HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 70%

Staff 79%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 58%

Location 79%

Safety 70%

Staff 79%

Value 66%

Showing 61-38 of 38 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: toast and pb/j coffee and tea for breakfastaccess to kitchengreat location

Disliked: no lockers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good Facility, Supermarket nearby

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quiet and near the city center, if you have a bike.The staff was really helpful and it included free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's near the major musuems; if you are very into art, it's a very convenient place to stay.Staff is extremely nice and friendly

Disliked: would be better if there is a rack in the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Breakfest Free; Wifi Free; Good Location. The staff is very friendly and attentions.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable beds, was close to major museums.

Disliked: The manager. We travel quite a bit, and have stayed in a lot of hostels. We've never experienced anything close to what we came across in this hostel. We arrived to find that our reservation had been cancelled--they claimed there had been a problem with the credit card and blamed it on Hostelbookers policy. He told me my reservation was cancelled and then immediately got defensive and wouldn't let me talk for awhile, talking over me and insisting it was hostelbookers fault. He then tried to charge us as walk-ins (50 Euros a night instead of the 17 Euros we had booked) before telling us he would give us a deal. He charged us only twice the original price (34 euros a night). We took it because that was still cheaper than anything else in town day of. In the two days we spent there we watched at least four groups get the same treatment. A group of three showed up to find their reservation cancelled even though they had called to confirm it the day before. They were told to pay same day prices or leave. Another group had to pay the price of a 6 person room even though there was no room for them to stay together in a six person room and they had to stay in a ten person room. These confrontations took place over the phone with the manager and usually ended with the manager hanging up on his clients.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great and the beds were clean. Also, hostel doors are always locked so you have to buzz in or swipe in with your room key, which is good for safety.

Disliked: The toilet and the shower were literally together with no separation, and there was only one for a 10-bed room, so no one could use the toilet if someone was showering, and after someone showered the room was entirely soaked, including all the floors, walls, and the toilet. Also, the sink was directly in the room, so it was very loud in the morning when people got up early and were brushing their teeth/etc. There were also no lockers available, and the "free breakfst"consisted of bread (no toaster), butter, peanut butter, jelly, tea and coffee. There were no juices or cereal or anything. The price is fine for what you get and is fine for a couple nights stay, but it is definitely lacking in areas.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location in Museum District, close to tram stops. Friendly staff. Allowed us to keep our luggage at the hostel for a few hours after we checked out.

Disliked: Shared a 10-person mixed room. Toilet/shower room was attached to the room and was very small. Staff was friendly and responsive but their review of the surrounding area and details of hostel when we checked in was minimal.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Not so expensive, good internet, breakfast.

Disliked: Staff not helpfull, no to much bathrooms, little rooms, not lockers. Kitchen dont have enough elements and close so early.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really liked the kitchen facility and the friendly atmophere

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability