HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

69.1% Overall Rating

380 out of 524 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
32.15 USD

Hostel 61.5% 4255 reviews
Trianon
33.49 USD

Hostel 69.9% 306 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
40.19 USD

Hostel 85.3% 1438 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
48.10 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
38.05 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
36.84 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
43.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Blyss
55.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

380 out of 524 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 328 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: 1) No towels were available - I had to dry myself with a bedsheet as did other guests! 2) The breakfast was below par - a loaf of bread and pot of jam does is not a sufficient breakfast for multiple guests. 3) There was no secure facilities to lock our posessions/ bags in as stated on website. 4) The staff attitude was rather surly when these above points were presented to them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is really really good (supermarket, museumplein, museums, park are all just around the corner).

Disliked: The bathroom in the 1st floor was really awful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: I think the only things I liked about this place were the central location and the fact that the wifi was free. Other than that, I really hated it and would not recommend anyone stay there. Also, my boyfriend would like me to add that the coffee was brewed, and not instant.

Disliked: Where to begin? The staff was not the best I've ever dealt with. I showed up at night, because my plane didn't get in until 8 pm or 9 pm (I can't remember exactly), and when I got there they had cancelled my reservation, because they didn't think I was showing up. So we had to stay in a smaller room, which was more expensive, and had to pay the difference. With another staff member, I asked him if there was another bathroom or outlet somewhere besides the one in my room, because I wanted to blow dry my hair early in the morning without waking my roommates. His reply was something to the effect of, "It's a shared room, deal with it." So right off the bat I was not happy with this hostel. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. I know it's a hostel and I don't expect luxury, but the ones in France, for example, did not hurt my back like this. The bathroom/shower in the room was awful! The toilet is basically in the shower, with no curtain or anything in between them, and no place to put your things (clothes, towel, etc) while you're showering. It wasn't very clean either. The other shower they had in the hallway was a little better... it at least had a curtain that separated the shower from the toilet, but it still sucked. "Breakfast" is included, but "breakfast" consisted of bread and coffee.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect who wants to visit museums, and tram station is just across the corner.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ernest Chao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Ernest would recommend this property

Liked: People were friendly. Supermarket near hostel. Easy to get to from airport (get off at museum plain)

Disliked: no lockers, a little bit of a walk to the city center but closer to van Gogh museum

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Snowdon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location, across the road from a large opera house and the 'Museumplein' grassy area is 2 minutes away with a supermarket (and the famous IAmsterdam sign). The whole place seemed pretty clean, the beds were fine and the staff helpful. We were on the ground floor so full Wifi from reception, I doubt the upper floors would be able to connect though.

Disliked: We were on the ground by reception / kitchen, so understandably it was quite noisy. Most of it was blocked out with headphones but some of our roomates burst in at 4AM thoroughly plastered and making enough noise to be heard throughout the building I'm sure. Despite this, we actually slept fairly well on the comfortable beds. Apart from other guests (which is always hit and miss in hostels) the only problem would be the toilet / shower facilities. For 12 beds on the ground floor we had a single toilet and shower. To their credit these were actually pretty clean and sanitary, but incedibly cramp. The toilet I could manage but the shower was basically in a cupboard in the kitchen, with an open gap at the top to vent into the kitchen. Slightly awkward when people are sat eating breakfast and you burst out in a towel. Because of the cupboard-esque design you have to hang all your clothes / towel on the inside of the door where they are bound to get slightly wet. Next time we'll save up a few more £ and get a cheap hotel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quite and the rooms are always clean

Disliked: there's not so many services available in the hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luiz Godoy

Alone

City break

10 July 2013 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was very helpfull

Disliked: The building is little bit old, but it's ok for amsterdam. And the cleanliness could be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonella Zucchiatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Los miembros del staff en su mayoría son muy atentos y cordiales, salvo la persona que estuvo por la mañana que no sé si fue sólo un día o comúnmente tiene ese mal humor.

