We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

68.6% Overall Rating

210 out of 415 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/11/2014)

Janelle L'Hirondelle thinks…

"Great location, decently clean room, and affordable. They also give u a discount to the crepes and waffles shop next door as well as an Irish pub a little ways down the street."

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 722 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
Dam Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
28.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.6%

Overall Rating

210 out of 415 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
73.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 389 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: Everything else. It is just a place to go and crash after a long night of partying. One night max.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Dirty shower, mould at the bathroom and even in the room. The sheets were cleaned daily, which was unnecessary in my opinion. People in our room were loud. This hostel is suitable for budget party animals :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and discounts in nearby places.

Disliked: Pretty dingy and cramped

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: The location is fantastic

Disliked: I'm not someone who usually leaves comments, but Hostel Croydon was nothing but a hole to stay in. The first room we were given was looking onto a bin - not picturesque in the slightest. The floor looked like it hasn't been touched with a hoover for weeks. The shared bathrooms were damp, unhygienic etc. If we'd been charged a fraction of the price then it may have been value for money, but it was a truly appalling place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom melville

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2012 tom would recommend this property

Liked: the propertys location is ideally situated for the mark vidukas and coffee shops the rooms smelled fresh and the sheets were changed daily the staff were very helpful anytime we asked them for help they went above and beyond even getting alcoholic drinks served to the room i was wary of the hotel having read reviews prior to travelling but i can only say good things about the croydon and will definetly be back for a visit soon

Disliked: leaving to come home

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012

Liked: Free wifi in the rooms.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else. It was incredibly dirty, there were big stains on the walls, the floors were sticky and there were holes in the sheets. The staff were also really unhelpful, I booked an 8 person room, they put me in a 10 person room and when I asked for a refund on the difference in price their response was basically 'eh, it pretty much the same' (I didn't a refund). It had no facilities or common room. It is in a good location, but Amsterdam is so small its hard to find anywhere with a bad location, I think it would be worth it to be a little further out to avoid this hostel. Of all the hostels I stayed in in Europe this one was definitely the worst.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: door to our room didn't lock, pricy for what it was.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maria Eugenia Carretero

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 June 2012

Liked: Location near the Dam Square and red light district

Disliked: Dirty place and they don´t have "real" stairs. the stairs are like montauins you have to climb it

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: It was cheap on Wednesday

Disliked: Unsafe and no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerome Bahri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Laas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is friendly and nice.cheap price.it is enough for me.

Disliked: nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012

Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Disliked: this place was horrific. i do not recommend it to anyone. it was smelly, dirty, DISGSUSTING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: it is hostel for a short stay in the dam

Disliked: stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo John

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. It's location was great. clean room and bathroom

Disliked: too many stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Clancy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels and shampoo. Great location friendly staff. 10% discount in the downstair wafel and Crepes restaurant.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Brill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in great central location in Amsterdam. cheap price. friendly staff. clean room

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012

Liked: location, nothing else at all

Disliked: Dirtiest hostel ever. plus very noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room

Disliked: loud, noisy, the waffle shop downstairs is a building site as of May '12 and VERY LOUD.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barry Keleghar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Well, this is the 2nd time I have been to Hostel Croydon as we enjoyed it so much the 1st time! The staff were happy to give directions to get me to my friends as well as this property offers all guests money off the best waffle bar in town right next door and money off all food & drink at the irish pub, so ya never hungry! The positioning was fantastic being literally placed on the main strip, Supermarkets, Central train station and public transport is a stones throw away. I came away both visits quite humble in deed!

Disliked: Well like all things, the property has its downsides, the building is confortabke however it needs some attention to water damage before it becones an issue. As well as this, its not for those who have issues with stairs as they can be steep and narrow. Cleanliness is whats to be expected from an hostel really.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 May 2012

Liked: Only location

Disliked: The room is too small and 35 euros for a night is too much... they have put 10 beds in a small room which is the size of a bathroom... people smoke up in the room and my charger was robbed which i recovered later...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

hayrettin yavuz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 hayrettin would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap price. location is on the heart of the city. close to the everywhere. staffs are so friendly.

Disliked: It maybe so hard to climb the stairs but it wasn't toruble for me. And the check out time is: 10.00 am.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Juliana Silocchi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012

Liked: THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT THIS HOSTEL IS WELL LOCATED. A UNICA COISA BOA É A LOCALIZAÇÃO.

Disliked: I PRETTY MUCH HATED EVERYTHING, SPECIALLY THE WORKERS, IT FEELS LIKE THEY ARE DOING YOU A FAVOR, BUT THEY FORGET THAT YOU PAID FOR IT. THEY DON'T HAVE KITCHEN AND THEY DON'T OFFER YOU NOT EVEN TAP WATER , THE STAIRS ARE VERY DANGER (2 falls in 3 days), AND THEY CHARGE YOU MORE WHEN YOU GET THERE THAN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE. Eu odiei tudo fora a localização, especialmente os foncionarios, que parecem te fazer um favor, só não lembram que vc pagou por isso. Não tem cozinha lá, nem agua da torneira tem, as escadas são perigosissimas, em 3 dias vi 2 pessoas cairem, e pra finalizar, te cobram mais do que estava acordado pelo Hostel Bookers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012

Liked: great location, eacy to get to....

Disliked: bed bugs, lack of sleep from the noise of the church next door..... Lack of an eleivator, the stairs are steep...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Nirav Shah

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2012

Liked: afd

Disliked: sda

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alina Marina Ceusan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Alina Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing!

Disliked: The stairs from the entrance, zou need to be very careful when you go into your room or go out