We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Centraal Hostel

Hostel | Plantage kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018 SZ

62.5% Overall Rating

160 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

"Very good on value for money, plus staff was very helpful. All questions prior to stay (via email) answered VERY quickly!"

Read all Centraal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

* We will need (pre) authorisation of Visa or MasterCard for the total amount, otherwise your reservation will be cancelled without getting back to you. Accepted ages are between 18 - 28 years old. **-IMPORTANT INFORMATION!!! ****Cancellation policy on the last week of the year***** Any change or cancellation in this period, has to be done by E-mail 3 (THREE) weeks before arrival, otherwise we will charge your credit card for the entire amount of the whole stay. **During Special events, we require pre-authorization 3 (Three) weeks prior to your arrival date. *In case of booking 1 night, cancellation or refunding or modifying the booking will not be available. *For a one night booking linen is excluded. EUR 5.00 will be added to the total amount. per person *Lockers costs €1.00 per night *Pre-Authorization will be done on the total amount immediately, and if the Credit Cards did not allow us, the booking will be cancelled. The Hotel has No curfew, breakfast is excluded (€3.50) from 9:00 till 10:00 o'clock. Check in time is 14:00 hours and check out time is 11:00 hours. Methods of payment are Cash or Turning the Pre-Authorization into payment. We require a minimum stay of 2 (low seasons) or 3 nights (high seasons) nights. *Please be aware of the 5.5% tax bill that will be added to the total amount. - When you have booked beds is shared rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will be staying together in the same room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Budget Hotel Hortus
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rembrandtplein Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

160 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Centraal Hostel'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
54.4%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: the stairs :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: room is small shower ventilation wasn't really good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorna O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable mattresses

Disliked: steep stairs but that is like everywhere else in Amsterdam

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jasna Puh

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Jasna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I wa able to comte in the hostel at all the times. The staff was very nice, they let me to have my bags there the whole morning before I could check in and the whole day after I checked out.

Disliked: I didn't know in advance that I will have to change rooms, I only found out that upon my arrival. But they let me put my stuff in the common area so I moved only with my most basic stuff. The stairs of course weren't the most comofortable but I read about them already before on hostelbookers.com and this is the Netherlands style.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Skaiste Butkute

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Skaiste would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly receptionist, good wifi, balcony in the room.

Disliked: It's better to pay for the room by cash as they charge €2.50 per person if you pay by card. I paid €10 extra which is quite big money just for such thing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get to from central station I believe only 6 stops. It has a park and some inexpensive restraunt near by. The hostel is in a quite location and only young people stay there which is awesome.

Disliked: The hostel is pretty expensive, and you dont get free breakfast, and wifi can be spotty. The stair are extremely narrow to climb. Shower in bathroom is pretty cramped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Taize Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Taize would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean, and it's only €1 euro a night for a massive safe that fit my massive travel pack back!

Disliked: The shower floods the entire bathroom. The wifi will drop out every now and again.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Just about everything. Beds were too close together and were pretty much junk. Wiring was very poor and non existent in some cases.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Voges

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Room with no space for 5 persons

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

A Mccammon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, cleanliness

Disliked: Small stair and average bed

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark Wallace

With a large group / tour

City break

02 May 2013

Liked: Leaving it

Disliked: Everything, it's a dump and your treat and spoke to like cattle

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: Close to tram station and Artis Zoo.

Disliked: Shower room and toilet are tiny, no kitchen facilities, narrow staircase, dodgy bunk beds.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fred Irwin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff.

Disliked: No lift and the stairs were steep.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013

Liked: Centraal hostel is conveniently located in the city of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The price per bed indicating in Hostelbookers.com, not was the same at the hostel… I payed 5 euros extra for clean sheets, which in fact were not clean… The price per nignt seems low but once one is there some clauses make the price rise. Further, the rooms are tiny…

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and prices

Disliked: If it is cold outside it will be cold inside for sure

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aya Kuroda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Aya would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location. There was a small supermarcket nearby, that helped me save a lot of money because I didn't go eat out. Many museums and visiting places were within waking distance of the hostel! The station was close, too. (like 20 min?)

Disliked: It was very hard for me to go up and down the stairs because of the steep stairs! The internet was not cool. I didn't get internet in my room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elod Peter

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 February 2013 Elod would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the Dam, they arranged that our friends can stay in the same 6bed room, despite they booked the beds separately. The girl at the reception was nice.

Disliked: stairs :P

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 15 minutes walk from city center.

Disliked: No tavels included.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Muhammad Firdaus Bin Isnin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012

Liked: It was cheap enough and in a relatively quiet area but still near to centraal station.

Disliked: There were 4 floors and we only realised this when we arrived. It was quite tricky to haul our luggage up the stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scotty Cartwright

Alone

City break

19 November 2012 Scotty would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 10-15minutes walk from town, just down the road from the zoo. Lockers available and kitchen. Quiet hostel. Good display of things to do in Amsterdam and staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: Toilet was a bit small, no much ventilation. Not much atmosphere to meet others, but not hard when you get out in town anyway

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emily Murray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012

Liked: Location was good- close to tram stop and not too far to walk into the city.

Disliked: Both my friend and I found the staff rude and inconsiderate. You can only use the Wifi in the kitchen, which is not open at all times. We wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Sergio Sánchez Muñoz

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 October 2012

Liked: Heating

Disliked: Stairs

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had every thing needed

Disliked: Very basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very frendly people and clean hotel

Disliked: old fashion furniture and very small windows in the ceilng