HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn

Hostel | Oosterpark 71, Amsterdam, Netherlands 31

55.3% Overall Rating

59 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2012)

"I liked the fact that we were close to transport (tram and bus to go to amsterdam center in the same street), the room was clean with microwaves and tv. The area was quiet and I've never heard any noise from other room…"

Read all AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All Reservations will be pre-authorized prior to the reservations check in date with the CC used to hold the reservation. Also, prior to the arrival date, the Authorization will be charged the full amount of the reservation to ensure the CC is valid for your stay (so you have zero to pay at checking). Your receipt will be signed at check in. If you wish to prepay via bank transfer, we have that option as well We look forward to welcoming you. **Please note any reservation over 500 Euros must prepay within 14 days in advance via bank transfer or paypal transfer. If canceled prior to 48 hours of the arrival date, the full amount will be refunded. Check-in is possible from 18.00 hours (6pm). It is not possible to arrive before 18.00 hours (6 pm), then we are closed and not available. If you arrive earlier in Amsterdam it could be practical to store your luggage at the central station. Check-out is till 14.00 hours (2pm). Please be aware, any reservation with an amount over 1000 Euros, will be subject to a 30 day cancellation policy. No changes or cancellations can be made within 30 days of the arrival date. Thank you for understanding

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Oosterpark
27.61 USD

Hostel 68.2% 46 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
17.26 USD

Hostel 77.0% 422 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Centraal Hostel
38.65 USD

Hostel 66.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
28.02 USD

Hostel 81.0% 689 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
48.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 771 reviews
Hotel Flipper
30.37 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 72.0% 323 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
55.3%

Overall Rating

59 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn'

Atmosphere
44.8%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
52.8%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 119 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011

Liked: It was a great location

Disliked: Bed bugs, too expensive for what we were given and dirty

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: The staff were very helpful and gave advice about the city, which was nice. The location was quite good as there was a park nearby and a supermarket and an outdoor market. And it was only a tram ride away to get to the main attractions. Also, the shower was clean. You get a free drink in the snack bar whilst you wait for staff, which was a nice touch.

Disliked: One of the beds was broke in our room, and we couldn't watch our tv as the cable was missing. The room looked a little grubby, but the sheets were clean at least. The lock to the front door is loose and so we had trouble on a few occasions trying to get in.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011

Liked: Nothing as such

Disliked: Everything

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: Location was not too bad.

Disliked: No communal room and no other people staying in the same building. It was essentially a rented room (£80!!) in an empty house where we only had access to our room. Our room was a matress on the floor next to french doors that opened onto a garden full of garbage. The room was damp, dirty and there were even slugs in there.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2011

Liked: Nothing really , the owner was nice and helpful when we arrived .

Disliked: We booked a room without shower and toilet , but we got a room with shower and toilet ( no extra charge ) , so we were very pleased about that., the room was decent , with a couch that turns flat and can be used as a bed , a bed for 2 and a glass table. But , the first night i suddenly woke up and on my bed was BEDBUGS , it was bedbugs all over the room.. we slept on the couch for the rest of the trip with our cloths on and our jackets as pillows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean environment, friendly staff. The welcome drink offered before check-in is a very nice idea! Overall, this hostel is an excellent value for your money.

Disliked: No comments.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price !

Disliked: Nothing !

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was quite far out but the main tram line was only a 2 minute walk away. The area was quiet so no disturbed sleep! Plus local shops and a Market very close. The sheets where clean and the showers where hot!

Disliked: No Wifi like it stated. The whole building was very run down and needed work done to it. The toilet and shower rooms VERY small! No common room so very hard to meet other people. Could only get intouch with staff if you had a mobile phone which can cost a lot abroad.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 February 2011

Liked: Comfy beds

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann-Helen Bergan Amundsen

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 January 2011 Ann-Helen would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to get around, either by tram, train or foot. We took a walk into the heart of Amsterdam, it took only one hour to walk, but if you are not interesting to walk too much, there was buses nearby, there was trams (nr 7) passing right outside the door, another tram (nr 9) just 300 m away and a train station 300 m away as well. ^^ The staff was very friendly, and knew all about Amsterdam, about where we should go, when and which bus/tram/train to get if we wanted to go certain places, also the timetable for them! :D He had even put on the radiator for us so that the room would be warm since we arrived late in the evening! :D The room was quiet, the room contained all we needed, a bathroom with a shower, toilet, sink and mirror, a bed with clean linen, a sofa to place our luggage and a couple of tables to place laptops, cellphones etc. There is a charming marked just outside the door, and a grocerystor just down that same street. The common showers and toilets were clean as well, I was curious and had to peek at them. (: Since this is a hostel, you wont find minibars, big swimming pools or any thing luxurious, this is an ideal place to stay if you want to spend less money on the sleepingpart, and more money on the experiencepart! :D *ThumbsUp*!

