any. Wouldn't stay here again.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to dam square

Disliked: extremely danger stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

17 July 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! And can roll up in the lobby and smoke it outside!

Disliked: No kitchen or anything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beds were very comfortable, toilet and showers were cleaner than many other hostels. There is a billard pool that you can play it whenever you want. Helpful staff which helped me carry my suitcase to the 5th floor, and a lot more :) oh the location was perfect. :)

Disliked: at first I was going to stay on the 5th floor. (it's the roof level) but the window next to my bed was not closing properly. So the raining rain and blowing wind made the room very cold. Fortunately when I explained the situation to the reception they changed my room to the 3rd floor :)) and the story ended happily.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Consuelo Salamia

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: There are mouses in our room. The staff wasn't helpfull wiht us.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Frazer Clark

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

15 July 2011 Frazer would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to everthing, friendly staff, could have a sneaky smoke in your room if you wanted and they diddnt mind

Disliked: like everyone else mentioned, the stairs are a killer we were staying on the 4th floor and after a highly intoxicated night they were a challenge to get up and down ! Also we didnt reallhy have directions to get to the hostel so it did take us a while to find it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Location! This spot was perfect- right between Dam Square and a super chill part of town whose name I never learned, but hung out in tons. The view from the room was nice, and there was a bathroom/shower inside our room. I would definitely spring for the 4-bed rooms over the 6-bed rooms to score the private bathroom!

Disliked: No joke, those stairs were a trip! Definitely not a dealbreaker, but climb up or down and see instantly what all of the reviewers meant...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: next to center

Disliked: room to much small

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Julia Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, helpful and friendly. Location.

Disliked: Staying in Berlin -accommodation far better and half the price!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendy staff ... as long as your expectations are consistent with a hostel (sharing rooms and bathrooms), this place is great

Disliked: the stairs are typical dutch stairs, very steep and narrow; if you are not expecting this it will be a shock

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right next to Dam Sq and the supermarket, a short walk from the station. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and there 24hrs a day. Comfortable and clean beds and free towels/hairdryer provided. Whilst food was not provided, there was a basic kitchen area where you could prepare your own food and drinks.

Disliked: Not for the mobility impaired (lots of narrow stairs) or those with clostrophobia as the rooms are very cramped. The dorms are mixed. Many people sharing a bathroom and shower area. No lounge area to meet people. It was unclear on the booking form that a 5% tax was not included

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Charles Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: There was nothing I liked that really stood out to me.

Disliked: The pillow on my bed was actually a couch pillow, and there was a mouse in my room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: the stairs to your room if on one of the upper levels are epic, especially stoned.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anthony policelli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2011 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: I like it's location and how safe it was

Disliked: a little over priced

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, value for money, friendly staff and visitors.

Disliked: Long trek to get up the stairs!