We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

62.2% Overall Rating

221 out of 436 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2015)

Savannah Powers thinks…

"Was located in the center of the redlight district with coffee shops and bars all around,"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
24.61 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1185 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
22.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.5% 778 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.15 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
Dam Hotel
33.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 327 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
43.35 USD

Hostel 74.3% 10 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
46.87 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.2%

Overall Rating

221 out of 436 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 282 of 411 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Almost everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Mongston

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, it was in a very central and convenient location. You pay for what you get, so yes there may be grotty showers and there may be a few holes in your blankets, but this is a hostel, you should only be there to get your head down. Everyone goes on about 'oh pay 10 euros more and get something better' but if you don't have 10 euros more on your budget there is nothing you can do. Also paying 10 euros more of course you will get something better, you're paying more. Some people just have no logic. But if like me you are care free and just want a place to lay your head at night, i would wholeheartedly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing... I got what I payed for :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and staff are nice!

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nor Hasiah Othman

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Nor Hasiah would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and tidy

Disliked: small stairs even for backpackers

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012

Liked: Friendliness of staff and central location

Disliked: Dirty rooms, terrible shower, true mess, dust bins over the window

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Michael Raymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Poor cleanliness

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: Nothing, the location is good though.

Disliked: I would strongly recoment you to pay and additioal 5 or 10€ and have a descent stay somewhere else.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

andrew blakey

Alone

City break

03 August 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect - easy to find and easy to get anywhere. friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: Everything else. It is just a place to go and crash after a long night of partying. One night max.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Dirty shower, mould at the bathroom and even in the room. The sheets were cleaned daily, which was unnecessary in my opinion. People in our room were loud. This hostel is suitable for budget party animals :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and discounts in nearby places.

Disliked: Pretty dingy and cramped

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: The location is fantastic

Disliked: I'm not someone who usually leaves comments, but Hostel Croydon was nothing but a hole to stay in. The first room we were given was looking onto a bin - not picturesque in the slightest. The floor looked like it hasn't been touched with a hoover for weeks. The shared bathrooms were damp, unhygienic etc. If we'd been charged a fraction of the price then it may have been value for money, but it was a truly appalling place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom melville

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2012 tom would recommend this property

Liked: the propertys location is ideally situated for the mark vidukas and coffee shops the rooms smelled fresh and the sheets were changed daily the staff were very helpful anytime we asked them for help they went above and beyond even getting alcoholic drinks served to the room i was wary of the hotel having read reviews prior to travelling but i can only say good things about the croydon and will definetly be back for a visit soon

Disliked: leaving to come home

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012

Liked: Free wifi in the rooms.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else. It was incredibly dirty, there were big stains on the walls, the floors were sticky and there were holes in the sheets. The staff were also really unhelpful, I booked an 8 person room, they put me in a 10 person room and when I asked for a refund on the difference in price their response was basically 'eh, it pretty much the same' (I didn't a refund). It had no facilities or common room. It is in a good location, but Amsterdam is so small its hard to find anywhere with a bad location, I think it would be worth it to be a little further out to avoid this hostel. Of all the hostels I stayed in in Europe this one was definitely the worst.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: door to our room didn't lock, pricy for what it was.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maria Eugenia Carretero

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 June 2012

Liked: Location near the Dam Square and red light district

Disliked: Dirty place and they don´t have "real" stairs. the stairs are like montauins you have to climb it

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: It was cheap on Wednesday

Disliked: Unsafe and no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerome Bahri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Laas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is friendly and nice.cheap price.it is enough for me.

Disliked: nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012

Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Disliked: this place was horrific. i do not recommend it to anyone. it was smelly, dirty, DISGSUSTING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: it is hostel for a short stay in the dam

Disliked: stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo John

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. It's location was great. clean room and bathroom

Disliked: too many stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Clancy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels and shampoo. Great location friendly staff. 10% discount in the downstair wafel and Crepes restaurant.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Brill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in great central location in Amsterdam. cheap price. friendly staff. clean room

Disliked: nothing