We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

61.1% Overall Rating

383 out of 531 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
19.03 USD

Hostel 65.7% 4277 reviews
Trianon
19.03 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
26.64 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1473 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
18.90 USD

Hostel 84.6% 776 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
18.96 USD

Hostel 66.3% 34 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
22.20 USD

Hostel 84.5% 2282 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Hotel Blyss
31.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.1%

Overall Rating

383 out of 531 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
57.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 420 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having a kitchen was good as it meant we saved on expensive meals out

Disliked: the kitchen wasn't very well stocked - only two hobs, and no bowls.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artem Barkhin

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 October 2012 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good size. Rooms were very cosy and felt safe and friendly. Nice balcony overlooking the theatre. Central Location to the City and to many museums as well as en route to Vondelpark. Located on the door step of the shopping district. The Staff were very friendly and helpful with all aspects of my stay. Where i need to go, What i need to see. The Owner is a very friendly, charming man who promotes conversations and friendliness amongst guests.

Disliked: the Shower was a little small but with good pressure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2012

Liked: Access to internet.

Disliked: It is not worth what you pay for. Breakfast was just white English bread with spreads and a choice of tea or coffee with UHT milk. There was constant confusion at reception with regards to bookings and payments. The staff barely spoke English. Having to check out by 10am after your last night in Amsterdam is pretty difficult, especially when you wake up to find that there's no hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tommi Järvenpää

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Tommi would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting other travellers at the common room. Helpfull staff

Disliked: The young maroccan staff person was a bit too touchy, too personal questions. Old Moroccan worker didn't knew English quite well ans stepped on my laptop computer when changing sheets. And the Brazilian was only picking up young girl travellers at work. But this is Amsterdam.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012

Liked: The stuffer were really kind. They adviced some places to buy food, they always helped us if we asked something. If you want to go to Amsterdam and the accomodation doesn't matter, just the sleep it is good. You can sleep, have a shower, and you get breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Cassie Milford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012

Liked: Great location, easy to find and right next to the tram so its easy to get anywhere in the city. I also liked that the rooms at least had a sink

Disliked: There was only one tiny bathroom (shower+toilet combo) on each floor. The exhaust fan didn't do its job and the door remained shut so it was constantly wet, even if someone hadn't been in there for awhile. Breakfast also had a lot let to be desired

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a mostly good atmosphere.

Disliked: I was kicked out after the first night :S

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Taryn Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, the beds are comfy

Disliked: Very over priced for what you get, the breakfast is just bread, spreads and coffee, no toaster, no juice, the toilets always smelt. There is no security at all, no lockers, no safe, nothing. 2 power outlets in a 10 bed dorm in really bad locations, in 24 weeks of travelling we have never had to pay for luggage storage and they charge 3 euro per bag and its not even locked up, the bags just sit on the reception floor.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chris Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: N/A

Disliked: Had a problem checking in, for which staff wanted to blame HostelBookers (apparently I was booked into 3 different 10 bed dorms over 3 nights, and that's the website's fault). Eventually resolved with a click of a button. But the rooms arent clean, and the showers are *only* showers - no room outside the door to get dressed as you're then standing in he kitchen. No locker facilities or luggage storage.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

zakia fawzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012

Liked: nothing,except a person in the staff named dimitris,he was very kind and helpful.

Disliked: everything,entrance,the stairs, there was no lift and we had to climb a very difficult stairs until the 3rd floor,and the very poor breakfast,the person in reception desk wasn,t helpful at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012

Liked: Location with good connections to city, 20min walk.

Disliked: facilities were old and in pretty bad shape. also no airconditioning, it was extremeloy hot

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Cochrane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: Very quiet lacking a backpacker vibes but can go to a bar esily if you want that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything

Disliked: Computers were very slow. Key card stopped working several times

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

AMILIA MUHAMAD NOR

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 AMILIA would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the tram and close to places like the Van Gogh Museum, Museum Plein and the RikjMuseum.

Disliked: the bunk bed is too low n hit my head everytime i got up. the room for 2 is very small and since it is nearing summer, the place is too hot because of no fan.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cristian Giuppone

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2012 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Calm place near to museum areas. Near from supermarket, good kitchen, free internet in all the building

Disliked: The hours to use the kitchen are reduce and the breakfast is very basic. No lockers in dorms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2012

Liked: Not a lot, location probably best feature.

Disliked: Firstly getting an angry phone call from the hostel the day before arrival demanding full payment within 30 minutes or the booking will be cancelled (previously advised payment would be made on arrival). Secondly earliest person of group not being allowed access to room until all people had arrived. The toilet and shower for the room were available for use by anyone and not private for the room as was the impression. The free breakfast advertised was bread and spreads (couldn't even toast it as had broken recently). The price was expensive for the quality of the hostel and on departure we were told there would be a cost €3 per bag to store during the day. It also would have been useful to have been told that a ley deposit of €10 per key was required before arrival. We stayed in the 10 bed dorm on the ground floor next to reception and it was very noisy all night long eg the hostel staff talkin could be heard and were not quiet when setting up for breakfast of course was loud when loud guests came back of course also

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: convenient to museum square, so for those of you who plan to hit up van gogh or neighboring museums this is a great location.

Disliked: if you are going to amsterdam for "amsterdam" reasons, this place is too far out of the way. it's about a 30-40 min walk towards the centre and if you're planning to stay out late prepare to chip in for a taxi ride.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sleep, and the wifi worked really well.

Disliked: The bed didn't feel very clean and had a weird smell to it. Also the breakfast was pretty poor-just bread and spreads

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really good value and even includes a basic breakfast. Everything functioned as expected.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms but you can leave your valuables at reception.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Good location, right near tram lines with access to the city centre + -Friendly staff -Free breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, bread -Have some drinks and snacks to buy at the counter

Disliked: -No lockers -Rooms were quite cramped and while not unclean, they could have been a LOT cleaner -no towel rental service, bring your own! -single shower for room of 10, in the same room as toilet - very wet all the time

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the price of course. Rooms sizes are good and beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I am a girl travelling alone and the put me in an eight bed dorm with seven guys who were travelling together and they were clearly just in Amsterdam to get wasted. The management could of course not now the last part, but honestly a bit of common sense should be required if you are to manage a hostel, and they should not have put me in that room. That was just ridiculous. Also, when I asked about it the manager was really rude. Actually there is only one nice person there who helped me change room the last night. The bathrooms were not clean and the one in my room had no curtain so it was impossible to take a shower without getting my clothes wet (but there is a bathroom in the corridor). And they seriously lack some lockers where you can put your stuff. They can keep it for you but they just put it in the common room and since they leave that room all the time they cannot watch you stuff so I suggest you don't trust them with valuables.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was perfect !

Disliked: The general cleanless of the hostel was so so...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

gabriella ziede gomez

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 March 2012 gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: The price, but not on friday and saturday......i'm in this hostel and other of the same owner since december an always is a tragedy on the weekends because prices go up for the coming of the turists, but i am here to find a job, i had expect a better price or a deal.....

Disliked: They say to me and my boyfriend that sleeping in the same bad will be dangerous and never sleep toghether again..........but the first time in Annemarie they knew that we are going to sleep toghether and it was fine for them for sell the other bad to another person!!! The other times we always paid for having 2 beds but we slept toghether and some times one in each bed. Many people, even friends sleep in the same bed. What's the problem???