We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

65.6% Overall Rating

218 out of 429 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Natasha Nakhleh thinks…

"Great location! Beds are comfortable and people staying our room were nice as well"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
22.24 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1165 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
11.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 761 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
43.38 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
26.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.6% 323 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
40.32 USD

Hostel 78.9% 5 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.48 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1332 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

218 out of 429 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 404 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really good location

Disliked: The really steep stairs

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tomáš Vokatý

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

29 April 2015

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location in the city center.

Disliked: Rooms are equipped very spartan. The room could be at least a small table, chairs and a coat rack.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natasha Nakhleh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Beds are comfortable and people staying our room were nice as well

Disliked: only one shower and toilet for 10 people, the church bell rings every 15 minutes (even at night), no small light for the bed (either the whole room is 100% bright or dark)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located, staff is kind n helpful, prob best property you can get in amsterdam if u on a budget must try crepes at the shop next door!

Disliked: only negative thing i noted is the steep n narrow staircase Apart from that thumbs up

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything. Locks were broken so nothing was secure, not clean, didn't look anything like advertised online.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rafael Matsumoto

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Janelle L'Hirondelle

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2014 Janelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, decently clean room, and affordable. They also give u a discount to the crepes and waffles shop next door as well as an Irish pub a little ways down the street.

Disliked: The stairs were quite steep, so keep this in mind if bringing heavy luggage.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Peter Holmes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a good cheap hostel with no frills. You can't go far wrong with this. You get what you pay for. Stayed in a 8 bed room. Met a good bunch of guys and had a great laugh.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit steep and bedding didn't get changed as much as I'd like but for the price I wasn't overly fussed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jenny Ferdinand

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Went here with a group of girls and despite the location in the center of a big city we felt safe throughout the whole stay.

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejo Juiterez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Alejo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if u don't want to spend to much money. Nice staff and decent, clean rooms

Disliked: Because of the location it was a bit noisy during the weekend nights.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

neil blacklock

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2014 neil would recommend this property

Liked: Acheap hostel centrally located for red light district!

Disliked: No common room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014

Liked: Not Much

Disliked: The rooms were not clean ad i had bed bugs in my bunk. I was bitten all over and came out in massive rashes with puss.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Seval Kilic

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 September 2014 Seval would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good. I stayed in 10 persons room and room has quite space between beds. There is a big lcd tv although noone turned it on because almost always someone sleeping, the hostel is for sleeping for sure :) bathroom was inside of room and loo was seperate and inside room with a mirror and foam soap so it was ok. Although beds are small it was comfortable.

Disliked: I was staying at second floor, there was wifi problem so there is no wifi. Bathroom was stinking and too dirty. Stairs were horrifying, there was no wifi and there is no space in hostel to sit and use the internet. Sheets were dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanon Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Shanon would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time here, toilet sect and beds were clean. Loud street outside but that's a given with the location, brilliant location, not too far from anything. Staff very friendly brilliant cheap bar next to hostel too. After staying in a nasty cheap one in Amsterdam before it was really a lot better than I expected. Would defo stay again.

Disliked: Shanon left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good loation. Good value. Accomodating staff. 24 Hour reception.

Disliked: No kitchen. No Wi-Fi in room-had to go downstairs to Wi-Fi area. Noisy at night. No ladders on bunk beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aiden brenon

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 aiden would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel in the center of Amsterdam. Good value for money.

Disliked: No breakfast included

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Zer Aviv

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: good location.

Disliked: we had mice in our room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

peter crossley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Small rooms, very cramped bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014

Liked: The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap

Disliked: Weed was smoked in the room next door to us constantly and the smell came into our room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Iðunn Arnardóttir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 July 2014 Iðunn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location for a short stay in Amsterdam

Disliked: Wierd smell in the bathroom (from the drain).

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014

Liked: NOTHING, this is the hostel from hell! Do not stay here!!!

Disliked: This was the hostel from hell. We were charged for our room upon arrival, then told our room doesn't actually have a functioning lock on the door. That it had been broken and would be fixed soon. Our creepy roommates told us that it had been broken already for nearly two days, and that they had also seen rats in the room. We waited until evening when STILL nothing had been done about the lock, at which point we left. The staff was unhelpful and rude as we tried to explain why this was a problem for us. They claim to have a bag room--they don't. It's a sketchy hallway that people can walk through, and some guy who didn't speak english was "watching" the bags. They advertise as having a lounge--they don't. They advertise as having a kitchen--they don't. They also claim to have lockers in the rooms, which is true, except that not a single one in our room actually locked.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014

Liked: very poor

Disliked: dirty

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014

Liked: the two very friendly receptionists, Letia and Victoria are the one great asset to this very sub standard hostel

Disliked: please read no. 2 comment

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: Customer service was good! And it was quite clean hostel even the first impression was something other

Disliked: Stairs! Scary and steep! Atmosphere and location are good for coffee shop visitors but not for this kind of non-smokers. I didnt like that the bathroom was in front of our beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: overpriced, the stairs were like ladders and the toilet stunk out the room.