HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

69.1% Overall Rating

380 out of 524 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
32.24 USD

Hostel 60.0% 4253 reviews
Trianon
33.58 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
37.61 USD

Hostel 86.7% 1437 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
45.54 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.15 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
41.64 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
48.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

380 out of 524 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gizem kaya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 gizem would recommend this property

Liked: there were very friendly,kude and helpful staffs..rooms are clean and comfortable..kitchen and sharing arae is so sweet..everything was good.. when i travel to asmterdam again,definetely i'll choose this hostel again...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, and it had a garden

Disliked: the directions to the hostel were a bit weird

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are coool.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The suggestions about what to see and what to do in the city

Disliked: -The disorder of the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

dan Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2011 dan would recommend this property

Liked: The travelers are really friendly, staff is nice, free computer access was a huge help.

Disliked: Wish it was a little closer to the center but owell great place to stay honestly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Raina Purba

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011

Liked: The location is good and has free internet.

Disliked: There was an awful smell in the room we were staying and the place seemed generally dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly athmosphere. Loved it that it was quiet after 12 at night.

Disliked: kitchen was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonathan Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Has good kitchen facilities, free internet, nice courtyard out back, room had a balcony, supermarket and tram stop 1 min away, vondelpark 5 mins away.

Disliked: Bit far out of the center, pretty accessible by trams though, not a lot else. Oh the ones that mention the cats, basically theres a downstairs dorm which has a sliding door into the courtyard, if it gets left open then there is a couple of cats who come and go into the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter O'Connell

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic but clean and the staff were very helpful. It was very, very easy to find - I could see it from the tramstop

Disliked: It was basic and I had to share a room, but then that was why it was so cheap so I can't really complain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Megan Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Always staff available to answer questions. Nice sized room with outdoor balcony

Disliked: A little far from main nightlife, but very safe neighborhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel hocking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its a bit out of the way from the main tourist area. Also all the staff are extremly helpful and it has a smaller more homely feeling than some of the bigger hostels

Disliked: There was not much to dislike about this hostel value for money. nice people. and free breakfast!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Internet access and safe & secure

Disliked: The price and the location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Signe Ballew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Just that we had issues with our card key.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011

Liked: the location was pretty good except it was far away from the train station but it was near important areas

Disliked: very hot rooms with no air conditioning, small dirty bathroom, no place to lock your things, VERY over priced considering what you get

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 April 2011

Liked: good wifi

Disliked: not convenient shower

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good

Disliked: The manager,

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: Some of the people who stayed in the room

Disliked: The bathroom stank, the toilet and shower share a room, so sharing the bathroom between ten people got quite hectic, and most of all this is the most expensive hostel I have stayed (I have stayed in 26 hostels in Europe over the past three years), and I would rate it as the worst that I have stayed in, the price doe snot match the value.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, kitchen, friendly and helpful staff (mostly)

Disliked: Exceptionally rude manager, mice, guests are not informed that there are cats at the hostel (not a problem for me, but someone I was staying with is allergic)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Katie Steval

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: Good kitchen, free internet and some of the staff were very friendly (Matteo). Location was good, right next to a tram stop (Concertgebouw).

Disliked: The worst thing is that since coming home I've discovered that there must have been a mouse in the room as some of my food (a cereal bar and some biscuits) had been nibbled away at and there were actually mouse droppings in my bag!!! The rooms themselves were small and security was bad, no lockers available. Bathroom facilities were limited and poor (10 people to one tiny shower and toilet room). Breakfast was pretty bad too, just cheap bread, spreads and muesli. The manager was consistently unhelfpul (e.g. we were a group but not in the same room as we hadn't booked together and he wouldn't even try and help us; we once forgot our key and he wouldn't let us back into our room until we paid a 10 euro deposit) and was at times very rude. Overall not a great hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacques Laverman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: close to the museum plain so you could relax there if the weather was good. kitchen was of good use. always an amaizing hot shower. lovely.

Disliked: It didnt have a games room or bar inside.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011

Liked: It was right across the street from the grocery store

Disliked: No smoking room, kitchen closes at 10, showers were not closed off, it's far from everything other than museums, they jack up the price on the weekends. If you can help it, stay at the flying pig.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: None, only the location is fine for me, but other hostels are not further than it.

Disliked: If you want get 10 swelling red lump on your arms, get it here. There must be bugs on bed, I got so bad infection. Shower is the worst I ever got, (if they put up a shower-head, would save so much water instead of taking it off and just let water dripping!) The setting in bedroom is strange, seems they don't care how you live there, imagine a washing basin in the ten-beds room and on the other side of corner, you have a toilet combined with shower but no washing basin. So, just go there to take shower+hold the place for toilet, and come out to wash your hand while other people probably sleeping. The owner there almost tried too hard to be nice, but come on, service is from heart, not just say millions of times of "enjoy"! How can I enjoy if you are so abrupt.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janayna Bianchi Bruscagin Pin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Janayna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the kitchen was nice... Also the coffee and tea avaiable all the day make the placee very cosy!

Disliked: The bathroom was a kind of small to the size of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Szweda

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff, great location. Nice rooms, and the price is reasonable! If I could ever handle another trip to Amsterdam I would definitely book here again!

Disliked: absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly place with some amazing people staying here. The staff were always lovely and very helpful.

Disliked: In the beginning it was hard to find because of the directions, but once I found the street, I just followed it around.