We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

68.1% Overall Rating

210 out of 413 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/11/2014)

Janelle L'Hirondelle thinks…

"Great location, decently clean room, and affordable. They also give u a discount to the crepes and waffles shop next door as well as an Irish pub a little ways down the street."

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1144 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
11.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 720 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
30.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

210 out of 413 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 389 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located RIGHT in hustle and bustle of the Dam. 24 hour reception is great and we met some friends there too.

Disliked: The bad reviews! We were really worried we'd booked somewhere disastrous but we got what we paid for.... a clean bed in a mixed dorm with a "private bathroom" which wasn't sparkling but it had a nice powerful shower! In small print it says you have to pay city tax.... we didn't know this until arrival :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Blackwood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to rest my head after the joys of Amsterdam, nothing fancy just what was needed.

Disliked: Didn't have a front key, so had to buzz, but they usually promptly let you in.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: 1. There was a mouse in my room, and it ate my cookies! Even if I told the staff, they did nothing! Thus, I slept with a mouse for 5 days! 2. Cannot use wifi in room 3. The room wasn't cleaned everyday!

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: horrible. mouse in our room. rude, unhelpful, clueless staff. the most treacherous stairs i have ever encountered. worst place ive ever stayed, easily. AVOID

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011

Liked: central to all sites

Disliked: un clean shower. stairs to hard to get up. no lift. mixed rooms in dorm.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victor Pescador

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011

Liked: Really good location, and very cheap

Disliked: Everything elese

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: broken lockers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 February 2011

Liked: The people who i met and the location.

Disliked: Staffs and the toilets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: Great location for visiting the Red Light District and the coffee shops, but can be loud

Disliked: The bathrooms have an unbareable stench

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: stairs!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to red light

Disliked: very steep stairs

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2011

Liked: i guess if you want to be central and right in the middle of the red light district the location is good

Disliked: the staff were distinctly unfriendly quotes include "not everythings for free" when asking for a plastic cup and "who do you think you are" when asking why we were charged charged a higher price than someone else. The bathroom smelled so strongly of 'dirty old man' we had to keep the door closed at all times, they decided 7am was a good time to do construction work at our door, free internet was one computer, free breakfast was minimal to say the least. it was very noisey but i guess thats what you get so central our main problem really was the rude staff who made us pay one price, quoted a lower price to another customer and got abusive when questioned about this.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this place was the location - but there are lots of others in the same area... Find somewhere else!

Disliked: The cleanliness was terrible (we saw a mouse in our room). The staff were not friendly or helpful - in fact the only time we got a smile was when we were leaving. Getting information out of them was like pulling teeth. The breakfast was terrible - two slices of bread with a guard watching over to make sure no one took more than their two slices of bread. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone - it was by far the worst hostel we've stayed in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff...

Disliked: room standard low.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to the central station lockers in dorms really useful

Disliked: room was kind of crowded, bathroom not very clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

barbara faraboschi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010

Liked: good location,

Disliked: its really expensive, and its not worth it! the staff is really rude, the bathrooms are dirrty

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 October 2010

Liked: It was kinda cheap

Disliked: You got no breakfast and the staff wasn't very helpfull. The place had some junk all over the corridors.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gregor Reti

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2010

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Moldy, smelly, beaten-up furnitures, chipped walls, chipped furniture No-care/No-love environment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity,

Disliked: Not a good Internet connection in 1st and 2nd floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2010

Liked: Extremely close to the station.

Disliked: Very dirty. Hygiene questionable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

14 September 2010

Liked: The situation in the city, the quality of the bed, really friendly and helping staff, the lockers.

Disliked: The bathroom who was not really clean and not in a good shape, the guys in the room who where smoking (not related specifically to the hotel) but it happened with total 14 guys (3 different groups), so ! No wifi in the room, only in the lounge area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ayman Azri Ali Aspar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Ayman Azri would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff.

Disliked: could have been cheaper

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: Location, open 24/7

Disliked: Ensuite bathroom stank, floors were dirty, the stairs were terribly steep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: Abrupt check out time and was bitten and mouse trap under bed...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff not really nice and welcoming