We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Centraal Hostel

Hostel | Plantage kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018 SZ

62.2% Overall Rating

161 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

"Very good on value for money, plus staff was very helpful. All questions prior to stay (via email) answered VERY quickly!"

Read all Centraal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

* We will need (pre) authorisation of Visa or MasterCard for the total amount, otherwise your reservation will be cancelled without getting back to you. Accepted ages are between 18 - 28 years old. **-IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!! ****Cancellation policy on the last week of the year***** Any change or cancellation in this period, has to be done by E-mail 3 (THREE) weeks before arrival, otherwise we will charge your credit card for the entire amount of the whole stay. **During Special events, we require pre-authorization 3 (Three) weeks prior to your arrival date. *In case of booking 1 night, cancellation or refunding or modifying the booking will not be available. *For a one night booking linen is excluded. EUR 5.00 will be added to the total amount. per person *Lockers costs €1.00 per night *Pre-Authorization will be done on the total amount immediately, and if the Credit Cards did not allow us, the booking will be cancelled. The Hotel has No curfew, breakfast is excluded (€3.50) from 9:00 till 10:00 o'clock. Check in time is 14:00 hours and check out time is 11:00 hours. Methods of payment are Cash or Turning the Pre-Authorization into payment. We require a minimum stay of 2 (low seasons) or 3 nights (high seasons) nights. *Please be aware of the 5.5% tax bill that will be added to the total amount. - When you have booked beds is shared rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will be staying together in the same room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Budget Hotel Hortus
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.0% 775 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
25.93 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
24.67 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 208 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.30 USD

Hostel 66.7% 79 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.2%

Overall Rating

161 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Centraal Hostel'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
52.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very frendly people and clean hotel

Disliked: old fashion furniture and very small windows in the ceilng

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: Clean, cheap. No problems with the room except for a small toilet and squeaky beds.

Disliked: Unfriendly service

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Raybaudo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: it was everything that was expected: bed and linen was clean and provided, shower and toilet were cleaned, staff were helpful

Disliked: The only downside of this place is the location really as it takes 20-30 min walk to get to the heart of amsterdam. The surrounding area is still nice though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Catherine Mason

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and it was easy to get to by tram. The staff were friendly and helpful and there are a couple of nice enough restaurants very close by.

Disliked: It lacked character. The common spaces weren't great which makes meeting fellow travelers hard. It is nothing special, but you get what you pay for!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and secure lockers in the dorms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: Good location as in everything is within walking distance.

Disliked: Way too many stairs! One flight to get to check in and a further 3 flights depending on which room you are in.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was out of the way of the busy parts of Amsterdam, but not so far that it was hard to get to. Amsterdam is a small place, so even being out of the way, it is only a ~10 minute walk to the central part of the city. The owner was helpful as we were arriving late (1am) and he had someone stay up and wait for us, which we appreciated. The room was small but fine. Breakfast was provided (toast, cheese, jam, coffee).

Disliked: There are certainly cheaper options, and it was nice but didn't seem especially great compared to other hostels I've been to.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hector Viramontes Monay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: The location it´s good, not in the center of everything but not so far...

Disliked: the showers was clean but sooo small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mohamed Aidid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the cheap price!!

Disliked: Everything else

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012

Liked: Its a good place to sleep but thats about all. Has wifi but doesnt work in rooms

Disliked: Wifi doesnt work in rooms, no common room / meeting area, no kitchen utilities just a toaster and microwave, bathrooms stunk like mold and bedrooms were not very clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Der nette Empfang.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Reili Pärnasalu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Reili would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok

Disliked: the price selected in hostelbookers ended up being much higher

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is helpful and courteous to guests. Breakfast provided is good enough for hostel traveller's purposes.

Disliked: Rooms are not very ergonomic. Location is right off the tram line but had to take a cab back 2 nights as it's a long walk from most of the city attractions and the tram doesn't run much past midnight. 2 euros extra for towels. Extremely expensive on summer weekends.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for mobey

Disliked: no soap in the toilet

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HECTOR MARTIN DEL CAMPO VILLEGAS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 HECTOR would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buen barrio, aunque lejos del centro. La gente que atiende es amable, las camas comodas

Disliked: Tiene inconvenientes, pero vamos, es Amsterdam, las escaleras son malas en todos lados y no hay mucho espacio.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel staff very friendly, location good (although about 15 minutes from center of city). Rooms very clean, safes provided were useful.

Disliked: Stairs were very steep!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saad Naveed Ahmed

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Saad Naveed would recommend this property

Liked: Close to tram station. The breakfast is nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no proper way to hang clothes in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Wenwen Gong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Wenwen would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was helpful

Disliked: Wenwen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Davis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel staff was friendly, accommodating, and the room was fine. Wifi was great, not a lot of noise, bed was reasonably comfortable, etc. Can't think of anything to complain about for this one.

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012

Liked: Close to tram - we could reach Centraal Station in 10 minutes.

Disliked: Very dirty room and bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pinar yaltir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 pinar would recommend this property

Liked: All the personel is very friendly you could ever imagine! Great help, for everything. The location is nice, you're quickly within the centre. The price was really good, especially because we got a perfect breakfast as well! İt is good time for breakfast at 09:00 I like this time beaucause somewhere it is so early like 07:00 ıf you wanna make holiday, you don't want to get up early like me

Disliked: pinar left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and calm

Disliked: no kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zoe Moorman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: I am so sorry I cannot remember his name, but the main receptionist/owner was so amazingly lovely! He always had good suggestions and made me feel at home. He even upgraded my room for me for free when my locker didn't work! The free breakfast was pretty good, and the rooms felt really secure - they had electronic keys at all the doors. The hostel was in a really nice spot - literally right next to a tram stop (though Amsterdam is so flat and small that I only ever used the tram when I had my luggage and walked everywhere), and across the road from a bunch of great restaurants (the Japanese and Italian is amazing).

Disliked: The bathroom was quite small and you needed to be careful where you put your clothes to make sure they didn't get wet. Though I met people, there wasn't a common room, so it wasn't a very social hostel. And, like all of Amsterdam, it was relatively pricey. But nothing really hampered the enjoyment of my stay, so, I would still recommend it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maciej Marek

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: loved the stairway nice and friendly staff

Disliked: the bathroom- shower water running everywhere which isn't really great especially you need to share the room with other people; you cannot get changed inside the bathroom 'cause everything is wet beds seemed a little bit unstable

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yamila Heram

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012

Liked: no me gusto nada, una porquería, no es un hostel, es una pensión!! no vayan, la pase tan mal en ese lugar, es desagradable

Disliked: todo es horrible,