We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

61.1% Overall Rating

383 out of 531 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Trianon
18.98 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 82.6% 1477 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 85.6% 777 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
17.65 USD

Hostel 66.3% 35 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
20.24 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
37.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.1%

Overall Rating

383 out of 531 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
57.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011

Liked: it is near the city center

Disliked: the bathroom and the kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

27 September 2011

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Mixed and tiny rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, location close to museums, most of the staff were very helpful and all very friendly.

Disliked: It got very expensive in the weekends but I think that's the case all over Amsterdam.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: nice area out of the city

Disliked: not alot

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpfull. You also have breakfast and a kitchen

Disliked: No lockers, a little far from de center of the city (for people who look for a quiet hostel in amsterdam). Very expensive on saturdays.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gizem kaya

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 gizem would recommend this property

Liked: there were very friendly,kude and helpful staffs..rooms are clean and comfortable..kitchen and sharing arae is so sweet..everything was good.. when i travel to asmterdam again,definetely i'll choose this hostel again...

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, and it had a garden

Disliked: the directions to the hostel were a bit weird

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are coool.

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The suggestions about what to see and what to do in the city

Disliked: -The disorder of the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

dan Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2011 dan would recommend this property

Liked: The travelers are really friendly, staff is nice, free computer access was a huge help.

Disliked: Wish it was a little closer to the center but owell great place to stay honestly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Raina Purba

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011

Liked: The location is good and has free internet.

Disliked: There was an awful smell in the room we were staying and the place seemed generally dirty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly athmosphere. Loved it that it was quiet after 12 at night.

Disliked: kitchen was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonathan Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Has good kitchen facilities, free internet, nice courtyard out back, room had a balcony, supermarket and tram stop 1 min away, vondelpark 5 mins away.

Disliked: Bit far out of the center, pretty accessible by trams though, not a lot else. Oh the ones that mention the cats, basically theres a downstairs dorm which has a sliding door into the courtyard, if it gets left open then there is a couple of cats who come and go into the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter O'Connell

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic but clean and the staff were very helpful. It was very, very easy to find - I could see it from the tramstop

Disliked: It was basic and I had to share a room, but then that was why it was so cheap so I can't really complain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Megan Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Always staff available to answer questions. Nice sized room with outdoor balcony

Disliked: A little far from main nightlife, but very safe neighborhood

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel hocking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I like that its a bit out of the way from the main tourist area. Also all the staff are extremly helpful and it has a smaller more homely feeling than some of the bigger hostels

Disliked: There was not much to dislike about this hostel value for money. nice people. and free breakfast!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011

Liked: Internet access and safe & secure

Disliked: The price and the location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Signe Ballew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Just that we had issues with our card key.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011

Liked: the location was pretty good except it was far away from the train station but it was near important areas

Disliked: very hot rooms with no air conditioning, small dirty bathroom, no place to lock your things, VERY over priced considering what you get

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 April 2011

Liked: good wifi

Disliked: not convenient shower

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good

Disliked: The manager,

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: Some of the people who stayed in the room

Disliked: The bathroom stank, the toilet and shower share a room, so sharing the bathroom between ten people got quite hectic, and most of all this is the most expensive hostel I have stayed (I have stayed in 26 hostels in Europe over the past three years), and I would rate it as the worst that I have stayed in, the price doe snot match the value.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, kitchen, friendly and helpful staff (mostly)

Disliked: Exceptionally rude manager, mice, guests are not informed that there are cats at the hostel (not a problem for me, but someone I was staying with is allergic)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Katie Steval

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011

Liked: Good kitchen, free internet and some of the staff were very friendly (Matteo). Location was good, right next to a tram stop (Concertgebouw).

Disliked: The worst thing is that since coming home I've discovered that there must have been a mouse in the room as some of my food (a cereal bar and some biscuits) had been nibbled away at and there were actually mouse droppings in my bag!!! The rooms themselves were small and security was bad, no lockers available. Bathroom facilities were limited and poor (10 people to one tiny shower and toilet room). Breakfast was pretty bad too, just cheap bread, spreads and muesli. The manager was consistently unhelfpul (e.g. we were a group but not in the same room as we hadn't booked together and he wouldn't even try and help us; we once forgot our key and he wouldn't let us back into our room until we paid a 10 euro deposit) and was at times very rude. Overall not a great hostel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacques Laverman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: close to the museum plain so you could relax there if the weather was good. kitchen was of good use. always an amaizing hot shower. lovely.

Disliked: It didnt have a games room or bar inside.