We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Centraal Hostel

Hostel | Plantage kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018 SZ

69.7% Overall Rating

170 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2015)

Sarah Kim thinks…

"It was more of a hotel than a hostel. My friend and I were in a shared room with others that included lights, desks and lots of space. It was very clean and a nice change from many other hostels we…"

Read all Centraal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. * We will need (pre) authorisation of Visa or MasterCard for the total amount, otherwise your reservation will be cancelled without getting back to you. Accepted ages are between 18 - 28 years old. **-IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!! ****Cancellation policy on the last week of the year***** Any change or cancellation in this period, has to be done by E-mail 3 (THREE) weeks before arrival, otherwise we will charge your credit card for the entire amount of the whole stay. **During Special events, we require pre-authorization 3 (Three) weeks prior to your arrival date. *In case of booking 1 night, cancellation or refunding or modifying the booking will not be available. *For a one night booking linen is excluded. EUR 5.00 will be added to the total amount. per person *Lockers costs €1.00 per night *Pre-Authorization will be done on the total amount immediately, and if the Credit Cards did not allow us, the booking will be cancelled. The Hotel has No curfew, breakfast is excluded (€3.50) from 9:00 till 10:00 o'clock. Check in time is 14:00 hours and check out time is 11:00 hours. Methods of payment are Cash or Turning the Pre-Authorization into payment. We require a minimum stay of 2 (low seasons) or 3 nights (high seasons) nights. *Please be aware of the 5.5% tax bill that will be added to the total amount. - When you have booked beds is shared rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will be staying together in the same room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Vita Nova
24.04 USD

Hostel 91.0% 301 reviews
Intersail
33.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
34.35 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
68.70 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 12 reviews
Hotel Max
35.80 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
40.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.1% 925 reviews
France Hotel
40.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 214 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
34.35 USD

Hostel 58.1% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

170 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Centraal Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 226 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark Wallace

With a large group / tour

City break

02 May 2013

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Everything, it's a dump and your treat and spoke to like cattle

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Close to tram station and Artis Zoo.

Disliked: Shower room and toilet are tiny, no kitchen facilities, narrow staircase, dodgy bunk beds.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fred Irwin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff.

Disliked: No lift and the stairs were steep.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: Centraal hostel is conveniently located in the city of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The price per bed indicating in Hostelbookers.com, not was the same at the hostel… I payed 5 euros extra for clean sheets, which in fact were not clean… The price per nignt seems low but once one is there some clauses make the price rise. Further, the rooms are tiny…

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and prices

Disliked: If it is cold outside it will be cold inside for sure

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aya Kuroda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Aya would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location. There was a small supermarcket nearby, that helped me save a lot of money because I didn't go eat out. Many museums and visiting places were within waking distance of the hostel! The station was close, too. (like 20 min?)

Disliked: It was very hard for me to go up and down the stairs because of the steep stairs! The internet was not cool. I didn't get internet in my room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elod Peter

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 February 2013 Elod would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the Dam, they arranged that our friends can stay in the same 6bed room, despite they booked the beds separately. The girl at the reception was nice.

Disliked: stairs :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 15 minutes walk from city center.

Disliked: No tavels included.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Muhammad Firdaus Bin Isnin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012

Liked: It was cheap enough and in a relatively quiet area but still near to centraal station.

Disliked: There were 4 floors and we only realised this when we arrived. It was quite tricky to haul our luggage up the stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scotty Cartwright

Alone

City break

19 November 2012 Scotty would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 10-15minutes walk from town, just down the road from the zoo. Lockers available and kitchen. Quiet hostel. Good display of things to do in Amsterdam and staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Toilet was a bit small, no much ventilation. Not much atmosphere to meet others, but not hard when you get out in town anyway

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Murray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012

Liked: Location was good- close to tram stop and not too far to walk into the city.

Disliked: Both my friend and I found the staff rude and inconsiderate. You can only use the Wifi in the kitchen, which is not open at all times. We wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sergio Sánchez Muñoz

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2012

Liked: Heating

Disliked: Stairs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had every thing needed

Disliked: Very basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very frendly people and clean hotel

Disliked: old fashion furniture and very small windows in the ceilng

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: Clean, cheap. No problems with the room except for a small toilet and squeaky beds.

Disliked: Unfriendly service

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Raybaudo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: it was everything that was expected: bed and linen was clean and provided, shower and toilet were cleaned, staff were helpful

Disliked: The only downside of this place is the location really as it takes 20-30 min walk to get to the heart of amsterdam. The surrounding area is still nice though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Catherine Mason

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and it was easy to get to by tram. The staff were friendly and helpful and there are a couple of nice enough restaurants very close by.

Disliked: It lacked character. The common spaces weren't great which makes meeting fellow travelers hard. It is nothing special, but you get what you pay for!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and secure lockers in the dorms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: Good location as in everything is within walking distance.

Disliked: Way too many stairs! One flight to get to check in and a further 3 flights depending on which room you are in.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was out of the way of the busy parts of Amsterdam, but not so far that it was hard to get to. Amsterdam is a small place, so even being out of the way, it is only a ~10 minute walk to the central part of the city. The owner was helpful as we were arriving late (1am) and he had someone stay up and wait for us, which we appreciated. The room was small but fine. Breakfast was provided (toast, cheese, jam, coffee).

Disliked: There are certainly cheaper options, and it was nice but didn't seem especially great compared to other hostels I've been to.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hector Viramontes Monay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: The location it´s good, not in the center of everything but not so far...

Disliked: the showers was clean but sooo small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mohamed Aidid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the cheap price!!

Disliked: Everything else

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012

Liked: Its a good place to sleep but thats about all. Has wifi but doesnt work in rooms

Disliked: Wifi doesnt work in rooms, no common room / meeting area, no kitchen utilities just a toaster and microwave, bathrooms stunk like mold and bedrooms were not very clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Der nette Empfang.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Reili Pärnasalu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Reili would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: the price selected in hostelbookers ended up being much higher