We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

68.1% Overall Rating

210 out of 413 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/11/2014)

Janelle L'Hirondelle thinks…

"Great location, decently clean room, and affordable. They also give u a discount to the crepes and waffles shop next door as well as an Irish pub a little ways down the street."

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1144 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
11.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 720 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
30.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

210 out of 413 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 389 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: It was in a good location, close to where we wanted to be and had the cutest little waffle shop under it, with a bit of a discount for hostel guests so we enjoyed that.

Disliked: The bathrooms did not smell great and I couldn't tell if my bed was clean or dirty. The first night I didn't have any of the sheets that were offered, and when sheets did come they weren't comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MAICON CEZAR LOURENCO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 MAICON would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location , location .... Its in the heart of amsterdam ... Highly recommended ....

Disliked: Showers are probably not the best I ever seen but.....

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Georgios Keramidas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: the price

Disliked: The room was on the 4th floor. Very lame WC. Also at the ceiling instead of a lamp was hanging a sock!, that was funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012

Liked: It is situated 5 minutes away from the central station and 5 minutes away from dam square. I was able to book for only 1 night, when most of the other ho(s)tels needed a booking for at least 2 nights.

Disliked: the rooms seem as if they didn't get a fresh color for decades. the furniture is very old as well.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: The hostel is in the center of the city, near bars, restaurant and red light district

Disliked: People who stay there don't respect other. they smoke in the room and I'm not talking only about cigarettes. They do party all nights and when they come back they don't care if you are sleeping or not. I'm travelling since 3 monts in hostel from now. I never complain about any hostels an I've stay in a lot of them but as far I am concern this one is not really great. The rooms are upstairs (means stairs) and I think that for an hostels it's not really cool cause everyone who's coming have luggage or backpack. There's no elevator.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012

Liked: The location and the crepes downstairs.

Disliked: Absolutely dirty and edge staff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Aitor Macia Maqueda

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel could not be better! really right in the middle of everything. We were a group of 10 friends in early 20's sharing a room with a bathroom, and for that kind of trip would definitely recommend this hostel, as there were never any issues with us making too much noise late at night etc. Homemade pancakes and waffles downstairs were enjoyed by everybody!

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in, but I've definitely stayed in a lot worse. If you have trouble getting up and down really steep stairs you might have an issue, but I think this is the case for nearly all the tall, thin buildings in amsterdam

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grant Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Given the relatively low scores for this hostel, my expectations were pretty love. Happy to say, that in fact I was pleasantly surprised. Nothing too flash, but it was a nice room in a great location. Not exactly Party Central, maybe if you're travelling on your own you'd rather stay somewhere a bit more lively, but if travelling with some friends... it was pretty ideal.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little on the cramped side

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms the room wasn't so clean There's no Free Internet @ night the bathroom smelled bad no common room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihael Stefanac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Mihael would recommend this property

Liked: location is the part of the red light district and you pay just 11eur/night for that...beat that! it's not typical hostel with common room and breakfast, but the city is a common place to stay and there is no reason to stay at hostel during the night and day(just shower)...hope you'll find some local to share his/her bad during your stay :)

Disliked: it's definitelly not the best hostel you gnna stay at, but..I repeat LOCATION IS F*** GREAT!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the middle of the red light district so everything, coffee shops, clubs, shops, all right on the doorstep. For a hostel not a hotel its not that bad, price is decent too. As backpackers on a budget it was good value and we probably would go back for the location. Water is hot 24 hours. Waffle house downstairs, delicious. Some staff are very friendly and understand travelling on the cheap [i.e if youre polite they'll refill bottles with tap water for free instead insisting buying their own bottles]

Disliked: We stayed in room 9, one of 2 on the top floor. The window in our room was broken [didnt actually close] so it was very cold being early January and a very windy city. The beds are long but very thin so a bit awkward for a 6' slightly built guy. The shower and toilet are in the same 6' x 4' room with just a curtain to pull between which is a bit of a tight squeeze but also not that hygenic. Advice wearing flip flops or something to avoid that floor.. The taps in our room were backwards, hot was cold, cold was hot, but once you figure that out its easy enough to deal with. Theres no curtain, so 2 flats opposite can see right in through the window and vice versa, we used a spare sheet and wedged it in the cracked window - also helped with the draught due to it being broken.. Watch out for the stairs..very steep and narrow, not so fun after a big night on the town.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

April Chaplin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 April would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff. Our room had a TV which was a nice surprise, and the location is PERFECT.

Disliked: We had a street facing room and it can get a little loud, so if you're a light sleeper you would want a room that doesn't face the street. The lockers in my dorm didn't lock but the front desk is happy to lock up anything valuable in their safe (which is where I put my laptop.) Having o get the waffle shop next door to buzz you into the building every time you needed to come in was annoying. Our bathroom had no ventilation and STUNK.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: Location, ensuite facilities.

Disliked: It was just for sleeping, nothing else to do, too much money for such a small value. Wi-fi not good, they offered towels but didn't give them.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philips Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Philips would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Croydon Hostel, Location is deadly!! Very good! Near everything! Coffee shops everywhere and night life 5 minutes away! Hope you have fun there as well!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesus Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, reasonable price

Disliked: too many stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Redhead

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The very steep stairs are hilarious, especially after a trip o one of the 5 coffee shops within 20 metres of the hostel.

Disliked: Luggage storage on the day of checkout would be really helpful!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

nuno costa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 nuno would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Judith Macke

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 November 2011

Liked: location, friendly staff

Disliked: room was not cleaned when we arrived, did get cleaned after we requested. lot of staires, window did not close,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2011

Liked: Close proximity to Centraal Station & main "attractions"

Disliked: It wasn't clearly marked that to get to Reception, you actually have to go into the Waffle Shop. Please give CLEAR instructions to your customers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and ease

Disliked: The steepist stairs in the world

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Messina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, on the backside of the RLD so not super loud

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Travis Holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,friendly staff, amazing downstairs waffle shop.

Disliked: Everything was good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jones David

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Jones would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel experience and it was fantastic! Great location and great people.The bathroom was ok

Disliked: noisy from street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Scott Stephone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh linen, and free towels was a lovely surprise

Disliked: nothing