We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

68.1% Overall Rating

210 out of 413 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/11/2014)

Janelle L'Hirondelle thinks…

"Great location, decently clean room, and affordable. They also give u a discount to the crepes and waffles shop next door as well as an Irish pub a little ways down the street."

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
11.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 722 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
25.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

210 out of 413 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 389 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Were not honest about their rooms with management photos you can find online. Very dirty and not safe. No one was willing to help or even give us a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: WiFi worked well in room. Good location, right in red light district. Clean sheets, bed was comfortable too. Warm room.

Disliked: Must be drainage issues as the sink in the attached bathroom was blocked. The bathroom STUNK! The tiny fan in there did not help get rid of the smells either. Bathroom is tiny. Was cleaned first day when we arrived then not cleaned again. For 8 person room should be everyday. The armband you had to wear was a lame idea - its a hostel, we are not at a festival!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Renata de padua boato

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 December 2013

Liked: it is cheap and in the best location of amsterdam

Disliked: it is not clean, has lots of stairs, the toillet and shower are average, it does not have separate rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013

Liked: Cheap cost, towels provided, close to Central Station

Disliked: Not very clean, there was a guy smoking weeds in my room giving me headache and I was scared as I was the only girl in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located

Disliked: The athmosphere is not good

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: We stayed in a room with 5 other people, because it was an 8 person room, but then one night they put and extra person in here with a mattress laying in the middle of the floor in the room. Also, they include free towels, but they are thin, small and smell bad. The bathroom is a complete terror. It's small (which I can handle), always wet, never seems to have been cleaned, and smells worse than anything I've ever smelled. If someone forgot to close the door after using the bathroom the room would instantly smell bad. Most people just avoided going in at all and waited to use the restroom at any other location in Amsterdam. I am the kind of person who showers every single day and while here for four days, I only showered once in order to avoid the gross bathroom. If you're coming to Amsterdam stay in the Christian hostels in the red light district. All my friends recommend that we stay there, but they were filly booked by the time we started looking.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzanne Sims

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in an interesting street (fascinating shops) just round the corner from the red light district and the main square, close to train station, very central and a great budget option. Room was pretty clean with beds, sink and TV. Great coffeeshop nearby and an amazing waffle house downstairs, and by staying in the hostel you get a discount on your waffles, which is brilliant.

Disliked: If you stayed in during the day, you are disturbed by church bells every fifteen minutes! The wetroom (washroom/toilet area) also had a habit of flooding the hallway a bit. Didn't seem to be much to do at the actual hostel itself or opportunities to meet other travellers, but if you just wanted a base to explore, it's pretty good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, the girl in reception (Lelicia?) is very friendly and helpful, free towel

Disliked: People drunk and noisy in the night, hard to sleep well. wifi not stable, no breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely perfect. The stairs aren't so narrow! It is natural in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Maybe the room's carpet could be cleaner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the room itself was kind of ok, normal, not so nice room. The bathroom was in the rooms, so it was bit loud when you would like to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: The stairs are like ladders and I asked the reception man to help and he said they don't offer a bell service here. And I'm a young girl with a massive bag so getting up and down was really hard. They're not very helpful directing you to anything they had very little knowledge of where things were and gave poor direction. Also we had a 60yr old man in our room that stank and looked like a bum.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Selena Nadal-Mendez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: Location, location, location.

Disliked: If you're ONLY looking for a bed and a shower, this is it. But for the price, you can get better. The bathroom inside my room was terrible! Really dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dean Tonks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great bang for your bucks...in the red light district. great place if all you need is a place to sleep. Clean sheets, bunk bed was fine. Very steep stairs.

Disliked: no place to socialize with others in the hostel. But i guess their is many coffee shops and pubs next door to do that.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Daniel Faith-Crothers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013

Liked: It is close to Amsterdam Centraal so it was convenient as we were only staying one night. Met a few nice people in our room but others weren't so open to coversation.

Disliked: It is very close to the redlight district and so it is very busy at night and the walls were quite thin so you could hear the couple upstairs getting physical in the shower and at the same time hear the shouts and business of the streets below. It was very warm and there isn't any air con or good ventilation so that also made it very hard to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Wright

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: We just needed somewhere to sleep and shower, and with its excellent central location this place was just the ticket. no frills no bills

Disliked: Stairs were steep, but hey this is Amsterdam so is very normal

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: How dirty it was. The staff were rude + unhelpful. No towel given. Toilet wouldn't flush. Plug hanging off the wall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, nice and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this place! Also try out the crepes and waffles place next door, they taste really good!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jessica leigh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013

Liked: do not stay here

Disliked: the filthy state the bathroom made you feel worse than when you walked in!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

diana deliver

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 June 2013 diana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the price for the money is good.

Disliked: There is nothing to do in the room but if you use it just for sleeping it is fine.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Fleming

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located and exactly what you need when you need to get your head down after experiencing all Amsterdam has to offer.

Disliked: Stairs are very steep, made it difficult to carry larger bags and cases up to the top floor. Only 2 showers/toilets for 40+ guests.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gabriela Rodriguez Riva Palacio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The badroom was dirty and the rooms as well, the staff is so tough and the worst the was a mouse on my room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Attila Fabian

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Attila would recommend this property

Liked: great hostet in perfect location, the room is not so cleat, but what can one expect for soo cheap price. For me it was a great place to stay.

Disliked: I was cool with everithing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

29 May 2013

Liked: The hostel is located in the very heart of the city, and as such you will be very close to all its landmarks. If you plan on going for Kings day only, i would recommend a hostel located a bit farther in the actual canal rings, as the most fun is located there.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't cleaned as much as i would like, and the rooms themselves felt dirty (so much so that I asked the staff for a vacuum cleaner so that i could clean it myself - didn't help much though). The rooms are very small, however if you are traveling with 2 or 3 friends you can book a 4 bedroom room and have a bit more privacy as compared to a 8 person bedroom. We did have a TV in the room, and the WiFi was pretty decent. All in all i would not recommend this hostel for those who suffer from even mild forms of OCD since you will have a need to clean the whole damn thing. For younger people that just need a place to sleep with a convenient location its would be suitable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: Location was convienent

Disliked: The owner was a real Jerk even though the rest of the staff was friendly. The room was decent and the beds comfortable, but it reeked of weed and there was mold growing everywhere

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Cory Jolly

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2013 Cory would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good staff

Disliked: The toilet/shower could be better but we managed for a few days