We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Centraal Hostel

Hostel | Plantage kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018 SZ

69.7% Overall Rating

168 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Dominic Schatzan thinks…

"I'm not sure why this hostel has a low rating on this website. I've seen some reviews with falsehoods, like that the hostel has no common area or kitchen. It has both and both are very nice. I was…"

Read all Centraal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

* We will need (pre) authorisation of Visa or MasterCard for the total amount, otherwise your reservation will be cancelled without getting back to you. Accepted ages are between 18 - 28 years old. **-IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!! ****Cancellation policy on the last week of the year***** Any change or cancellation in this period, has to be done by E-mail 3 (THREE) weeks before arrival, otherwise we will charge your credit card for the entire amount of the whole stay. **During Special events, we require pre-authorization 3 (Three) weeks prior to your arrival date. *In case of booking 1 night, cancellation or refunding or modifying the booking will not be available. *For a one night booking linen is excluded. EUR 5.00 will be added to the total amount. per person *Lockers costs €1.00 per night *Pre-Authorization will be done on the total amount immediately, and if the Credit Cards did not allow us, the booking will be cancelled. The Hotel has No curfew, breakfast is excluded (€3.50) from 9:00 till 10:00 o'clock. Check in time is 14:00 hours and check out time is 11:00 hours. Methods of payment are Cash or Turning the Pre-Authorization into payment. We require a minimum stay of 2 (low seasons) or 3 nights (high seasons) nights. *Please be aware of the 5.5% tax bill that will be added to the total amount. - When you have booked beds is shared rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will be staying together in the same room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Vita Nova
23.30 USD

Hostel 91.0% 301 reviews
House of Freddy Hotel & Bar
41.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
66.56 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 12 reviews
Hotel Max
66.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
38.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.0% 917 reviews
France Hotel
38.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 214 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
33.28 USD

Hostel 59.0% 98 reviews
Hostel The Globe
31.06 USD

Hostel 70.1% 1323 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

168 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Centraal Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 221 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kathleen Pait

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best!

Disliked: Cleanliness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie O'Connor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 February 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly

Disliked: steep stairs quite scary

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great attention, very nice staff, acceptable rooms for the price. Very recommendable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Eloise McCrea-Steele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014

Liked: The location was good and the facilities were okay.

Disliked: I understand that around New Years hostels get expensive but paying 80 AUD a night was exorbitant and unreasonable for the service we got. Arriving we had to pay these hidden fees, not a great start. Staying in the hostel felt as if we were just intruding in a family's home due to them having dinner in the common room each night. The owner often came in randomly into our room and moved things around, made us feel slightly uncomfortable. Staying here again would definitely be a last resort.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 January 2014

Liked: Very few things: maybe the fact that we reserved 3 beds in a room with 4 beds, and the first 3 nights we stayed in a room for 3 people (however, it was a room for 2 people with an extra bed, so very tiny)

Disliked: It's an hostel but there is not a common area to meet other guests. The room was dirty. The bathroom in the room was very uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna reeve

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 January 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: friendly manager and clean rooms

Disliked: its a little hard to see the sign outside so keep your eyes peeled

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ercan KIZILAY

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Ercan would recommend this property

Liked: It's comfortable

Disliked: Anything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Kohn

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 December 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff who returned my friend's bag after he lost it

Disliked: Winding stairs but not really a problem

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Akhilesh Agarwal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

02 December 2013 Akhilesh would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: hidden charges of which we were not aware of

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: the stairs :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: room is small shower ventilation wasn't really good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorna O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable mattresses

Disliked: steep stairs but that is like everywhere else in Amsterdam

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jasna Puh

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Jasna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I wa able to comte in the hostel at all the times. The staff was very nice, they let me to have my bags there the whole morning before I could check in and the whole day after I checked out.

Disliked: I didn't know in advance that I will have to change rooms, I only found out that upon my arrival. But they let me put my stuff in the common area so I moved only with my most basic stuff. The stairs of course weren't the most comofortable but I read about them already before on hostelbookers.com and this is the Netherlands style.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Skaiste Butkute

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Skaiste would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly receptionist, good wifi, balcony in the room.

Disliked: It's better to pay for the room by cash as they charge €2.50 per person if you pay by card. I paid €10 extra which is quite big money just for such thing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to from central station I believe only 6 stops. It has a park and some inexpensive restraunt near by. The hostel is in a quite location and only young people stay there which is awesome.

Disliked: The hostel is pretty expensive, and you dont get free breakfast, and wifi can be spotty. The stair are extremely narrow to climb. Shower in bathroom is pretty cramped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Taize Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Taize would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean, and it's only €1 euro a night for a massive safe that fit my massive travel pack back!

Disliked: The shower floods the entire bathroom. The wifi will drop out every now and again.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Just about everything. Beds were too close together and were pretty much junk. Wiring was very poor and non existent in some cases.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Voges

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Room with no space for 5 persons

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

A Mccammon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, cleanliness

Disliked: Small stair and average bed

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark Wallace

With a large group / tour

City break

02 May 2013

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Everything, it's a dump and your treat and spoke to like cattle

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Close to tram station and Artis Zoo.

Disliked: Shower room and toilet are tiny, no kitchen facilities, narrow staircase, dodgy bunk beds.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fred Irwin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff.

Disliked: No lift and the stairs were steep.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: Centraal hostel is conveniently located in the city of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The price per bed indicating in Hostelbookers.com, not was the same at the hostel… I payed 5 euros extra for clean sheets, which in fact were not clean… The price per nignt seems low but once one is there some clauses make the price rise. Further, the rooms are tiny…

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and prices

Disliked: If it is cold outside it will be cold inside for sure