HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

76.3% Overall Rating

376 out of 514 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

Margaret Lloyd thinks…

"The location was good and the staff were kind. There are cats, so no mice problems, and sometimes they'll sit on your lap. This hostel is quite nice if you're just looking for a basic bed with toast…"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
31.76 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4216 reviews
Trianon
33.14 USD

Hostel 73.7% 297 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
30.38 USD

Hostel 83.1% 1381 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
26.79 USD

Hostel 74.1% 16 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
33.28 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2234 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
51.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Hotel Blyss
56.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.3% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

376 out of 514 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012

Liked: Location with good connections to city, 20min walk.

Disliked: facilities were old and in pretty bad shape. also no airconditioning, it was extremeloy hot

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Cochrane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: Very quiet lacking a backpacker vibes but can go to a bar esily if you want that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything

Disliked: Computers were very slow. Key card stopped working several times

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

AMILIA MUHAMAD NOR

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 AMILIA would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the tram and close to places like the Van Gogh Museum, Museum Plein and the RikjMuseum.

Disliked: the bunk bed is too low n hit my head everytime i got up. the room for 2 is very small and since it is nearing summer, the place is too hot because of no fan.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cristian Giuppone

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2012 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Calm place near to museum areas. Near from supermarket, good kitchen, free internet in all the building

Disliked: The hours to use the kitchen are reduce and the breakfast is very basic. No lockers in dorms.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2012

Liked: Not a lot, location probably best feature.

Disliked: Firstly getting an angry phone call from the hostel the day before arrival demanding full payment within 30 minutes or the booking will be cancelled (previously advised payment would be made on arrival). Secondly earliest person of group not being allowed access to room until all people had arrived. The toilet and shower for the room were available for use by anyone and not private for the room as was the impression. The free breakfast advertised was bread and spreads (couldn't even toast it as had broken recently). The price was expensive for the quality of the hostel and on departure we were told there would be a cost €3 per bag to store during the day. It also would have been useful to have been told that a ley deposit of €10 per key was required before arrival. We stayed in the 10 bed dorm on the ground floor next to reception and it was very noisy all night long eg the hostel staff talkin could be heard and were not quiet when setting up for breakfast of course was loud when loud guests came back of course also

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: convenient to museum square, so for those of you who plan to hit up van gogh or neighboring museums this is a great location.

Disliked: if you are going to amsterdam for "amsterdam" reasons, this place is too far out of the way. it's about a 30-40 min walk towards the centre and if you're planning to stay out late prepare to chip in for a taxi ride.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sleep, and the wifi worked really well.

Disliked: The bed didn't feel very clean and had a weird smell to it. Also the breakfast was pretty poor-just bread and spreads

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really good value and even includes a basic breakfast. Everything functioned as expected.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms but you can leave your valuables at reception.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Good location, right near tram lines with access to the city centre + -Friendly staff -Free breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, bread -Have some drinks and snacks to buy at the counter

Disliked: -No lockers -Rooms were quite cramped and while not unclean, they could have been a LOT cleaner -no towel rental service, bring your own! -single shower for room of 10, in the same room as toilet - very wet all the time

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the price of course. Rooms sizes are good and beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I am a girl travelling alone and the put me in an eight bed dorm with seven guys who were travelling together and they were clearly just in Amsterdam to get wasted. The management could of course not now the last part, but honestly a bit of common sense should be required if you are to manage a hostel, and they should not have put me in that room. That was just ridiculous. Also, when I asked about it the manager was really rude. Actually there is only one nice person there who helped me change room the last night. The bathrooms were not clean and the one in my room had no curtain so it was impossible to take a shower without getting my clothes wet (but there is a bathroom in the corridor). And they seriously lack some lockers where you can put your stuff. They can keep it for you but they just put it in the common room and since they leave that room all the time they cannot watch you stuff so I suggest you don't trust them with valuables.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was perfect !

