We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Hostel Mevlana

Hostel | nieuwe zijds voorburgwal 160, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

68.9% Overall Rating

549 out of 733 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2015)

"The hostel is basic but very clean and in a great location in the centre of Amsterdam. Everything is in walking distance."

Read all Hotel Hostel Mevlana reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 16.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Any cancellation or modification regarding your booking will only be possible 48 hours before Check-in date, and cancellation or modification will not be accepted if less than 48 hours before Check-in date and the total accommodation cost will be charged. We will authorize your credit cards for the first night 48 hours prior to check-in date. If the authorization cannot be obtained, then the rooms cannot be guaranteed. Check in: after 14.00 pm Check out: 11.00 am. Tourist tax 5% is not included in room price payments by card will be 5% extra charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Tamara
26.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 62.7% 237 reviews
Tulipana Residence
34.52 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
13.36 USD

Hostel 72.1% 1012 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
21.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.5% 101 reviews
Central Station Hostel
11.12 USD

Hostel 75.2% 207 reviews
Damrak Inn
13.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Bees B&B
63.47 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
44.54 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

549 out of 733 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Hostel Mevlana'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 527 of 696 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Olivier de Froberville

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011

Liked: good location. Got upgraded to a private room for the 4 of us at no extra cost.

Disliked: No real atmosphere, no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antony Phillips

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 August 2011 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, lovely staff, clean rooms, nice pool table, excellent overall. No complaints.

Disliked: Nothing - was perfect!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: we were only there for one night

Disliked: They fail to mention the 'stairs' which would be better described as ladders that run through the building and which must be health hazards for backpackers with heavy bags (as we were). The hostel is described as 'nice' which is highly disputable, the place is filthy, reeks of smoke and weed despite several no smoking signs in the rooms, (clearly the smoke alarms are just for show) sheets and towels were unclean, bathrooms were filthy as were the walls in rooms, ceiling tiles were broken and falling out. The 'mini-supermarket' they describe in their overview is a fridge, one which can be found in every single hostel we stayed in, clearly just their attempt to find a positive about their hostel to encourage visitors.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location. 24 hours reception. Kind staff.

Disliked: Narrow spaces (but I guess it is normal in Amsterdam...). Not always so clean bedsheets and towels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staircase, room size

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jim Weijs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 August 2011 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, great service! Hostel is based on a perfect location near Dam square, Central station, museumplein etc. I can really recommend this hostel to others!

Disliked: Most of the hostels in Amsterdam are expensive for what you get, just like this one.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elin Eriksson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Elin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and the location is perfect! I loved the stears in the hostel. They are so Amsterdam. You get your own locker and key and clean towels whenever you ask for it. They have a refrigerator and stove on the hostel.

Disliked: It's a bit expensive but I think for being in Amsterdam it's a good price..

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty good its right behind dam square , close to most stuff and close to the main station

Disliked: staff in the daytime could care less they are rude most of the time , but the night staff is awesome ! good luck with the stairs!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfedt location, great lounge to hang out and play pool and the staff is friendly. I really liked this hostel.

Disliked: The dorm was a bit small and hot.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The hostel is also a cafe and it's nice to just hang out there.

Disliked: Way too expensive, but I think most of the hostels in Amsterdam are. They also BLASTED the same horrible songs all day everyday.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

PAULINE DIMINUTTO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 PAULINE would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very close to the center

Disliked: About 10 m² for 6 beds...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: it is maybe the worst hostel I have been. The stairs were terrible, I was in the 4th floor without elevator. VERY DIRTY. The roon was so small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gustavo Alves Zago

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: It has a very dangerous stairs to reach the rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Federico Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located, near to the central station and near to the red light district. Everythingh was ok to me there, I think it is not a good thing to stay in the red light district, too noisy, but you can walk or bike from Mevlana to everywhere in the city, and nothing its too far. You can have a tram almost in the front door. The people was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: mmm. It was really ok, I have nothing to complain about. But also, I usually don't spend too much time in the hostel, I just go there to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph mcdonnell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: everything! best hostel going, the location is perfect.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sydney Gayda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT location, right across from the city center and near the Anne Frank Huis and the Red Light District. Everything is within walking distance and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: A little dirty, and be careful of the stairs- they are so steep. We stayed in a dorm and there isn't really a shower (just a curtain and a faucet, so the floor gets soaked.) There are two rooms, one is spacious when you walk in and the second room is so cramped. There is less than a foot of walking space in between the beds and there was a window above our bed that someone who was sweeping the roof brushed all the dirt and leaves into and it got all over our bed :\

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Samuel Gardner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011

Liked: location, near police

Disliked: very steep stairs, few outlets, cash was stolen by bunk mate from holland

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and the staff were extremely friendly. They offered to put my valuables in their storage, and to leave my luggage in their downstairs closet.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small and smelly. We discovered a rat in our room the first night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Right by the red light district and 10 min walking from the train station.

Disliked: Nothing really. The floor of the bathroom got wet because of the shower, but that's kinda what you have to expect, when you choose hostels instead of hotels.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and super location. The rooms and bathrooms where clean and cleaned every day. you get a clean towel and can use a basic kitchen. Free Wi-Fi and a computer to use as well.

Disliked: I had a crazy guy in the room in the last night that managed to fall out of the bed a few times. but this is not the hostels fault.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Li-Chia Hung

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Li-Chia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are nice, location is great. it's an okay hostel, anyway. btw. there's one computer in the reception which you can use for free!

Disliked: the kitchen is small, room is small as well. but acceptable at least for me... oh, and the thing I dislike most is that there's only one socket in my room, which is very inconvenient...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: Location. Staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: After reading the reviews, I took a chance with booking this hostel. The stairs are steep, but fine if you're expecting them. The rugs are dirty and ripped. The sheets were clean and the bathroom was cleaned everyday, which was good. There was a smell to the hostel because the ventilation is not great. One of the cheaper places in Amsterdam to stay so you get what you pay for. Saw other reviews that said there were mice, but I didn't see any. Wouldn't stay here again.