HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

62.7% Overall Rating

200 out of 402 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
22.32 USD

Hostel 74.7% 1134 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
43.20 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1291 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
59.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
13.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 710 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
28.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
34.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

200 out of 402 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
57.6%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 378 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aiden brenon

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 aiden would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel in the center of Amsterdam. Good value for money.

Disliked: No breakfast included

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Zer Aviv

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: good location.

Disliked: we had mice in our room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

peter crossley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Small rooms, very cramped bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap

Disliked: Weed was smoked in the room next door to us constantly and the smell came into our room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Iðunn Arnardóttir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 July 2014 Iðunn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location for a short stay in Amsterdam

Disliked: Wierd smell in the bathroom (from the drain).

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014

Liked: NOTHING, this is the hostel from hell! Do not stay here!!!

Disliked: This was the hostel from hell. We were charged for our room upon arrival, then told our room doesn't actually have a functioning lock on the door. That it had been broken and would be fixed soon. Our creepy roommates told us that it had been broken already for nearly two days, and that they had also seen rats in the room. We waited until evening when STILL nothing had been done about the lock, at which point we left. The staff was unhelpful and rude as we tried to explain why this was a problem for us. They claim to have a bag room--they don't. It's a sketchy hallway that people can walk through, and some guy who didn't speak english was "watching" the bags. They advertise as having a lounge--they don't. They advertise as having a kitchen--they don't. They also claim to have lockers in the rooms, which is true, except that not a single one in our room actually locked.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: very poor

Disliked: dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: the two very friendly receptionists, Letia and Victoria are the one great asset to this very sub standard hostel

Disliked: please read no. 2 comment

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: Customer service was good! And it was quite clean hostel even the first impression was something other

Disliked: Stairs! Scary and steep! Atmosphere and location are good for coffee shop visitors but not for this kind of non-smokers. I didnt like that the bathroom was in front of our beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: overpriced, the stairs were like ladders and the toilet stunk out the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Wahnon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and eager to help. Brilliant location and easy to find. Would definitely come here again.

Disliked: No issues. You get what you pay for.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014

Liked: eigentlich mochte ich nichts so sehr, dass ich das hier reinschreiben könnte

Disliked: - schlechte Lage (mitten im Rotlicht und Kneipenviertel) - unfreundliche Mitarbeiter - keine richtigen Decken, sondern nur Laken und Wolldecken (die stinken und waren verklebt) - dreckig - ekliges Bad, das nie geputzt wurde

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and close to the central train station. The place has character. Watch out for the crazy stairs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

dung nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 dung would recommend this property

Liked: Basic budget hostel. The biggest advantage is its location. 5mins walking to center station, in the heart of Redlight district. Small room with 10 beds. Stayed for only 1 night so it's ok.

Disliked: dung left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and convenient.

Disliked: There are rats everywhere in Amsterdam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Swen Schneider

Alone

City break

21 May 2014 Swen would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located. Nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Swen left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

muhammed kursun

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: they do not enough key and

Disliked: muhammed left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Keren Leiman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Keren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely nice and helpful. They really went out of their way to help us. The stairs are extremely steep and quite fun. Not if you have a suitcase though.

Disliked: It was quite dirty. The bathrooms had no ventilation and were pretty gross.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014

Liked: It is located right in the downtown area near Dam Square and other landmarks.

Disliked: Property was not clean. The washroom did not have a proper shower; the wasn't separate stations for the toilet and the shower, which was unsanitary. There also isn't any privacy for changing clothes. Since the washroom floor is always wet , its hard to keep your clothes dry.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Esteban araya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty and room wasn't cleaned for two days

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Elliott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the facilities were as expected.

Disliked: Steep stairs as everywhere in Amsterdam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Falcao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, also the discount on the crepes and waffles place and a pub down the road was really great. Rooms were okay, clean and decent beds.

Disliked: The hostel has a lot of stairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Maguire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms got cleaned every day, which I found surprisingly since most hostels I stayed at don't. Lockers in the room to keep your valuables save, very useful in a big city like Amsterdam. I Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't have a common room thus other then your room mates it's difficult to meet fellow travelers.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: Central location, albeit near all the tourists and sex shops.

Disliked: The stairs are more like ladders and we were on the fourth floor with no lift... it sucks trying to carry luggage up. Bathrooms smell and were dirty. We were kicked out of our room after two days; it seemed like they just overbooked and didn't bother telling us, then they couldn't organise our other room so we had to hang around for hours waiting. It was pretty disorganised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Schilt

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: When you pay just a tenner per night, you should not have too high expectations. Staff is awesome, Letizia gave me some good tips and they let me sleep a bit longer.

Disliked: No kitchen, no common areas. (they sell snacks though and you get some discount in a pub nearby)