Disliked: The general cleanless of the hostel was so so...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

gabriella ziede gomez

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 March 2012 gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: The price, but not on friday and saturday......i'm in this hostel and other of the same owner since december an always is a tragedy on the weekends because prices go up for the coming of the turists, but i am here to find a job, i had expect a better price or a deal.....

Disliked: They say to me and my boyfriend that sleeping in the same bad will be dangerous and never sleep toghether again..........but the first time in Annemarie they knew that we are going to sleep toghether and it was fine for them for sell the other bad to another person!!! The other times we always paid for having 2 beds but we slept toghether and some times one in each bed. Many people, even friends sleep in the same bed. What's the problem???

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, ease access to public transit. Grocery store near by.

Disliked: Kitchen did not have an oven.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic. Location was convenient.

Disliked: The whole place smelled kind of funny and made me sneeze. Not quite clean enough. A bit too expensive for a very average hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, good location!

Disliked: the rooms were very small but if you are out all day they are fine to rest and sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff at Anne-Marie hostel went out of their way to ensure my stay was a happy one, no matter what time of day or night all questions ( and there were a few!) were answered. There is a good size kitchen for cooking, great Internet access and rooms were cleaned well each day. You do get what u pay for, but all needs are met at this hostel.

Disliked: No ladders on the bunks!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very close to several museums and next to a tram stop. It was within walking distance of good nightlife.

Disliked: The amounts of beds in the rooms was a little crowded but the small common area was a bigger problem. The common area/reception was not big enough for the amount of people who stay at the hostel each night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Averi Melcher

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Averi would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the smaller rooms, they were much more quiet than the larger alternatives. Free breakfast and free computer access was amazing to have!

Disliked: nothing - it was a great stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

milo baldazzi

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2011 milo would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD SITUATION...LIFE IN RELAX..... ALL GOOD PEOPLE WORK INSIDE

Disliked: milo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leah Moffatt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are nice and spacious and it has a great location. I accidentlly mixed up the dates that we were meant to be travelling and the owner really helped us out. He was very patient with me as id only had 2 hrs sleep and he toook the time to explain the cost break down to me about 5 times. The beds are comfy and he was more than happy to help me charge my camera on their computer while we were out. Really easy to get to from both amstel and central station. Breakfast is good although could go for another half an hour to give you a bit more time to get up and going for the day. Kitchen is great as well.

Disliked: Because the bathrooms are dont have any ventillation that do smell a little but other then that the rooms are cleaned every day and all the good things very much out weigh this little factor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2011

Liked: the night guy was very kind, but when I wanted to leave it was rudely indicated no money back even with my concerns.

Disliked: Breakfast was bread with some spreads, and coffee and juice. the location was out of town, ok, but nearly nothing was liked. It was very noisey inside and only half full, cats were running around everywhere, the cleaning guy kept walking in without knocking into my room, and the kitchen is not available from 10 at night to 10 in the morning. Very inconvenient and the general floors where nasty. I booked a room with females only and on the 3rd night they moved a male in and which made me uncomfortable, so that pushed me over the edge with leaving,

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ling Yun Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: The location is near the Museum area, and there's a supermarket near the building, that's quite convience. You can use kitchen and computer as your own. The staff is friendly.

Disliked: The stairs seems old, and the room is not really good. So many people shared one shower room and one toilet... have to wait, a little dirty and uncomfortable. The breakfast room is too small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to the Van Goh museum, walking distance (about 30 minutes) to Red Light and 10 minute walk to entertainment district. Easy to hop on the tram as well if needed. Good free breakfast, towels, tv area, and coffee-tea all day.

Disliked: They do not accept credit cards so make sure you have cash on arrival. bathrooms are very small and the sinks are located in the rooms. Still good price for whats included.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: The free wifi and breakfast was great, as well as its proximity to the museums

Disliked: There were a few mixups with bed allocations in some rooms. And the toilet and shower are together in some rooms, which is frustrating