HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

85.7% Overall Rating

186 out of 371 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Robert Falcao thinks…

"Nice and friendly staff, also the discount on the crepes and waffles place and a pub down the road was really great. Rooms were okay, clean and decent beds."

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
30.37 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.51 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
62.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 390 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 678 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.32 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Dam Hotel
30.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
37.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

186 out of 371 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 245 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011

Liked: worst hostell...

Disliked: worst hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In red light district, lots of cafes around the hostel, easy to access to everywhere we going, its perfect.

Disliked: BIG STEP stairs, harder go up wit suitcase, toilet with shower is out of private room which i thought private room meaning toilet in the room but obviously its not,. its 1 toilet with shower between two room via 4 peoples in each room, its not enough as all of us had 2 wait 4 our turn to have shower or toilet whichs hassles.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011

Liked: stuff was very friendly, location and price is ok

Disliked: Lot of noice from outside but also in the hostel itslef- quite hard to fell a sleep. Not really clean.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Showers were filthy. No TV or living area even though it said it did. Too expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lalitkumar chhajed

Alone

City break

24 September 2011 lalitkumar would recommend this property

Liked: Area

Disliked: need more safety and cleanness

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the owner, he was really friendly and helpful. They also had a waffle shop underneath the hostel that smelled super delicious in the morning. It was located in the red light district so it was super close to everything and the main train station. The beds were clean and the people were nice.

Disliked: I didn't like the morning receptionist, he was highly unhelpful, unfriendly and somewhat rude.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

renata morais

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 renata would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: a lot of stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, beds comfortable.

Disliked: receptionist was unhelpful and grumpy. shower wasnt very clean.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Rude receptionist. Obviously incapable of booking the correct amount of guests.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

09 September 2011

Liked: Great location and staffs are friendly

Disliked: facilties and services offer. Toilets were dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011

Liked: you were close to everything.

Disliked: It really smelled like crepes in the whole building, because there is a Creperie beneath all of the rooms. Our room was overbooked and we only got 2 beds instead of 3, and we did not get any money back!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: Location and staff were good. Free WiFi and its fast.

Disliked: Filthy and depressing room. Fleas or bedbugs bit us every night. If we opened window, smell of faceaes filled the room. Rats roaming round out the window.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Don Lowe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011 Don would recommend this property

Liked: Basics are all covered and the facilities are generally good.

Disliked: late night attendant was a bit of a pain.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sophie Brownson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was brilliant, and the crepe house downstairs smells good, they give you a discount wristband too whch is great.

Disliked: Cramped not too clean rooms, did have a cleaner but hard to get round so many beds so only bathroom got cleaned really. And price, so expensive!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011

Liked: NOTHING, I wouldn´t recommend it even to my worst enemy.

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Garbage bags piled up not only in the yard but also across the whole corridor; a mouse running around; disgusting bathrooms (shared with other rooms of course, even though I paid 110€ per night for a triple private bedroom); a bedrrom door hat could be kicked open even by a child; incredibly steep and dangerous staircase at the entrance; terribly noisy (drunk/stoned teenagers shouting all night)... And of course, if you dislike the place, NO REFUND IS DONE AT ALL. THat PLACE IS A NIGHTMARE, PLEASE DON´T EVER GO THERE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is located in the heat of the city center. It is Cool

Disliked: I think this hostel has good location, but the price is a little bit higher than itself. The room is small, and the blanket is not that clean.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Daniel Howe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Location was good, if you're happy with the red light district (seems safe enough).

Disliked: Way too overpriced for what you get. No self catering facilities, so you'll have to factor that in too. There are hotels that aren't much more expensive than this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and lockers.

Disliked: Bathroom.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: There were different old men drinking/doing drugs in our room every night . Although this was reported to the staff, this went unaddressed. Not a safe place for women. Also this was by far the dirtiest hostel I have ever slept in (and I've travelled a lot). The other comments posted don't lie, there are literally mice and the washrooms smell/are disgusting.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011

Liked: The room itself was tidy.

Disliked: There are vertical flights of stair cases which make carrying up cases horrific. Shower facilities on the top floor were very average. Someone vomited all over a flight of stairs which was left there for almost a day.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nikolay Kolev

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011

Liked: the only good thing about this hostel that it is indeed in the heart of Amsterdam - it is very close to the station and to most of the knows seeings in the town.

Disliked: when i booked i said i was arriving at 10 o'clock but my room was not ready at that time and i had to wait until 12.30... the staff is mainly focused on this kind of "restaurant" and disregards those who are on the reception. It was very hard to find it - the was a small sign saying HOTEL and with very small letters croydon - i needed like 30 minutes to find that place Even when my room was ready i went upstairs and i found a not cleaned bathroom with some linen on the floor, the ones in my bad were not as clean as i expected them to be. In the evening they almost charged me for a cup of hot water... the rooms are looking to the main street so if you are looking for some relax and quiet don't go there as a whole i think it is not worth the money i spent there since you could easily find some hostels at the same or a bit higher price but with much better accommodation.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Met some good people in my hostel.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms. Too many beds in a room Cramped Unbelievable stair cases

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Esther Perron

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: If you're looking for a bed after a long night of partying this is the place for you.

Disliked: The reception staff we're not so friendly, the rooms we're dirty and you can't get a good night sleep because of the noisy neighborhood. The Shower/toilet combo is gross and the staircase is dangerous.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011

Liked: Near the red light district and 5 mins from dam square, there was a vending machine at the property. Not good.

Disliked: staff unfriendly, room and hostel dirty.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: It was dirty and the stairs were terrifying.