We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

67.3% Overall Rating

216 out of 425 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Natasha Nakhleh thinks…

"Great location! Beds are comfortable and people staying our room were nice as well"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
11.17 USD

Hostel 79.9% 1162 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
11.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 756 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 122 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
43.55 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
22.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
27.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.7% 154 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
39.08 USD

Hostel 75.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.3%

Overall Rating

216 out of 425 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 278 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and ease

Disliked: The steepist stairs in the world

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Messina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, on the backside of the RLD so not super loud

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Travis Holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,friendly staff, amazing downstairs waffle shop.

Disliked: Everything was good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jones David

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Jones would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and it was fantastic! Great location and great people.The bathroom was ok

Disliked: noisy from street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Scott Stephone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh linen, and free towels was a lovely surprise

Disliked: nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, but mostly the staff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011

Liked: Cheap & good location.

Disliked: There is no common to hang out in the hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011

Liked: The location was great the proximity to central station made getting around very easy. I also appreciated the free map and different discounts offered

Disliked: On my second morning I stade in bed a bit later because I was sick and even though I was in the room 2 staff members came in to clean up while speaking loudly. It was very rude and rather upsetting at the time

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011

Liked: worst hostell...

Disliked: worst hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In red light district, lots of cafes around the hostel, easy to access to everywhere we going, its perfect.

Disliked: BIG STEP stairs, harder go up wit suitcase, toilet with shower is out of private room which i thought private room meaning toilet in the room but obviously its not,. its 1 toilet with shower between two room via 4 peoples in each room, its not enough as all of us had 2 wait 4 our turn to have shower or toilet whichs hassles.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011

Liked: stuff was very friendly, location and price is ok

Disliked: Lot of noice from outside but also in the hostel itslef- quite hard to fell a sleep. Not really clean.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Showers were filthy. No TV or living area even though it said it did. Too expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lalitkumar chhajed

Alone

City break

24 September 2011 lalitkumar would recommend this property

Liked: Area

Disliked: need more safety and cleanness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the owner, he was really friendly and helpful. They also had a waffle shop underneath the hostel that smelled super delicious in the morning. It was located in the red light district so it was super close to everything and the main train station. The beds were clean and the people were nice.

Disliked: I didn't like the morning receptionist, he was highly unhelpful, unfriendly and somewhat rude.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

renata morais

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 renata would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: a lot of stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, beds comfortable.

Disliked: receptionist was unhelpful and grumpy. shower wasnt very clean.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Rude receptionist. Obviously incapable of booking the correct amount of guests.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

09 September 2011

Liked: Great location and staffs are friendly

Disliked: facilties and services offer. Toilets were dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011

Liked: you were close to everything.

Disliked: It really smelled like crepes in the whole building, because there is a Creperie beneath all of the rooms. Our room was overbooked and we only got 2 beds instead of 3, and we did not get any money back!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: Location and staff were good. Free WiFi and its fast.

Disliked: Filthy and depressing room. Fleas or bedbugs bit us every night. If we opened window, smell of faceaes filled the room. Rats roaming round out the window.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Don Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Basics are all covered and the facilities are generally good.

Disliked: late night attendant was a bit of a pain.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sophie Brownson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant, and the crepe house downstairs smells good, they give you a discount wristband too whch is great.

Disliked: Cramped not too clean rooms, did have a cleaner but hard to get round so many beds so only bathroom got cleaned really. And price, so expensive!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011

Liked: NOTHING, I wouldn´t recommend it even to my worst enemy.

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Garbage bags piled up not only in the yard but also across the whole corridor; a mouse running around; disgusting bathrooms (shared with other rooms of course, even though I paid 110€ per night for a triple private bedroom); a bedrrom door hat could be kicked open even by a child; incredibly steep and dangerous staircase at the entrance; terribly noisy (drunk/stoned teenagers shouting all night)... And of course, if you dislike the place, NO REFUND IS DONE AT ALL. THat PLACE IS A NIGHTMARE, PLEASE DON´T EVER GO THERE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located in the heat of the city center. It is Cool

Disliked: I think this hostel has good location, but the price is a little bit higher than itself. The room is small, and the blanket is not that clean.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Daniel Howe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Location was good, if you're happy with the red light district (seems safe enough).

Disliked: Way too overpriced for what you get. No self catering facilities, so you'll have to factor that in too. There are hotels that aren't much more expensive than this place.