We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

65.0% Overall Rating

392 out of 542 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2015)

"Location was excellent for seeing the sights of Amsterdam. There is no curfew so was ideal for those going out late into the night. The mattresses were comfortable. Bathrooms were clean. Staff were friendly."

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know. Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please. City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card. For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin. Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec 2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September 2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking. Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
17.56 USD

Hostel 68.2% 4315 reviews
Trianon
26.34 USD

Hostel 63.8% 336 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.46 USD

Hostel 79.1% 1554 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
42.69 USD

Hostel 86.5% 790 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
14.71 USD

Hostel 71.0% 43 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
26.34 USD

Hostel 83.8% 2326 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
32.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.0% 36 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
76.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.0%

Overall Rating

392 out of 542 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
60.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 431 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Next to a large park and museums with access to trams, buses and canal tours.

Disliked: Breakfast was included but it consisted of only white & wheat bread with the option of jelly, peanut butter or butter and that's it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yoni Talias

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Yoni would recommend this property

Liked: very freindly staff, we had an 8 bed room with a little nice balcony but no chairs there or in the room. the breakfast includes butter, peanut butterm, jam, bread, coffee and tea, but dont worry, theres a big supermarket 2 mins walk nearby. perfect quiet location, 2 mins walk from a tram wich will take you to the centraal or train. A walk distance from all the great museums and the main nightlife area.

Disliked: poor breakfast, toilets and shower a bit small and unconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities, big sunny rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013

Liked: good location, nice staff

Disliked: Attic room has only a skylight and gets hot, cramped. Friends had another room that was much nicer but paid the same price. Peanut butter and jelly bread for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good facilties, very clean and very good value.

Disliked: Very positive. No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Martinez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and workers!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: toast and pb/j coffee and tea for breakfast access to kitchen great location

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Facility, Supermarket nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2013

Liked: Good location in Museum District, close to tram stops. Friendly staff. Allowed us to keep our luggage at the hostel for a few hours after we checked out.

Disliked: Shared a 10-person mixed room. Toilet/shower room was attached to the room and was very small. Staff was friendly and responsive but their review of the surrounding area and details of hostel when we checked in was minimal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the major musuems; if you are very into art, it's a very convenient place to stay. Staff is extremely nice and friendly

Disliked: would be better if there is a rack in the bathroom

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Amy Holcombe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: Comfortable beds, was close to major museums.

Disliked: The manager. We travel quite a bit, and have stayed in a lot of hostels. We've never experienced anything close to what we came across in this hostel. We arrived to find that our reservation had been cancelled--they claimed there had been a problem with the credit card and blamed it on Hostelbookers policy. He told me my reservation was cancelled and then immediately got defensive and wouldn't let me talk for awhile, talking over me and insisting it was hostelbookers fault. He then tried to charge us as walk-ins (50 Euros a night instead of the 17 Euros we had booked) before telling us he would give us a deal. He charged us only twice the original price (34 euros a night). We took it because that was still cheaper than anything else in town day of. In the two days we spent there we watched at least four groups get the same treatment. A group of three showed up to find their reservation cancelled even though they had called to confirm it the day before. They were told to pay same day prices or leave. Another group had to pay the price of a 6 person room even though there was no room for them to stay together in a six person room and they had to stay in a ten person room. These confrontations took place over the phone with the manager and usually ended with the manager hanging up on his clients.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and near the city center, if you have a bike. The staff was really helpful and it included free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamires Lustosa

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2013 Tamires would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfest Free; Wifi Free; Good Location. The staff is very friendly and attentions.

Disliked: Tamires left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the beds were clean. Also, hostel doors are always locked so you have to buzz in or swipe in with your room key, which is good for safety.

Disliked: The toilet and the shower were literally together with no separation, and there was only one for a 10-bed room, so no one could use the toilet if someone was showering, and after someone showered the room was entirely soaked, including all the floors, walls, and the toilet. Also, the sink was directly in the room, so it was very loud in the morning when people got up early and were brushing their teeth/etc. There were also no lockers available, and the "free breakfst"consisted of bread (no toaster), butter, peanut butter, jelly, tea and coffee. There were no juices or cereal or anything. The price is fine for what you get and is fine for a couple nights stay, but it is definitely lacking in areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristian Koivisto

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: I like the breakfast, internet access is nice, kitchen facility is good too, nice friendly service, nice location next to the park and trams

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Catalin Mates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 May 2013 Catalin would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shower very cramped, breakfast very basic, kitchen not very useful, not even cups present.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not so expensive, good internet, breakfast.

Disliked: Staff not helpfull, no to much bathrooms, little rooms, not lockers. Kitchen dont have enough elements and close so early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grant birch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 grant would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the kitchen facility and the friendly atmophere

Disliked: nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the museum district and concert hall. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was only bread with peanut butter and jam, which was fine for me but it would have been better to know that beforehand. The shower and toilet are in the same very small room with no separation, so everything in the room gets wet when you shower, which is a problem when you are sharing a room and need to change in the bathroom.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bruna Araújo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 May 2013 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: We got a private twin room, wich was clean and warm. And of course, excellent location.

Disliked: We liked that, but the only thing I didnt like was the Shower. Wasnt clean properly... but except for that, was a good stay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great quiet location

Disliked: Unhelpful rude manager Too much heating

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIHO FUKUMOTO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2013 SHIHO would recommend this property

Liked: I like the hostel because the staff was very nice. Even we got early moning, they let us come in. Thank you and I ll stay here again.

Disliked: SHIHO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

miao zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 miao would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everywhere

Disliked: No hair dryer

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: The rooms smelled horrible, the bathrooms smelled even worse, there were no lockers anywhere, there was no kind of closet or even a surface for you to put your bag on to, the bathroom has no curtain between the shower and toilet, so once 1 person showers it becomes impossible to use the toilet, when trying to make a change to my reservation they told me to email when I called, and they never answered. So when I called again, they told me they remembered seeing my email a few days before, but just decided not to answer. Do NOT stay here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline van Oosten

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the free breakfast

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.