We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Croydon

Hostel | Warmoes Straat 75, 1012, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

65.4% Overall Rating

205 out of 408 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Seval Kilic thinks…

"Location is really good. I stayed in 10 persons room and room has quite space between beds. There is a big lcd tv although noone turned it on because almost always someone sleeping, the hostel is for…"

Read all Hostel Croydon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Our cancellation policy requires 72-hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellations must be done by e-mail. Cancellations by phone will not be accepted. Your room will be held for 2 hours (local time) after your given arrival time; after this period we have the right to charge your first night stay and cancel the booking. The 5.5% city tax is not included in the price and must be paid on arrival together with the total amount left to pay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The White Tulip Hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1138 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.72 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
58.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Travel Hotel
18.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 716 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
Dam Hotel
31.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
36.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

205 out of 408 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Croydon'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 384 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Falcao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, also the discount on the crepes and waffles place and a pub down the road was really great. Rooms were okay, clean and decent beds.

Disliked: The hostel has a lot of stairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Maguire

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms got cleaned every day, which I found surprisingly since most hostels I stayed at don't. Lockers in the room to keep your valuables save, very useful in a big city like Amsterdam. I Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't have a common room thus other then your room mates it's difficult to meet fellow travelers.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014

Liked: Central location, albeit near all the tourists and sex shops.

Disliked: The stairs are more like ladders and we were on the fourth floor with no lift... it sucks trying to carry luggage up. Bathrooms smell and were dirty. We were kicked out of our room after two days; it seemed like they just overbooked and didn't bother telling us, then they couldn't organise our other room so we had to hang around for hours waiting. It was pretty disorganised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Schilt

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

28 March 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: When you pay just a tenner per night, you should not have too high expectations. Staff is awesome, Letizia gave me some good tips and they let me sleep a bit longer.

Disliked: No kitchen, no common areas. (they sell snacks though and you get some discount in a pub nearby)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ido Cohen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Ido would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, willing to tell me about the go's and no go's around the city. Hostel was clean and secure, which i find most important.

Disliked: There was no common room to meet fellow travelers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauretta Renzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 March 2014 Lauretta would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place located in the middle of Amsterdam, Clean and not to expensive.. would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Lauretta left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juan Pablo Suarez Suarez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Is in The center

Disliked: The stairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ollie Greene

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 March 2014 Ollie would recommend this property

Liked: Destination

Disliked: The blankets

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ben Pilling

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Get what you pay for. Very basic, stayed in room 9. Two beds with a shared bathroom/toilet. 20% off at the irish bar which is very good!

Disliked: The stairs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scarlet Griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Scarlet would recommend this property

Liked: Not the worst hostel I stayed at during my travels, not the best either. Staff was quite helpful in telling me how to get around the city. Big plus was also the lockers in the room, to keep my belongings safe.

Disliked: Steep stairs. Mid center so sometimes it was a bit noisy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ditte Johanson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 March 2014 Ditte would recommend this property

Liked: Good, cheap hostel at a great location. I was lucky to have nice people to share my dorm room with, had a really nice time!

Disliked: Ditte left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Hudey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helped with where to visit and where the best nightlife was ect ect. Rooms were clean and fresh towels were available everyday. I Had a pleasant stay!

Disliked: There weren't enough lockers in the room so I couldn't secure my valuables, luckily the staff was helpful and secured them at the safe at the reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Brenden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Don't expect to much luxury but a good night sleep at a central location suffices for me. Clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice stay at the Croydon Hostel. The room was neat, with a big TV screen in it. Location is great, right in the middle of the city. I would definitely recommend this place if you're going to travel to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Lots of stairs, no breakfast included.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack dover

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 jack would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time in Amsterdam. Hostel is located in the city centre, 24 hours open so perfect for a party weekend.

Disliked: jack left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Murphey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

05 February 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, tidy. Good value for little money

Disliked: Located in the middle of the center so a bit noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Pierce Cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 February 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to go for a weekend with friends to just drink. So close to everything

Disliked: sedrick the mouse

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: decided to leave a day early and was told a refund was impossible. pretty tiny bathrooms and showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elias Diola

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, brilliant people there, a bit noisy but beautiful one:) nice church sounds and bicycle bells, very cheap and very convinient for 2-3 days of stay!!

Disliked: No curtain in the shower, so each time someone was taking a shower the whole bathroom was like a swimming pool :) But for me even that part was enjoyable :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: It was on really good place, the staff was helpful.

Disliked: Saw few mice over there, but it should be normal, since it's amsterdam. Just annoying. ANNOYING BELLS OMG

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: Were not honest about their rooms with management photos you can find online. Very dirty and not safe. No one was willing to help or even give us a refund.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: WiFi worked well in room. Good location, right in red light district. Clean sheets, bed was comfortable too. Warm room.

Disliked: Must be drainage issues as the sink in the attached bathroom was blocked. The bathroom STUNK! The tiny fan in there did not help get rid of the smells either. Bathroom is tiny. Was cleaned first day when we arrived then not cleaned again. For 8 person room should be everyday. The armband you had to wear was a lame idea - its a hostel, we are not at a festival!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Renata de padua boato

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 December 2013

Liked: it is cheap and in the best location of amsterdam

Disliked: it is not clean, has lots of stairs, the toillet and shower are average, it does not have separate rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013

Liked: Cheap cost, towels provided, close to Central Station

Disliked: Not very clean, there was a guy smoking weeds in my room giving me headache and I was scared as I was the only girl in the room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very good located

Disliked: The athmosphere is not good