HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Inner Amsterdam

Hostel | Wanningstraat 1, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 LA

72.2% Overall Rating

3441 out of 4216 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"The room and bathroom were very clean. The location is good IF you're interested in visiting the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum and Modern Art Museum."

Read all Inner Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be aware that this property does not accept Visa Electron card. If you are securing your booking with Visa Electron you will need to provide the property with alternative card to guarantee the booking (at your responsibility) If they book for more then 18 persons we need one night to be paid in advance (this to guarantee the booking) Otherwise your booking might get cancelled and deposit will not be refunded

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.03 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Trianon
33.14 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
30.38 USD

Hostel 83.1% 1381 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
33.28 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2234 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
26.79 USD

Hostel 74.1% 16 reviews
Hotel Blyss
56.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

3441 out of 4216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Inner Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
67.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 2536 of 3274 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 101 | 102   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: long way from centre of Amsterdam

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location + people + character; bedding changed every day. Free internet.

Disliked: 1 bathroom for an 8-people room can be kind of a bottleneck.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and bathroom were very clean. The location is good IF you're interested in visiting the Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum and Modern Art Museum.

Disliked: Be aware, this is not your typical "youth hostel". It's far away (45 min. walk) from the city center where you'll find a lot of the action that Amsterdam is known for. However, if you're more interested in the museums and a quieter location this is fine. As well, it's obvious that this place was a hotel converted into a hostel, and so really, the only hostel-ly thing about it is the multiple guest to a room. The staff were helpful, however, not like a hostel where you may find staff interacting with guest on a personal level. In all, it was a pleasant stay but next time in Amsterdam I'd prefer to stay somewhere closer to the center.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sam Wheeler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: It was a decent price, The tram to town was close, helpful staff (others had complaints but they seemed nice enough to us), free WI-fI

Disliked: Dirty corridors, slight mouse issue

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karola Kuum

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Karola would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, clean rooms and cozy atmosphere, also very helpful staff.

Disliked: Karola left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was nice, quiet and one got the impression to be in a neighborhood of locals rather than in a touristical one, although the van Gogh museum and many more attractions were just arround the corner! I enjoyed the anonymity in the hostel but im sure if you want to meet with other travelers there are plenty of occasions, at breakfast for example.

Disliked: One could see, that the building was not newly constructed, whats totally okay. Still there could have been some renovations (the windows where clattering because of the windy weather). The room was comfy however small and i missed towels.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Salonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: There were safes available for free in the rooms, allowing you to lock up valuable goods. Good value for price and breakfast was quite extensive.

Disliked: The staff weren't really that helpful; didn't really seem all that interested in helping unless prodded and specifically asked for assistance and/or specific questions.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple room, perfect for just a night of sleep. Breakfast was a great deal!

Disliked: Smelly halway and only bunkbeds for us. But it was as expected for this price.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, good private bathroom, fun crowd

Disliked: not much really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the main places

Disliked: A little far from central station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Baker

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Unsuite bathroom really nice, clean and tidy with double shower. Beds really comfortable. Was pleased with the supply of clean towels daily. And English channels on TV. :) very happy with cleanliness off room :)

Disliked: Not the best of smells in the communal areas of the hostel, but this didn't effect our stay, and our room smelt nice. Walls quite thin. Didn't notice this until out last night when the people staying in the room next door were up making a racket until 5am, which kept us awake.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Birgit Gliber

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is friendly, the rooms are ok

Disliked: It is pretty loud, the door handle was broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014

Liked: The location couldn't be better and you feel very safe in the area... The staff was very helpfull.

Disliked: Caught bed bugs during the stay, and will therefor not choose this hostel agian.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is out of the city centre. However to get to the Dam Square its only a 10 minute tram ride which is 3 euros. If your looking for somewhere just to sleep its a good choice!!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for transport and main museums. Secure proxy card doors, 24 h reception. Friendly staff. Good breakfast option.

Disliked: Room was very basic. No shelves or anything to place clothes, mobile etc on. Incredibly loud doors in the passageways, because our room was just next to one as people walked in/out thru it woked me up repeatedly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ellen Andrews

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 February 2014

Liked: Feels safe, in a very nice area and very clean.

Disliked: Noisy, not that much socialising in the hostel itself.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marija Zivkovic

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Marija would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worth seeing is close by...Good staff, very helpfull.Room was cleaned every day and the towels were changed daly...it was nice having safe in the room.

Disliked: Smelled like bleach.Also there is no Wi fi in the room, only in the looby...maby there would be nice having one more blancket

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect!! Especially if you want to visit museums. Also, tram stop and supermarket is quite near the hostel.

Disliked: The room looked clean but mice bit a plastic bag, ate food in it, and left shit around it. Staffs working daytime were nice but not at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Leupolt

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and safe. The value for money was really good, our room was tidy and clean. The room itself had no window, but the bathroom belonging to the room had, so we did have fresh air. It's unusual to sleep in a room without a window but that's why you pay a very fair price, considering that the Hostel is located close to the center. Good breakfast for a good price, but again: anyone here complaining about the small range of food should consider that you probably cannot expect much more for 5 Euro. For that price it was a very good breakfast. The hostel is more casual than cosy, not too good for socialising, but that's not what we wanted, so it was fine.

Disliked: No curtains in the bathroom, we felt a little bit exposed having a shower at night, so we improvised a curtain. The problem could easily be resolved by putting some transparent blurring foil on the window or simply a curtain. Should not be too expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the money paid and the location, I was very satisfied. The location was a nice neighborhood and felt very safe. You can easily walk to and from anywhere your likely to want to go. I chose the place because while I wanted to be close to everything, I didn't want to be staying somewhere where it would be full of stag parties etc and have a reasonably quiet stay. This was perfect for this. I hardly needed to use the trams at all, although when I did choose to, I didn't have far to go. You get the use of a safe with a digital combination lock in the room. It isn't big enough to store all of your things in, but what you do lock away, you can be confident it's secure.

Disliked: The room was a little small for 6 people, I didn't want to spend any longer than possible in the room. It was just somewhere to sleep, which is as much as I 'd expect from a dorm anyway. While the safes were great for the small valubles, there was nowhere to lock the rest of your luggage. Nobody is likely to steal my clothes anyway ;-) I did find that my entry card for the room kept deactivating, but it wasn't too much of a problem, it just meant I had to keep bothering the reception staff to reacivate it, which they were quite helpful about.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is really clean. I like it.

Disliked: the room is relatively small and compact.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Regina Rueckert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and safe and is very well located. You can reach every place by walking.

Disliked: Regina left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elisabete Diogo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014

Liked: Was easy to come in and out especially late at night, it has 24/7 reception.

Disliked: Ended up paying 30 euros more for the stay due to "tax"? And apparently the price was wrong on HostelBookers... Also there were bedbugs and the towels weren't replaced after they were taken on the first day to laundry.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Lindsay

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Second time staying here. Very safe area and room with safe. Can get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: The location of this hostel is a good 15min tram ride from the heart of Amsterdam which detracts from it slightly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2014

Liked: The location is great for the museums and galleries. The people on reception are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The general upkeep of the hostel is poor. I was in a six bed dorm and the room was far too small for three bunk beds – you could hardly walk between the beds. The door and beds were so creaky that any movement woke everyone in the room up and the walls are very thin so you can hear people in the other rooms also.