We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

69.4% Overall Rating

215 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Natasha Nakhleh thinks…

"Great location! Beds are comfortable and people staying our room were nice as well"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
19.60 USD

Hostel 78.5% 1159 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
48.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
15.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.6% 749 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
32.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
27.22 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
26.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
16.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
34.02 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

215 out of 423 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 277 of 399 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Attila Fabian

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Attila would recommend this property

Liked: great hostet in perfect location, the room is not so cleat, but what can one expect for soo cheap price. For me it was a great place to stay.

Disliked: I was cool with everithing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 May 2013

Liked: The hostel is located in the very heart of the city, and as such you will be very close to all its landmarks. If you plan on going for Kings day only, i would recommend a hostel located a bit farther in the actual canal rings, as the most fun is located there.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't cleaned as much as i would like, and the rooms themselves felt dirty (so much so that I asked the staff for a vacuum cleaner so that i could clean it myself - didn't help much though). The rooms are very small, however if you are traveling with 2 or 3 friends you can book a 4 bedroom room and have a bit more privacy as compared to a 8 person bedroom. We did have a TV in the room, and the WiFi was pretty decent. All in all i would not recommend this hostel for those who suffer from even mild forms of OCD since you will have a need to clean the whole damn thing. For younger people that just need a place to sleep with a convenient location its would be suitable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Location was convienent

Disliked: The owner was a real Jerk even though the rest of the staff was friendly. The room was decent and the beds comfortable, but it reeked of weed and there was mold growing everywhere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cory Jolly

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2013 Cory would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good staff

Disliked: The toilet/shower could be better but we managed for a few days

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Maria Kopelyan

Alone

City break

13 May 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: location close to the train station in the middle of Red Light district

Disliked: was afraid to leave my things to take a shower

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 May 2013

Liked: Location of hostel

Disliked: Cleanliness, lack of facilities

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ahmed Gamal

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 May 2013

Liked: Good wafel place downstairs

Disliked: Deadly stairs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location for sure and quietness.

Disliked: steep stairs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Maria Schmidt

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 April 2013

Liked: It was a super dirty and crappy place. The bathrooms are in a very bad condition and it smells bad everywhere.

Disliked: The dirt

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Inés Burgueño Jiménez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Inés would recommend this property

Liked: The situation

Disliked: The cleaningness of the property and the staff's attitude

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luke Adam Teague

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2013 Luke Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and value for money

Disliked: No kitchen, shower room not clean. No free tea or coffee service

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013

Liked: The staff was very helpful when we wanted to switch rooms and just in general. The hostel is also affliated with a cute crepes and waffles shop next door to which you get a discount.

Disliked: The smell of weed permeated the entire premisis, despite no smoking signs, it is located just a street over from the red light district, there were crude drawings all over the walls, and lots of sex shops and coffee shops in the area. I suppose these things aren't negatives if they are the reason you went to Amsterdam but we did not feel at all comfortable there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

mackie sadique

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2013 mackie would recommend this property

Liked: central location, and value for money

Disliked: no wifi on top floors.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Dominic Schacht

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic, and so ridiculously cheap - value for money was outstanding!

Disliked: I disliked nothing about this property

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Salla Sorsa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2013

Liked: Dirty! Right in the Red light district, too much noise and stupid turists.

Disliked: Staff was really nice

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013

Liked: Location was great being in the center of the red light district!

Disliked: Everything else. They barely check whos coming in and out of the hostel, the ceilings were leaking, noisy people throughout the rooms, miniscule steps made it very hard to bring suitcases up flight of stairs. I guess you get what you pay for though.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ELDAR PADILLA

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: ELDAR left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Daniel Michael Farrugia

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012

Liked: This hostel is situated in the center of amsterdam near central station and dam square.

Disliked: We booked a room of 8 people (not shared room) and we had a private bathroom but the when we entered the room was already dirty and the bathroom was a disaster. We did not expect much since you get for what you pay but i do not except a dirty room! another thing is that during the night the receptionist just entered the room at about 4am and obviously woke us up! we later found out that hey were checking on us because they taught we were more than 8 ! this happened for 3 nights in a row!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

RAPHAEL NOGUEIRA

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 December 2012 RAPHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing

Disliked: The beds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2012

Liked: Perfect location at good price

Disliked: The bathroom was not properly cleaned

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Almost everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Mongston

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, it was in a very central and convenient location. You pay for what you get, so yes there may be grotty showers and there may be a few holes in your blankets, but this is a hostel, you should only be there to get your head down. Everyone goes on about 'oh pay 10 euros more and get something better' but if you don't have 10 euros more on your budget there is nothing you can do. Also paying 10 euros more of course you will get something better, you're paying more. Some people just have no logic. But if like me you are care free and just want a place to lay your head at night, i would wholeheartedly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing... I got what I payed for :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and staff are nice!

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nor Hasiah Othman

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Nor Hasiah would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and tidy

Disliked: small stairs even for backpackers

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012

Liked: Friendliness of staff and central location

Disliked: Dirty rooms, terrible shower, true mess, dust bins over the window