HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Truelove Antique & Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Prinsenstraat 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1015 DC

83.5% Overall Rating

404 out of 431 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2014)

"A very friendly welcome to a uniquely decorated apartment, in a perfect location with everything we needed!"

Read all Truelove Antique & Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bees B&B
78.66 USD

Guesthouse 98.6% 16 reviews
The Monumental TownHouse
80.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Funky Chickin Apartment
55.20 USD

Apartment 88.2% 72 reviews
Hotel Tamara
34.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 71.7% 200 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
30.36 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.02 USD

Apartment 80.7% 4 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.08 USD

Hostel 63.2% 961 reviews
Quentin Arrive Hotel
44.51 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

404 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Truelove Antique & Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 306 of 406 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first it's important to notice that there's two different locations to stay at with Truelove, which might give different experiences. We stayed for 3 nights at the apartment away from the shop itself, which is locoated at Herengracht - the street name and the name of the canal that runs by the house. An absolutely perfect location for us - very central and with an extremely beautiful view of over the canal from the 1st floor apartment! The street and the area is very quiet and seems very safe and cosy. It's away from the busy streets and tourists - but still within reach in a few minutes. And not at least only a 10 minute walk from the central station. The apartment itself was very nice too. A narrow hallway and then a nice big living room with almost a panoramic view over the canal - a nice and modern bathroom* (See below) with a tub and a comfortably bedroom with lots of closet-space for your clothes. I would much rather prefer an apartment like this than a classic hotel room. There's small tv, fridge and a microwave which is a plus. The staff at the shop was very friendly when we got there late to get the key and again when we handed it in to leave. I would definitely consider to stay there again - the view is a huge plus.

Disliked: There should be a wifi internet connection in the apartment, but it didn't seem to work. We didn't complain though as we didn't really missed it that much. You have to be aware with the Herengracht-apartment that the *bathroom/toilet has no door you can close or lock - it's between in living-room and the bedroom divided by big courtains instead of doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked everything! my husband and i stayed at 1 private double ensuite. the room had our own bathroom, refrigerator, tv and towels. the staff were super nice, sweet, and kind (you only meet them on your arrival). the location is perfect! close to central station, Dam, Anne Frank and others. i would definitely stay there again. there are two cafes in front of and next to the hostel to have a breakfast. the front one is better, a little bit more expensive but worth paying.

Disliked: we stayed for 4 nights (Fri, Sat, Sun, Mon). our room was faced on the street and there is a bar in front, and on weekend, we could hear the noise from the bar, actually people who come outside to smoke. we could not sleep well but was only Fri and Sat.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and really nice accomodations for the price that you pay.

Disliked: The only complaint I have is that the heater didn't seem to be working too well - it was a bit chilly! But the goods definitely outweigh the bad. Also - if you pay with a credit card, you will be charged extra.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Soltysik

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: was very warm

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Sexton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: This property is in such a lovely area, literally close enough to everything that the central station, city centre is a ten minute walk, close but far enough away for peace and quite too. in a really nice area of town, lovely coffe shops, boutiques, antique stores. The apartment is gorgeous, beautiful bed, lovely and warm, was a bit apprehensive about the heating having read some of the earlier comments here, but was no need, it was perfect.

Disliked: Nothing. couldn't fault it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I REALLY RECOMEND THIS PLACE! The apartment is amazing - double bed, living room (with nice view), small kitchen and bathroom - all clean and perfect! The staff is very friendly and the location was also good! I would stay here again and recomend it to my friends ;)

Disliked: nothing at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Brenninkmeijer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a classic and great location of Amsterdam with lots of lovely little cafe's, restaurants and boutique shops near by and not far from the main tram lines and sights. The room was surprising in it's homey feeling and typical Dutchness of stairs everywhere and a loft bedroom with lounge below - great space for money!

Disliked: Would have preferred the option to leave our luggage in storage over the day as central station is quite a walk away with your luggage (taxis are so expensive) otherwise it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Jolly

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 February 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Own apartment/room. Very clean, secluded, quiet. Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good. We lived right in the center. The room was rather big and clean though pretty chilly.

Disliked: We asked to leave the luggage at the reception for 2 hours, but they refused saying that there will be many guests coming and since the rooms will not be clean the guests will have to leave their luggage and there will be no room for our luggage. Thus we had to pay 15 Euro for the baggage locker at the central station. Not so much of a trouble but could be better anyways.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Livia De Barros

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a cozy place, in a very good location, the shower is good and clean. The staff was good, very friendly and helpful, but the best thing is: as the bedroom is like an independant room, it makes you totally free to come and go, prepare your own breakfast and dinner, and soon enough you feel at home.

Disliked: It could be warmer and lighter, there was a small leaking in the toilet and sometimes during the night we could hear the upstairs people's footsteps.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Waters

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Having our own space. Appartment was really nice.

Disliked: The stairs!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: closeness to the main town

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lily Bell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location! Its in a really nice part of town thats a bit quieter, but literally a 5 minutes walk to coffee shops and more touristy areas. Lots of museums and really nice sites to stroll past too!!! Also, really clean and nicely decorated, had alot more character than the hotels my friends stayed in, and was alot cheaper!

Disliked: Personally, not a negative for me, but if you wanted to stay somewhere where you;d meet other travellers, this isnt really the place, in the close proximity (im talking, these few streests) theyre arent many tourists, but i quite liked the privacy of the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Pruss

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: near the centrum nice contact competent management fair price

Disliked: ---

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the fun and excitement.

Disliked: the 3 foot stash of gay porn mags behind the couch. and the ghosts.. ghost or mushrooms.. and the smelly toilet..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Hong Yen Dang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

07 January 2011 Catherine Hong Yen would recommend this property

Liked: cute and very cosy

Disliked: the bedroom light did not work

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, privacy and value for money. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: The whole place is a little cramped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What we paid for was actually a big apartment with nice decoration!! I love the decoration a lot. The owners were also very friendly, with big, nice smile. The shower's hot enough, and there're lots of sockets inside the apartment. We could keep the door key ourselves so we felt really convenient. The location of our apartment was also good - around 10 mins away from the central station and it's located in a safe, quiet place. All in all, this is not a good place for meeting new friends but surely the best choice for couples.

Disliked: It's freezing in Amsterdam, but we felt that the heater's not warm enough at night. I had to wear a jacket to sleep. It'd be perfect if there's a thicker blanket in winter.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010

Liked: NA

Disliked: No heating in the middle of winter!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very closed to amsterdam center. warm and nice atmosphere

Disliked: ...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010

Liked: The room was near the city center and the train station

Disliked: Waterleaking on the floor, the shower was in the middle of the room, bad smell, heating system not that worm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Mallard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, more like apartment rooms than a hostel. Location is brilliant, close to the centre and within walking distance of everything (including bars and coffee shops....) Really helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: It was quite expensive for a hostel, but was still one of the cheapest places around in Amsterdam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Williams

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

15 December 2010 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best place Ive stayed in Amsterdam, nice and close to everything, huge room, VERY comfy bed and real coffee in the room!! Loved it couldnt have asked for anything better. Do yourself a favour and stay here, I payed twice as much for a rat hole on the outskirts last time, this is where im staying every time I visit Amsterdam!

Disliked: Honestly, nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleaning