We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

61.5% Overall Rating

384 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Trianon
15.18 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1482 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
13.85 USD

Hostel 66.9% 36 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

384 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
68.8%
Value
56.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 334 of 421 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ajay Boga

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Ajay would recommend this property

Liked: very good reception and helpful staff. had got good suggestions about where to go and how to spend time in the city. although it was a short time, we have spent some really quality time over here. thank you annemarie.

Disliked: Ajay left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Castillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen facilities to use and a supermarket nearby, really handy.next to the museums. :)

Disliked: stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Lednum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

15 April 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value fore the money. Has good Kitchen facility and bathroom and shower. Located very close to the Museums and Parks. And easy to find from the local bus stop. Very good Hostel in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Good location with parks and supermarket nearby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the property that is easily accessible to the city and reception is available 24/7

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Lemus

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and the attention was nice

Disliked: They could improve the breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt cozy and had a good kitchen. The staff were always helpful.

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diana Wiedemann

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Closeliness to the tram

Disliked: No space in rooms to leave luggage or other stuff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ramon Roche

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulina tamayo

Alone

City break

22 March 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: very clean

Disliked: Paulina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in front of Rijksmuseum; adjacent to tram stop and department store. Good wifi. Free coffee throughout the day was nice. Breakfast basic but filly. I didn't use the kitchen, but it i s available.

Disliked: Noisy residents chatting loudly until 4:30 am. This is obviously not the hostel's fault, but perhaps they can institute a "quiet hour" policy from 11 pm (or midnight) until 7 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location near the centre, walkinng distance or short tram journey. The kitchen is also very good and a supermarket near by helps.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Davies

Alone

City break

12 March 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: welll located, friendly staff, good kitchen facilities, internet access free, cooking if you want to cook, if you have questions staff very helpfull said

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, good value for money and clean rooms. I enjoyed my stay there and would surely recommend Hostel Annemarie to other travelers. PS. But: Kitchen and common area could be better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. Having a kitchen to cook in with lots of utensils and free coffee all day everyday is a definate bonus. And having free Wifi was great and very handy. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The excessive penny pinching by the manager and the arrogance of the staff really detracted from my stay

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guillermo Yamazato

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Guillermo would recommend this property

Liked: El staff es muy amable

Disliked: La cocina cierra a las 22, me parece muy temprano. La habitacion con baño privado tenía el lavatorio ahí mismo en la habitación, sin ninguna puerta, era imposible no despertar cuando alguien se lavaba los dientes temprano o muy tarde en la noche.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: This hostel was the worst hostel i had ever stayed in all my life. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpfull, it was complitely dirty, the shower was disgusting, and i didnt have a locker to keep my money safe. The hostel is horrible, the breakfast is bad as well. I tried to find something positive of the hostel, but nothing came to my mind. Completely dissapointed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elvin sexton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 elvin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were very friendly and it is good value for money, there is free internet and wifi and breakfast. Would definately stay again.

Disliked: elvin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DUŠAN CESTNIK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2013 DUŠAN would recommend this property

Liked: Its proksimity to museum aley, friendly staf, good conections with tram.

Disliked: DUŠAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gaku Fukuda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Gaku would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel! Clean bed, good staf, internetfree, and nice tea from Said :) I'll come here again.

Disliked: Gaku left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

stephanie tunggal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: safe location.

Disliked: they only have 1 small and narrow toilet and bathroom.. really frustrating how to manage doing my stuffs on such a tiny space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuzana Hollanová

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are good, with enough space. Showers arent bad, they are cleaned often. I love the guy that works during the day time. He is very nice. The grocery store around the corner helps and at least its quiet since its far from the center

Disliked: You either walk 40 minutes to the center or pay 2.7 Euros each way to get into town but then its the location.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met some cool people here! Nice and relaxed atmosphere. The staff are ok; there were 2 younger guys that weren't too keen/helpful, but the older guys are awesome (think one is called Dimitris). It took me a while to find the place, mainly because it was dark when I got there, and was on my own walking! There ARE trams right next to the hostel though that go straight to Central Station (and vice versa). It has a pretty good location, with a supermarket literally over the road. It's close to loads of museums and Vondel Park. I'd say overall for what you pay, it's spot on. Some people may disagree; but I personally enjoyed my stay here, and will use AnneMarie again.

Disliked: If I had to be picky, it's those damn stairs! Jesus christ, you definitely don't want to be on the 3rd floor after smoking a few doobies!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel in Amsterdam!!!!souper friendly staff!!!!rooms is clean!!!freeee breakfast(coffee all day!!!).very nice location,close to the museums and the famous square leidseplein!!!!i was really enjoy and i wiil back again!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.