HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vita Nova Amsterdam

Hostel

Oosterdok T/O 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 79%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Please note the following:
Check-in time is from 14.00 hrs/2 pm till 22.30 hrs/10.30 pm (we do not have a 24-hour reception)
Smoking is not permitted inside the boat. use of any kind of drugs in the hostelboat is absolutely forbidden.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 79%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, good location and satisfying breakfast.

Disliked: The room is a bit small but its a boat so we were expecting it to be so.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, the owner is willing to advise good places to visit in Amsterdam and we were given a map of the city on arrival. The location of the hostel is good also, just 15 minutes from the Station and the Red Light District. Staying on a boat was fun as it was different for us, and it had a lot of character. The breakfast buffet was lovely, different types of food available. Also very hot showers!

Disliked: Not a whole lot of space in the rooms but I guess that's what you expect when you stay on a boat and it makes for a cosy environment :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A Boat-el sings character and Vita Nova delivered. The breakfast was excellent, drinks were well priced, the boat is in walking distance of the city centre (and the excellent restaurant t'gasthuys) and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose to stay at Vita Nova again if we returned to Amsterdam, especially given the value for money involved in booking here.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Absolutely fantastic budget place to stay!! Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a cheap place to stay in Amsterdam. It is not the Ritz so don't go there expecting luxury, but if you're a down to earth and a relaxed person then this boat is great! Rooms aren't big but the space has been used extremely well! The rooms have all you need in them, a bed, sink, cupboard, wardrobe, coat hooks, a window and plug socket. Showers and toilets are shared facilities. There is also a lovely seating area upstairs where breakfast is severed in the mornings and you can have a drink in the evenings if you want, this is also where you check in and out. Staff were all absolutely lovely and go out of their way to help you. They are also happy for you to leave luggage if you get there before check in time or are leaving a few hours after checking out, we did this and felt are bags were very safe on the boat. This hotel boat has charm, character, friendly staff and is in a great location, really would recommend to anyone! Location is great for a base, any part of the city is easy to get to from there but it is also in a quiet area so you can get a good night's sleep without noise disturbance! You get what you pay for, so as long as you don't go there expecting posh, fancy and luxury, then you'll enjoy it!!

Disliked: The toilets and showers were meant to be separate for men and women, however ended up being unisex/both used by men and women. There were a lot more male guests then female while I was there so it didn't bother me that they used the women's showers and toilets too much and really only seemed fair, but could imagine others getting annoyed by it.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: location - the city center is reachable within 15min walkstaff is friendlybreakfast offer is widerooftop terrasse which enables one to enjoy the sunset

Disliked: double rooms are in fact twin rooms - so not a good place for romantic tripvery slow internet connexion, only in the breakfast roomone can not throw toilet paper in the toilet only one plug in the room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This is my third stay on the Vita Nova. I love the location as it is so close to Amsterdam Centraal. The rooms are small but cosy and quaint..what else can you expect on a boat! The dining area is fun to sit in at night and we have never had a problem with bringing in our own food in the evening. We were even offered the use of plates and cutlery. The boat is warm and clean and we have always felt welcome.

Disliked: The toilets and showers take a bit of getting use to. But if you have camped before it shouldn't be a problem. I always take a small hand towel, a small bar of soap and some hand gel. They are cleaned daily.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is very good for reaching center. And boat atmosphere is different experience. You should try.

Disliked: If insects are too important for you, you can confront a problem. But it's not a building its a boat. Its normal

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bar

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were reasonably comfortable and heating control was a welcome comfort in cold January. The continental breakfast was also a good value.

Disliked: Beds are all bunk beds and there is nowhere to sit up properly. The location is also just far enough from central to be a bit taxing when staying multiple days.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing central location.Great value.Good breakfast including lovely views over Amsterdam.Cute, cosy cabin.

Disliked: Sometimes water from the cold tap was very hot and shower was scalding.The owner was sometimes a little rude and did not go out of her way to be helpful but she did give us a useful map.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability