HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Guest Rooms

Guesthouse | Vijzelstraat 71, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 HG

79.9% Overall Rating

93 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2014)

Kiera Spilsbury thinks…

"In a very central and easy to get to area with lots of activity close enough to walk to. Simple room with just the basics, perfect for a short stay."

Read all Central Guest Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Café

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*** Central Guest Rooms accepts cash only*** Cancellation policy: -more then 2 weeks before arrival: free of charge -cancellation within 2 weeks, but more than 1 week before arrival: 50% of the total will be charged -cancellation within 1 week before arrival: the total amount will be charged Please note that 5.5% city tax and 6% VAT is not included in the price and will be payable upon arrival on top of the total price for the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Waterfront
79.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Euphemia Budget Hotel
42.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Ajax D.R.
58.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.7% 59 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
33.17 USD

Hostel 75.1% 477 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
33.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
31.84 USD

Hostel 82.7% 1146 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
53.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 898 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
42.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.6% 99 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

93 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Guest Rooms'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: The location

Disliked: If you want to get bitten to death by mosquitos then this is the place to stay. Room was awful, bed full of hairs, holes in the pillow cases and covers. Filthy floor, curtains covered in god knows what..oh and the room is not very secure to lock your stuff away, someone could very easily break in! Room is also like a hot box. no room to move in. Towels were practically black. Awful place overall which is a shame as the place could have a lot of potential if only it was done up better!

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014

Liked: Nothing, my mother and I will never stay here again.

Disliked: The rudeness of the owner/manager, the place was mouldy it was tiny that was ok, but I think customer service is the main deal if you don't have that then you are out of business.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kiera Spilsbury

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2014 Kiera would recommend this property

Liked: In a very central and easy to get to area with lots of activity close enough to walk to. Simple room with just the basics, perfect for a short stay.

Disliked: The bathroom was really small and the whole place could do with an update but it was manageable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and good friendly communication from the owner. It is above a fabulous little coffee shop who will deliver breakfast to your room and offer great deals. It is secure and in a good location opposite a tram stop and within walking distance of the centre. There is a lovely square with restaurants a five minute walk away. Much more interesting than staying in a faceless hotel!

Disliked: Nothing to really dislike it was as described, small room and very small bathroom but we knew that before we went and it offered good value for money.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I were so pleased with our stay at Central Guest Rooms. The location was great; it was only a couple of minutes walk from all the action, but out the way of all the noise. The room was beautiful too. We were expecting a small room with a bathroom, we were surprised to discover it was more like an apartment.

Disliked: We really can't think of anything to complain about. We didn't realise there would be so many stairs to get to our room (which wasn't a problem for us) but some people might mind it as it's not made clear.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration(furnitures,paintings) was perfect like scene from movie.Also, the view of the window was fantastic!

Disliked: there isn't anything to comment everything was over the average!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: location isn't the most convenient

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: It was quiet at night and only a short walk from the town. Clean kitchen.

Disliked: The staff seemed very rude about everything even when I thanked him for the accomodation his reply was rude. He needs to work on his communication skills with people. When we turned up there were empty beer bottles under the bed and on the window which was not inviting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Livia Kulhova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: Small, but lovely and perfectly clean bedroom & bathroom. Great location in the heart of Amsterdam, only 15 mins walking from the central station. Perfect price. Friendly owner.

Disliked: Narrow stairs (it may be a problem to get big luggage into the room), but this is typical for almost any Dutch hostel. The smallest bathroom in the world - but we stayed only for 2 nights, so we didn't really mind.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tobias Abt

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 March 2014 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Big Room, Nice Staff

Disliked: A little overpriced and it was not allowd to use the kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Terence Duggan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 February 2014 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: Central to Amsterdam, only 10 minutes from Dam Square & near plenty of shopping. Basic & comfortable.

Disliked: The stairs are narrow & hard to manouver with bags but this is apparently standard of older style buildings which are narrow.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is small but cute and cozy, with a comfortable bed. The location is excellent, really near the Karlestraate (a street full of stores and shooping centzers), the McDonalds, the store (Albert Hejn), the Rembrandt square, and of course, the Dam square (which is near the Central Station!).

Disliked: The walls are very thin, and the stairs are extremely steep, but you will find that in every bedroom in Amsterdam, so it is not a big deal. I came with my boyfriend and it was really beautiful!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was very spacious and homely

Disliked: there was no lift and 4 staircases is quit a lot, also there didn,t seem to be a fire escape

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Newton-McGee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much an apartment to ourselves - alot of room to relax after a long day. Large bathroom with everythign you need - large bed - comfy couch - big kicthenette to cook anything you need plus your own fridge. \ Interesting to peek out the windows and see which people decided to choose prostitutes

Disliked: Not really a hostel atmosphere - away from the main reception are.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Collier

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and laid back staff (Dave), great location, lovely room for the price.

Disliked: The Wifi was very unreliable and the kettle didn't seem to work. both minor issues!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a wonderful location and the guy that ran it was very hospitable and always available. Great stay!

Disliked: The rooms were kinda slanted and the stairway was a bit cramped but that is just the at architecture. There wasn't a lot to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Veronika Bartikova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great location, GREAT LOCATION! Nice staff, Sasha left no negative impression.

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Olcay Devecel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Olcay would recommend this property

Liked: ?

Disliked: Small room given to us(2 person),other one person staying in a large room. The kitchen is very dirty. Wifi didnt work any day

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant Location as you can walk wherever you want to go. Complimentary Tea and Coffee was a really nice gesture.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kaikinpuolin erittäin hyvä majoitus, sijainti aivan mahtava. Vilkas tie vieressä mutta ikkunat kun sulki, niin liikenteen melu jäi ulkopuolelle. Voi todellakin suositella kohdetta muillekin. Jyrkät portaat huoneille!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily McCann

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our room! It was spacious and immaculate. The owner Dave was so welcoming and when we asked where was nice to eat he offered to walk us around a few streets. We were really surprised about the lack of street noise as it's on a main road with a tram line but we couldn't hear a thing! If we go back to Amsterdam we will be staying in Central Guest Rooms.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute, lots of character, free tea/coffee, very friendly, comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Disliked: The room we had was a little tight fitting, but not uncomfortably small.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

anthony hollamby

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a great location close to city ans tram can access places easily.

Disliked: Was a bit hard to find at first and only facilities is tea and coffee.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angela Kidson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, large comfortable bed, good bathroom.

Disliked: Could not control the heating and had to resort to leaving window open at night to cool place down - but traffic noise disturbed sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and well kept. The facilities were good, fridge, kettle etc. The bathroom was on the small side but no need for it to be any larger. The bedroom was cosy with good views down into the streets. It was slightly further out of the center but it was a nice short walk. Travelling as a couple we didn't want to stay in a hostel as there weren't many with private rooms & double beds, but this property is perfect for a couple who want to spend some time together and get a proper feel of the city - this is a lovely traditional property. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing, I would highly recommend this to any traveler.