HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn

Hostel | Oosterpark 71, Amsterdam, Netherlands 31

55.3% Overall Rating

59 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2012)

"I liked the fact that we were close to transport (tram and bus to go to amsterdam center in the same street), the room was clean with microwaves and tv. The area was quiet and I've never heard any noise from other room…"

Read all AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All Reservations will be pre-authorized prior to the reservations check in date with the CC used to hold the reservation. Also, prior to the arrival date, the Authorization will be charged the full amount of the reservation to ensure the CC is valid for your stay (so you have zero to pay at checking). Your receipt will be signed at check in. If you wish to prepay via bank transfer, we have that option as well We look forward to welcoming you. **Please note any reservation over 500 Euros must prepay within 14 days in advance via bank transfer or paypal transfer. If canceled prior to 48 hours of the arrival date, the full amount will be refunded. Check-in is possible from 18.00 hours (6pm). It is not possible to arrive before 18.00 hours (6 pm), then we are closed and not available. If you arrive earlier in Amsterdam it could be practical to store your luggage at the central station. Check-out is till 14.00 hours (2pm). Please be aware, any reservation with an amount over 1000 Euros, will be subject to a 30 day cancellation policy. No changes or cancellations can be made within 30 days of the arrival date. Thank you for understanding

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.64 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
19.34 USD

Hostel 74.5% 425 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Centraal Hostel
38.70 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.06 USD

Hostel 82.4% 690 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.38 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.38 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 772 reviews
Hotel Flipper
33.17 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.3% 324 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.3%

Overall Rating

59 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
52.8%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 119 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: We had plasticflowers in our room.... it was very cheap

Disliked: The room was absolutely disgusting. The floor wasn't cleaned, the showers were tiny and also dirty. The toilet was stinky and we had holes and water spots on the roof. Water was hot for only 20 Minutes. Toilet was partly broken and you had to brush your teeth in the same room with the stinky toilet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that we were close to transport (tram and bus to go to amsterdam center in the same street), the room was clean with microwaves and tv. The area was quiet and I've never heard any noise from other room in the hostel very intimate place we had a lovely stay with my boyfriend there.

Disliked: I just dislike the fact that we have to take like 4 stairs to arrive at our room and also the smell of the building very old one... that's it really the rrst was cool.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: The accommodation was horrible, absolutely unbearable! This was unable to close the room safely (there was something wrong with the room lock). The small room was dark, dirty, smelly and we couldn’t be sure about the cleanness of the bedding. The bathroom and toilets were shared (it’s ok) but they were incredibly small (1-2 m2) disgusting, dirty, not well ventilated and full of mildew! After all, we found BED BUGS in the bed and in other hiding parts of the room. After it we called the manager guy, he was kind, and tried to help us. He gave us back 20 EUR because of the inconveniences, and changed the bedding. He was helpful, but it wasn’t enough. I don’t think the 20 EUR ‘discount’ was enough (from the 240 EUR total price for 3 days), because we couldn’t stay there anymore and moved to another place (fortunately a friend offered his apartment to us). So finally 220 EUR for 2 terrible nights was too expensive, not to mention the bad experience we had.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2012

Liked: The room was en-suite and it was in a quiet area.

Disliked: The lack of facilities, reception, information, and there were no staff available. There was no atmosphere and there was a long commute to the city centre.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

alessandra cirri

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap and closed to a park which i always enjoy

Disliked: there are windows but u cant keep them open cause u r on the street. the heater workes only sometimes

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011

Liked: Good internet connection and English television!

Disliked: It was dirty, shabby, run down. Awful bathroom and shower facilities, funny smell too. I would not describe this place as a hostel as it had no official signs, reception or even room numbers. All seemed alittle dodgy, especially having to meet the owner in a snack cafe down the street before being shown to the property. Very late check in time, 6pm. The actual room its self was ok but felt dirty sleeping in the bed, worn out bedding and when we went to open the window the whole fixture fell apart in our hands. Expensive for what it was!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in front of a park

Disliked: little bit too simple room :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Charmaine Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: Location was the main attraction for staying at this hostel.

Disliked: The hostel was very run down, with dodgy carpets and bedsheets as curtains. With the price that I paid, you'd think they could have put a new coat paint on the walls. Also the fact that people could smoke in their rooms made it a pretty average experience.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and quiet.

Disliked: It felt a bit unhealthy, smell of mold and a bit dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly staff, easy to find.

Disliked: It was not a 5* hotel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Catherine Fitzpatrick

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: Location is ok and it was the cheapest I could find.

