We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

65.4% Overall Rating

205 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Seval Kilic thinks…

"Location is really good. I stayed in 10 persons room and room has quite space between beds. There is a big lcd tv although noone turned it on because almost always someone sleeping, the hostel is for…"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
16.68 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1140 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
34.51 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
57.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 716 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.49 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
Dam Hotel
23.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
28.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

205 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 384 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Inés Burgueño Jiménez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Inés would recommend this property

Liked: The situation

Disliked: The cleaningness of the property and the staff's attitude

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Adam Teague

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2013 Luke Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and value for money

Disliked: No kitchen, shower room not clean. No free tea or coffee service

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013

Liked: The staff was very helpful when we wanted to switch rooms and just in general. The hostel is also affliated with a cute crepes and waffles shop next door to which you get a discount.

Disliked: The smell of weed permeated the entire premisis, despite no smoking signs, it is located just a street over from the red light district, there were crude drawings all over the walls, and lots of sex shops and coffee shops in the area. I suppose these things aren't negatives if they are the reason you went to Amsterdam but we did not feel at all comfortable there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

mackie sadique

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2013 mackie would recommend this property

Liked: central location, and value for money

Disliked: no wifi on top floors.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Dominic Schacht

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, and so ridiculously cheap - value for money was outstanding!

Disliked: I disliked nothing about this property

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Salla Sorsa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2013

Liked: Dirty! Right in the Red light district, too much noise and stupid turists.

Disliked: Staff was really nice

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013

Liked: Location was great being in the center of the red light district!

Disliked: Everything else. They barely check whos coming in and out of the hostel, the ceilings were leaking, noisy people throughout the rooms, miniscule steps made it very hard to bring suitcases up flight of stairs. I guess you get what you pay for though.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ELDAR PADILLA

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: ELDAR left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Daniel Michael Farrugia

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012

Liked: This hostel is situated in the center of amsterdam near central station and dam square.

Disliked: We booked a room of 8 people (not shared room) and we had a private bathroom but the when we entered the room was already dirty and the bathroom was a disaster. We did not expect much since you get for what you pay but i do not except a dirty room! another thing is that during the night the receptionist just entered the room at about 4am and obviously woke us up! we later found out that hey were checking on us because they taught we were more than 8 ! this happened for 3 nights in a row!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

RAPHAEL NOGUEIRA

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 December 2012 RAPHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing

Disliked: The beds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2012

Liked: Perfect location at good price

Disliked: The bathroom was not properly cleaned

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Almost everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Mongston

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, it was in a very central and convenient location. You pay for what you get, so yes there may be grotty showers and there may be a few holes in your blankets, but this is a hostel, you should only be there to get your head down. Everyone goes on about 'oh pay 10 euros more and get something better' but if you don't have 10 euros more on your budget there is nothing you can do. Also paying 10 euros more of course you will get something better, you're paying more. Some people just have no logic. But if like me you are care free and just want a place to lay your head at night, i would wholeheartedly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing... I got what I payed for :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and staff are nice!

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nor Hasiah Othman

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Nor Hasiah would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and tidy

Disliked: small stairs even for backpackers

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012

Liked: Friendliness of staff and central location

Disliked: Dirty rooms, terrible shower, true mess, dust bins over the window

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Michael Raymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Poor cleanliness

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: Nothing, the location is good though.

Disliked: I would strongly recoment you to pay and additioal 5 or 10€ and have a descent stay somewhere else.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

andrew blakey

Alone

City break

03 August 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect - easy to find and easy to get anywhere. friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: Everything else. It is just a place to go and crash after a long night of partying. One night max.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Dirty shower, mould at the bathroom and even in the room. The sheets were cleaned daily, which was unnecessary in my opinion. People in our room were loud. This hostel is suitable for budget party animals :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and discounts in nearby places.

Disliked: Pretty dingy and cramped

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: The location is fantastic

Disliked: I'm not someone who usually leaves comments, but Hostel Croydon was nothing but a hole to stay in. The first room we were given was looking onto a bin - not picturesque in the slightest. The floor looked like it hasn't been touched with a hoover for weeks. The shared bathrooms were damp, unhygienic etc. If we'd been charged a fraction of the price then it may have been value for money, but it was a truly appalling place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom melville

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2012 tom would recommend this property

Liked: the propertys location is ideally situated for the mark vidukas and coffee shops the rooms smelled fresh and the sheets were changed daily the staff were very helpful anytime we asked them for help they went above and beyond even getting alcoholic drinks served to the room i was wary of the hotel having read reviews prior to travelling but i can only say good things about the croydon and will definetly be back for a visit soon

Disliked: leaving to come home