Disliked: I didn't find anything that I disliked about this property. ^^

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

14 October 2010

Liked: the location is alright

Disliked: Everything was weird from the beginning: you can check-in only after 18.00, there is no reception and you are supposed to meet someone from the hostel at a snack-bar( a shaworma place). We waited for almost an hour for someone to meet us. It seemed very strange and unsafe. The room was dirty and full of mold...I would definitely not stay there again!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 October 2010

Liked: they had a coffee shop about 5 min away

Disliked: the place looks like a crack house. my room looked like it hadnt been cleaned for 20 years there were spiders and bugs comming out of the walls the locks on the door was so messed up i had to stand there for 5 min each time trying to open the door

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what we were looking for-a little, lightly room with shower and TV.The room was REALLY clean on a good location with tram near the house. We felt safety there. I can only recommended to everyone, who is looking for some cheap and calm accomodation in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

15 September 2010

Liked: Absolutely nothing!

Disliked: Everything. For starters, we actually left early bcecause after the first night staying at this property my brother and I both became sick due to the mold in the room. It was filthy and very misrepresented in the listing on the website. We did not sleep under the covers and I actually slept on top of my suitcase, as all of the bedding was stained and looked like it had not been cleaned. We were both disgusted by the accommodation and at $86 per person per night, we expected much better. It was a total rip off and a hazard to our health.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

25 August 2010

Liked: The neighborhood is not central, but a good one nonetheless. Good bars, cafes, cheap food and markets nearby. Lots of public transport. Near a nice park. More of a local area, but that's a good thing.

Disliked: Room was very dirty. Cobwebs everywhere. Spiders in the corners. Dirty and stains on the walls. I killed 7 large black bugs in the first day alone. Also very damp and humid, nothing dried properly and the room smelled dank.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alberto Todeschini

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010

Liked: IT'S BETTER THAN SLEEPING UNDER A BRIDGE

Disliked: VERY SMALL BATHROOMS AND SHOWERS AT THE LEAST FLOOR.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 August 2010

Liked: they should clean there or close. there are full of louse. we have been bited everywhere on the body. and now i even get the varicella. we have almost throwed all our clothes away before we get inside of our home. we really hope they can close and clean. hope no one suffer likes us anymore.

Disliked: they should clean there. there are full of louse. we have been bited everywhere on the body. and now i even get the varicella. we have almost throwed all our clothes away before we get inside of our home. we really hope they can close and clean. hope no one suffer likes us anymore.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

DIEGO FARIAS

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2010

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: ALMOST EVERYTHING!! NOT CLEAN!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Klausner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a room without a bathroom, but when we arrived at the room, we had a bathroom and the manager said that it's ok, so we paid a very cheap price. :)The room was on the last floor and we had a roof-window with a beautiful view. We also had a TV in the room and a fridge. In front of the door of the hostel there was a tram stop and about 200 metres away there was a very lovely park. When I come back to this beautiful city I will DEFINITELY come back to the AWA Youth Hostel. Good price and we got a lot fo it. ;) BOOK NOW!!!!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

23 June 2010

Liked: If you must just sleep one night or two, or if you are looking for something cheap, OK. Otherwise go to another place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MIKEL BIRICHINAGA GARCIA

19 April 2010

Liked: El mercadillo que habia todos los dias ebajo de casa

Disliked: MIKEL left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 January 2010

Liked: Typical dutch house

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 November 2009

Liked: WORST property we have stayed in out of nearly 3 months travelling, and one of the most expensive. Property is a long tram ride from the main areas of town, the whole hostel smelt so much we had to keep the window open nearly the whole time, beds didn't seem to have been cleaned, so we ended up sleeping on our sleeping bags. Did have a nice hamburger restaurant nearby, can't remember the name, but it was yellow out front with a smiling hamburger.If you do stay here definately get a "Strippen Card" for the trams, as if you buy tickets onboard they are really expensive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.