Disliked: Nearly everything. I originally booked a twin room, this was 'upgraded' to a double but the room was tiny, just a bed and a table with a tv on. No wardrobe or anywhere to put anything, barely any room to move about, and the place was really grotty. Not having a curtain and having to use a bedsheet to cover the window, one of the panes of which was broken, is ridiculous, as is having such a disgusting shower curtain and bed sheets and walls with all sorts of stains on, including blood stains. The whole building we were in needs refurbishing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011

Liked: quite close to the center.

Disliked: VERY dirty.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

michael kolberg

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: -no common room -tiny bedroom (barely bigger than the bed) -smelled bad -my room was in a damp basement -there was a pile of garbage outside my window -I think they have bedbugs -dirty walls

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, next to the train station.

Disliked: We could not get into reception earlier than indicated at hostelbookers.com. We found it difficult to communicate with the staff first, but later it was fine.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011

Liked: it's funny shape

Disliked: There were bugs in our bed, and it was incredibly hot with no way of cooling the place down.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2011

Liked: I liked the room, and the posibiliy vthat we could change to a better room without extra charge. The rooms were small, but clean and nice.

Disliked: The fact that the owner came the last night and told us that they had problems with bedbugs in the hostel, instead of telling us the first night. Now I dont know if we did bring the bedbugs home with us? Also we had very noisy neighbours, got awaken all the time, in the middle of the night, and also in the morning by fighting and screaming. Thought that they should look after the atmosphere more, so that doesnt occure on the expense on poeple staying there.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011

Liked: Not much. Guess the location is fine.

Disliked: Very disappointing. It's not even a real hostel. Rather poor small rooms in apartment building. No common room, receptino desk or youth hostel atmosphere what so ever.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2011

Liked: window, own bathroom and tv

Disliked: dirty, bed broken, in need of complete renovation, small.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2011

Liked: The internet mostly worked.

Disliked: It was hard to use the key in the front door, and our individual room didn't lock at all (even when we were in it at night). The windows were all cracked. Hardly enough room to breath. No towels. No cleaning, limited ability to contact staff, no phone.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room and the hostel were okay. Toilets and the shower room were pretty clean.

Disliked: Sheets and the blanket in the bed were pretty dirty. The room wasn't too clean either.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: Internet was fast

Disliked: The first room offered to us had a severe bug infestation and staff new of this previously the second room offered to us was alot nicer the room was an upgrade but the foyer had a really bad odor it smelled like stale human urine and cats.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 May 2011

Liked: It was a place to sleep and shower.

Disliked: I thought I was playing a round in the Krypton factor every time I tried to open the front door. Our curtains was a rancid bed sheet and the bed would tilt under our weight. And who was the electrician!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: They ask us for 5% plus that was not indicated when we book trougth the bookers page... i filled lied!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011

Liked: Only the internet connection. Everything else was horrible. DANGER!

Disliked: DANGER! DON'T BOOK HERE!!! A RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE DIRTY FLEAPIT TERRITORY!!! It can totally ruin your holiday. Dirty sheets!!! (Can you believe that?) - Brown and yellow stains and pubic hair. DISGUSTING! Dust and dirt on the floor, under the beds, in the bathroom, EVERYWHERE: nobody really cleans the rooms. EVER. Huge gap between the floor and the wall that was full of dirt, dust and lint and even cigarette stubs. The "double bed" was an IKEA sofa open flat. The room was so narrow it looked more like a corridor. Shower drain clogged, it flooded within a few seconds . Hot water took 7 minutes to come (during which time the shower was flooded because of the clogged drain). Shower curtain disgustingly mouldy, should have been thrown away years ago! Not a SINGLE hook in the room, nowhere to hang your towel or clothes. Front door lock was loose and faulty - it took a while to open. The building was old, the stairs were so dirty they hadn't been cleaned for YEARS and the whole place smelled badly. No staff, no reception, no service, no nothing. We paid an average of 100 euros a day for 7 days and it felt like a rip-off. If we hadn't paid it in advance we would have left after the first night. Health services should close him down, the guy shouldn't be allowed to rent rooms to people, he's totally incompetent. I was amazed that other people found it OK, but the place has lots of rooms and they are all different, so your experience can range from average to hell, and it also has to do with how much you pay. Ours was definitely to the hellish side.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was afraid it would have bugs or something from a lot of other reviews. It ended up being nice, safe, relatively okay smelling. There was no bugs or mold or anything. All I wanted was a nice bed, a shower, and not to have my stuff stolen. I got it!

Disliked: I was told we got a shot with the owner when we arrive. No shot for us! I also gotta say, waiting for the shower to get hot - then having to wait for it to go down from scalding to medium was a pain.