HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

62.3% Overall Rating

196 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
37.57 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.05 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

196 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maria Soares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: EVERYTHING, THE WORSE HOSTEL THAT i EVER BEEN TO... BESIDES THE LOCATION THAT IS IN THE CENTER, IN THE HEART OF THE RED DISTRICT, FOR WHO WANST FUN IS FINE BECAUSE YOU ARE GOING TO BE AWAKE FOR THE NOISE THE WHOLE NUGHT... HORRIBLE PLACE!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 June 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stuff can not do anything about guys smoking joint in the room! Quite dirty place. no wifi upstairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Leah Beresford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, helpful staff & clean for hostel standards. To address the comments on trip advisor about the stairs: Yes, they were steep and perhaps difficult to climb with a large suitcase. However the people writing these comments must not have been to many other buildings in Amsterdam, as I found that this style of staircase was quite common in the older buildings. YES, it is a bit of a challenge to get all your stuff up those stairs, and stumbling home at the end of the night becomes a bit more interesting, but do NOT let those comments alone deter you from staying at an otherwise good hostel.

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 10 people dorm... and were expecting to be a bit uncomfortable, but it wasn't at all... every room has its own bathroom (private toilet and shower) we were lucky with the roomates we had... and the place was decently clean... The location is quite good, very close to the train station. take in count that this hostel is located in the red district, this means you will be very close to cofee shops, sex shops, and prostitutes... everything is near by.

Disliked: The price you think is not the final price, when you get there they charge you for the taxes :S ... ohhh and you have to show a silly card everytime you come to the hostel, there's no kitchen, and nobody uses the common space because is dark, and hidden behind a waffle's shop.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011

Liked: only good is you can use their pc internet free of charge.

Disliked: too expensive for this kind of accommodation. you could find better price for the similar condition, just opposite of the street, the hostel offer much better price. people smoke in the room even at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011

Liked: The location was great. Free lockers and wifi.

Disliked: We felt that several of the amenities offered by this hostel were well below what you would expect, even from a budget hostel. These include: - the reception was located in the back of a waffle shop next door to the hostel. (This waffle shop is what they refer to as a "restaurant" in their description. - the staff were useless, offering no information or help. On the whole, they were apathetic. - the stairs into the hostel were treacherous. - the staff were slow to clean (for example, vomit on a flight of stairs remained there for an entire day) - carpets were dirty - rooms were poorly designed (our sink was outside the bathroom) - bathrooms were dirty We would not recommend hostel croydon to anyone

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ely Battalen

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

26 May 2011 Ely would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and waffles with nutella. its in the middle of the red lite district. the middle. as in when i showed up a greek guy in my room blazed one with me.

Disliked: did not shower- yikes! and i got spider bites(i hope they were spiders)!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. The street is always vibrant and lively.

Disliked: The lack of kitchens or any sort of cooking facilities, the shower wasn't that great (pressure-wise), the wi-fi was pretty dodgy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leigh Fidock

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was easily the best thing about the hostel croyden - About a five minute walk from the central train station and right on the edge of the red light district. I stayed here on a stag weekend so this was ideal. The price, all things considered is relatively cheap. The place was clean enough and the wetroom/bathroom/toilet was fine. As far as security goes each room has it's own key and the entrance has a security door.. well, you show your room card to one of the staff in the waffle shop next door and they buzz you in. This was a nice unexpected addition.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say really, you get what you pay for! Which in this case happens to be a no frills, warm, dry room in the centre of Amsterdam! What more could you want?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Dhananjay KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2011

Liked: Free Wi-fi, Free towels & Bed sheets......that's it....:(

Disliked: Every thing apart from above said comment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has the best location and very helpful staff. its clean keeping in mind its a hostel.

Disliked: nothing actually its pretty decent for a hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very good location in the heart of amsterdam for a little money

Disliked: not verz clean

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011

Liked: The location was amazing

Disliked: there was a probem with our booking and we ended up in a small basement room with no en suite and no window!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located RIGHT in hustle and bustle of the Dam. 24 hour reception is great and we met some friends there too.

Disliked: The bad reviews! We were really worried we'd booked somewhere disastrous but we got what we paid for.... a clean bed in a mixed dorm with a "private bathroom" which wasn't sparkling but it had a nice powerful shower! In small print it says you have to pay city tax.... we didn't know this until arrival :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Blackwood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to rest my head after the joys of Amsterdam, nothing fancy just what was needed.

Disliked: Didn't have a front key, so had to buzz, but they usually promptly let you in.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: 1. There was a mouse in my room, and it ate my cookies! Even if I told the staff, they did nothing! Thus, I slept with a mouse for 5 days! 2. Cannot use wifi in room 3. The room wasn't cleaned everyday!

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: horrible. mouse in our room. rude, unhelpful, clueless staff. the most treacherous stairs i have ever encountered. worst place ive ever stayed, easily. AVOID

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011

Liked: central to all sites

Disliked: un clean shower. stairs to hard to get up. no lift. mixed rooms in dorm.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victor Pescador

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011

Liked: Really good location, and very cheap

Disliked: Everything elese

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: broken lockers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 February 2011

Liked: The people who i met and the location.

Disliked: Staffs and the toilets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: Great location for visiting the Red Light District and the coffee shops, but can be loud

Disliked: The bathrooms have an unbareable stench

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: stairs!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to red light

Disliked: very steep stairs

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2011

Liked: i guess if you want to be central and right in the middle of the red light district the location is good

Disliked: the staff were distinctly unfriendly quotes include "not everythings for free" when asking for a plastic cup and "who do you think you are" when asking why we were charged charged a higher price than someone else. The bathroom smelled so strongly of 'dirty old man' we had to keep the door closed at all times, they decided 7am was a good time to do construction work at our door, free internet was one computer, free breakfast was minimal to say the least. it was very noisey but i guess thats what you get so central our main problem really was the rude staff who made us pay one price, quoted a lower price to another customer and got abusive when questioned about this.

The property's response is...