We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

65.4% Overall Rating

205 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Seval Kilic thinks…

"Location is really good. I stayed in 10 persons room and room has quite space between beds. There is a big lcd tv although noone turned it on because almost always someone sleeping, the hostel is for…"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1138 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
36.12 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
58.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
18.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 715 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.84 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
Dam Hotel
25.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
32.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 152 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

205 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 384 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, you could come any time in night, there was allways soebody who opened the door.

Disliked: the beds are too short, in the price is no breakfast included

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: That it was seperated from the cafe and that the staff spoke very poor engish.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: somebody slept on my bed in the first day, and there was no staff to help me!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is exactly what it says it is. A central place to get you head down in the middle of all the action for a reasonable price. Fantastic location!

Disliked: I didnt like how steep the stairs were, but most staircases are really steep in Amsterdam. Also my advice would be to put food in the lockers, so you dont have mice eating your food like we did (as soon as the food was away we had no more visits from the mice).

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mikael Heroux Vaillancourt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, if you are not peaky this is really ok.

Disliked: only one bathroom per dorm.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing. Like, you can't do much better than that. And I met some really cool people who were staying in my room the first night I got there, so it was fun just hanging out in the room.

Disliked: The shower and the rest of the bathroom share the same floor. So that was kind of gross. Everything else was pretty much what I expected (maybe a little better, after all the horror stories I heard)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing but nice people all around. The stairs were something else - I was staying in room 7 so I had to go up three sets of those wild stairs to get to my room. Those stairs man... they're a real conversation piece... Loved'em. The location is unbeatable - I mean, this place is right in the middle of the Red Light district. The reception has a choice position at the back of a waffle shop next door that's open 'till at least 1 am. I stayed three nights (Thursday through Sunday) with a friend while we were there and would highly recommend Hotel Croydon to anyone that's passing through for a few days and just needs the bare minimum.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike, the room, the lockers, the people were all top but I'd definitely suggest bringing sandals for the shower! It shares a floor with the very near toilet - it's almost impossible to take a shower without getting the toilet wet it's so close. Cozy place, best location in town, great prices.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maria Soares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011

Liked: NOTHING!

Disliked: EVERYTHING, THE WORSE HOSTEL THAT i EVER BEEN TO... BESIDES THE LOCATION THAT IS IN THE CENTER, IN THE HEART OF THE RED DISTRICT, FOR WHO WANST FUN IS FINE BECAUSE YOU ARE GOING TO BE AWAKE FOR THE NOISE THE WHOLE NUGHT... HORRIBLE PLACE!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 June 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stuff can not do anything about guys smoking joint in the room! Quite dirty place. no wifi upstairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Leah Beresford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, helpful staff & clean for hostel standards. To address the comments on trip advisor about the stairs: Yes, they were steep and perhaps difficult to climb with a large suitcase. However the people writing these comments must not have been to many other buildings in Amsterdam, as I found that this style of staircase was quite common in the older buildings. YES, it is a bit of a challenge to get all your stuff up those stairs, and stumbling home at the end of the night becomes a bit more interesting, but do NOT let those comments alone deter you from staying at an otherwise good hostel.

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 10 people dorm... and were expecting to be a bit uncomfortable, but it wasn't at all... every room has its own bathroom (private toilet and shower) we were lucky with the roomates we had... and the place was decently clean... The location is quite good, very close to the train station. take in count that this hostel is located in the red district, this means you will be very close to cofee shops, sex shops, and prostitutes... everything is near by.

Disliked: The price you think is not the final price, when you get there they charge you for the taxes :S ... ohhh and you have to show a silly card everytime you come to the hostel, there's no kitchen, and nobody uses the common space because is dark, and hidden behind a waffle's shop.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011

Liked: only good is you can use their pc internet free of charge.

Disliked: too expensive for this kind of accommodation. you could find better price for the similar condition, just opposite of the street, the hostel offer much better price. people smoke in the room even at night.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011

Liked: The location was great. Free lockers and wifi.

Disliked: We felt that several of the amenities offered by this hostel were well below what you would expect, even from a budget hostel. These include: - the reception was located in the back of a waffle shop next door to the hostel. (This waffle shop is what they refer to as a "restaurant" in their description. - the staff were useless, offering no information or help. On the whole, they were apathetic. - the stairs into the hostel were treacherous. - the staff were slow to clean (for example, vomit on a flight of stairs remained there for an entire day) - carpets were dirty - rooms were poorly designed (our sink was outside the bathroom) - bathrooms were dirty We would not recommend hostel croydon to anyone

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ely Battalen

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

26 May 2011 Ely would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi and waffles with nutella. its in the middle of the red lite district. the middle. as in when i showed up a greek guy in my room blazed one with me.

Disliked: did not shower- yikes! and i got spider bites(i hope they were spiders)!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. The street is always vibrant and lively.

Disliked: The lack of kitchens or any sort of cooking facilities, the shower wasn't that great (pressure-wise), the wi-fi was pretty dodgy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leigh Fidock

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was easily the best thing about the hostel croyden - About a five minute walk from the central train station and right on the edge of the red light district. I stayed here on a stag weekend so this was ideal. The price, all things considered is relatively cheap. The place was clean enough and the wetroom/bathroom/toilet was fine. As far as security goes each room has it's own key and the entrance has a security door.. well, you show your room card to one of the staff in the waffle shop next door and they buzz you in. This was a nice unexpected addition.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say really, you get what you pay for! Which in this case happens to be a no frills, warm, dry room in the centre of Amsterdam! What more could you want?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Dhananjay KUMAR

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2011

Liked: Free Wi-fi, Free towels & Bed sheets......that's it....:(

Disliked: Every thing apart from above said comment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has the best location and very helpful staff. its clean keeping in mind its a hostel.

Disliked: nothing actually its pretty decent for a hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very good location in the heart of amsterdam for a little money

Disliked: not verz clean

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011

Liked: The location was amazing

Disliked: there was a probem with our booking and we ended up in a small basement room with no en suite and no window!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located RIGHT in hustle and bustle of the Dam. 24 hour reception is great and we met some friends there too.

Disliked: The bad reviews! We were really worried we'd booked somewhere disastrous but we got what we paid for.... a clean bed in a mixed dorm with a "private bathroom" which wasn't sparkling but it had a nice powerful shower! In small print it says you have to pay city tax.... we didn't know this until arrival :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Blackwood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to rest my head after the joys of Amsterdam, nothing fancy just what was needed.

Disliked: Didn't have a front key, so had to buzz, but they usually promptly let you in.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: 1. There was a mouse in my room, and it ate my cookies! Even if I told the staff, they did nothing! Thus, I slept with a mouse for 5 days! 2. Cannot use wifi in room 3. The room wasn't cleaned everyday!

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: horrible. mouse in our room. rude, unhelpful, clueless staff. the most treacherous stairs i have ever encountered. worst place ive ever stayed, easily. AVOID

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011

Liked: central to all sites

Disliked: un clean shower. stairs to hard to get up. no lift. mixed rooms in dorm.