HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Prices do not include a 5.5% city tax, which shall be added to your balance upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

Showing 41-36 of 36 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is perfect who wants to visit museums, and tram station is just across the corner.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People were friendly. Supermarket near hostel. Easy to get to from airport (get off at museum plain)

Disliked: no lockers, a little bit of a walk to the city center but closer to van Gogh museum

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really nice location, across the road from a large opera house and the 'Museumplein' grassy area is 2 minutes away with a supermarket (and the famous IAmsterdam sign). The whole place seemed pretty clean, the beds were fine and the staff helpful. We were on the ground floor so full Wifi from reception, I doubt the upper floors would be able to connect though.

Disliked: We were on the ground by reception / kitchen, so understandably it was quite noisy. Most of it was blocked out with headphones but some of our roomates burst in at 4AM thoroughly plastered and making enough noise to be heard throughout the building I'm sure. Despite this, we actually slept fairly well on the comfortable beds. Apart from other guests (which is always hit and miss in hostels) the only problem would be the toilet / shower facilities. For 12 beds on the ground floor we had a single toilet and shower. To their credit these were actually pretty clean and sanitary, but incedibly cramp. The toilet I could manage but the shower was basically in a cupboard in the kitchen, with an open gap at the top to vent into the kitchen. Slightly awkward when people are sat eating breakfast and you burst out in a towel. Because of the cupboard-esque design you have to hang all your clothes / towel on the inside of the door where they are bound to get slightly wet. Next time we'll save up a few more £ and get a cheap hotel!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think the only things I liked about this place were the central location and the fact that the wifi was free. Other than that, I really hated it and would not recommend anyone stay there. Also, my boyfriend would like me to add that the coffee was brewed, and not instant.

Disliked: Where to begin? The staff was not the best I've ever dealt with. I showed up at night, because my plane didn't get in until 8 pm or 9 pm (I can't remember exactly), and when I got there they had cancelled my reservation, because they didn't think I was showing up. So we had to stay in a smaller room, which was more expensive, and had to pay the difference. With another staff member, I asked him if there was another bathroom or outlet somewhere besides the one in my room, because I wanted to blow dry my hair early in the morning without waking my roommates. His reply was something to the effect of, "It's a shared room, deal with it." So right off the bat I was not happy with this hostel. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. I know it's a hostel and I don't expect luxury, but the ones in France, for example, did not hurt my back like this. The bathroom/shower in the room was awful! The toilet is basically in the shower, with no curtain or anything in between them, and no place to put your things (clothes, towel, etc) while you're showering. It wasn't very clean either. The other shower they had in the hallway was a little better... it at least had a curtain that separated the shower from the toilet, but it still sucked. "Breakfast" is included, but "breakfast" consisted of bread and coffee.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds weren't bad, clean sheets. Location was great.

Disliked: Manager seemed a little off, bathrooms were kind of awkward. Breakfast is bad, bread with spreads.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location and the staff was very helpfull

Disliked: The building is little bit old, but it's ok for amsterdam. And the cleanliness could be better.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was pleasant, right next to a tram stop, a park, and a supermarket. Good Wifi, and friendly owner.

Disliked: Not the cleanest, and a lack of facilities. Toilets/Showers were not brilliant, and the breakfast was not sufficient, with only a poor selection of bread, jam, and peanut butter.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Los miembros del staff en su mayoría son muy atentos y cordiales, salvo la persona que estuvo por la mañana que no sé si fue sólo un día o comúnmente tiene ese mal humor.

Disliked: La cocina no es muy grande, pero igual está bien. El desayuno es sencillo, pero sirve para arrancar el día, lo que si deberían modificar es la sala de estar, donde se come y desayuna que es super pequeña.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: it's quite and the rooms are always clean

Disliked: there's not so many services available in the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: they have free computer and kitchen to ues, also supermarket nearby here, it't conveniet, staff is kindly, it's easy to find in the city.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability