We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Hostel | Jan Willen Brouwerstraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 - JW

61.5% Overall Rating

384 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"Location was great. Lots of museums nearby and easy public transit or walk to city centre"

Read all Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note the property only takes cash on arrive. After your booking, the hostel will pre-authorise your card with the amount of the first night. this is not a charge and you will be required to pay the balance upon arrival. the amount will be released automatically after a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Inner Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 65.8% 4279 reviews
Trianon
18.98 USD

Hostel 66.7% 321 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
22.77 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1481 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
13.85 USD

Hostel 66.9% 36 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
17.71 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
34.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.5%

Overall Rating

384 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
68.8%
Value
56.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 334 of 421 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2013

Liked: The location is perfect. The breakfast is poor (it's the same every day: bread,jam and peanut butter with some tea or coffee) but I was happy to get it at all.

Disliked: We booked 2 beds in a 4-beds room. The staff gave us a key to a room which had 6 beds. The first two nights we slept with other 2 people but the last night of our stay we were in 6... We didn't want to complain right away, hoping that at least they would let us leave our luggage in the lobby for several hours but they didn't agree... There is only one bathroom for the entire floor, so there's always a line and it's not kept very clean because there are too many people using it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location, very quiet (good if you are not a party-animal !)

Disliked: Very small bathroom and the dorms might be crowded when full. We wanted to extend your stay they charge more (almost double) than prices advertised on Hostelbookers....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful! Although it was not in the middle of the city, it was in a very nice area that felt extremely safe and provided easy access to a lot of museums and sights. It was also a very comfortable and clean place. The staff immediately changed the linen after someone checked out and all of the bathrooms and kitchen area felt clean. The wifi also worked great! The directions to the hostel were also very easy to follow.

Disliked: My only two complaints were the lack of outlets in the rooms, (only three that worked in an eight person dorm) and the coffee provided at breakfast was weak.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

James Farnsworth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013

Liked: Location was pleasant, right next to a tram stop, a park, and a supermarket. Good Wifi, and friendly owner.

Disliked: Not the cleanest, and a lack of facilities. Toilets/Showers were not brilliant, and the breakfast was not sufficient, with only a poor selection of bread, jam, and peanut butter.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: I went to Amsterdam with 8 friends of mine, and went to this hostel, and the experience was not good at all. They have huge administration, and internal communication problems, first of all we arrived as a group of 8 people, that were supposed to be in 2 rooms, but as it turned out, they will fix you up on any free room that they have. They put me on a bed that was already been taken by someone else!, and the night after, they tried to put 2 guest more on the room, even though the room was full already; they made one of this 2 guys sleep on the floor of our room!! And the worst thing happened at the end, one member of my group left a phone in the room, so we called the hotel later that same day in order to tell them to put it on a safe place and watch that for us, and the receptionist say he will keep it safe on the drawer. But the thing is that when I called back a couple of days later, they just told me that nobody knew about it, and the phone that was supposed to be safe on the drawer, was gone!!! Bad administration and communication issues, keep that on mind if you want to go there….

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

matthew burton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best part about this hostel. It's right by Museum Square allowing you to walk to the best museums in Amsterdam. There is also a huge park, super market and tram stop very close so hanging around or getting into the city center is very easy.

Disliked: This is not a party hostel. If you came to party, don't go here. Most of the people that come here want to chill, cook for themselves, and maybe visit coffee shops.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2013

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: 1) No towels were available - I had to dry myself with a bedsheet as did other guests! 2) The breakfast was below par - a loaf of bread and pot of jam does is not a sufficient breakfast for multiple guests. 3) There was no secure facilities to lock our posessions/ bags in as stated on website. 4) The staff attitude was rather surly when these above points were presented to them.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is really really good (supermarket, museumplein, museums, park are all just around the corner).

Disliked: The bathroom in the 1st floor was really awful.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sheri Freestone

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: I think the only things I liked about this place were the central location and the fact that the wifi was free. Other than that, I really hated it and would not recommend anyone stay there. Also, my boyfriend would like me to add that the coffee was brewed, and not instant.

