HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

62.3% Overall Rating

196 out of 393 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"The location was very good and the receptionist was friendly - also it was cheap"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
37.57 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.05 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

196 out of 393 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
50.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 370 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ollie Greene

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2014 Ollie would recommend this property

Liked: Destination

Disliked: The blankets

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ben Pilling

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Get what you pay for. Very basic, stayed in room 9. Two beds with a shared bathroom/toilet. 20% off at the irish bar which is very good!

Disliked: The stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scarlet Griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Scarlet would recommend this property

Liked: Not the worst hostel I stayed at during my travels, not the best either. Staff was quite helpful in telling me how to get around the city. Big plus was also the lockers in the room, to keep my belongings safe.

Disliked: Steep stairs. Mid center so sometimes it was a bit noisy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ditte Johanson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 March 2014 Ditte would recommend this property

Liked: Good, cheap hostel at a great location. I was lucky to have nice people to share my dorm room with, had a really nice time!

Disliked: Ditte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Hudey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helped with where to visit and where the best nightlife was ect ect. Rooms were clean and fresh towels were available everyday. I Had a pleasant stay!

Disliked: There weren't enough lockers in the room so I couldn't secure my valuables, luckily the staff was helpful and secured them at the safe at the reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Brenden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Don't expect to much luxury but a good night sleep at a central location suffices for me. Clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at the Croydon Hostel. The room was neat, with a big TV screen in it. Location is great, right in the middle of the city. I would definitely recommend this place if you're going to travel to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Lots of stairs, no breakfast included.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack dover

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time in Amsterdam. Hostel is located in the city centre, 24 hours open so perfect for a party weekend.

Disliked: jack left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Murphey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

05 February 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, tidy. Good value for little money

Disliked: Located in the middle of the center so a bit noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Pierce Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to go for a weekend with friends to just drink. So close to everything

Disliked: sedrick the mouse

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: decided to leave a day early and was told a refund was impossible. pretty tiny bathrooms and showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elias Diola

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, brilliant people there, a bit noisy but beautiful one:) nice church sounds and bicycle bells, very cheap and very convinient for 2-3 days of stay!!

Disliked: No curtain in the shower, so each time someone was taking a shower the whole bathroom was like a swimming pool :) But for me even that part was enjoyable :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: It was on really good place, the staff was helpful.

Disliked: Saw few mice over there, but it should be normal, since it's amsterdam. Just annoying. ANNOYING BELLS OMG

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Were not honest about their rooms with management photos you can find online. Very dirty and not safe. No one was willing to help or even give us a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: WiFi worked well in room. Good location, right in red light district. Clean sheets, bed was comfortable too. Warm room.

Disliked: Must be drainage issues as the sink in the attached bathroom was blocked. The bathroom STUNK! The tiny fan in there did not help get rid of the smells either. Bathroom is tiny. Was cleaned first day when we arrived then not cleaned again. For 8 person room should be everyday. The armband you had to wear was a lame idea - its a hostel, we are not at a festival!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Renata de padua boato

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 December 2013

Liked: it is cheap and in the best location of amsterdam

Disliked: it is not clean, has lots of stairs, the toillet and shower are average, it does not have separate rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013

Liked: Cheap cost, towels provided, close to Central Station

Disliked: Not very clean, there was a guy smoking weeds in my room giving me headache and I was scared as I was the only girl in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located

Disliked: The athmosphere is not good

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: We stayed in a room with 5 other people, because it was an 8 person room, but then one night they put and extra person in here with a mattress laying in the middle of the floor in the room. Also, they include free towels, but they are thin, small and smell bad. The bathroom is a complete terror. It's small (which I can handle), always wet, never seems to have been cleaned, and smells worse than anything I've ever smelled. If someone forgot to close the door after using the bathroom the room would instantly smell bad. Most people just avoided going in at all and waited to use the restroom at any other location in Amsterdam. I am the kind of person who showers every single day and while here for four days, I only showered once in order to avoid the gross bathroom. If you're coming to Amsterdam stay in the Christian hostels in the red light district. All my friends recommend that we stay there, but they were filly booked by the time we started looking.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzanne Sims

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in an interesting street (fascinating shops) just round the corner from the red light district and the main square, close to train station, very central and a great budget option. Room was pretty clean with beds, sink and TV. Great coffeeshop nearby and an amazing waffle house downstairs, and by staying in the hostel you get a discount on your waffles, which is brilliant.

Disliked: If you stayed in during the day, you are disturbed by church bells every fifteen minutes! The wetroom (washroom/toilet area) also had a habit of flooding the hallway a bit. Didn't seem to be much to do at the actual hostel itself or opportunities to meet other travellers, but if you just wanted a base to explore, it's pretty good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, the girl in reception (Lelicia?) is very friendly and helpful, free towel

Disliked: People drunk and noisy in the night, hard to sleep well. wifi not stable, no breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely perfect. The stairs aren't so narrow! It is natural in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Maybe the room's carpet could be cleaner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the room itself was kind of ok, normal, not so nice room. The bathroom was in the rooms, so it was bit loud when you would like to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: The stairs are like ladders and I asked the reception man to help and he said they don't offer a bell service here. And I'm a young girl with a massive bag so getting up and down was really hard. They're not very helpful directing you to anything they had very little knowledge of where things were and gave poor direction. Also we had a 60yr old man in our room that stank and looked like a bum.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Selena Nadal-Mendez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013

Liked: Location, location, location.

Disliked: If you're ONLY looking for a bed and a shower, this is it. But for the price, you can get better. The bathroom inside my room was terrible! Really dirty.