HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 60%

Location 84%

Safety 69%

Staff 82%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Prices do not include a 5.5% city tax, which shall be added to your balance upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 60%

Location 84%

Safety 69%

Staff 82%

Value 69%

Showing 61-70 of 179 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, nice staff

Disliked: Attic room has only a skylight and gets hot, cramped. Friends had another room that was much nicer but paid the same price. Peanut butter and jelly bread for breakfast.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and workers!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Beds were comfy, and the facilities were reasonably clean. The price was very good considering the time of year I stayed.

Disliked: There isn't much atmosphere, the common room is small. You can only leave your luggage until 2pm. Also, having the bathrooms in the dorm can create problems. It's also somewhat far away from the nightlife in Amsterdam, but located in a very safe and quiet area.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly, good facilties, very clean and very good value.

Disliked: Very positive. No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: toast and pb/j coffee and tea for breakfastaccess to kitchengreat location

Disliked: no lockers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good Facility, Supermarket nearby

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quiet and near the city center, if you have a bike.The staff was really helpful and it included free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's near the major musuems; if you are very into art, it's a very convenient place to stay.Staff is extremely nice and friendly

Disliked: would be better if there is a rack in the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Breakfest Free; Wifi Free; Good Location. The staff is very friendly and attentions.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable beds, was close to major museums.

Disliked: The manager. We travel quite a bit, and have stayed in a lot of hostels. We've never experienced anything close to what we came across in this hostel. We arrived to find that our reservation had been cancelled--they claimed there had been a problem with the credit card and blamed it on Hostelbookers policy. He told me my reservation was cancelled and then immediately got defensive and wouldn't let me talk for awhile, talking over me and insisting it was hostelbookers fault. He then tried to charge us as walk-ins (50 Euros a night instead of the 17 Euros we had booked) before telling us he would give us a deal. He charged us only twice the original price (34 euros a night). We took it because that was still cheaper than anything else in town day of. In the two days we spent there we watched at least four groups get the same treatment. A group of three showed up to find their reservation cancelled even though they had called to confirm it the day before. They were told to pay same day prices or leave. Another group had to pay the price of a 6 person room even though there was no room for them to stay together in a six person room and they had to stay in a ten person room. These confrontations took place over the phone with the manager and usually ended with the manager hanging up on his clients.

Check Availability