Disliked: Where to begin? The staff was not the best I've ever dealt with. I showed up at night, because my plane didn't get in until 8 pm or 9 pm (I can't remember exactly), and when I got there they had cancelled my reservation, because they didn't think I was showing up. So we had to stay in a smaller room, which was more expensive, and had to pay the difference. With another staff member, I asked him if there was another bathroom or outlet somewhere besides the one in my room, because I wanted to blow dry my hair early in the morning without waking my roommates. His reply was something to the effect of, "It's a shared room, deal with it." So right off the bat I was not happy with this hostel. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. I know it's a hostel and I don't expect luxury, but the ones in France, for example, did not hurt my back like this. The bathroom/shower in the room was awful! The toilet is basically in the shower, with no curtain or anything in between them, and no place to put your things (clothes, towel, etc) while you're showering. It wasn't very clean either. The other shower they had in the hallway was a little better... it at least had a curtain that separated the shower from the toilet, but it still sucked. "Breakfast" is included, but "breakfast" consisted of bread and coffee.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect who wants to visit museums, and tram station is just across the corner.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ernest Chao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Ernest would recommend this property

Liked: People were friendly. Supermarket near hostel. Easy to get to from airport (get off at museum plain)

Disliked: no lockers, a little bit of a walk to the city center but closer to van Gogh museum

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Snowdon

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location, across the road from a large opera house and the 'Museumplein' grassy area is 2 minutes away with a supermarket (and the famous IAmsterdam sign). The whole place seemed pretty clean, the beds were fine and the staff helpful. We were on the ground floor so full Wifi from reception, I doubt the upper floors would be able to connect though.

Disliked: We were on the ground by reception / kitchen, so understandably it was quite noisy. Most of it was blocked out with headphones but some of our roomates burst in at 4AM thoroughly plastered and making enough noise to be heard throughout the building I'm sure. Despite this, we actually slept fairly well on the comfortable beds. Apart from other guests (which is always hit and miss in hostels) the only problem would be the toilet / shower facilities. For 12 beds on the ground floor we had a single toilet and shower. To their credit these were actually pretty clean and sanitary, but incedibly cramp. The toilet I could manage but the shower was basically in a cupboard in the kitchen, with an open gap at the top to vent into the kitchen. Slightly awkward when people are sat eating breakfast and you burst out in a towel. Because of the cupboard-esque design you have to hang all your clothes / towel on the inside of the door where they are bound to get slightly wet. Next time we'll save up a few more £ and get a cheap hotel!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quite and the rooms are always clean

Disliked: there's not so many services available in the hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luiz Godoy

Alone

City break

10 July 2013 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was very helpfull

Disliked: The building is little bit old, but it's ok for amsterdam. And the cleanliness could be better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonella Zucchiatti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: Los miembros del staff en su mayoría son muy atentos y cordiales, salvo la persona que estuvo por la mañana que no sé si fue sólo un día o comúnmente tiene ese mal humor.

Disliked: La cocina no es muy grande, pero igual está bien. El desayuno es sencillo, pero sirve para arrancar el día, lo que si deberían modificar es la sala de estar, donde se come y desayuna que es super pequeña.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The beds weren't bad, clean sheets. Location was great.

Disliked: Manager seemed a little off, bathrooms were kind of awkward. Breakfast is bad, bread with spreads.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013

Liked: Beds were comfy, and the facilities were reasonably clean. The price was very good considering the time of year I stayed.

Disliked: There isn't much atmosphere, the common room is small. You can only leave your luggage until 2pm. Also, having the bathrooms in the dorm can create problems. It's also somewhat far away from the nightlife in Amsterdam, but located in a very safe and quiet area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, WiFi worked.friendly host.good location.kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WENHSUAN WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 WENHSUAN would recommend this property

Liked: they have free computer and kitchen to ues, also supermarket nearby here, it't conveniet, staff is kindly, it's easy to find in the city.

Disliked: nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013

Liked: Wifi works in rooms Outdoor area has potential

Disliked: No locker Staff tell people to be quiet when they're having a bit of fun. Should put a table out the back. Very basic breakfast, without even a toaster Too expensive

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Next to a large park and museums with access to trams, buses and canal tours.

Disliked: Breakfast was included but it consisted of only white & wheat bread with the option of jelly, peanut butter or butter and that's it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yoni Talias

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2013 Yoni would recommend this property

Liked: very freindly staff, we had an 8 bed room with a little nice balcony but no chairs there or in the room. the breakfast includes butter, peanut butterm, jam, bread, coffee and tea, but dont worry, theres a big supermarket 2 mins walk nearby. perfect quiet location, 2 mins walk from a tram wich will take you to the centraal or train. A walk distance from all the great museums and the main nightlife area.

Disliked: poor breakfast, toilets and shower a bit small and unconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities, big sunny rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013

Liked: good location, nice staff

Disliked: Attic room has only a skylight and gets hot, cramped. Friends had another room that was much nicer but paid the same price. Peanut butter and jelly bread for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, good facilties, very clean and very good value.

Disliked: Very positive. No complaints.