HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Truelove Antique & Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Prinsenstraat 4, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1015 DC

85.4% Overall Rating

410 out of 437 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"Great value for money in a nice area of Amsterdam. Our apartment was spacious and comfortable - much better value for money than a hostel room! We had the apartment off the Haarlemerstraat, which was a pleasant street…"

Read all Truelove Antique & Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bees B&B
72.11 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Hotel Tamara
28.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 64.7% 225 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
18.98 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Tulipana Residence
47.44 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Quentin Arrive Hotel
37.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.8% 14 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
35.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
42.16 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

410 out of 437 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Truelove Antique & Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 412 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean / Safe / Central Location / Large Room

Disliked: If your in the top room it has a number of very narrow spiral staircases that are quiet difficult to get up. The stairs to the top bedroom are a little unsafe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it. Clean and comfy. The room had a refrigerator which was a nice extra.

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marija Vukasovic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Marija would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very nice. I highly recomend this place.

Disliked: no reception

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome by the host (Annete), very closy room and very well located, really close to the center.

Disliked: No breakfast available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Camardelli

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff and with a true dutch atmosfere in front of a canal...

Disliked: Actual room is not in the same place you check-in but we knew that and it ended up being better 'cause the apartment was closer to the city centre and in front of a small canal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the station, easy to find, Really friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: They were having issues with the WIFI during our stay and our room wasn't ready until 2 hours after we were meant to check it. Didn't affect our stay though. Would still recommend TrueLove to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, cleanliness, the room is big enough for two

Disliked: the pump of the toilet makes creepy noise which is so annoying every time when we use (the noise comes out even when we use the shower n faucet ) plus, i don't know where comes the LOUD "knock knock" sound every early morning from about 5 to 8 o'clock!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yaron Orenstein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 October 2011 Yaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in amsterdam. The location is central, it's clean and very convienent for travellers. They even put an extra bed since we wanted to sleep in seperate beds (two friends, and not couple, although we booked a double room).

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great room clean and good space. would recommend it!

Disliked: the stairs are really narrow and steep, you have to relay on everyone else in the place to lock the front door for the place to be secure. the receptionist after calling again in the morning to confirm time still couldnt met us and left us standing in the rain for half an hour. with all that said the room is fantastic!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great loaction. Staff were very friendly. It felt like home not a hotel. Really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: I persionally didn't dislike anything about this hotel! Only downer i can think of would be that it said check in was12 but we couldn't get into our room until 4 due to it not being ready. Howver I think this has more to do with the way Amsterdam operates than the hostel itself. They were happy to let us drop our bags off so we could explore though which was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and clean room with our own bathroom, pretty central so walking distance to most things. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localization, equipement.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and very charming.

Disliked: the only thing was that there was wifi in the room but it did not work properly

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at a secondary property on Herengracht canal. The view from our first-floor, canal-facing room was nice.

Disliked: The room was quite small, and the lack of fans or air-conditioning meant that the window had to be lifted open for fresh air (two bodies in the closed room made it stiflingly hot). The first-floor location (6 steps up from the footpath) meant that this was a security risk so we had to ensure that nothing valuable was near the window (during the first night someone put their hand in and opened the curtains). During the day this room is also a bit noisy due to the cars and bikes rattling over the pavers used as a road surface.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and rolig liker

Disliked: :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Krienelke

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I really recommend this location to other travellers. The rooms are decorated with love, clean and direct between the grachten. In the rooms there where a waterheater, tea, fridgerator, towels and a fan. We rend bicycles and drove through the city without problems. The owner is really friendly and nice.

Disliked: There were no bad experience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mr Powell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Mr would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation was a room in an apartment, therefore you could come and go as you pleased. Very quiet, yet overlooking a canal. Tea and coffee was provided. Good wi-fi signal.

Disliked: The accomodation wasn't at the address of the booking, wasn't taken to the accomodation but was just given directions as to how to get there (as it happens it did mean that it was closer to the centre). The beds weren't made up each day. The furniture wasn't quite that in the pictures (either quaint antiques or trash depending on your point of view). The toilet wasn't in the room itself. Sounds alot of dislikes, but I would probably rebook!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogdan Munteanu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: Paul, the host, was very helpful with tips about the city and the room was very clean, smelling fresh. The room was quite big and tastefully decorated, also we had a TV and small fridge in the room as well as coffee for the morning and tea. The property location is in a quiet neighborhood but very close to the Central Station, Dam Square and Red Light district. Another plus is the fact that we had central heating even if it wasn't that cold, it was the end of September.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was all fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private, great location, well furnished.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a hole flat for ourselves, in the centre, but a quiet area, with all facilities and the staff were very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our time there.

Disliked: the light died one night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the location & size. Also staff was super friendly.

Disliked: Great. Easy to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Bebyak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite by night, close to Red light District, Damm, Jordaan and more major attractions. REALY great staff! Once we've arrived, they explained us all we needed to know about the city, and helped us when we dropped by to the shop during our stay! The bed is comfortable, after long days of walking and riding a bike, we've slept like babies and woke up fresh every morning. There is tea and coffee, small fridge to put drinks in. The shower is great, hot water available all the time. Great place!

Disliked: Thin walls, sometimes you can hear the neighbours...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the room is also nice.

Disliked: We arrived at the time that we arranged, the receptionist weren't there, he showed up after 20 mins and then told us the room will be ready in 4 hours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great edge of centre appartment, quiet and relaxing. Really comfy bed too

Disliked: The steep stairs are a real effort

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: Location and cleanliness.

Disliked: Staff. One guy who was very worried in having all my flight details for not having to stay at the antiques shop (it's their reception!) more than the strictly necessary, and I had to phone him when we arrived at the airport and once again when we arrived at Central Station. He even didn't came with us to the apartment which was 1 km far from the address they describe in hostelbookers. Just told us where it was.