HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

63.1% Overall Rating

201 out of 403 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
22.31 USD

Hostel 74.7% 1134 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
44.49 USD

Hostel 92.8% 1292 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
59.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
19.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 710 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.81 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
28.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
35.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.1%

Overall Rating

201 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
58.4%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: stairs!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to red light

Disliked: very steep stairs

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2011

Liked: i guess if you want to be central and right in the middle of the red light district the location is good

Disliked: the staff were distinctly unfriendly quotes include "not everythings for free" when asking for a plastic cup and "who do you think you are" when asking why we were charged charged a higher price than someone else. The bathroom smelled so strongly of 'dirty old man' we had to keep the door closed at all times, they decided 7am was a good time to do construction work at our door, free internet was one computer, free breakfast was minimal to say the least. it was very noisey but i guess thats what you get so central our main problem really was the rude staff who made us pay one price, quoted a lower price to another customer and got abusive when questioned about this.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this place was the location - but there are lots of others in the same area... Find somewhere else!

Disliked: The cleanliness was terrible (we saw a mouse in our room). The staff were not friendly or helpful - in fact the only time we got a smile was when we were leaving. Getting information out of them was like pulling teeth. The breakfast was terrible - two slices of bread with a guard watching over to make sure no one took more than their two slices of bread. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone - it was by far the worst hostel we've stayed in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff...

Disliked: room standard low.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to the central station lockers in dorms really useful

Disliked: room was kind of crowded, bathroom not very clean

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

barbara faraboschi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010

Liked: good location,

Disliked: its really expensive, and its not worth it! the staff is really rude, the bathrooms are dirrty

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 October 2010

Liked: It was kinda cheap

Disliked: You got no breakfast and the staff wasn't very helpfull. The place had some junk all over the corridors.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gregor Reti

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2010

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Moldy, smelly, beaten-up furnitures, chipped walls, chipped furniture No-care/No-love environment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity,

Disliked: Not a good Internet connection in 1st and 2nd floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2010

Liked: Extremely close to the station.

Disliked: Very dirty. Hygiene questionable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

14 September 2010

Liked: The situation in the city, the quality of the bed, really friendly and helping staff, the lockers.

Disliked: The bathroom who was not really clean and not in a good shape, the guys in the room who where smoking (not related specifically to the hotel) but it happened with total 14 guys (3 different groups), so ! No wifi in the room, only in the lounge area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ayman Azri Ali Aspar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Ayman Azri would recommend this property

Liked: location, helpful staff.

Disliked: could have been cheaper

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: Location, open 24/7

Disliked: Ensuite bathroom stank, floors were dirty, the stairs were terribly steep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: Abrupt check out time and was bitten and mouse trap under bed...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: staff not really nice and welcoming

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!! Great little coffee shop next door! 3 minute walk to RLD, 1 minute walk to Dam square! If you want a place to stay and not bothered what it is like hostle croydon is the one for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Marina Gosatti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: internet free and is near the train station

Disliked: very noisy and the rooms are too small. Is smelly and not very clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kevin Doyle

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

13 August 2010

Liked: It was a place to sleep. Honestly, I was sick that night and hardly noticed my surroundings. The blanket on the bed was very cozy.

Disliked: Those lockers are ready to fall apart, so it wouldn't be hard for someone to break them open. It's as basic as it gets, so don't expect to be amazed by decor or comfort. There was a broken chair in my room. It's in the Red Light District, so if you want to avoid that scene, don't stay here.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

03 August 2010

Liked: Location and internet are the only great things about it. Other than that, I would pay a little more money for other hostels around there.

Disliked: My friend and I stayed a night and woke up with bed bug bites. Not sure if they wash their sheets/blankets all that well, but the mattress we slept on must have been old and nasty. Because of this I regret staying there. Otherwise, it would have been acceptable considering I was on a budget. I would pay more money just for a clean bed where I don't have to worry about getting bitten at night. Out of the many hostels I've stayed at in Europe, this one is the worst. But if you don't plan on sleeping and just need a shower, by all means stay here. You can't beat the location and the reception area is decent.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of all the hustle and bustle of the city

Disliked: There were mice in the rooms The shower would flood the bathroom every time They didn't serve breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Chia Wei Phan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Chia Wei would recommend this property

Liked: ok this place is at the centre of Amsterdam! just few walks from the red light distirct and china town, very very lively! the hostel is very near to central also, very very near. internet for customers is free and you can transfer your picture there.

Disliked: the staircase is too steep, so travel light, if not you will have hard time to go up the stairs. breakfast however is not included

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Matthew Cousins

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, only a few minutes walk from Central station, meaning we could fly into Schiphol and then get a train pretty much to the hostel, with just a few minutes walk. Also, it was very close to everything else such as the Red Light District, shopping, bars and clubs etc. Coffee shop just over the road ;) The staff were quite nice in reception.

Disliked: Someone had urinated in my bed when I had got in late one night, which wasn't pleasant. The room was unbearably hot at night, eventhough I slept next to the window! No kitchen for backpackers either.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ian doherty

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2010

Liked: great location. Nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: Standard of room and facilities. Also the heat at top floor was unpleasant and not easy to climb stairs.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 July 2010

Liked: Just location.

Disliked: The staff is not friendly at all. The rooms are really dirty. There are even rats. The bathrooms are a mess. The rooms are not secure. Your belongings can be stolen (As we suffered) Different prices for the beds depending on the mood of the stuff. they even overbook the rooms. The price is not according to the quality of the place.