HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn

Hostel | Oosterpark 71, Amsterdam, Netherlands 31

55.3% Overall Rating

59 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2012)

"I liked the fact that we were close to transport (tram and bus to go to amsterdam center in the same street), the room was clean with microwaves and tv. The area was quiet and I've never heard any noise from other room…"

Read all AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All Reservations will be pre-authorized prior to the reservations check in date with the CC used to hold the reservation. Also, prior to the arrival date, the Authorization will be charged the full amount of the reservation to ensure the CC is valid for your stay (so you have zero to pay at checking). Your receipt will be signed at check in. If you wish to prepay via bank transfer, we have that option as well We look forward to welcoming you. **Please note any reservation over 500 Euros must prepay within 14 days in advance via bank transfer or paypal transfer. If canceled prior to 48 hours of the arrival date, the full amount will be refunded. Check-in is possible from 18.00 hours (6pm). It is not possible to arrive before 18.00 hours (6 pm), then we are closed and not available. If you arrive earlier in Amsterdam it could be practical to store your luggage at the central station. Check-out is till 14.00 hours (2pm). Please be aware, any reservation with an amount over 1000 Euros, will be subject to a 30 day cancellation policy. No changes or cancellations can be made within 30 days of the arrival date. Thank you for understanding

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.62 USD

Hostel 69.9% 43 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
20.70 USD

Hostel 77.0% 422 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Centraal Hostel
38.67 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
33.56 USD

Hostel 80.9% 688 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
55.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.34 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 771 reviews
Hotel Flipper
35.91 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.5% 322 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.3%

Overall Rating

59 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
52.8%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 119 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's Clean and have a good atmosphere, the staff will help you in everything you need, its fully equiped and is a very safe place to be.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the instructions on how to get there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 September 2009

Liked: the hostel was dirty and dodgy, wouldnt even call it a hostel as we didnt see other guests. there are electrical wires hanging out the walls and cieling, dust all over the room, mould on the walls, no hot water, pubic hairs in the beds, no window shades, and the area is quite unsafe if you are alone. would definately never ever stay here again, would not recomend it to any body unless on the most extreme tight budget. the only good thing is the tram right on the street to get into centraal station easily. also the wfi does NOT work!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 September 2009

Liked: I booked it on the last day, was very expensive. They have one floor in a building and some other rooms in the center. We didn't see anybody else staying there since our room had its own entrance. was a damp, stuffy basement room with a horrible smell and lots of spiders and webs and a glass door. Worse than resisting that smell, spiders and moist, we didn't feel safe there. Bathroom was disgusting, linens were dirty. We were like left in the middle of nowhere. There is no reception desk or something that you can ask for clean stuff, there is not even a hostel. It is a place I'd even doubt to stay for free, but I paid a lot. You have to pay in advance so we couldn't move to another place for the second night. Try to find somewhere else. At least don't stay that double room in the center. Dorms might be better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Steiner

16 September 2009 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to stay, except the showerdoor was broken and not fixed at that time. But that was also the only problem we experienced.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jessica Tamayo

13 September 2009

Liked: location near the tram which was a 20min ride to central station

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Sarah Moss

12 September 2009

Liked: We were pleased that the property had television, including English channels such as BBC. As Amsterdam prices go it was okay value for money and the nearby park is nice. However, the room was not especially clean and the hostel is about 13 tram stops from the city centre (costs about 12 Euros in a taxi). Also there was no common room area, so we did not meet anybody. It was more like a private flat than a hostel.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

07 August 2009

Liked: The room had TV

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap and avalible at short notice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

27 July 2009

Liked: The fact that we had access to a stove and refredigator was the only perk of this room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to Park and to the City. Good Public traffic possibilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The area is very nice during the day... At night its a different story. A little ways away from the nightlife, but renting a bike was easy to do and helped me get around. Rene, the manager was nice enough and let us be while we were there.. he didnt really seem interested in trying to understand a problem I had with the booking website and was more interested in talking to Americans like we dont know how to use phones.. anyways I doubt I would stay there again but if you're looking for more of the 'hazy' Amsterdam trip this is a good place for you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

17 July 2009

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christopher Schmidt

16 July 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: good acommodation, nice staff, interesting area

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thibault Labaille

07 July 2009 Thibault would recommend this property

Liked: property

Disliked: Thibault left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 July 2009

Liked: The owner Renee was very friendly and helpful. He met all of our requests. We didn't have any trouble getting in touch with him. The staff member however was very creepy. The hostel could definitely use some improvements. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're too particular about cleanliness. It is located right next to the tram and a number of cute coffee shops, an internet cafe and an Albert grocery store. We stayed here to save money and we got what we paid for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

03 June 2009

Liked: The man that greeted us was very nice and friendly, and immediately made a fantastic impression of the whole of the Netherlands on us. However he didn't bring us the room receipt he said he would, and we couldn't find him when we needed to. The hostel is out of where the main action is, but still in a cool area and only a 30min walk from everything (or tram if you want to spend the money). One of the two shower's hot water didn't work, and I wasn't convinced that our sheets etc had been washed since the last person used them. We wouldn't have minded any of this at all, if the price had of reflected it, but it didn't.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iuliana Ionita

06 May 2009 Iuliana would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great place to stay if you are in Amsterdam to enjoy the beauty of the city. The Location could not be better, peacefully, beautiful and near tram stations. Also, you can find in the area good and cheap places to eat, drink and smoke. The staff of the hostel is very nice and friendly as well as all other guests. I had a great vacation there, I will choose this hostel again (or at least a hostel in this location) for my next Amsterdam trip.

Disliked: Iuliana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.