We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

69.4% Overall Rating

215 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2015)

Natasha Nakhleh thinks…

"Great location! Beds are comfortable and people staying our room were nice as well"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
19.73 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1158 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Travel Hotel
15.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 61.6% 749 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
32.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
27.40 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
Dam Hotel
32.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
16.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
38.36 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

215 out of 423 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 277 of 399 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and close to the central train station. The place has character. Watch out for the crazy stairs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

dung nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 dung would recommend this property

Liked: Basic budget hostel. The biggest advantage is its location. 5mins walking to center station, in the heart of Redlight district. Small room with 10 beds. Stayed for only 1 night so it's ok.

Disliked: dung left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and convenient.

Disliked: There are rats everywhere in Amsterdam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Swen Schneider

Alone

City break

21 May 2014 Swen would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located. Nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Swen left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

muhammed kursun

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: they do not enough key and

Disliked: muhammed left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Keren Leiman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Keren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely nice and helpful. They really went out of their way to help us. The stairs are extremely steep and quite fun. Not if you have a suitcase though.

Disliked: It was quite dirty. The bathrooms had no ventilation and were pretty gross.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014

Liked: It is located right in the downtown area near Dam Square and other landmarks.

Disliked: Property was not clean. The washroom did not have a proper shower; the wasn't separate stations for the toilet and the shower, which was unsanitary. There also isn't any privacy for changing clothes. Since the washroom floor is always wet , its hard to keep your clothes dry.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Esteban araya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Bathroom was dirty and room wasn't cleaned for two days

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Elliott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the facilities were as expected.

Disliked: Steep stairs as everywhere in Amsterdam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Falcao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, also the discount on the crepes and waffles place and a pub down the road was really great. Rooms were okay, clean and decent beds.

Disliked: The hostel has a lot of stairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Maguire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms got cleaned every day, which I found surprisingly since most hostels I stayed at don't. Lockers in the room to keep your valuables save, very useful in a big city like Amsterdam. I Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't have a common room thus other then your room mates it's difficult to meet fellow travelers.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: Central location, albeit near all the tourists and sex shops.

Disliked: The stairs are more like ladders and we were on the fourth floor with no lift... it sucks trying to carry luggage up. Bathrooms smell and were dirty. We were kicked out of our room after two days; it seemed like they just overbooked and didn't bother telling us, then they couldn't organise our other room so we had to hang around for hours waiting. It was pretty disorganised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Schilt

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: When you pay just a tenner per night, you should not have too high expectations. Staff is awesome, Letizia gave me some good tips and they let me sleep a bit longer.

Disliked: No kitchen, no common areas. (they sell snacks though and you get some discount in a pub nearby)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ido Cohen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Ido would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, willing to tell me about the go's and no go's around the city. Hostel was clean and secure, which i find most important.

Disliked: There was no common room to meet fellow travelers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauretta Renzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 March 2014 Lauretta would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place located in the middle of Amsterdam, Clean and not to expensive.. would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Lauretta left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juan Pablo Suarez Suarez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Is in The center

Disliked: The stairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ollie Greene

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2014 Ollie would recommend this property

Liked: Destination

Disliked: The blankets

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ben Pilling

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Get what you pay for. Very basic, stayed in room 9. Two beds with a shared bathroom/toilet. 20% off at the irish bar which is very good!

Disliked: The stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scarlet Griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Scarlet would recommend this property

Liked: Not the worst hostel I stayed at during my travels, not the best either. Staff was quite helpful in telling me how to get around the city. Big plus was also the lockers in the room, to keep my belongings safe.

Disliked: Steep stairs. Mid center so sometimes it was a bit noisy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ditte Johanson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 March 2014 Ditte would recommend this property

Liked: Good, cheap hostel at a great location. I was lucky to have nice people to share my dorm room with, had a really nice time!

Disliked: Ditte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Hudey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helped with where to visit and where the best nightlife was ect ect. Rooms were clean and fresh towels were available everyday. I Had a pleasant stay!

Disliked: There weren't enough lockers in the room so I couldn't secure my valuables, luckily the staff was helpful and secured them at the safe at the reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Brenden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Don't expect to much luxury but a good night sleep at a central location suffices for me. Clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at the Croydon Hostel. The room was neat, with a big TV screen in it. Location is great, right in the middle of the city. I would definitely recommend this place if you're going to travel to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Lots of stairs, no breakfast included.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack dover

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time in Amsterdam. Hostel is located in the city centre, 24 hours open so perfect for a party weekend.

Disliked: jack left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Murphey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

05 February 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, tidy. Good value for little money

Disliked: Located in the middle of the center so a bit noisy.