HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Damrak Inn Amsterdam Hostel

Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days."

The 15% deposit paid online goes to Hostelbookers, the remaining balance plus mandatory 5% city taxes is due on arrival at the hotel.

Cancellations and no-shows

· For individual travelers, cancellations are free of charge until 48 hours before arrival

· Late cancellation, late modification and no-shows incur a charge of one night at full price for all reserved rooms.

· Late cancellation, late modification and no-shows incur a charge of 2 nights for reservation with a minimum stay restriction.

· For groups*, long stay* and special Events*, cancellations are free of charge until 14 days prior arrival date (local time starts 0:00 AM). In case of late cancellation, late modification or no show, the full amount of the reservation will be charged.

* Groups: reservations of 3 rooms and more are considered as a group;

* Long stay: reservations with stay of 7 and longer are considered as a long stay;

* Special Events: reservations during International Business Congress (IBC 11 SEP – 16 SEP)

* Reservations during New Year’s period (29 DEC – 2 JAN)

CANCELLATION OR MODIFICATION WILL ONLY BE ACCEPTED THROUGH BOOKING AGENCY OR HOTEL DIRECTLY BY EMAIL AND NOT BY TELEPHONE.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 60%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

Showing 81-26 of 26 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: I liked very much the location close to Amsterdam Central Station and the fact that inside the rooms there are safe boxes that can be used free of charge. The atmosphere was nice and the view of the street with the tram and all the people is absolutely amazing. The room mates were not very friendly but at least quiet.

Disliked: The stairway leading to the hostel is very long!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location is absolutely great - 5 minutes to Centraal Station, 5 minutes to Dam Square and shopping street. I would recommend this hostel to young tourists like myself who aren't planning to spend any time in hostel and who are just looking for a bed to crash after a crazy day/night out! I went to Amsterdam specially to see Drake's concert which was a metro journey away - staff told me everything there is to know about public transport and even printed a map. When I asked about earliest train times to the airport for the next day, they looked up train times, printed the train schedule and advised me of the costs - truly helpful!Overall, the hostel is not bad at all. Location is great, the room is quite clean and staff is helpful. If you are planning a crazy holiday and need a place to leave your stuff and sleep - perfect place for you!

Disliked: I was a bit disappointed when it came to a size of the room. It was meant to be triple but one of them was just a mattress on the floor! Also hotel has crazy policies such as NO FOOD in the room! I had to sneak in my midnight snacks... If fire alarm goes off in the room - you will have to pay 100 euro. Fair enough, it's a non smoking room, however someone in hostel started smoking and our whole room was left in smoke - luckily fire alarm didn't go off! There was so much smoke that we could have been blamed for this easily!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The perfect location was awesome! The staff are very helpful! Very clean and tidy with a cleaner around every morning!

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked! The traditional stairs were a bit of a pain because they were so steep but they were to be found everywhere in Amsterdam!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is AWESOME! Train station is a 5 minute walk away with tons of restaurants and stores nearby. Also within walking distance of many exhibitions and near Red Light. Beds were amazingly comfortable as well and shower worked great and was hot. It was also really nice to have fresh towels every day and a quick clean of the room. I also enjoyed having someone around 24/7 and the idea of leaving the key there so you have no way of losing it was great to me. Lots of information pamphlets and a computer for use as well. Wifi worked great and even though we were not around much, staff was kind when we did interact. Staff was also quick to answer me through email about a question with my booking.

Disliked: These were not necessarily things I really disliked, but just things to be aware of. Yes, like everyone else, stairs are steep and corridors small. However, there are stairs like this all over Amsterdam so you should get use to it. Room was very small, enough for our 3 beds and a bit of walking room, but if you do not plan to spend hours in the room- totally ok. We wanted a place to put our stuff and sleep, and Damrak was perfect for that. Also, as much as it is not a party hostel, being in a populated street does make for some extra noise- however, nothing overwhelming in my opinion.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hotel was quiet, clean and I got a good sleep.

Disliked: We didn't get hot water from the shower. That was no problem, because we were able to change room when we just went and said the problem to the reception.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free WiFi was excellent, and the beds were pretty comfy. It was nice they came and did our beds every day and the shower was good. Very warm too, which was good as it was FREEZING walking around outside in January!

Disliked: Unfortunately in our private twin room, my bed was literally right underneath the main set of stairs for the hostel, and people were walking up or down the stairs every 5 minutes, even through the night. It was literally like sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was fantastic

Disliked: The stairs, very steep and narrow

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like it,s location.it,s very convenient.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very happy with our stay at the damrak inn, and would stay there again

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is very good. Next to city center and red light district

Disliked: They put 9 people in a 8 bed room. One had to sleep on the floor. Toilets are really disgusting.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability