HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

62.3% Overall Rating

196 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.89 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1285 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 118 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.94 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
42.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
46.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

196 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

09 September 2011

Liked: Great location and staffs are friendly

Disliked: facilties and services offer. Toilets were dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011

Liked: you were close to everything.

Disliked: It really smelled like crepes in the whole building, because there is a Creperie beneath all of the rooms. Our room was overbooked and we only got 2 beds instead of 3, and we did not get any money back!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: Location and staff were good. Free WiFi and its fast.

Disliked: Filthy and depressing room. Fleas or bedbugs bit us every night. If we opened window, smell of faceaes filled the room. Rats roaming round out the window.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Don Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Basics are all covered and the facilities are generally good.

Disliked: late night attendant was a bit of a pain.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sophie Brownson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant, and the crepe house downstairs smells good, they give you a discount wristband too whch is great.

Disliked: Cramped not too clean rooms, did have a cleaner but hard to get round so many beds so only bathroom got cleaned really. And price, so expensive!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011

Liked: NOTHING, I wouldn´t recommend it even to my worst enemy.

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Garbage bags piled up not only in the yard but also across the whole corridor; a mouse running around; disgusting bathrooms (shared with other rooms of course, even though I paid 110€ per night for a triple private bedroom); a bedrrom door hat could be kicked open even by a child; incredibly steep and dangerous staircase at the entrance; terribly noisy (drunk/stoned teenagers shouting all night)... And of course, if you dislike the place, NO REFUND IS DONE AT ALL. THat PLACE IS A NIGHTMARE, PLEASE DON´T EVER GO THERE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located in the heat of the city center. It is Cool

Disliked: I think this hostel has good location, but the price is a little bit higher than itself. The room is small, and the blanket is not that clean.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Daniel Howe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Location was good, if you're happy with the red light district (seems safe enough).

Disliked: Way too overpriced for what you get. No self catering facilities, so you'll have to factor that in too. There are hotels that aren't much more expensive than this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and lockers.

Disliked: Bathroom.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: There were different old men drinking/doing drugs in our room every night . Although this was reported to the staff, this went unaddressed. Not a safe place for women. Also this was by far the dirtiest hostel I have ever slept in (and I've travelled a lot). The other comments posted don't lie, there are literally mice and the washrooms smell/are disgusting.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: The room itself was tidy.

Disliked: There are vertical flights of stair cases which make carrying up cases horrific. Shower facilities on the top floor were very average. Someone vomited all over a flight of stairs which was left there for almost a day.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nikolay Kolev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: the only good thing about this hostel that it is indeed in the heart of Amsterdam - it is very close to the station and to most of the knows seeings in the town.

Disliked: when i booked i said i was arriving at 10 o'clock but my room was not ready at that time and i had to wait until 12.30... the staff is mainly focused on this kind of "restaurant" and disregards those who are on the reception. It was very hard to find it - the was a small sign saying HOTEL and with very small letters croydon - i needed like 30 minutes to find that place Even when my room was ready i went upstairs and i found a not cleaned bathroom with some linen on the floor, the ones in my bad were not as clean as i expected them to be. In the evening they almost charged me for a cup of hot water... the rooms are looking to the main street so if you are looking for some relax and quiet don't go there as a whole i think it is not worth the money i spent there since you could easily find some hostels at the same or a bit higher price but with much better accommodation.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Met some good people in my hostel.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms. Too many beds in a room Cramped Unbelievable stair cases

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Esther Perron

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: If you're looking for a bed after a long night of partying this is the place for you.

Disliked: The reception staff we're not so friendly, the rooms we're dirty and you can't get a good night sleep because of the noisy neighborhood. The Shower/toilet combo is gross and the staircase is dangerous.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: Near the red light district and 5 mins from dam square, there was a vending machine at the property. Not good.

Disliked: staff unfriendly, room and hostel dirty.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: It was dirty and the stairs were terrifying.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Location isn't bad

Disliked: rubbish facilities, not a friendly environment at all

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: There were lockers in the room, but not enough for everybody.

Disliked: unfrindly staff very dirty place especially the bathrooms very warm rooms placed in the red light district .. and the worst; there very mice

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, you could come any time in night, there was allways soebody who opened the door.

Disliked: the beds are too short, in the price is no breakfast included

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: That it was seperated from the cafe and that the staff spoke very poor engish.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: somebody slept on my bed in the first day, and there was no staff to help me!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is exactly what it says it is. A central place to get you head down in the middle of all the action for a reasonable price. Fantastic location!

Disliked: I didnt like how steep the stairs were, but most staircases are really steep in Amsterdam. Also my advice would be to put food in the lockers, so you dont have mice eating your food like we did (as soon as the food was away we had no more visits from the mice).

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mikael Heroux Vaillancourt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, if you are not peaky this is really ok.

Disliked: only one bathroom per dorm.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing. Like, you can't do much better than that. And I met some really cool people who were staying in my room the first night I got there, so it was fun just hanging out in the room.

Disliked: The shower and the rest of the bathroom share the same floor. So that was kind of gross. Everything else was pretty much what I expected (maybe a little better, after all the horror stories I heard)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing but nice people all around. The stairs were something else - I was staying in room 7 so I had to go up three sets of those wild stairs to get to my room. Those stairs man... they're a real conversation piece... Loved'em. The location is unbeatable - I mean, this place is right in the middle of the Red Light district. The reception has a choice position at the back of a waffle shop next door that's open 'till at least 1 am. I stayed three nights (Thursday through Sunday) with a friend while we were there and would highly recommend Hotel Croydon to anyone that's passing through for a few days and just needs the bare minimum.

Disliked: There wasn't much to dislike, the room, the lockers, the people were all top but I'd definitely suggest bringing sandals for the shower! It shares a floor with the very near toilet - it's almost impossible to take a shower without getting the toilet wet it's so close. Cozy place, best location in town, great prices.