HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vita Nova

Hostel | Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 AB

81.8% Overall Rating

254 out of 285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Hiran Gamlath Rallage thinks…

"Excellent service, loved the friendly couple in charge. Great location and great atmosphere. We initially had our doubt s as it was a boat house but we were over the moon when we first saw it. It is…"

Read all Vita Nova reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note the following: Check-in time is from 14.00 hrs/2 pm till 22.30 hrs/10.30 pm (we do not have a 24-hour reception) Smoking is not permitted inside the boat. use of any kind of drugs in the hostelboat is absolutely forbidden.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Metropolitan Apartments
44.28 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
44.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hostel The Globe
15.18 USD

Hostel 69.8% 1283 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 199 reviews
Ljplein Bed and Breakfast
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 59.4% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

254 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vita Nova'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 277 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hiran Gamlath Rallage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Hiran would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, loved the friendly couple in charge. Great location and great atmosphere. We initially had our doubt s as it was a boat house but we were over the moon when we first saw it. It is so beautifully krpt, very clean and we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was simply awesome with such a great buffet.

Disliked: The cabin was a bit small but then what can you expect, it is a boat.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia M Albassini

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 August 2014 Silvia M would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Nice staff.

Disliked: Internet is very slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's incredibly well located, and has loads of character. The breakfast is excellent and it's very well run.

Disliked: The showers are quite small and a bit difficult to use due to their layout. It's not a huge problem but it might be something to take into account.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARK WRIGHT

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: A very unique experience, I have travelled a lot, but never stayed on a house boat. What a place to stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Noisy people in the early hours of the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's on the docks,on a boat..so it's already more interesting than a normal hostel.

Disliked: Because it'a boat, the space is kinda small,but it's still very nice and clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing atmosphere, clean, good breakfast and great to be on the water.

Disliked: No soap in the loos and poor directions from train station

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite novel staying on a boat, very cosy! And the breakfast are really good. Roy recommended us a good bike rental too.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely quirky place to stay with friendly staff. Excellent buffet breakfast. Centrally located - only 10 to 15 minutes to Central Station and Damrak.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The gentle rocking motion of the boat is great for sleeping :)

Disliked: Lack of sink in the 'bathroom', also the fact that the floor was always wet from the shower. And no soap anywhere!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

PAO-JU HUANG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013

Liked: Staff was nice

Disliked: The room is not clean like the photo show. The shower room is not friendly to use. The only small window in the room can't open. My body tickled from the bed I slept.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boat does it all, very atmospheric and very "Amsterdam"

Disliked: Nothing I disliked but people shouldn't get their hopes up as for the size of the rooms. It's a boat and therefore the rooms are tiny. The price is actually very high as I wouldn't advise to really be two in their rooms for two.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alfred Joyner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Alfred would recommend this property

Liked: Staying on a boat was a quirky and unique experience, and the Vita Nova was a great place to stay and full of character. The facilities were great, with an excellent breakfast service in the morning, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Disliked: As the boat was located in the harbour area it was a bit of a walk from the centre of the town (about 20 mins). The bedrooms were quite cramped, but as they're based in the hull of the boat, that wasn't surprising.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at a boat is a very nice experience. The staff gave good advice, friendly and helpful. Beautiful and very central location. Breakfast included. The rooms are very small but ok for a boat and with respect to the price.

Disliked: The showers weren't very nice (but they were clean). Wifi was free, but it didn't work in the room. The room was a little moist when it was raining heavily.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Petr Svec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great staff.

Disliked: The botel should lock at night plus even when the breakfast was tasteful, the variety wasn't really big.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable accomodation close to the central core of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Sleeping facilities were very small and not enough washrooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Volha Louhach

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Volha would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the railway station, cheap price, possibility to left luggage after check-out, good breakfasts

Disliked: Really tiny room (2X2), too warm inside and too little oxygen comes into through tiny window, blankets and pillows smell unpleasant and dirty showers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and novel accommodation. The staff were the best and very helpful!

Disliked: Shower was a little small but it was a boat after all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Eva Pluskalová

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that it was on a boat, a really nice experience and very close to the city center.

Disliked: I can´t think of nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Lennie

Alone

City break

20 April 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The boat is in a fine location. In city centre area by the waterfront, yet it's away from any street, so it's wonderfully quiet as far as outside traffic is concerned. The rooms are clean, and although small, they do include a small wardrobe, a large cupboard, and a wash-hand basin very handy with hot or cold water quickly flowing). Mine even had a chair and small table. Very useful also. the window in the room opened easily, to let in fresh air. And boy is the air on the harbour front fresh! The dining area was light and spacious, and lovely views on both sides. Breakfast was great - cereals of various choices, also cooked meats, several cheeses, several breads, and lots of spreads (jam, peanut butter etc). And as much tea or coffee or juice as you want to drink. I loved the breakfast times. Very significantly, the staff - a couple - were very friendly at all times. They give you two free maps of the city, and they pinpoint places like a nearby supermarket, where to hire bikes, and lots of helpful pieces of info to a newcomer to the city. More than that, they go out of their way to be helpful. For example, they allowed me to leave my small case their on the day of departure until later that evening, when I was due to catch my train/plane. Other bonuses too - these factors really count for a lot. I really liked this place and would happily stay here again

Disliked: The rooms are small, yes, but my single room honestly wasn't overly small - I managed fine and never found it TOO small. What was more of an issue was noise. Not from traffic, but from fact that there is little sound proofing - the walls are pretty thin, and you can hear doors opening etc quite easily. Also my room was next to the toilet, so when anyone used that, a birring fan would come on,for a short time, which sound was kinda annoying. One additional 'noise' factor was that on one of the two nights I stayed there, it was pretty windy, and through the night you could hear this dadding sound, like part of the boat was hitting against the wooden pier. Didn't happen the 2nd night, when it wasn't windy. Maybe this sound is unusual, and I slept very soundly the 2nd night. But if you're a light sleeper, watch out for these 2 or 3 'noise' factors. They may or may not affect you. Having said that, that was the Only factor I had any concerns about. If I returned to Amsterdam I would definitely choose to stay there again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: - very close to the central station and the city - nice owner - it was always warm enough - silent nights

Disliked: - I was getting sick on board - cold shower - very small basin - strange toilets

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emily ayling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere; cool to be staying on a boat. Pretty good location and easy to find. Very helpful staff. Excellent value for money! Good breakfast with plenty of selection.

Disliked: bathrooms are quite small and showering is quite tight, but I suppose that's to be expected on a boat.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johnny Gonzalez Alfaro

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel and liked the experience on staying/sleeping on a boat. The staff (Roy) is a great host and helpful for traveling tips and eating suggestions.

Disliked: The rooms are small if you compared to a normal hostel but, of course they should if you're staying on a boat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had great character, was very clean and staff were excellent. Fresh breakfast every morning and good comfortable beds! I will reccommend to others just as it was reccommended to me by a friend!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cozy rooms, friendly personnel, nice and central location at the Oosterdok, wonderful breakfast included. Absolute recommendation! (You'll have to be comfortable with small rooms, though ;) )

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.