Disliked: La cocina no es muy grande, pero igual está bien. El desayuno es sencillo, pero sirve para arrancar el día, lo que si deberían modificar es la sala de estar, donde se come y desayuna que es super pequeña.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The beds weren't bad, clean sheets. Location was great.

Disliked: Manager seemed a little off, bathrooms were kind of awkward. Breakfast is bad, bread with spreads.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013

Liked: Beds were comfy, and the facilities were reasonably clean. The price was very good considering the time of year I stayed.

Disliked: There isn't much atmosphere, the common room is small. You can only leave your luggage until 2pm. Also, having the bathrooms in the dorm can create problems. It's also somewhat far away from the nightlife in Amsterdam, but located in a very safe and quiet area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, WiFi worked.friendly host.good location.kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENHSUAN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 WENHSUAN would recommend this property

Liked: they have free computer and kitchen to ues, also supermarket nearby here, it't conveniet, staff is kindly, it's easy to find in the city.

Disliked: nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013

Liked: Wifi works in rooms Outdoor area has potential

Disliked: No locker Staff tell people to be quiet when they're having a bit of fun. Should put a table out the back. Very basic breakfast, without even a toaster Too expensive

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Next to a large park and museums with access to trams, buses and canal tours.

Disliked: Breakfast was included but it consisted of only white & wheat bread with the option of jelly, peanut butter or butter and that's it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yoni Talias

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Yoni would recommend this property

Liked: very freindly staff, we had an 8 bed room with a little nice balcony but no chairs there or in the room. the breakfast includes butter, peanut butterm, jam, bread, coffee and tea, but dont worry, theres a big supermarket 2 mins walk nearby. perfect quiet location, 2 mins walk from a tram wich will take you to the centraal or train. A walk distance from all the great museums and the main nightlife area.

Disliked: poor breakfast, toilets and shower a bit small and unconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities, big sunny rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013

Liked: good location, nice staff

Disliked: Attic room has only a skylight and gets hot, cramped. Friends had another room that was much nicer but paid the same price. Peanut butter and jelly bread for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good facilties, very clean and very good value.

Disliked: Very positive. No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Martinez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Location and workers!

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: toast and pb/j coffee and tea for breakfast access to kitchen great location

Disliked: no lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Facility, Supermarket nearby

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 May 2013

Liked: Good location in Museum District, close to tram stops. Friendly staff. Allowed us to keep our luggage at the hostel for a few hours after we checked out.

Disliked: Shared a 10-person mixed room. Toilet/shower room was attached to the room and was very small. Staff was friendly and responsive but their review of the surrounding area and details of hostel when we checked in was minimal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near the major musuems; if you are very into art, it's a very convenient place to stay. Staff is extremely nice and friendly

Disliked: would be better if there is a rack in the bathroom

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Amy Holcombe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: Comfortable beds, was close to major museums.

Disliked: The manager. We travel quite a bit, and have stayed in a lot of hostels. We've never experienced anything close to what we came across in this hostel. We arrived to find that our reservation had been cancelled--they claimed there had been a problem with the credit card and blamed it on Hostelbookers policy. He told me my reservation was cancelled and then immediately got defensive and wouldn't let me talk for awhile, talking over me and insisting it was hostelbookers fault. He then tried to charge us as walk-ins (50 Euros a night instead of the 17 Euros we had booked) before telling us he would give us a deal. He charged us only twice the original price (34 euros a night). We took it because that was still cheaper than anything else in town day of. In the two days we spent there we watched at least four groups get the same treatment. A group of three showed up to find their reservation cancelled even though they had called to confirm it the day before. They were told to pay same day prices or leave. Another group had to pay the price of a 6 person room even though there was no room for them to stay together in a six person room and they had to stay in a ten person room. These confrontations took place over the phone with the manager and usually ended with the manager hanging up on his clients.