We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

65.4% Overall Rating

205 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Seval Kilic thinks…

"Location is really good. I stayed in 10 persons room and room has quite space between beds. There is a big lcd tv although noone turned it on because almost always someone sleeping, the hostel is for…"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1138 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.72 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
58.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
18.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 716 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
Dam Hotel
31.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
36.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

205 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 384 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012

Liked: Free wifi in the rooms.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else. It was incredibly dirty, there were big stains on the walls, the floors were sticky and there were holes in the sheets. The staff were also really unhelpful, I booked an 8 person room, they put me in a 10 person room and when I asked for a refund on the difference in price their response was basically 'eh, it pretty much the same' (I didn't a refund). It had no facilities or common room. It is in a good location, but Amsterdam is so small its hard to find anywhere with a bad location, I think it would be worth it to be a little further out to avoid this hostel. Of all the hostels I stayed in in Europe this one was definitely the worst.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: door to our room didn't lock, pricy for what it was.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maria Eugenia Carretero

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 June 2012

Liked: Location near the Dam Square and red light district

Disliked: Dirty place and they don´t have "real" stairs. the stairs are like montauins you have to climb it

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012

Liked: It was cheap on Wednesday

Disliked: Unsafe and no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jerome Bahri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Jerome would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Laas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is friendly and nice.cheap price.it is enough for me.

Disliked: nothing

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012

Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Disliked: this place was horrific. i do not recommend it to anyone. it was smelly, dirty, DISGSUSTING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: it is hostel for a short stay in the dam

Disliked: stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo John

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. It's location was great. clean room and bathroom

Disliked: too many stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Clancy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels and shampoo. Great location friendly staff. 10% discount in the downstair wafel and Crepes restaurant.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Brill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in great central location in Amsterdam. cheap price. friendly staff. clean room

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012

Liked: location, nothing else at all

Disliked: Dirtiest hostel ever. plus very noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room

Disliked: loud, noisy, the waffle shop downstairs is a building site as of May '12 and VERY LOUD.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barry Keleghar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Well, this is the 2nd time I have been to Hostel Croydon as we enjoyed it so much the 1st time! The staff were happy to give directions to get me to my friends as well as this property offers all guests money off the best waffle bar in town right next door and money off all food & drink at the irish pub, so ya never hungry! The positioning was fantastic being literally placed on the main strip, Supermarkets, Central train station and public transport is a stones throw away. I came away both visits quite humble in deed!

Disliked: Well like all things, the property has its downsides, the building is confortabke however it needs some attention to water damage before it becones an issue. As well as this, its not for those who have issues with stairs as they can be steep and narrow. Cleanliness is whats to be expected from an hostel really.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 May 2012

Liked: Only location

Disliked: The room is too small and 35 euros for a night is too much... they have put 10 beds in a small room which is the size of a bathroom... people smoke up in the room and my charger was robbed which i recovered later...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

hayrettin yavuz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 hayrettin would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap price. location is on the heart of the city. close to the everywhere. staffs are so friendly.

Disliked: It maybe so hard to climb the stairs but it wasn't toruble for me. And the check out time is: 10.00 am.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Juliana Silocchi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012

Liked: THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT THIS HOSTEL IS WELL LOCATED. A UNICA COISA BOA É A LOCALIZAÇÃO.

Disliked: I PRETTY MUCH HATED EVERYTHING, SPECIALLY THE WORKERS, IT FEELS LIKE THEY ARE DOING YOU A FAVOR, BUT THEY FORGET THAT YOU PAID FOR IT. THEY DON'T HAVE KITCHEN AND THEY DON'T OFFER YOU NOT EVEN TAP WATER , THE STAIRS ARE VERY DANGER (2 falls in 3 days), AND THEY CHARGE YOU MORE WHEN YOU GET THERE THAN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE. Eu odiei tudo fora a localização, especialmente os foncionarios, que parecem te fazer um favor, só não lembram que vc pagou por isso. Não tem cozinha lá, nem agua da torneira tem, as escadas são perigosissimas, em 3 dias vi 2 pessoas cairem, e pra finalizar, te cobram mais do que estava acordado pelo Hostel Bookers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012

Liked: great location, eacy to get to....

Disliked: bed bugs, lack of sleep from the noise of the church next door..... Lack of an eleivator, the stairs are steep...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Nirav Shah

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2012

Liked: afd

Disliked: sda

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alina Marina Ceusan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Alina Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing!

Disliked: The stairs from the entrance, zou need to be very careful when you go into your room or go out

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: It was in a good location, close to where we wanted to be and had the cutest little waffle shop under it, with a bit of a discount for hostel guests so we enjoyed that.

Disliked: The bathrooms did not smell great and I couldn't tell if my bed was clean or dirty. The first night I didn't have any of the sheets that were offered, and when sheets did come they weren't comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MAICON CEZAR LOURENCO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 MAICON would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location , location .... Its in the heart of amsterdam ... Highly recommended ....

Disliked: Showers are probably not the best I ever seen but.....

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Georgios Keramidas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: the price

Disliked: The room was on the 4th floor. Very lame WC. Also at the ceiling instead of a lamp was hanging a sock!, that was funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012

Liked: It is situated 5 minutes away from the central station and 5 minutes away from dam square. I was able to book for only 1 night, when most of the other ho(s)tels needed a booking for at least 2 nights.

Disliked: the rooms seem as if they didn't get a fresh color for decades. the furniture is very old as well.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: The hostel is in the center of the city, near bars, restaurant and red light district

Disliked: People who stay there don't respect other. they smoke in the room and I'm not talking only about cigarettes. They do party all nights and when they come back they don't care if you are sleeping or not. I'm travelling since 3 monts in hostel from now. I never complain about any hostels an I've stay in a lot of them but as far I am concern this one is not really great. The rooms are upstairs (means stairs) and I think that for an hostels it's not really cool cause everyone who's coming have luggage or backpack. There's no elevator.