HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie Amsterdam Hostel

Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14,, 171 LG, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 69%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

If you are running late for check-in please contact us to let us know.
Payment is due upon arrival in cash only, please.
City tax to 5% not included We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for less than 4 persons bookings .Cancellation is only accepted by email. Credit card payment will have to pay a service charge of 5% We ask authorization on the given credit card (not a charge); unfortunately we will not keep the reservation if we cannot get authorization. You will be contacted by the hotel to ask the security code of your credit card.
For group bookings from 4 people or more, we have a 14-day cancellation policy cancellation, no-shows and changes after arrival shall be charged the 100% of the total booking.We can as you to transfer money to our bank garantee your bookin.
Cancellation policy during special periods: During New Years (30th Dec
2015 to 2nd Jan 2016), Easter (3nd to 7th April), Queen’s Day (26th and 27th April), Pinkster and the IBC event (10th to 12th September
2015) we have a 14-day cancellation policy. Cancellations during these periods must be made 14 days before the arrival date (note arrival time). Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged for 100% of their total booking.
Please note that your full balance due is payable on arrival and non-refundable. • In case the guest or the one responsible for the booking does not pay the amount in cash due on arrival, we are forced to charge the amount from the given credit card(s). The charge will include the amount still to pay on arrival, city tax and other costs of merchant or bank.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 69%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

Showing 21-30 of 74 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff are very friendly and the location is excellent - right near the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The atmosphere was very nice and it felt safe and secure. There is a free breakfast (quite basic but that's to be expected).

Disliked: There are few toilets and showers if you are in a room without an ensuite. The kitchen is quite small. These are only minor complaints though, overall I was very happy.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Being a backpacker often limits your hostel search to the price per night. In this case it is cheap so you chose it nomater the reviews. Most say: unfriendly staff. So true. The owner is disrespectful espacialy towards woman. Other than that well breakfast is during a short hour and consists of toast with peanut butter and jelly, so no added value there. Else there is a fridge you can store your own food. Thats a good hostel service i must say.

Disliked: The owner and his staff lack respect and custumer service skills. The toilet is in the hall way.The shower is tiny, dirty and located in the kitchen... They messed up my rsv and did not count my pre-paid rsv on this website.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, relaxed and safe environment. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: easy to acces from trailways

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very good place whit a kichten were u can prepare your food, quiete and the staff was very helpfulness

Disliked: t

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location - within walking distance of the city centre and nightlife. Nice atmosphere. Good kitchen facilities. Felt very safe. One of the cheaper hostels in Amsterdam. No curfew.

Disliked: Welcoming young staff. The location of the hostel in the city center really makes it easy to see tourist attractions, everything is so close, even the train station. Bed was comfortable and the people in the room were cool! really enjoyed my time there and now I definitely know where to go next time

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very funky, down to earth. RIght next to the magnificent museums of Museumpleine, its like being in another world, or another Amsterdam. So much wondrous art in those museums and wondrous architecture right outside the door! Staff is so friendly too, they will help you with anything, and fix anything you need help with, for getting around or your comfort in the hostel, quaint and pleasnat, and SO relaxing. I was replenished after staying here.

Disliked: Oh, whats to quibble, these people will attend to anything you need, its all up to you

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location - within walking distance of the city centre and nightlife. Nice atmosphere. Good kitchen facilities. Felt very safe. One of the cheaper hostels in Amsterdam. No curfew.

Disliked: There is no luggage room, so you have to collect your cases by 2pm. They have cats (to catch mice), which was a problem as one of my friends is allergic. You also have to pay in cash, not card. The staff were at times not all that friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, kitchen, breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is perfect. The breakfast is poor (it's the same every day: bread,jam and peanut butter with some tea or coffee) but I was happy to get it at all.

Disliked: We booked 2 beds in a 4-beds room. The staff gave us a key to a room which had 6 beds. The first two nights we slept with other 2 people but the last night of our stay we were in 6... We didn't want to complain right away, hoping that at least they would let us leave our luggage in the lobby for several hours but they didn't agree... There is only one bathroom for the entire floor, so there's always a line and it's not kept very clean because there are too many people using it.

Check Availability