HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Prices do not include a 5.5% city tax, which shall be added to your balance upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 71%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

Showing 31-37 of 37 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location - within walking distance of the city centre and nightlife. Nice atmosphere. Good kitchen facilities. Felt very safe. One of the cheaper hostels in Amsterdam. No curfew.

Disliked: There is no luggage room, so you have to collect your cases by 2pm. They have cats (to catch mice), which was a problem as one of my friends is allergic. You also have to pay in cash, not card. The staff were at times not all that friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, kitchen, breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is perfect. The breakfast is poor (it's the same every day: bread,jam and peanut butter with some tea or coffee) but I was happy to get it at all.

Disliked: We booked 2 beds in a 4-beds room. The staff gave us a key to a room which had 6 beds. The first two nights we slept with other 2 people but the last night of our stay we were in 6... We didn't want to complain right away, hoping that at least they would let us leave our luggage in the lobby for several hours but they didn't agree... There is only one bathroom for the entire floor, so there's always a line and it's not kept very clean because there are too many people using it.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, great location, very quiet (good if you are not a party-animal !)

Disliked: Very small bathroom and the dorms might be crowded when full. We wanted to extend your stay they charge more (almost double) than prices advertised on Hostelbookers....

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful! Although it was not in the middle of the city, it was in a very nice area that felt extremely safe and provided easy access to a lot of museums and sights. It was also a very comfortable and clean place. The staff immediately changed the linen after someone checked out and all of the bathrooms and kitchen area felt clean. The wifi also worked great! The directions to the hostel were also very easy to follow.

Disliked: My only two complaints were the lack of outlets in the rooms, (only three that worked in an eight person dorm) and the coffee provided at breakfast was weak.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is the best part about this hostel. It's right by Museum Square allowing you to walk to the best museums in Amsterdam. There is also a huge park, super market and tram stop very close so hanging around or getting into the city center is very easy.

Disliked: This is not a party hostel. If you came to party, don't go here. Most of the people that come here want to chill, cook for themselves, and maybe visit coffee shops.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was quite alright

Disliked: The bathroom was strange and not very clean. I had to leave early in the morning and could not get fully ready because I had to keep the lights off. The sink and mirror were inside the room rather than in the bathroom which was inconvenient. Not the best hostel, but decent for staying during a layover

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is excellent! It is just a 2-3 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum and the iconic "Iamsterdam" sign. There is also a grocery store across the street from the hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great place to meet other travelers as well.

Disliked: The only downside was that there were no lockers for storing valuables. There also was not a designated luggage storage area.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: 1) No towels were available - I had to dry myself with a bedsheet as did other guests!2) The breakfast was below par - a loaf of bread and pot of jam does is not a sufficient breakfast for multiple guests.3) There was no secure facilities to lock our posessions/ bags in as stated on website.4) The staff attitude was rather surly when these above points were presented to them.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of this hostel is really really good (supermarket, museumplein, museums, park are all just around the corner).

Disliked: The bathroom in the 1st floor was really awful.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability