HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

73.6% Overall Rating

376 out of 515 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

Margaret Lloyd thinks…

"The location was good and the staff were kind. There are cats, so no mice problems, and sometimes they'll sit on your lap. This hostel is quite nice if you're just looking for a basic bed with toast…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
31.79 USD

Hostel 73.1% 4221 reviews
Trianon
27.64 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
34.55 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1389 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
30.27 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
33.72 USD

Hostel 72.4% 18 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.47 USD

Hostel 83.8% 2237 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
48.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

376 out of 515 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonathan Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Has good kitchen facilities, free internet, nice courtyard out back, room had a balcony, supermarket and tram stop 1 min away, vondelpark 5 mins away.

Disliked: Bit far out of the center, pretty accessible by trams though, not a lot else. Oh the ones that mention the cats, basically theres a downstairs dorm which has a sliding door into the courtyard, if it gets left open then there is a couple of cats who come and go into the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter O'Connell

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic but clean and the staff were very helpful. It was very, very easy to find - I could see it from the tramstop

Disliked: It was basic and I had to share a room, but then that was why it was so cheap so I can't really complain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Megan Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Always staff available to answer questions. Nice sized room with outdoor balcony

Disliked: A little far from main nightlife, but very safe neighborhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel hocking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its a bit out of the way from the main tourist area. Also all the staff are extremly helpful and it has a smaller more homely feeling than some of the bigger hostels

Disliked: There was not much to dislike about this hostel value for money. nice people. and free breakfast!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Internet access and safe & secure

Disliked: The price and the location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Signe Ballew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Just that we had issues with our card key.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011

Liked: the location was pretty good except it was far away from the train station but it was near important areas

Disliked: very hot rooms with no air conditioning, small dirty bathroom, no place to lock your things, VERY over priced considering what you get

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 April 2011

Liked: good wifi

Disliked: not convenient shower

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good

Disliked: The manager,

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: Some of the people who stayed in the room

Disliked: The bathroom stank, the toilet and shower share a room, so sharing the bathroom between ten people got quite hectic, and most of all this is the most expensive hostel I have stayed (I have stayed in 26 hostels in Europe over the past three years), and I would rate it as the worst that I have stayed in, the price doe snot match the value.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, kitchen, friendly and helpful staff (mostly)

Disliked: Exceptionally rude manager, mice, guests are not informed that there are cats at the hostel (not a problem for me, but someone I was staying with is allergic)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Katie Steval

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: Good kitchen, free internet and some of the staff were very friendly (Matteo). Location was good, right next to a tram stop (Concertgebouw).

Disliked: The worst thing is that since coming home I've discovered that there must have been a mouse in the room as some of my food (a cereal bar and some biscuits) had been nibbled away at and there were actually mouse droppings in my bag!!! The rooms themselves were small and security was bad, no lockers available. Bathroom facilities were limited and poor (10 people to one tiny shower and toilet room). Breakfast was pretty bad too, just cheap bread, spreads and muesli. The manager was consistently unhelfpul (e.g. we were a group but not in the same room as we hadn't booked together and he wouldn't even try and help us; we once forgot our key and he wouldn't let us back into our room until we paid a 10 euro deposit) and was at times very rude. Overall not a great hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacques Laverman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: close to the museum plain so you could relax there if the weather was good. kitchen was of good use. always an amaizing hot shower. lovely.

Disliked: It didnt have a games room or bar inside.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011

Liked: It was right across the street from the grocery store

Disliked: No smoking room, kitchen closes at 10, showers were not closed off, it's far from everything other than museums, they jack up the price on the weekends. If you can help it, stay at the flying pig.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: None, only the location is fine for me, but other hostels are not further than it.

Disliked: If you want get 10 swelling red lump on your arms, get it here. There must be bugs on bed, I got so bad infection. Shower is the worst I ever got, (if they put up a shower-head, would save so much water instead of taking it off and just let water dripping!) The setting in bedroom is strange, seems they don't care how you live there, imagine a washing basin in the ten-beds room and on the other side of corner, you have a toilet combined with shower but no washing basin. So, just go there to take shower+hold the place for toilet, and come out to wash your hand while other people probably sleeping. The owner there almost tried too hard to be nice, but come on, service is from heart, not just say millions of times of "enjoy"! How can I enjoy if you are so abrupt.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janayna Bianchi Bruscagin Pin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Janayna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the kitchen was nice... Also the coffee and tea avaiable all the day make the placee very cosy!

Disliked: The bathroom was a kind of small to the size of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Szweda

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, great location. Nice rooms, and the price is reasonable! If I could ever handle another trip to Amsterdam I would definitely book here again!

Disliked: absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly place with some amazing people staying here. The staff were always lovely and very helpful.

Disliked: In the beginning it was hard to find because of the directions, but once I found the street, I just followed it around.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its cheep and well situated

Disliked: no bag lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SARAVANAN SUBBARAMAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2011 SARAVANAN would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly situated near the museum.... very close by to the trams and bus stations... an utter ease to commute. Bfast was pertty decent... but could do more perhaps.

Disliked: Security of your belongings are subjected to your room people...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and simple

Disliked: breakfast ends at 9

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philip Cherrington

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 January 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, cheap, standard hostel- with kitchen.

Disliked: Mouse?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gert (Gerardus) van Dijk

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2010 Gert (Gerardus) would recommend this property

Liked: It is central, and wall serviced

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ezelle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the balcony and back yard (garden) were pleasant

Disliked: the toilet is connected to the room and could possibly disturb the other tenants

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: totally worth the money. Big dorms, clean, great free breakfast, free and fast wi-fi. the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Kishor. would definitely stay here the next time I visit Amsterdam.

Disliked: nothing.