We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

64.2% Overall Rating

220 out of 434 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2015)

Savannah Powers thinks…

"Was located in the center of the redlight district with coffee shops and bars all around,"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
25.68 USD

Hostel 75.8% 1175 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
25.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.6% 765 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
43.55 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
33.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
37.68 USD

Hostel 81.0% 6 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
44.55 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.2%

Overall Rating

220 out of 434 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 409 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Brenden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Don't expect to much luxury but a good night sleep at a central location suffices for me. Clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at the Croydon Hostel. The room was neat, with a big TV screen in it. Location is great, right in the middle of the city. I would definitely recommend this place if you're going to travel to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Lots of stairs, no breakfast included.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack dover

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time in Amsterdam. Hostel is located in the city centre, 24 hours open so perfect for a party weekend.

Disliked: jack left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Murphey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

05 February 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, tidy. Good value for little money

Disliked: Located in the middle of the center so a bit noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Pierce Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to go for a weekend with friends to just drink. So close to everything

Disliked: sedrick the mouse

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: decided to leave a day early and was told a refund was impossible. pretty tiny bathrooms and showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elias Diola

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, brilliant people there, a bit noisy but beautiful one:) nice church sounds and bicycle bells, very cheap and very convinient for 2-3 days of stay!!

Disliked: No curtain in the shower, so each time someone was taking a shower the whole bathroom was like a swimming pool :) But for me even that part was enjoyable :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: It was on really good place, the staff was helpful.

Disliked: Saw few mice over there, but it should be normal, since it's amsterdam. Just annoying. ANNOYING BELLS OMG

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Were not honest about their rooms with management photos you can find online. Very dirty and not safe. No one was willing to help or even give us a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: WiFi worked well in room. Good location, right in red light district. Clean sheets, bed was comfortable too. Warm room.

Disliked: Must be drainage issues as the sink in the attached bathroom was blocked. The bathroom STUNK! The tiny fan in there did not help get rid of the smells either. Bathroom is tiny. Was cleaned first day when we arrived then not cleaned again. For 8 person room should be everyday. The armband you had to wear was a lame idea - its a hostel, we are not at a festival!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Renata de padua boato

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 December 2013

Liked: it is cheap and in the best location of amsterdam

Disliked: it is not clean, has lots of stairs, the toillet and shower are average, it does not have separate rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013

Liked: Cheap cost, towels provided, close to Central Station

Disliked: Not very clean, there was a guy smoking weeds in my room giving me headache and I was scared as I was the only girl in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located

Disliked: The athmosphere is not good

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: We stayed in a room with 5 other people, because it was an 8 person room, but then one night they put and extra person in here with a mattress laying in the middle of the floor in the room. Also, they include free towels, but they are thin, small and smell bad. The bathroom is a complete terror. It's small (which I can handle), always wet, never seems to have been cleaned, and smells worse than anything I've ever smelled. If someone forgot to close the door after using the bathroom the room would instantly smell bad. Most people just avoided going in at all and waited to use the restroom at any other location in Amsterdam. I am the kind of person who showers every single day and while here for four days, I only showered once in order to avoid the gross bathroom. If you're coming to Amsterdam stay in the Christian hostels in the red light district. All my friends recommend that we stay there, but they were filly booked by the time we started looking.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzanne Sims

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in an interesting street (fascinating shops) just round the corner from the red light district and the main square, close to train station, very central and a great budget option. Room was pretty clean with beds, sink and TV. Great coffeeshop nearby and an amazing waffle house downstairs, and by staying in the hostel you get a discount on your waffles, which is brilliant.

Disliked: If you stayed in during the day, you are disturbed by church bells every fifteen minutes! The wetroom (washroom/toilet area) also had a habit of flooding the hallway a bit. Didn't seem to be much to do at the actual hostel itself or opportunities to meet other travellers, but if you just wanted a base to explore, it's pretty good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, the girl in reception (Lelicia?) is very friendly and helpful, free towel

Disliked: People drunk and noisy in the night, hard to sleep well. wifi not stable, no breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely perfect. The stairs aren't so narrow! It is natural in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Maybe the room's carpet could be cleaner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the room itself was kind of ok, normal, not so nice room. The bathroom was in the rooms, so it was bit loud when you would like to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: The stairs are like ladders and I asked the reception man to help and he said they don't offer a bell service here. And I'm a young girl with a massive bag so getting up and down was really hard. They're not very helpful directing you to anything they had very little knowledge of where things were and gave poor direction. Also we had a 60yr old man in our room that stank and looked like a bum.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Selena Nadal-Mendez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: Location, location, location.

Disliked: If you're ONLY looking for a bed and a shower, this is it. But for the price, you can get better. The bathroom inside my room was terrible! Really dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dean Tonks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great bang for your bucks...in the red light district. great place if all you need is a place to sleep. Clean sheets, bunk bed was fine. Very steep stairs.

Disliked: no place to socialize with others in the hostel. But i guess their is many coffee shops and pubs next door to do that.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Daniel Faith-Crothers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013

Liked: It is close to Amsterdam Centraal so it was convenient as we were only staying one night. Met a few nice people in our room but others weren't so open to coversation.

Disliked: It is very close to the redlight district and so it is very busy at night and the walls were quite thin so you could hear the couple upstairs getting physical in the shower and at the same time hear the shouts and business of the streets below. It was very warm and there isn't any air con or good ventilation so that also made it very hard to sleep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Wright

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: We just needed somewhere to sleep and shower, and with its excellent central location this place was just the ticket. no frills no bills

Disliked: Stairs were steep, but hey this is Amsterdam so is very normal

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: How dirty it was. The staff were rude + unhelpful. No towel given. Toilet wouldn't flush. Plug hanging off the wall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, nice and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this place! Also try out the crepes and waffles place next door, they taste really good!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.