HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

60.5% Overall Rating

196 out of 394 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
33.48 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
53.43 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1286 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Travel Hotel
26.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 118 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
40.17 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
46.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
46.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.5%

Overall Rating

196 out of 394 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
47.2%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
56.8%
Safety
56.0%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: it is hostel for a short stay in the dam

Disliked: stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filippo John

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. It's location was great. clean room and bathroom

Disliked: too many stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Clancy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Free towels and shampoo. Great location friendly staff. 10% discount in the downstair wafel and Crepes restaurant.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Brill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in great central location in Amsterdam. cheap price. friendly staff. clean room

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012

Liked: location, nothing else at all

Disliked: Dirtiest hostel ever. plus very noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room

Disliked: loud, noisy, the waffle shop downstairs is a building site as of May '12 and VERY LOUD.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barry Keleghar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Well, this is the 2nd time I have been to Hostel Croydon as we enjoyed it so much the 1st time! The staff were happy to give directions to get me to my friends as well as this property offers all guests money off the best waffle bar in town right next door and money off all food & drink at the irish pub, so ya never hungry! The positioning was fantastic being literally placed on the main strip, Supermarkets, Central train station and public transport is a stones throw away. I came away both visits quite humble in deed!

Disliked: Well like all things, the property has its downsides, the building is confortabke however it needs some attention to water damage before it becones an issue. As well as this, its not for those who have issues with stairs as they can be steep and narrow. Cleanliness is whats to be expected from an hostel really.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 May 2012

Liked: Only location

Disliked: The room is too small and 35 euros for a night is too much... they have put 10 beds in a small room which is the size of a bathroom... people smoke up in the room and my charger was robbed which i recovered later...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

hayrettin yavuz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 hayrettin would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap price. location is on the heart of the city. close to the everywhere. staffs are so friendly.

Disliked: It maybe so hard to climb the stairs but it wasn't toruble for me. And the check out time is: 10.00 am.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Juliana Silocchi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012

Liked: THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT THIS HOSTEL IS WELL LOCATED. A UNICA COISA BOA É A LOCALIZAÇÃO.

Disliked: I PRETTY MUCH HATED EVERYTHING, SPECIALLY THE WORKERS, IT FEELS LIKE THEY ARE DOING YOU A FAVOR, BUT THEY FORGET THAT YOU PAID FOR IT. THEY DON'T HAVE KITCHEN AND THEY DON'T OFFER YOU NOT EVEN TAP WATER , THE STAIRS ARE VERY DANGER (2 falls in 3 days), AND THEY CHARGE YOU MORE WHEN YOU GET THERE THAN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE. Eu odiei tudo fora a localização, especialmente os foncionarios, que parecem te fazer um favor, só não lembram que vc pagou por isso. Não tem cozinha lá, nem agua da torneira tem, as escadas são perigosissimas, em 3 dias vi 2 pessoas cairem, e pra finalizar, te cobram mais do que estava acordado pelo Hostel Bookers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012

Liked: great location, eacy to get to....

Disliked: bed bugs, lack of sleep from the noise of the church next door..... Lack of an eleivator, the stairs are steep...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Nirav Shah

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 April 2012

Liked: afd

Disliked: sda

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alina Marina Ceusan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Alina Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing!

Disliked: The stairs from the entrance, zou need to be very careful when you go into your room or go out

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012

Liked: It was in a good location, close to where we wanted to be and had the cutest little waffle shop under it, with a bit of a discount for hostel guests so we enjoyed that.

Disliked: The bathrooms did not smell great and I couldn't tell if my bed was clean or dirty. The first night I didn't have any of the sheets that were offered, and when sheets did come they weren't comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MAICON CEZAR LOURENCO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 MAICON would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location , location .... Its in the heart of amsterdam ... Highly recommended ....

Disliked: Showers are probably not the best I ever seen but.....

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Georgios Keramidas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012

Liked: the price

Disliked: The room was on the 4th floor. Very lame WC. Also at the ceiling instead of a lamp was hanging a sock!, that was funny.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012

Liked: It is situated 5 minutes away from the central station and 5 minutes away from dam square. I was able to book for only 1 night, when most of the other ho(s)tels needed a booking for at least 2 nights.

Disliked: the rooms seem as if they didn't get a fresh color for decades. the furniture is very old as well.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: The hostel is in the center of the city, near bars, restaurant and red light district

Disliked: People who stay there don't respect other. they smoke in the room and I'm not talking only about cigarettes. They do party all nights and when they come back they don't care if you are sleeping or not. I'm travelling since 3 monts in hostel from now. I never complain about any hostels an I've stay in a lot of them but as far I am concern this one is not really great. The rooms are upstairs (means stairs) and I think that for an hostels it's not really cool cause everyone who's coming have luggage or backpack. There's no elevator.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012

Liked: The location and the crepes downstairs.

Disliked: Absolutely dirty and edge staff.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Aitor Macia Maqueda

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel could not be better! really right in the middle of everything. We were a group of 10 friends in early 20's sharing a room with a bathroom, and for that kind of trip would definitely recommend this hostel, as there were never any issues with us making too much noise late at night etc. Homemade pancakes and waffles downstairs were enjoyed by everybody!

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in, but I've definitely stayed in a lot worse. If you have trouble getting up and down really steep stairs you might have an issue, but I think this is the case for nearly all the tall, thin buildings in amsterdam

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Grant Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Given the relatively low scores for this hostel, my expectations were pretty love. Happy to say, that in fact I was pleasantly surprised. Nothing too flash, but it was a nice room in a great location. Not exactly Party Central, maybe if you're travelling on your own you'd rather stay somewhere a bit more lively, but if travelling with some friends... it was pretty ideal.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little on the cramped side

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ahmed Hegazy

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: No Internet in the rooms the room wasn't so clean There's no Free Internet @ night the bathroom smelled bad no common room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihael Stefanac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Mihael would recommend this property

Liked: location is the part of the red light district and you pay just 11eur/night for that...beat that! it's not typical hostel with common room and breakfast, but the city is a common place to stay and there is no reason to stay at hostel during the night and day(just shower)...hope you'll find some local to share his/her bad during your stay :)

Disliked: it's definitelly not the best hostel you gnna stay at, but..I repeat LOCATION IS F*** GREAT!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the middle of the red light district so everything, coffee shops, clubs, shops, all right on the doorstep. For a hostel not a hotel its not that bad, price is decent too. As backpackers on a budget it was good value and we probably would go back for the location. Water is hot 24 hours. Waffle house downstairs, delicious. Some staff are very friendly and understand travelling on the cheap [i.e if youre polite they'll refill bottles with tap water for free instead insisting buying their own bottles]

Disliked: We stayed in room 9, one of 2 on the top floor. The window in our room was broken [didnt actually close] so it was very cold being early January and a very windy city. The beds are long but very thin so a bit awkward for a 6' slightly built guy. The shower and toilet are in the same 6' x 4' room with just a curtain to pull between which is a bit of a tight squeeze but also not that hygenic. Advice wearing flip flops or something to avoid that floor.. The taps in our room were backwards, hot was cold, cold was hot, but once you figure that out its easy enough to deal with. Theres no curtain, so 2 flats opposite can see right in through the window and vice versa, we used a spare sheet and wedged it in the cracked window - also helped with the draught due to it being broken.. Watch out for the stairs..very steep and narrow, not so fun after a big night on the town.