HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

69.1% Overall Rating

380 out of 524 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
32.22 USD

Hostel 61.5% 4255 reviews
Trianon
33.57 USD

Hostel 70.6% 305 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
37.59 USD

Hostel 85.3% 1438 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
49.54 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.13 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
36.92 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
46.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

380 out of 524 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diana Wiedemann

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Closeliness to the tram

Disliked: No space in rooms to leave luggage or other stuff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ramon Roche

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina tamayo

Alone

City break

22 March 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: Paulina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in front of Rijksmuseum; adjacent to tram stop and department store. Good wifi. Free coffee throughout the day was nice. Breakfast basic but filly. I didn't use the kitchen, but it i s available.

Disliked: Noisy residents chatting loudly until 4:30 am. This is obviously not the hostel's fault, but perhaps they can institute a "quiet hour" policy from 11 pm (or midnight) until 7 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near the centre, walkinng distance or short tram journey. The kitchen is also very good and a supermarket near by helps.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Davies

Alone

City break

12 March 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: welll located, friendly staff, good kitchen facilities, internet access free, cooking if you want to cook, if you have questions staff very helpfull said

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, good value for money and clean rooms. I enjoyed my stay there and would surely recommend Hostel Annemarie to other travelers. PS. But: Kitchen and common area could be better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. Having a kitchen to cook in with lots of utensils and free coffee all day everyday is a definate bonus. And having free Wifi was great and very handy. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The excessive penny pinching by the manager and the arrogance of the staff really detracted from my stay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillermo Yamazato

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Guillermo would recommend this property

Liked: El staff es muy amable

Disliked: La cocina cierra a las 22, me parece muy temprano. La habitacion con baño privado tenía el lavatorio ahí mismo en la habitación, sin ninguna puerta, era imposible no despertar cuando alguien se lavaba los dientes temprano o muy tarde en la noche.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This hostel was the worst hostel i had ever stayed in all my life. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpfull, it was complitely dirty, the shower was disgusting, and i didnt have a locker to keep my money safe. The hostel is horrible, the breakfast is bad as well. I tried to find something positive of the hostel, but nothing came to my mind. Completely dissapointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elvin sexton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 elvin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were very friendly and it is good value for money, there is free internet and wifi and breakfast. Would definately stay again.

Disliked: elvin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DUŠAN CESTNIK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 DUŠAN would recommend this property

Liked: Its proksimity to museum aley, friendly staf, good conections with tram.

Disliked: DUŠAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaku Fukuda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Gaku would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel! Clean bed, good staf, internetfree, and nice tea from Said :) I'll come here again.

Disliked: Gaku left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

stephanie tunggal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: safe location.

Disliked: they only have 1 small and narrow toilet and bathroom.. really frustrating how to manage doing my stuffs on such a tiny space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuzana Hollanová

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are good, with enough space. Showers arent bad, they are cleaned often. I love the guy that works during the day time. He is very nice. The grocery store around the corner helps and at least its quiet since its far from the center

Disliked: You either walk 40 minutes to the center or pay 2.7 Euros each way to get into town but then its the location.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met some cool people here! Nice and relaxed atmosphere. The staff are ok; there were 2 younger guys that weren't too keen/helpful, but the older guys are awesome (think one is called Dimitris). It took me a while to find the place, mainly because it was dark when I got there, and was on my own walking! There ARE trams right next to the hostel though that go straight to Central Station (and vice versa). It has a pretty good location, with a supermarket literally over the road. It's close to loads of museums and Vondel Park. I'd say overall for what you pay, it's spot on. Some people may disagree; but I personally enjoyed my stay here, and will use AnneMarie again.

Disliked: If I had to be picky, it's those damn stairs! Jesus christ, you definitely don't want to be on the 3rd floor after smoking a few doobies!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel in Amsterdam!!!!souper friendly staff!!!!rooms is clean!!!freeee breakfast(coffee all day!!!).very nice location,close to the museums and the famous square leidseplein!!!!i was really enjoy and i wiil back again!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Size

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having a kitchen was good as it meant we saved on expensive meals out

Disliked: the kitchen wasn't very well stocked - only two hobs, and no bowls.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artem Barkhin

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 October 2012 Artem would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good size. Rooms were very cosy and felt safe and friendly. Nice balcony overlooking the theatre. Central Location to the City and to many museums as well as en route to Vondelpark. Located on the door step of the shopping district. The Staff were very friendly and helpful with all aspects of my stay. Where i need to go, What i need to see. The Owner is a very friendly, charming man who promotes conversations and friendliness amongst guests.

Disliked: the Shower was a little small but with good pressure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2012

Liked: Access to internet.

Disliked: It is not worth what you pay for. Breakfast was just white English bread with spreads and a choice of tea or coffee with UHT milk. There was constant confusion at reception with regards to bookings and payments. The staff barely spoke English. Having to check out by 10am after your last night in Amsterdam is pretty difficult, especially when you wake up to find that there's no hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tommi Järvenpää

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Tommi would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting other travellers at the common room. Helpfull staff

Disliked: The young maroccan staff person was a bit too touchy, too personal questions. Old Moroccan worker didn't knew English quite well ans stepped on my laptop computer when changing sheets. And the Brazilian was only picking up young girl travellers at work. But this is Amsterdam.