HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam

Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 81%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 81%

Safety 68%

Staff 78%

Value 65%

Showing 31-40 of 95 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful! Although it was not in the middle of the city, it was in a very nice area that felt extremely safe and provided easy access to a lot of museums and sights. It was also a very comfortable and clean place. The staff immediately changed the linen after someone checked out and all of the bathrooms and kitchen area felt clean. The wifi also worked great! The directions to the hostel were also very easy to follow.

Disliked: My only two complaints were the lack of outlets in the rooms, (only three that worked in an eight person dorm) and the coffee provided at breakfast was weak.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is the best part about this hostel. It's right by Museum Square allowing you to walk to the best museums in Amsterdam. There is also a huge park, super market and tram stop very close so hanging around or getting into the city center is very easy.

Disliked: This is not a party hostel. If you came to party, don't go here. Most of the people that come here want to chill, cook for themselves, and maybe visit coffee shops.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was quite alright

Disliked: The bathroom was strange and not very clean. I had to leave early in the morning and could not get fully ready because I had to keep the lights off. The sink and mirror were inside the room rather than in the bathroom which was inconvenient. Not the best hostel, but decent for staying during a layover

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is excellent! It is just a 2-3 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum and the iconic "Iamsterdam" sign. There is also a grocery store across the street from the hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great place to meet other travelers as well.

Disliked: The only downside was that there were no lockers for storing valuables. There also was not a designated luggage storage area.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: 1) No towels were available - I had to dry myself with a bedsheet as did other guests!2) The breakfast was below par - a loaf of bread and pot of jam does is not a sufficient breakfast for multiple guests.3) There was no secure facilities to lock our posessions/ bags in as stated on website.4) The staff attitude was rather surly when these above points were presented to them.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of this hostel is really really good (supermarket, museumplein, museums, park are all just around the corner).

Disliked: The bathroom in the 1st floor was really awful.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is perfect who wants to visit museums, and tram station is just across the corner.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People were friendly. Supermarket near hostel. Easy to get to from airport (get off at museum plain)

Disliked: no lockers, a little bit of a walk to the city center but closer to van Gogh museum

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really nice location, across the road from a large opera house and the 'Museumplein' grassy area is 2 minutes away with a supermarket (and the famous IAmsterdam sign). The whole place seemed pretty clean, the beds were fine and the staff helpful. We were on the ground floor so full Wifi from reception, I doubt the upper floors would be able to connect though.

Disliked: We were on the ground by reception / kitchen, so understandably it was quite noisy. Most of it was blocked out with headphones but some of our roomates burst in at 4AM thoroughly plastered and making enough noise to be heard throughout the building I'm sure. Despite this, we actually slept fairly well on the comfortable beds. Apart from other guests (which is always hit and miss in hostels) the only problem would be the toilet / shower facilities. For 12 beds on the ground floor we had a single toilet and shower. To their credit these were actually pretty clean and sanitary, but incedibly cramp. The toilet I could manage but the shower was basically in a cupboard in the kitchen, with an open gap at the top to vent into the kitchen. Slightly awkward when people are sat eating breakfast and you burst out in a towel. Because of the cupboard-esque design you have to hang all your clothes / towel on the inside of the door where they are bound to get slightly wet. Next time we'll save up a few more £ and get a cheap hotel!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think the only things I liked about this place were the central location and the fact that the wifi was free. Other than that, I really hated it and would not recommend anyone stay there. Also, my boyfriend would like me to add that the coffee was brewed, and not instant.

Disliked: Where to begin? The staff was not the best I've ever dealt with. I showed up at night, because my plane didn't get in until 8 pm or 9 pm (I can't remember exactly), and when I got there they had cancelled my reservation, because they didn't think I was showing up. So we had to stay in a smaller room, which was more expensive, and had to pay the difference. With another staff member, I asked him if there was another bathroom or outlet somewhere besides the one in my room, because I wanted to blow dry my hair early in the morning without waking my roommates. His reply was something to the effect of, "It's a shared room, deal with it." So right off the bat I was not happy with this hostel. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. I know it's a hostel and I don't expect luxury, but the ones in France, for example, did not hurt my back like this. The bathroom/shower in the room was awful! The toilet is basically in the shower, with no curtain or anything in between them, and no place to put your things (clothes, towel, etc) while you're showering. It wasn't very clean either. The other shower they had in the hallway was a little better... it at least had a curtain that separated the shower from the toilet, but it still sucked. "Breakfast" is included, but "breakfast" consisted of bread and coffee.

Check Availability