We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vita Nova

Hostel | Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 AB

91.0% Overall Rating

269 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/06/2015)

Helen Hawke thinks…

"This is my third stay on the Vita Nova. I love the location as it is so close to Amsterdam Centraal. The rooms are small but cosy and quaint..what else can you expect on a boat! The dining area is…"

Read all Vita Nova reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note the following: Check-in time is from 14.00 hrs/2 pm till 22.30 hrs/10.30 pm (we do not have a 24-hour reception) Smoking is not permitted inside the boat. use of any kind of drugs in the hostelboat is absolutely forbidden.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
27.77 USD

Hostel 69.7% 238 reviews
France Hotel
38.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 214 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
66.64 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 12 reviews
Hostel The Globe
33.32 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1324 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
31.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.8% 203 reviews
Ljplein Bed and Breakfast
32.21 USD

Guesthouse 60.0% 28 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
44.42 USD

Hostel 91.5% 37 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
58.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

269 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vita Nova'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 293 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Hawke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This is my third stay on the Vita Nova. I love the location as it is so close to Amsterdam Centraal. The rooms are small but cosy and quaint..what else can you expect on a boat! The dining area is fun to sit in at night and we have never had a problem with bringing in our own food in the evening. We were even offered the use of plates and cutlery. The boat is warm and clean and we have always felt welcome.

Disliked: The toilets and showers take a bit of getting use to. But if you have camped before it shouldn't be a problem. I always take a small hand towel, a small bar of soap and some hand gel. They are cleaned daily.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Stamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A Boat-el sings character and Vita Nova delivered. The breakfast was excellent, drinks were well priced, the boat is in walking distance of the city centre (and the excellent restaurant t'gasthuys) and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose to stay at Vita Nova again if we returned to Amsterdam, especially given the value for money involved in booking here.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Reka Taskai

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2015 Reka would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location and satisfying breakfast.

Disliked: The room is a bit small but its a boat so we were expecting it to be so.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Ketley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 George would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, the owner is willing to advise good places to visit in Amsterdam and we were given a map of the city on arrival. The location of the hostel is good also, just 15 minutes from the Station and the Red Light District. Staying on a boat was fun as it was different for us, and it had a lot of character. The breakfast buffet was lovely, different types of food available. Also very hot showers!

Disliked: Not a whole lot of space in the rooms but I guess that's what you expect when you stay on a boat and it makes for a cosy environment :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Lampard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic budget place to stay!! Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a cheap place to stay in Amsterdam. It is not the Ritz so don't go there expecting luxury, but if you're a down to earth and a relaxed person then this boat is great! Rooms aren't big but the space has been used extremely well! The rooms have all you need in them, a bed, sink, cupboard, wardrobe, coat hooks, a window and plug socket. Showers and toilets are shared facilities. There is also a lovely seating area upstairs where breakfast is severed in the mornings and you can have a drink in the evenings if you want, this is also where you check in and out. Staff were all absolutely lovely and go out of their way to help you. They are also happy for you to leave luggage if you get there before check in time or are leaving a few hours after checking out, we did this and felt are bags were very safe on the boat. This hotel boat has charm, character, friendly staff and is in a great location, really would recommend to anyone! Location is great for a base, any part of the city is easy to get to from there but it is also in a quiet area so you can get a good night's sleep without noise disturbance! You get what you pay for, so as long as you don't go there expecting posh, fancy and luxury, then you'll enjoy it!!

Disliked: The toilets and showers were meant to be separate for men and women, however ended up being unisex/both used by men and women. There were a lot more male guests then female while I was there so it didn't bother me that they used the women's showers and toilets too much and really only seemed fair, but could imagine others getting annoyed by it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jordan Lenoir

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 March 2015 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: location - the city center is reachable within 15min walk staff is friendly breakfast offer is wide rooftop terrasse which enables one to enjoy the sunset

Disliked: double rooms are in fact twin rooms - so not a good place for romantic trip very slow internet connexion, only in the breakfast room one can not throw toilet paper in the toilet only one plug in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good for reaching center. And boat atmosphere is different experience. You should try.

Disliked: If insects are too important for you, you can confront a problem. But it's not a building its a boat. Its normal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015

Liked: The beds were reasonably comfortable and heating control was a welcome comfort in cold January. The continental breakfast was also a good value.

Disliked: Beds are all bunk beds and there is nowhere to sit up properly. The location is also just far enough from central to be a bit taxing when staying multiple days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing central location. Great value. Good breakfast including lovely views over Amsterdam. Cute, cosy cabin.

Disliked: Sometimes water from the cold tap was very hot and shower was scalding. The owner was sometimes a little rude and did not go out of her way to be helpful but she did give us a useful map.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hiran Gamlath Rallage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Hiran would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, loved the friendly couple in charge. Great location and great atmosphere. We initially had our doubt s as it was a boat house but we were over the moon when we first saw it. It is so beautifully krpt, very clean and we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was simply awesome with such a great buffet.

Disliked: The cabin was a bit small but then what can you expect, it is a boat.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia M Albassini

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 August 2014 Silvia M would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Nice staff.

Disliked: Internet is very slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's incredibly well located, and has loads of character. The breakfast is excellent and it's very well run.

Disliked: The showers are quite small and a bit difficult to use due to their layout. It's not a huge problem but it might be something to take into account.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARK WRIGHT

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: A very unique experience, I have travelled a lot, but never stayed on a house boat. What a place to stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Noisy people in the early hours of the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's on the docks,on a boat..so it's already more interesting than a normal hostel.

Disliked: Because it'a boat, the space is kinda small,but it's still very nice and clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing atmosphere, clean, good breakfast and great to be on the water.

Disliked: No soap in the loos and poor directions from train station

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite novel staying on a boat, very cosy! And the breakfast are really good. Roy recommended us a good bike rental too.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely quirky place to stay with friendly staff. Excellent buffet breakfast. Centrally located - only 10 to 15 minutes to Central Station and Damrak.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The gentle rocking motion of the boat is great for sleeping :)

Disliked: Lack of sink in the 'bathroom', also the fact that the floor was always wet from the shower. And no soap anywhere!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

PAO-JU HUANG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013

Liked: Staff was nice

Disliked: The room is not clean like the photo show. The shower room is not friendly to use. The only small window in the room can't open. My body tickled from the bed I slept.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The boat does it all, very atmospheric and very "Amsterdam"

Disliked: Nothing I disliked but people shouldn't get their hopes up as for the size of the rooms. It's a boat and therefore the rooms are tiny. The price is actually very high as I wouldn't advise to really be two in their rooms for two.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alfred Joyner

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Alfred would recommend this property

Liked: Staying on a boat was a quirky and unique experience, and the Vita Nova was a great place to stay and full of character. The facilities were great, with an excellent breakfast service in the morning, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Disliked: As the boat was located in the harbour area it was a bit of a walk from the centre of the town (about 20 mins). The bedrooms were quite cramped, but as they're based in the hull of the boat, that wasn't surprising.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at a boat is a very nice experience. The staff gave good advice, friendly and helpful. Beautiful and very central location. Breakfast included. The rooms are very small but ok for a boat and with respect to the price.

Disliked: The showers weren't very nice (but they were clean). Wifi was free, but it didn't work in the room. The room was a little moist when it was raining heavily.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Petr Svec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great staff.

Disliked: The botel should lock at night plus even when the breakfast was tasteful, the variety wasn't really big.