We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

63.4% Overall Rating

221 out of 435 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2015)

Savannah Powers thinks…

"Was located in the center of the redlight district with coffee shops and bars all around,"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
32.92 USD

Hostel 75.3% 1176 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
32.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.9% 768 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
38.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.41 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
43.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
38.41 USD

Hostel 76.3% 7 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
43.79 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.4%

Overall Rating

221 out of 435 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.8%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 282 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011

Liked: only good is you can use their pc internet free of charge.

Disliked: too expensive for this kind of accommodation. you could find better price for the similar condition, just opposite of the street, the hostel offer much better price. people smoke in the room even at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011

Liked: The location was great. Free lockers and wifi.

Disliked: We felt that several of the amenities offered by this hostel were well below what you would expect, even from a budget hostel. These include: - the reception was located in the back of a waffle shop next door to the hostel. (This waffle shop is what they refer to as a "restaurant" in their description. - the staff were useless, offering no information or help. On the whole, they were apathetic. - the stairs into the hostel were treacherous. - the staff were slow to clean (for example, vomit on a flight of stairs remained there for an entire day) - carpets were dirty - rooms were poorly designed (our sink was outside the bathroom) - bathrooms were dirty We would not recommend hostel croydon to anyone

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ely Battalen

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

26 May 2011 Ely would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and waffles with nutella. its in the middle of the red lite district. the middle. as in when i showed up a greek guy in my room blazed one with me.

Disliked: did not shower- yikes! and i got spider bites(i hope they were spiders)!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. The street is always vibrant and lively.

Disliked: The lack of kitchens or any sort of cooking facilities, the shower wasn't that great (pressure-wise), the wi-fi was pretty dodgy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leigh Fidock

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was easily the best thing about the hostel croyden - About a five minute walk from the central train station and right on the edge of the red light district. I stayed here on a stag weekend so this was ideal. The price, all things considered is relatively cheap. The place was clean enough and the wetroom/bathroom/toilet was fine. As far as security goes each room has it's own key and the entrance has a security door.. well, you show your room card to one of the staff in the waffle shop next door and they buzz you in. This was a nice unexpected addition.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say really, you get what you pay for! Which in this case happens to be a no frills, warm, dry room in the centre of Amsterdam! What more could you want?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Dhananjay KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2011

Liked: Free Wi-fi, Free towels & Bed sheets......that's it....:(

Disliked: Every thing apart from above said comment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has the best location and very helpful staff. its clean keeping in mind its a hostel.

Disliked: nothing actually its pretty decent for a hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very good location in the heart of amsterdam for a little money

Disliked: not verz clean

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011

Liked: The location was amazing

Disliked: there was a probem with our booking and we ended up in a small basement room with no en suite and no window!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located RIGHT in hustle and bustle of the Dam. 24 hour reception is great and we met some friends there too.

Disliked: The bad reviews! We were really worried we'd booked somewhere disastrous but we got what we paid for.... a clean bed in a mixed dorm with a "private bathroom" which wasn't sparkling but it had a nice powerful shower! In small print it says you have to pay city tax.... we didn't know this until arrival :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Blackwood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to rest my head after the joys of Amsterdam, nothing fancy just what was needed.

Disliked: Didn't have a front key, so had to buzz, but they usually promptly let you in.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: 1. There was a mouse in my room, and it ate my cookies! Even if I told the staff, they did nothing! Thus, I slept with a mouse for 5 days! 2. Cannot use wifi in room 3. The room wasn't cleaned everyday!

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: horrible. mouse in our room. rude, unhelpful, clueless staff. the most treacherous stairs i have ever encountered. worst place ive ever stayed, easily. AVOID

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011

Liked: central to all sites

Disliked: un clean shower. stairs to hard to get up. no lift. mixed rooms in dorm.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victor Pescador

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011

Liked: Really good location, and very cheap

Disliked: Everything elese

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: broken lockers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 February 2011

Liked: The people who i met and the location.

Disliked: Staffs and the toilets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: Great location for visiting the Red Light District and the coffee shops, but can be loud

Disliked: The bathrooms have an unbareable stench

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: stairs!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to red light

Disliked: very steep stairs

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2011

Liked: i guess if you want to be central and right in the middle of the red light district the location is good

Disliked: the staff were distinctly unfriendly quotes include "not everythings for free" when asking for a plastic cup and "who do you think you are" when asking why we were charged charged a higher price than someone else. The bathroom smelled so strongly of 'dirty old man' we had to keep the door closed at all times, they decided 7am was a good time to do construction work at our door, free internet was one computer, free breakfast was minimal to say the least. it was very noisey but i guess thats what you get so central our main problem really was the rude staff who made us pay one price, quoted a lower price to another customer and got abusive when questioned about this.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this place was the location - but there are lots of others in the same area... Find somewhere else!

Disliked: The cleanliness was terrible (we saw a mouse in our room). The staff were not friendly or helpful - in fact the only time we got a smile was when we were leaving. Getting information out of them was like pulling teeth. The breakfast was terrible - two slices of bread with a guard watching over to make sure no one took more than their two slices of bread. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone - it was by far the worst hostel we've stayed in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff...

Disliked: room standard low.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to the central station lockers in dorms really useful

Disliked: room was kind of crowded, bathroom not very clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

barbara faraboschi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010

Liked: good location,

Disliked: its really expensive, and its not worth it! the staff is really rude, the bathrooms are dirrty